Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
I semestre Oct 1, 2018 Jan 31, 2019
II semestre Mar 4, 2019 Jun 14, 2019
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione invernale d'esame Feb 1, 2019 Feb 28, 2019
Sessione estiva d'esame Jun 17, 2019 Jul 31, 2019
Sessione autunnale d'esame Sep 2, 2019 Sep 30, 2019
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione estiva Jul 16, 2019 Jul 16, 2019
Sessione autunnale Nov 19, 2019 Nov 19, 2019
Sessione invernale Mar 11, 2020 Mar 11, 2020
Holidays
Period From To
Sospensione attività didattica Nov 2, 2018 Nov 3, 2018
Vacanze di Natale Dec 24, 2018 Jan 6, 2019
Vacanze di Pasqua Apr 19, 2019 Apr 28, 2019
Vacanze estive Aug 5, 2019 Aug 18, 2019

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Science and Engineering Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G L M P R S T U V Z

Assfalg Michael

michael.assfalg@univr.it +39 045 802 7949

Avesani Linda

linda.avesani@univr.it +39 045 802 7839

Ballottari Matteo

matteo.ballottari@univr.it 045 802 7098

Bassi Roberto

roberto.bassi@univr.it 045 802 7916; Lab: 045 802 7915

Bellin Diana

diana.bellin@univr.it 045 802 7090

Bettinelli Marco Giovanni

marco.bettinelli@univr.it 045 802 7902

Bolzonella David

david.bolzonella@univr.it 045 802 7965

Buffelli Mario Rosario

mario.buffelli@univr.it +39 0458027268

Capuani Rossana

rossana.capuani@univr.it

Cazzaniga Stefano

stefano.cazzaniga@univr.it +39 045 8027075

Cecconi Daniela

daniela.cecconi@univr.it +39 045 802 7056; Lab: +39 045 802 7087

Chignola Roberto

roberto.chignola@univr.it 045 802 7953

Chiurco Carlo

carlo.chiurco@univr.it +390458028159

Cozza Vittoria

vittoria.cozza@univr.it

Crimi Massimo

massimo.crimi@univr.it 045 802 7924; Lab: 045 802 7050

Dall'Osto Luca

luca.dallosto@univr.it +39 045 802 7806

Delledonne Massimo

massimo.delledonne@univr.it 045 802 7962; Lab: 045 802 7058

Dominici Paola

paola.dominici@univr.it 045 802 7966; Lab: 045 802 7956-7086

Fiammengo Roberto

roberto.fiammengo@univr.it 0458027038

Frison Nicola

nicola.frison@univr.it 045 802 7857

Furini Antonella

antonella.furini@univr.it 045 802 7950; Lab: 045 802 7043

Gregorio Enrico

Enrico.Gregorio@univr.it 045 802 7937

Guardavaccaro Daniele

daniele.guardavaccaro@univr.it +39 045 802 7903

Lampis Silvia

silvia.lampis@univr.it 045 802 7095

Marino Valerio

valerio.marino@univr.it +39 045 802 7227

Munari Francesca

francesca.munari@univr.it +39 045 802 7906

Pandolfini Tiziana

tiziana.pandolfini@univr.it 045 802 7918

Pasetto Luca

luca.pasetto@univr.it

Pezzotti Mario

mario.pezzotti@univr.it +39045 802 7951

Romeo Alessandro

alessandro.romeo@univr.it +39 045 802 7974-7936; Lab: +39 045 802 7808

Simonato Barbara

barbara.simonato@univr.it +39 045 802 7832; Lab. 7960

Speghini Adolfo

adolfo.speghini@univr.it +39 045 8027900

Tomazzoli Claudio

claudio.tomazzoli@univr.it

Torriani Sandra

sandra.torriani@univr.it 045 802 7921

Ugel Stefano

stefano.ugel@univr.it 045-8126451

Vettori Andrea

andrea.vettori@univr.it 045 802 7861/7862

Vitulo Nicola

nicola.vitulo@univr.it 0458027982

Zaccone Claudio

claudio.zaccone@univr.it +39 045 8027864

Zapparoli Giacomo

giacomo.zapparoli@univr.it +390458027047

Zenoni Sara

sara.zenoni@univr.it 045 802 7941

Zipeto Donato

donato.zipeto@univr.it +39 045 802 7204

Zivcovich Franco

franco.zivcovich@univr.it

Zoccatelli Gianni

gianni.zoccatelli@univr.it +39 045 802 7952

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

CURRICULUM TIPO:

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




S Placements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S003706

Coordinatore

Donato Zipeto

Credits

6

Language

Italian

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

BIO/11 - MOLECULAR BIOLOGY

Period

II semestre dal Mar 1, 2021 al Jun 11, 2021.

Learning outcomes

A: viruses as "enemies"
Provide the student with basic notions about 1) major bio-health viruses, 2) zoonoses and underlying mechanisms 3) emerging and re-emerging viral infections: molecular, biological and environmental causes, 5) arrested zoonoses (SARS and MERS), at risk (avian influenza) and non arrested (HIV / AIDS), 5) pandemic risk, 6) antiviral vaccinations, 7) other control and intervention measures

B: viruses like "tools"
Provide the student with information on: 1) Principles and limits of gene therapy, 2) Approaches and types of vectors, 3) Non-viral vectors, 4) Editing genes, 5) Major viral vectors, Advantages and disad-vantages, 6) gene therapy clinical trials: disappointments and hopes, 7) current and future prospects

At the completion of the course students:
- will have a basic understanding of zoonoses and viruses
- will have acquired the knowledge necessary to understand how viruses can be engineered and used as therapeutic agents (vectors for gene therapy, oncolytic viruses).

Program

Molecular Virology:
• Arbovirus (West Nile, Chikungunya, Zyka)
• Paramyxovirus (Nipah and Hendra viruses)
• Monkeypox and smallpox
• Hantavirus
• Filovirus (Ebola, Marburg) and hemorrhagic fevers
• Coronavirus: SARS, MERS, SARS-CoV-2
• Influenza, origin of epidemics and pandemics
• Avian influenza and swine flu, determinants of pathogenicity
• HIV: Discovery, Origin, Epidemiology
• HIV: structure, infectious cycle, pathogenesis, natural resistance
• HIV: treatments and therapies (microbicides, vaccines, antivirals)
• AIDS: new therapeutic perspectives
• New vaccine approaches: biotechnology and virological applications, molecular approaches for the development of antiviral vaccines, adjuvants

Gene Therapy:
• Introduction to gene therapy
• Non viral vectors, siRNA and miRNA, peptide vectors
• Gene editing: ZFN, TALEN, Crispr / Cas9
• Viral vectors, generality
• Adenovirus (AV)
• Adeno-associated virus (AAV)
• Herpes and poxvirus vectors
• Retroviral and lentiviral vectors
• Clinical trials: hematologic, metabolic, neurodegenerative, neuromuscular and dystrophies, cystic fibrosis
• Antitumor Gene Therapy, Oncolytic Viruses

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
M. Giacca Terapia genica (Edizione 1) Springer Verlag 2011 978-8-847-01988-1
D.Harper Virus. Applicazioni biotecnologiche e strategie di controllo. (Edizione 1) Zanichelli 2013 978-8-808-17532-8

Examination Methods

The exam consists of an oral exam, during which the student will be presenting a seminar of about 15 minutes on a course-related topic (virus, gene therapy) or in-depth topics covered during the course. The presentation will be accompanied by specific questions to test the appropriate knowledge and preparation on the topics discussed iduring the course.

Type D and Type F activities

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Graduation

For schedules, administrative requirements and notices on graduation sessions, please refer to the Graduation Sessions - Science and Engineering service.

List of theses and work experience proposals

theses proposals Research area
Studio delle proprietà di luminescenza di lantanidi in matrici proteiche Synthetic Chemistry and Materials: Materials synthesis, structure-properties relations, functional and advanced materials, molecular architecture, organic chemistry - Colloid chemistry
Multifunctional organic-inorganic hybrid nanomaterials for applications in Biotechnology and Green Chemistry Synthetic Chemistry and Materials: Materials synthesis, structure-properties relations, functional and advanced materials, molecular architecture, organic chemistry - New materials: oxides, alloys, composite, organic-inorganic hybrid, nanoparticles
Stampa 3D di nanocompositi polimerici luminescenti per applicazioni in Nanomedicina Synthetic Chemistry and Materials: Materials synthesis, structure-properties relations, functional and advanced materials, molecular architecture, organic chemistry - New materials: oxides, alloys, composite, organic-inorganic hybrid, nanoparticles
Dinamiche della metilazione del DNA e loro contributo durante il processo di maturazione della bacca di vite. Various topics
Risposte trascrittomiche a sollecitazioni ambientali in vite Various topics
Studio delle basi genomico-funzionali del processo di embriogenesi somatica in vite Various topics

Attendance

As stated in point 25 of the Teaching Regulations for the A.Y. 2021/2022, attendance is not mandatory. However, professors may require students to attend lectures for a minimum of hours in order to be able to take the module exam, in which case the methods that will be used to check attendance will be explained at the beginning of the module. 
Please refer to the Crisis Unit's latest updates for the mode of teaching.

Career management


Area riservata studenti