Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

A.A. 2020/2021

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
Lezioni 2-3 anno 1 semestre TLB Oct 5, 2020 Nov 27, 2020
Lezioni 1anno 1 semestre TLB Oct 5, 2020 Dec 4, 2020
Lezioni 1-2-3 anno - 2 semestre TLB Mar 1, 2021 Apr 30, 2021
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione Esami invernale 1 anno Jan 7, 2021 Jan 29, 2021
Sessione Esami invernale 2 e 3 anno Feb 1, 2021 Feb 26, 2021
Sessione Esami Estiva 1-2-3 anno Jul 1, 2021 Jul 30, 2021
Sessione Esami Autunnale 1-2-3 anno Sep 1, 2021 Sep 30, 2021
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione di Laurea Autunnale 2020/2021 Oct 1, 2021 Nov 30, 2021
Sessione di Laurea Primaverile 2020/2021 Mar 1, 2022 Apr 30, 2022
Holidays
Period From To
Festa dell'Immacolata Dec 8, 2020 Dec 8, 2020
Festività Santo Patrono May 21, 2021 May 21, 2021
Other Periods
Description Period From To
Tirocinio 3 anno 2020/2021 Tirocinio 3 anno 2020/2021 Oct 5, 2020 Sep 30, 2021
Tirocinio 2 anno -1 periodo 20/21 Tirocinio 2 anno -1 periodo 20/21 Dec 1, 2020 Jan 29, 2021
Tirocinio 1 anno -1 periodo 20/21 Tirocinio 1 anno -1 periodo 20/21 Feb 1, 2021 Feb 26, 2021
Tirocinio 1 anno - 2 periodo 20/21 Tirocinio 1 anno - 2 periodo 20/21 May 3, 2021 Jun 30, 2021
Tirocinio 2 anno -2 periodo 20/21 Tirocinio 2 anno -2 periodo 20/21 May 3, 2021 Jun 30, 2021

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Medicine Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

B C D F G L M N O P R S T V Z

Barresi Valeria

valeria.barresi@univr.it 045 812 1964

Bazzoni Flavia

flavia.bazzoni@univr.it +39 045 802 7128

Benati Marco

marco.benati@univr.it +39 045 812 4418 - 6698

Bontempi Pietro

pietro.bontempi@univr.it +39 045 802 7614

Brunelli Matteo

matteo.brunelli@univr.it +39 045 8124323

Buffelli Mario Rosario

mario.buffelli@univr.it +39 0458027268

Cane' Stefania

stefania.cane@univr.it +39 045 8126449

Chiamulera Cristiano

cristiano.chiamulera@univr.it +39 045 8027277

Chiarini Anna Maria

anna.chiarini@univr.it +39 045 802 7646

Cicoira Mariantonietta

mariantonietta.cicoira@univr.it +39 045 812 7720

Cisterna Barbara

barbara.cisterna@univr.it +39 045 802 7564

Danese Elisa

elisa.danese@univr.it +39 045 812 6698

De Sanctis Francesco

francesco.desanctis@univr.it 0458126454

Foroni Marina

marina.foroni@univr.it

Giavarina Davide

davide.giavarina@ulssvicenza.it 0444 753372

Gottardo Rossella

rossella.gottardo@univr.it 045 8124247

Gotte Giovanni

giovanni.gotte@univr.it 0458027694

Lievens Patricia

patricia.lievens@univr.it 0458027218

Ligozzi Marco

marco.ligozzi@univr.it 045 8027601

Lippi Giuseppe

giuseppe.lippi@univr.it +39 045 812 4308

Luchini Claudio

claudio.luchini@univr.it 045.8027618 (segreteria)

Mafficini Andrea

andrea.mafficini@univr.it +39 045 812 4846

Majori Silvia

silvia.majori@univr.it +39 045 8027653

Marcon Alessandro

alessandro.marcon@univr.it +39 045 802 7668

Mariotto Sofia Giovanna

sofia.mariotto@univr.it 0458027167

Martignoni Guido

guido.martignoni@univr.it 045 8027618

Mazzariol Annarita

annarita.mazzariol@univr.it 045 8027690

Meyer Anja

anja.meyer@univr.it

Milella Michele

michele.milella@univr.it 0458128502

Minuz Pietro

pietro.minuz@univr.it +39 045 812 4414

Montagnana Martina

martina.montagnana@univr.it +39 045 812 6698

Nadalet Sylvain Giovanni

sylvain.nadalet@univr.it +39 045 8028848

Nicoli Aldini Nicolo

nicolo.nicolialdini@gmail.com 338 7363781

Olivieri Mario

mario.olivieri@univr.it 045 8124921

Paolone Giovanna

giovanna.paolone@univr.it 0458027224

Polettini Aldo Eliano

aldo.polettini@univr.it 3337475432

Romano Maria

maria.romano@univr.it 0458027245

Russo Ivan

ivan.russo@univr.it 045 802 8161 (VR)

Salvagno Gian Luca

gianluca.salvagno@univr.it 045 8124308-0456449264

Signoretto Caterina

caterina.signoretto@univr.it 045 802 7195

Tafi Maria Carla

mariacarla.tafi@univr.it 045 8027245

Turco Alberto

alberto.turco@univr.it 0458027189

Verlato Giuseppe

giuseppe.verlato@univr.it 045 8027628

Vinante Fabrizio

fabrizio.vinante@univr.it +39 045 807 4032

Zamboni Giuseppe

giuseppe.zamboni@univr.it; giuseppe.zamboni@sacrocuore.it +39 045 6013415; +39 045 8124846

Zamboni Giulia

giulia.zamboni@univr.it 0458124301

Zoppini Giacomo

giacomo.zoppini@univr.it +39 045 8123115

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
8
A/B
(BIO/09 ,BIO/16 ,BIO/17 ,MED/46)
7
A/B
(BIO/13 ,MED/03 ,MED/07 ,MED/46)
7
B
(BIO/12 ,MED/46)
7
A/B
(FIS/07 ,ING-INF/06 ,ING-INF/07 ,MED/01)
3
E/F
(L-LIN/12)
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
8
B
(MED/07 ,MED/46 ,VET/06)
4
B
(MED/06 ,MED/11 ,MED/13 ,MED/15)
6
B
(MED/04)
4
A/B
(BIO/14 ,MED/46)

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
8
A/B
(BIO/09 ,BIO/16 ,BIO/17 ,MED/46)
7
A/B
(BIO/13 ,MED/03 ,MED/07 ,MED/46)
7
B
(BIO/12 ,MED/46)
7
A/B
(FIS/07 ,ING-INF/06 ,ING-INF/07 ,MED/01)
3
E/F
(L-LIN/12)

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
8
B
(MED/07 ,MED/46 ,VET/06)
4
B
(MED/06 ,MED/11 ,MED/13 ,MED/15)
6
B
(MED/04)
4
A/B
(BIO/14 ,MED/46)

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S000341

Credits

6

Coordinatore

Maurizio Cantini

The teaching is organized as follows:

Immunoematologia ed emostasi

Credits

3

Period

Lezioni 1anno 1 semestre TLB

Academic staff

Maurizio Cantini

Metodi e tecniche di immunoematologia

Credits

2

Period

Lezioni 1anno 1 semestre TLB

Academic staff

Francesco De Sanctis

Patologia clinica

Credits

1

Period

Lezioni 1anno 1 semestre TLB

Academic staff

Davide Giavarina

Learning outcomes

The course is intended for students of the degree course in biomedical laboratory techniques, it is based on two distinct modules: that of clinical pathology (the classic laboratory medicine) and that of immunohematology and hemostasis, with the aim of giving evidence of the close connection and interaction between the technical-diagnostic activities and the pathologies treated. At the end of the course, the student is required to prove that he or she has acquired satisfactory skills regarding: planning of a technical-diagnostic course, evaluation of the results obtained through the application of laboratory methods, correct interpretation of the investigations carried out. MODULO IMMUNOEMATOLOGIA ED EMOSTASI Provide theoretical knowledge and acquire skills and attitudes to meet the expectations of immunohematology laboratory diagnostic services within the Transfusion Medicine Operations Unit. To this end, the Immunohematology and Hemostasis Module is closely linked to that of Immunohematology Methods and Techniques, which, along with that of Clinical Pathology, is part of the overall teaching of Diagnostic Methodologies of Clinical Pathology. MODULO METODI E TECNICHE DI IMMUNOEMATOLOGIA The student will acquire fundamental methods and techniques of Immunohaematology erythrocyte as well as procedures on collection, processing and storage of hemocomponentes. MODULO PATOLOGIA CLINICA Educational objectives: 1. Provide some evidence of the role of Laboratory Medicine in the recognition and treatment of human diseases, using as an example "Tromoembolic diseases and hemorrhagic diseases". 2. Provide tools for the assessment of diagnostic accuracy and interpretation of results with respect to the diagnostic problem.

Program

• Programme.
• The Organization of a Blood Transfusion Service. Italian and european guidelines and regulations. Characteristics and requirements of the Blood Transfusion Services.
• The immune system: immune response to transfusions, biological characteristics and functions of antibodies. Antigen-antibody reaction and agglutination: biological bases.
• ABO Blood Group System: biochemistry, genetics and phenotype; ABO blood types and variants.
• Antibodies directed against ABO blood group antigens: methods to detect these antibodies and clinical significance.
• Rh Blood Group System: history and clinical aspects of Rh Blood Group System; molecular bases of Rh antigens, biochemistry. D antigen and other Rh Blood Group System antigens; alloantibodies that recognize D antigen and other Rh antigens.
• Erythrocyte Alloimmunization: the main mechanisms involved in the alloimmunization; mechanisms of recognition and presentation of antigen, the primary antibody reaction and the production of high affinity IgG antibodies when antigen rechallenges. Immunogenic properties of the main Blood Group System antigens.
• The antiglobulin test (or Coombs’ test): mechanism, direct and indirect antiglobulin tests. The clinical use of these tests in immunohematology and laboratory methods. Antibodies defined as “cold” or “warm”.
• Transfusion practice: pre-transfusion testing and selection of blood for transfusion.
• Direct antiglobulin Test positive and autoantibodies: clinical significance and management of patients with autoantibodies.
• Alloantibodies identification.
• The main transfusion reactions.
• Hemolytic disease in the newborn.

Examination Methods

Because of the particular situation related to the emergency COVID 19, the exam will be carried out as "distance examination" on the platform ZOOM in "oral ZOOM" mode for all three modules: IMMUNOHEMATOLOGY AND HEMOSTASIS, METHODS AND TECHNIQUES OF IMMUNOHEMATOLOGY, CLINICAL PATHOLOGY.
If the conditions should allow us to come back to presence, it will be restored the mode used in the last years, in which the oral evaluation was preceded by a written test with multiple choice (32 questions concerning the IMMUNOHAEMATOLOGY AND HEMOSTASIS MODULES and IMMUNOHAEMATOLOGY METHODS AND TECHNIQUES and 8 questions concerning the CLINICAL PATHOLOGY MODULE), with at least 75% oral acceptance with correct answers (30 out of 40). In this case, admission to the oral exam takes place with at least 75% of correct answers (30 out of 40).

Bibliografia

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
Ciaccio M, Lippi G Biochimica Clinica e Medicina di Laboratorio (Edizione 2017) EdiSES Edizioni Scientifiche ed Universitarie 2017 9788879599580

Type D and Type F activities

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Graduation


Gestione carriere


Risultati di apprendimento attesi


Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.