Studying at the University of Verona

A.A. 2020/2021

Academic calendar

Il calendario accademico riporta le scadenze, gli adempimenti e i periodi rilevanti per la componente studentesca, personale docente e personale dell'Università. Sono inoltre indicate le festività e le chiusure ufficiali dell'Ateneo.
L’anno accademico inizia il 1° ottobre e termina il 30 settembre dell'anno successivo.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates. .

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
I semestre Oct 1, 2020 Jan 29, 2021
II semestre Mar 1, 2021 Jun 11, 2021
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione invernale d'esame Feb 1, 2021 Feb 26, 2021
Sessione estiva d'esame Jun 14, 2021 Jul 30, 2021
Sessione autunnale d'esame Sep 1, 2021 Sep 30, 2021
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione estiva di laurea Jul 16, 2021 Jul 16, 2021
Sessione autunnale di laurea Oct 11, 2021 Oct 11, 2021
Sessione autunnale di laurea - Dicembre Dec 6, 2021 Dec 6, 2021
Sessione invernale di laurea Mar 9, 2022 Mar 9, 2022
Holidays
Period From To
Festa dell'Immacolata Dec 8, 2020 Dec 8, 2020
Vacanze Natalizie Dec 24, 2020 Jan 3, 2021
Epifania Jan 6, 2021 Jan 6, 2021
Vacanze Pasquali Apr 2, 2021 Apr 5, 2021
Festa del Santo Patrono May 21, 2021 May 21, 2021
Festa della Repubblica Jun 2, 2021 Jun 2, 2021
Vacanze estive Aug 9, 2021 Aug 15, 2021

Exam calendar

The exam roll calls are centrally administered by the operational unit   Science and Engineering Teaching and Student Services Unit
Exam Session Calendar and Roll call enrolment   sistema ESSE3 . If you forget your password to the online services, please contact the technical office in your Faculty or to the service credential recovery .

Exam calendar

Per dubbi o domande Read the answers to the more serious and frequent questions - F.A.Q. Examination enrolment

Academic staff

A B C D F G L M P R S T U V Z

Assfalg Michael

michael.assfalg@univr.it +39 045 802 7949

Avesani Linda

linda.avesani@univr.it +39 045 802 7839

Ballottari Matteo

matteo.ballottari@univr.it 045 802 7098

Bassi Roberto

roberto.bassi@univr.it 045 802 7916; Lab: 045 802 7915

Bellin Diana

diana.bellin@univr.it 045 802 7090

Bettinelli Marco Giovanni

marco.bettinelli@univr.it 045 802 7902

Bolzonella David

david.bolzonella@univr.it 045 802 7965

Buffelli Mario Rosario

mario.buffelli@univr.it +39 0458027268

Capuani Rossana

rossana.capuani@univr.it

Cazzaniga Stefano

stefano.cazzaniga@univr.it +39 045 8027807

Cecconi Daniela

daniela.cecconi@univr.it +39 045 802 7056; Lab: +39 045 802 7087

Chignola Roberto

roberto.chignola@univr.it 045 802 7953

Chiurco Carlo

carlo.chiurco@univr.it +390458028159

Crimi Massimo

massimo.crimi@univr.it 045 802 7924; Lab: 045 802 7050

Dall'Osto Luca

luca.dallosto@univr.it +39 045 802 7806

Delledonne Massimo

massimo.delledonne@univr.it 045 802 7962; Lab: 045 802 7058

Dominici Paola

paola.dominici@univr.it 045 802 7966; Lab: 045 802 7956-7086

Fiammengo Roberto

roberto.fiammengo@univr.it 0458027038

Frison Nicola

nicola.frison@univr.it 045 802 7965

Furini Antonella

antonella.furini@univr.it 045 802 7950; Lab: 045 802 7043

Gregorio Enrico

Enrico.Gregorio@univr.it 045 802 7937

Guardavaccaro Daniele

daniele.guardavaccaro@univr.it +39 045 802 7903

Lampis Silvia

silvia.lampis@univr.it 045 802 7095

Marino Valerio

valerio.marino@univr.it 0458027227

Munari Francesca

francesca.munari@univr.it +39 045 802 7906

Pandolfini Tiziana

tiziana.pandolfini@univr.it 045 802 7918

Pezzotti Mario

mario.pezzotti@univr.it +39045 802 7951

Romeo Alessandro

alessandro.romeo@univr.it +39 045 802 7974-7936; Lab: +39 045 802 7808

Simonato Barbara

barbara.simonato@univr.it +39 045 802 7832; Lab. 7960

Speghini Adolfo

adolfo.speghini@univr.it +39 045 8027900

Tomazzoli Claudio

claudio.tomazzoli@univr.it

Torriani Sandra

sandra.torriani@univr.it 045 802 7921

Ugel Stefano

stefano.ugel@univr.it 045-8126451

Vettori Andrea

andrea.vettori@univr.it 045 802 7861/7862

Vitulo Nicola

nicola.vitulo@univr.it 0458027982

Zaccone Claudio

claudio.zaccone@univr.it +39 045 8027864

Zapparoli Giacomo

giacomo.zapparoli@univr.it +390458027047

Zenoni Sara

sara.zenoni@univr.it 045 802 7941

Zipeto Donato

donato.zipeto@univr.it +39 045 802 7204

Zivcovich Franco

franco.zivcovich@univr.it

Zoccatelli Gianni

gianni.zoccatelli@univr.it +39 045 802 7952

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

CURRICULUM TIPO:
TeachingsCreditsTAFSSD
12
B
(BIO/04)
9
A
(CHIM/06)
6
A
(FIS/07)
English B1 level
6
E
-

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S008190

Credits

12

Coordinatore

Sara Zenoni

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

AGR/07 - AGRICULTURAL GENETICS

Language of instruction

Italian

The teaching is organized as follows:

teoria

Credits

6

Period

II semestre, I semestre

laboratorio [1° turno]

Credits

6

Period

II semestre, I semestre

laboratorio [2° turno]

Credits

6

Period

II semestre, I semestre

Learning outcomes

The course aims to provide basic knowledge of recombinant DNA technologies and methodologies applied to molecular genetic and genomic analysis. Frontal lessons will be introductory to traditional genetic methodologies and to the most advanced ones to analyze genes and their functions. Laboratory lessons will apply the background from frontal lessons by using the most common methodologies of molecular genetics used for prokaryotes and eukaryotes. At the end of the course the student will know the principal techniques related to the extraction, analysis and manipulation of nucleic acids; protein expression in heterologous systems; the techniques used for genetic transformation of animal and plant organisms; the methods for gene expression analysis and for studying protein-protein interactions. The acquired knowledge will enable the students to understand the methodological approaches used in scientific research in molecular genetics and to use molecular technologies for specific laboratory experiments.

Program

------------------------
MM: teoria
------------------------
1) Cloning: - Plasmid vectors, selection markers and reporter genes (e.g. GFP); - E. coli transformation - Selection of recombinants - Methods of cloning: (i) Vectors based on restriction enzymes; (ii) PCR amplification and cloning of DNA fragments through T/A cloning: pGEM vectors; (iii) Cloning mediated by DNA topoisomerase, TOPO Cloning; (iv) Cloning by recombination: Gateway and Golden Gate Assembly systems; 2) Genetic transformation of plants (leaf disks and protoplasts) and animals (Prof. Furini). 3) Bacteriophage λ, Cosmids, BAC, YAC, genomic libraries and cDNA libraries, transformation of yeast cells; 4) Genomic DNA extraction, plasmid DNA extraction, phage DNA extraction; 5) DNA and genome analysis by hybridization (Southern blotting) and amplification, molecular markers; 6) Sanger DNA sequencing, NGS sequencing and third generation sequencing; genome sequencing and genomics; 7) Random and site specific mutagenesis; 8) Genome editing, CRISPR/Cas9; 9) Forward and reverse genetics to study gene function, gene silencing (Prof. Bellin). 10) RNA extraction and gene expression analysis by Northern blotting, RT-PCR and Real Time RT-PCR; 11) Large-scale expression analysis, transcriptomic platforms based on microarray and RNA-Seq; 12) Reporter genes and their use for functional studies and gene expression analysis; 13) DNA-protein interaction in the regulation of gene expression: chromatin immunoprecipitation (ChIP), shift assay, luciferase assay (Prof. Zenoni) 14) Sub-cellular targeting for recombinant protein production in heterologous systems (comparison between prokaryotic and eukaryotic systems); 15) Description of the systems used to study the sub-cellular localization of a protein; 16) Factors that influence the stability of a protein and its evaluation; 17) Techniques used for the quantification of solubilized proteins (western blot, ELISA, enzymatic assays (Prof. ssa Avesani).
------------------------
MM: laboratorio
------------------------
Preparation of constructs for plant and yeast transformation. Students will clone the GFP gene in a TOPO-cloning vector and subsequently into a Gateway vector by recombination: The gene of interest will be amplified by PCR and cloned in a vector thanks to the activity of the DNA isomerase I. From this construct (entry clone), the gene of interest will be transferred by recombination in two different Gateway vectors (destination vectors), for the expression in plant and yeast. During the procedure, recombinant constructs will be amplified in E. coli and purified by miniprep procedure. Final constructs will be utilized for genetic transformation of plants (Prof. Furini) and yeast in following experience. Genomic DNA analysis: genomic DNA extraction. Evaluation of DNA yield and quality based on spectrophotometric analysis and evaluation on agarose gel. Set up and optimization of SSR marker analysis on known and unknown genotypes: sample preparation for analysis on capillary electrophoresis sequencer for size determination, scoring of results. Example of parentage analysis, varietal identification and genomic analysis based on linkage (Prof. ssa Bellin). Site-specific mutagenesis: planning of the mutagenesis, primer design for mutagenesis, PCR amplification and phosphorylation, ligation and digestion with DpnI for mutagenized plasmid enrichment, transformation of competent cells, recovery and screening of mutant plasmids and validation by evaluation of activity of the expressed protein (Prof. ssa Bellin). Gene expression analysis in a transgenic organism by real-time RT-PCR: Extraction of RNA from the transgenic organism and from the wild type. Evaluation of the quality and quantity of the extracted RNA, treatment with DNAse, reverse transcription and real-time RT-PCR reaction. Evaluation of the different levels of expression of the transgene in the wild type and in the transgenic organism by calculating the deltadeltaCt. (Prof. ssa Zenoni). Total Soluble Protein extraction from leaf tissue and from yeast and quantification. Evaluation of the yields of GFP production in plant systems and in yeast by ELISA and by fluorimetric analysis. (Prof. ssa Avesani)

Examination Methods

The final evaluation will be performed by a written exam, including open and multiple-choice questions concerning both the theory and practical activities. The final score will be calculated from the weighted averages of each part, including the evaluation of the laboratory reports. The positive evaluation of the exam concerning the parts given in the first term will be mandatory for assessing the exam of the second term.

Bibliografia

Reference texts
Activity Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
teoria Terry A. Brown Biotecnologie molecolari (Edizione 2) Zanichelli 2017 978-88-08-32096-4
laboratorio Terry A. Brown Biotecnologie molecolari (Edizione 2) Zanichelli 2017 978-88-08-32096-4
laboratorio Terry A. Brown Biotecnologie molecolari (Edizione 2) Zanichelli 2017 978-88-08-32096-4

Tipologia di Attività formativa D e F

Le attività formative in ambito D o F comprendono gli insegnamenti impartiti presso l'Università di Verona o periodi di stage/tirocinio professionale.
Nella scelta delle attività di tipo D, gli studenti dovranno tener presente che in sede di approvazione si terrà conto della coerenza delle loro scelte con il progetto formativo del loro piano di studio e dell'adeguatezza delle motivazioni eventualmente fornite.

 

Academic year
I semestre From 10/1/20 To 1/29/21
years Teachings TAF Teacher
Model organism in biotechnology research D Andrea Vettori (Coordinatore)
II semestre From 3/1/21 To 6/11/21
years Teachings TAF Teacher
Python programming language D Vittoria Cozza (Coordinatore)
List of courses with unassigned period
years Teachings TAF Teacher
Subject requirements: chemistry and biology D Not yet assigned
Subject requirements: basic mathematics and physics D Not yet assigned
LaTeX Language D Enrico Gregorio (Coordinatore)

Career prospects


Avvisi degli insegnamenti e del corso di studio

Per la comunità studentesca

Se sei già iscritta/o a un corso di studio, puoi consultare tutti gli avvisi relativi al tuo corso di studi nella tua area riservata MyUnivr.
In questo portale potrai visualizzare informazioni, risorse e servizi utili che riguardano la tua carriera universitaria (libretto online, gestione della carriera Esse3, corsi e-learning, email istituzionale, modulistica di segreteria, procedure amministrative, ecc.).
Entra in MyUnivr con le tue credenziali GIA.

Tutorato per gli studenti

I docenti dei singoli Corsi di Studio erogano un servizio di tutorato volto a orientare e assistere gli studenti del triennio, in particolare le matricole, per renderli partecipi dell’intero processo formativo, con l’obiettivo di prevenire la dispersione e il ritardo negli studi, oltre che promuovere una proficua partecipazione attiva alla vita universitaria in tutte le sue forme.

TUTORATO PER GLI STUDENTI DELL’AREA DI SCIENZE E INGEGNERIA
Tutorato finalizzato a offrire loro un’attività di orientamento che possa essere di supporto per gli aspetti organizzativi e amministrativi della vita universitaria.
Le tutor attualemente di riferimento sono:
  • Dott.ssa Luana Uda, luana.uda@univr.it
  • Dott.ssa Roberta RIgaglia, roberta.rigaglia@univr.it

Graduation

List of theses and work experience proposals

theses proposals Research area
Studio delle proprietà di luminescenza di lantanidi in matrici proteiche Synthetic Chemistry and Materials: Materials synthesis, structure-properties relations, functional and advanced materials, molecular architecture, organic chemistry - Colloid chemistry
Multifunctional organic-inorganic hybrid nanomaterials for applications in Biotechnology and Green Chemistry Synthetic Chemistry and Materials: Materials synthesis, structure-properties relations, functional and advanced materials, molecular architecture, organic chemistry - New materials: oxides, alloys, composite, organic-inorganic hybrid, nanoparticles
Stampa 3D di nanocompositi polimerici luminescenti per applicazioni in Nanomedicina Synthetic Chemistry and Materials: Materials synthesis, structure-properties relations, functional and advanced materials, molecular architecture, organic chemistry - New materials: oxides, alloys, composite, organic-inorganic hybrid, nanoparticles
Biologia e proprietà immunologiche delle cellule staminali fetali Various topics
Dinamiche della metilazione del DNA e loro contributo durante il processo di maturazione della bacca di vite. Various topics
Risposte trascrittomiche a sollecitazioni ambientali in vite Various topics
Studio delle basi genomico-funzionali del processo di embriogenesi somatica in vite Various topics

Tirocini e stage

Le attività di stage sono finalizzate a far acquisire allo studente una conoscenza diretta in settori di particolare attività per l’inserimento nel mondo del lavoro e per l’acquisizione di abilità specifiche di interesse professionale.
Le attività di stage sono svolte sotto la diretta responsabilità di un singolo docente presso studi professionali, enti della pubblica amministrazione, aziende accreditate dall’Ateneo veronese.
I crediti maturati in seguito ad attività di stage saranno attribuiti secondo quanto disposto nel dettaglio dal “Regolamento d’Ateneo per il riconoscimento dei crediti maturati negli stage universitari” vigente.

Tutte le informazioni in merito agli stage sono reperibili al link https://www.univr.it/it/i-nostri-servizi/stage-e-tirocini.
 

University Language Centre - CLA

Allegati