Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
I semestre Oct 1, 2018 Jan 31, 2019
II semestre Mar 4, 2019 Jun 14, 2019
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione invernale d'esame Feb 1, 2019 Feb 28, 2019
Sessione estiva d'esame Jun 17, 2019 Jul 31, 2019
Sessione autunnale d'esame Sep 2, 2019 Sep 30, 2019
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione estiva Jul 16, 2019 Jul 16, 2019
Sessione autunnale Nov 19, 2019 Nov 19, 2019
Sessione invernale Mar 11, 2020 Mar 11, 2020
Holidays
Period From To
Sospensione attività didattica Nov 2, 2018 Nov 3, 2018
Vacanze di Natale Dec 24, 2018 Jan 6, 2019
Vacanze di Pasqua Apr 19, 2019 Apr 28, 2019
Vacanze estive Aug 5, 2019 Aug 18, 2019

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Science and Engineering Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G L M P R S T U V Z

Assfalg Michael

symbol email michael.assfalg@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7949

Avesani Linda

symbol email linda.avesani@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7839

Ballottari Matteo

symbol email matteo.ballottari@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7098

Bassi Roberto

symbol email roberto.bassi@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7916; Lab: 045 802 7915

Bellin Diana

symbol email diana.bellin@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7090

Bettinelli Marco Giovanni

symbol email marco.bettinelli@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7902

Bolzonella David

symbol email david.bolzonella@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7965

Buffelli Mario Rosario

symbol email mario.buffelli@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 0458027268

Capuani Rossana

symbol email rossana.capuani@univr.it

Cazzaniga Stefano

symbol email stefano.cazzaniga@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027075

Cecconi Daniela

symbol email daniela.cecconi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7056; Lab: +39 045 802 7087

Chignola Roberto

symbol email roberto.chignola@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7953

Chiurco Carlo

symbol email carlo.chiurco@univr.it symbol phone-number +390458028159

Cozza Vittoria

symbol email vittoria.cozza@univr.it

Crimi Massimo

symbol email massimo.crimi@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7924; Lab: 045 802 7050

Dall'Osto Luca

symbol email luca.dallosto@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7806

Delledonne Massimo

symbol email massimo.delledonne@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7962; Lab: 045 802 7058

Dominici Paola

symbol email paola.dominici@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7966; Lab: 045 802 7956-7086

Fiammengo Roberto

symbol email roberto.fiammengo@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458027038

Frison Nicola

symbol email nicola.frison@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7857

Furini Antonella

symbol email antonella.furini@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7950; Lab: 045 802 7043

Gregorio Enrico

symbol email Enrico.Gregorio@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7937

Guardavaccaro Daniele

symbol email daniele.guardavaccaro@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7903

Lampis Silvia

symbol email silvia.lampis@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7095

Marino Valerio

symbol email valerio.marino@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7227

Munari Francesca

symbol email francesca.munari@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7906

Pandolfini Tiziana

symbol email tiziana.pandolfini@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7918

Pasetto Luca

symbol email luca.pasetto@univr.it

Pezzotti Mario

symbol email mario.pezzotti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39045 802 7951

Romeo Alessandro

symbol email alessandro.romeo@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7974-7936; Lab: +39 045 802 7808

Simonato Barbara

symbol email barbara.simonato@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7832; Lab. 7960

Speghini Adolfo

symbol email adolfo.speghini@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027900

Tomazzoli Claudio

symbol email claudio.tomazzoli@univr.it

Torriani Sandra

symbol email sandra.torriani@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7921

Ugel Stefano

symbol email stefano.ugel@univr.it symbol phone-number 045-8126451

Vettori Andrea

symbol email andrea.vettori@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7861/7862

Vitulo Nicola

symbol email nicola.vitulo@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458027982

Zaccone Claudio

symbol email claudio.zaccone@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027864

Zapparoli Giacomo

symbol email giacomo.zapparoli@univr.it symbol phone-number +390458027047

Zenoni Sara

symbol email sara.zenoni@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7941

Zipeto Donato

symbol email donato.zipeto@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7204

Zivcovich Franco

symbol email franco.zivcovich@univr.it

Zoccatelli Gianni

symbol email gianni.zoccatelli@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7952

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

CURRICULUM TIPO:
activated in the A.Y. 2020/2021
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1 module to be chosen among the following
Tirocinio
9
F
-
Final exam
3
E
-

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




S Placements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S003259

Credits

6

Coordinatore

Silvia Lampis

Language

Italian

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

BIO/19 - MICROBIOLOGY

The teaching is organized as follows:

Microbiologia del suolo e interazione microorganismo-pianta

Credits

4

Period

II semestre

Academic staff

Silvia Lampis

Fondamenti di fisica e chimica del sistema suolo

Credits

2

Period

II semestre

Academic staff

Claudio Zaccone

Learning outcomes

This course aims at elucidating the influence of the soil environment on settlement and activity of the microbial cenoses (microbiomes) in different pedological contexts. Within the completion of this course, students will have acquired a comprehensive overview of both the major phyla of microorganisms found in soil and the methods (including the new molecular high-throughput sequencing technologies) for their quantitative estimation as well as for the characterization of their physiological properties either in bulk soil or in the rhizosphere. Particular emphasis will be given to plant-microbe interactions, with a special attention to the multiple cross signaling mechanisms among plants and PGPR (Plant Growth Promoting Rhizobacteria) at the rhizosphere level. Symbiotic nitrogen fixation and different mycorrhizal associations will be discussed in deep details. Transformations of organic and inorganic pollutants mediated by soil microorganisms will be treated. Eventually, the understanding of soil microbial ecology principles will allow the students to correctly interpret environment-friendly strategies for improvement of crop productivity, biological control of plant pathogens and biodegradation/bioremediation of contaminated sites.


Program

Foundamentals of soil science (2 CFU)
INTRODUCTION. The soil system and ecosystem services.
SOIL INORGANIC CONSTITUENTS. Main soil minerals: classification, crystalline structure, electrical charge formation and components. Phyllosilicates: 1:1, 2:1 and 2:1:1.
SOIL ORGANIC MATTER. Sources, nature and transformation processes of soil organic matter pools. Main properties and functions of soil organic matter.
PHYSICAL PROPERTIES. Texture, structure, density, porosity, colour, temperature.
CHEMICAL PROPERTIES. Cation exchange and anion adsorption: definition, mechanisms and models. pH: factors affecting soil pH, the buffering activity of soil, pH influence on element (bio)availability. pE: redox potential and main features of hydromorphic soils.
SOIL FLUID PHASE. Liquid and gas phase of soil.

Soil microbiology and plant-microbes interaction
Part I – The soil microbiome
Microbial biodiversity in bulk soil and rhizosphere. Methods for quantitative and qualitative (taxonomical) estimation of soil microbial populations. Measurement of biological activity in the soil: Microbial biomass, Metabolic reactions. Effects of physico-chemical and edaphic factors on soil microbial cenoses: Water content and availability, Soil pH, Oxygen concentration in soil atmosphere and redox potential, Concentration of nutrients, Xenobiotic compounds and heavy metals. Significance of soil microbial biodiversity to biogeochemical cycling.

Part II – Soil microbial interactions
Microbe-microbe interactions. Effects of microorganisms on plants. Effects of plants on microorganisms. Plant Growth Promoting Rhizobacteria (PGPR). Symbiotic diazotrophs: Rhizobia and association with legumes. Mycorrhizal associations: Ectomycorrhizae, Endomycorrhizae with particular emphasis to AM fungi, Ectendomycorrhizae.

Part III – Managing rhizosphere microbiome
Perspectives for the development of novel strategies for sustainable crop production, biological control of plant pathogens and environmental bioremediation through rhizosphere microbiome exploitation.

Bibliography

Reference texts
Activity Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
Fondamenti di fisica e chimica del sistema suolo Sequi P., Ciavatta C., Miano T. (a cura di) Fondamenti di chimica del suolo (Edizione 3) Pàtron 2017 9788855533621
Fondamenti di fisica e chimica del sistema suolo Zaccone C. Materiale didattico fornito dal docente 2021 Slides delle lezioni.

Examination Methods

The final exam consists of an oral interview (ca. 30 min of duration; generally 3 questions) on the topics developed during the course and will aim to ascertain both the concepts learned and the ability to link them and discuss implications. The exam method is the same for attending and non-attending students.

???AdattamentoProvaEsameDSA???

Type D and Type F activities

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Graduation

For schedules, administrative requirements and notices on graduation sessions, please refer to the Graduation Sessions - Science and Engineering service.

List of theses and work experience proposals

theses proposals Research area
Studio delle proprietà di luminescenza di lantanidi in matrici proteiche Synthetic Chemistry and Materials: Materials synthesis, structure-properties relations, functional and advanced materials, molecular architecture, organic chemistry - Colloid chemistry
Multifunctional organic-inorganic hybrid nanomaterials for applications in Biotechnology and Green Chemistry Synthetic Chemistry and Materials: Materials synthesis, structure-properties relations, functional and advanced materials, molecular architecture, organic chemistry - New materials: oxides, alloys, composite, organic-inorganic hybrid, nanoparticles
Stampa 3D di nanocompositi polimerici luminescenti per applicazioni in Nanomedicina Synthetic Chemistry and Materials: Materials synthesis, structure-properties relations, functional and advanced materials, molecular architecture, organic chemistry - New materials: oxides, alloys, composite, organic-inorganic hybrid, nanoparticles
Dinamiche della metilazione del DNA e loro contributo durante il processo di maturazione della bacca di vite. Various topics
Risposte trascrittomiche a sollecitazioni ambientali in vite Various topics
Studio delle basi genomico-funzionali del processo di embriogenesi somatica in vite Various topics

Attendance

As stated in the Teaching Regulations for the A.Y. 2022/2023, attendance is not mandatory. However, professors may require students to attend lectures for a minimum of hours in order to be able to take the module exam, in which case the methods that will be used to check attendance will be explained at the beginning of the module. 
Please refer to the Crisis Unit's latest updates for the mode of teaching.


Career management


Student login and resources