Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

A.A. 2011/2012

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates. .

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
I semestre Oct 3, 2011 Jan 14, 2012
II semestre Feb 27, 2012 May 26, 2012
II semestre - I PARTE Feb 27, 2012 Apr 14, 2012
II semestre - II PARTE Apr 16, 2012 May 26, 2012
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione esami invernale Jan 16, 2012 Feb 25, 2012
Sessione esami estiva Jun 4, 2012 Jul 21, 2012
Sessione esami autunnale Sep 3, 2012 Sep 29, 2012
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione lauree autunnale Nov 24, 2011 Nov 26, 2011
Sessione lauree invernale Apr 2, 2012 Apr 4, 2012
Sessione lauree estiva Jul 10, 2012 Jul 13, 2012
Holidays
Period From To
Festa di Ognissanti Nov 1, 2011 Nov 1, 2011
Festa dell'Immacolata Concezione Dec 8, 2011 Dec 8, 2011
Vacanze di Natale Dec 24, 2011 Jan 8, 2012
Vacanze di Pasqua Apr 5, 2012 Apr 10, 2012
Festa della Liberazione Apr 25, 2012 Apr 25, 2012
Festa del Lavoro May 1, 2012 May 1, 2012
Festa del Santo Patrono di Verona S. Zeno May 21, 2012 May 21, 2012
Festa della Repubblica Jun 2, 2012 Jun 2, 2012

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Foreign Languages and Literatures Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D E F G K L M P R S T U V Z

Alber Birgit

birgit.alber@univr.it +39 045 802 8490

Aloe Stefano

stefano.aloe@univr.it +39 045802 8409

Battisti Chiara

chiara.battisti@univr.it +39 045802 8317

Bezrucka Yvonne

yvonne.bezrucka@univr.it +39 045802 8580

Bigliazzi Silvia

silvia.bigliazzi@univr.it +39 045802 8477

Bognolo Anna

anna.bognolo@univr.it +39 045802 8327

Butturini Paolo

paolo.butturini@univr.it +39 0458028890 - 8406

Cagliero Roberto

roberto.cagliero@univr.it +39 045802 8694

Calvi Lisanna

lisanna.calvi@univr.it +39 045 802 8673

Cantarini Sibilla

sibilla.cantarini@univr.it +39 045802 8199

Carol Lidia

lidia.carolgerones@univr.it

Cassia Fabio

fabio.cassia@univr.it 0458028689

Cobelli Nicola

nicola.cobelli@univr.it 0458028295

Colombo Laura Maria

laura.colombo@univr.it + 39 045802 8322

De Beni Matteo

matteo.debeni@univr.it +39 045 802 8540

Ebani Nadia

nadia.ebani@univr.it +39 045802 8329

Fiorato Sidia

sidia.fiorato@univr.it +39 045802 8317

Frassi Paolo

paolo.frassi@univr.it +39 045802 8408

Gallo Antonella

antonella.gallo@univr.it +39 045802 8467

Gambin Felice

felice.gambin@univr.it +39 045802 8323

Genetti Stefano

stefano.genetti@univr.it +39 045802 8412

Gorris Rosanna

rosanna.gorris@univr.it +39 045802 8324

Grana Maria

cecilia.grana@univr.it

Kofler Peter Erwin

peter.kofler@univr.it +39 045802 8313

Larcati Arturo

arturo.larcati@univr.it + 39 045802 8311
Foto,  September 17, 2008

Ligas Pierluigi

pierluigi.ligas@univr.it +39 045 802 8408
foto,  July 29, 2014

Locher Elmar

elmar.locher@univr.it +39 045802 8311

Lorenzetti Maria Ivana

mariaivana.lorenzetti@univr.it +39 045802 8579

Magnanini Emilia

emmag@unive.it

Martinelli Caterina

caterina.martinelli@univr.it + 39 045 802 8661

Miotti Renzo

renzo.miotti@univr.it +39 045802 8571

Panzeri Lino

lino.panzeri@univr.it +39 045 8028264

Pappalardo Maria

maria.pappalardo@univr.it +39 045802 8391

Perazzolo Paola

paola.perazzolo@univr.it +39 045802 8412

Pes Annalisa

annalisa.pes@univr.it +39 045802 8318

Piva Franco

franco.piva@univr.it +39 045802 8322

Pravadelli Graziano

graziano.pravadelli@univr.it +39 045 802 7081

Rabanus Stefan

stefan.rabanus@univr.it +39 045802 8490

Ruvoletto Luisa

luisa.ruvoletto@univr.it

Sassi Carla

carla.sassi@univr.it +39 045802 8701

Schiffermuller Isolde

ischifferm@univr.it +39 045802 8478

Simeoni Francesca

francesca.simeoni@univr.it + 39 045 802 8160

Soldani Arnaldo

arnaldo.soldani@univr.it 045 - 8028648

Stanzani Sandro

sandro.stanzani@univr.it +39 0458028649

Tomaselli Alessandra

alessandra.tomaselli@univr.it +39 045802 8315

Ugolini Marta Maria

marta.ugolini@univr.it + 39 045 802 8126

Vigolo Vania

vania.vigolo@univr.it 045 802 8624

Viola Corrado

corrado.viola@univr.it +39 045802 8194

Zanfei Anna

anna.zanfei@univr.it +39 045802 8347
foto_zanon,  May 29, 2012

Zanon Tobia

tobia.zanon@univr.it

Zinato Susanna

susanna.zinato@univr.it +39 045802 8318

Zinato Andrea

andrea.zinato@univr.it +39 045802 8339

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

CURRICULUM TIPO:
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
Prima lingua straniera anno I
9
A
(L-LIN/04)
9
A
(L-LIN/07)
Seconda lingua straniera anno I
9
A
(L-LIN/04)
9
A
(L-LIN/07)
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
Prima lingua straniera anno II
9
B
(L-LIN/04)
9
B
(L-LIN/14)
Seconda lingua straniera anno II
9
B
(L-LIN/04)
9
B
(L-LIN/14)
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
Prima lingua straniera anno III
9
B
(L-LIN/12)
9
B
(L-LIN/04)
9
B
(L-LIN/07)
Seconda lingua straniera anno III
9
B
(L-LIN/12)
9
B
(L-LIN/04)
9
B
(L-LIN/07)
6
F
(-)

1° Anno

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
Prima lingua straniera anno I
9
A
(L-LIN/04)
9
A
(L-LIN/07)
Seconda lingua straniera anno I
9
A
(L-LIN/04)
9
A
(L-LIN/07)

2° Anno

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
Prima lingua straniera anno II
9
B
(L-LIN/04)
9
B
(L-LIN/14)
Seconda lingua straniera anno II
9
B
(L-LIN/04)
9
B
(L-LIN/14)

3° Anno

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
Prima lingua straniera anno III
9
B
(L-LIN/12)
9
B
(L-LIN/04)
9
B
(L-LIN/07)
Seconda lingua straniera anno III
9
B
(L-LIN/12)
9
B
(L-LIN/04)
9
B
(L-LIN/07)
6
F
(-)
Modules Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S00844

Credits

6

Coordinatore

Susanna Zinato

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

L-LIN/10 - ENGLISH LITERATURE

Language

Italian

The teaching is organized as follows:

Modulo 1

Credits

3

Period

II semestre - I PARTE

Academic staff

Annalisa Pes

Modulo 2

Credits

3

Period

II semestre - II PARTE

Academic staff

Susanna Zinato

???OrarioLezioni???

Learning outcomes

The course aims at offering a general introduction to the main concerns and theoretical issues of the discipline through the critical reading and analysis of representative texts of colonial and postcolonial English literature.

Program

“Passages to and from the Empire”

Introductory lectures will be devoted to the literary and historical background of the Imperial and Postcolonial age. Later, by reading and elaborating on the texts students will be presented with the literary definition of English identity or “Englishness” and the rhetorical and ideological dynamics of its construction, codification, fragmentation and redefinition during the age of British imperialism and over the following years of its loss of power, of de-colonization and “reverse colonization”.
Non-attending students are required to follow the primary text and reference lists recommended to attending students and to complement it with the supplementary reference list


BIBLIOGRAFIA
Testi primari
- E.M. Forster, A Passage to India (1924), si consiglia l’edizione Penguin
- Sam Selvon, The Lonely Londoners (1956), si consiglia l’edizione Penguin con introduzione di Susheila Nasta
- Hanif Kureishi, My Beautiful Laundrette and The Rainbow Sign, Faber and Faber, 1986
N.B. La visione del film di S. Frears "My Beautiful Laundrette" costituirà parte integrante del corso
Testi secondari
- Kenneth C. Kaleta, "Films with Frears: My Beautiful Laundrette and Sammie and Rosie Get Laid" (pp.39-61) in Hanif Kureishi: Postcolonial Storyteller, University of Texas Press, 1998
- A. Dawson, Mongrel Nation, The University of Michigan Press, 2007 (i capitoli “Colonization in Reverse. An Introduction”, pp. 1-26; “In the Big City the Sex Life Gone Wild”. Migration, Gender and Identity in Sam Selvon’s The Lonely Londoners”, pp. 27-48)
- D. Bradshaw (ed.) The Cambridge Companion to E.M. Forster, CUP, 2007 (cap. 12 “A Passage to India”, pp. 188-208)
Bibliografia supplettiva per studenti non frequentanti
- A. Marzola (a c. di) Englishness, Carocci, 1999 (Cap. 5 “Ricostruzioni. 1950-1970”, pp. 197-212; Cap. 6 “Il neoliberismo e le strategie del consenso. 1970-1990”, pp. 249-257; Cap. 7.4 “Multietnie e postcolonialismo”, pp. 308-316)
- S. Manferlotti, Dopo l’Impero. Romanzo ed etnia in Gran Bretagna, Liguori, 1995 (cap. 4 "Hanif Kureishi", pp. 143-159)
- M. Looker, Atlantic Passages, Peter Lang, 1996 (“Preface”, pp. ix-x; “Introduction”, pp. 1-20; “Inventing Black London: The Lonely Londoners”, pp. 59-80)
- I. Baucom, Out of Place, Princeton University Press, 1999 (il cap. “The Path from War to Friendship: E.M. Forster’s Mutiny Pilgrimage”, pp. 101-134)

Examination Methods

Oral and/or written exam

Type D and Type F activities

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Student Guide

Allegati

Title Info File
pdf Vademecum normativo area Lingue e letterature straniere 1009 KB, 07/07/21 

Linguistic training CLA


Stage e tirocini

Nel piano didattico della laurea triennale in Lingue per il turismo e il commercio internazionale (L12) è previsto un periodo di stage obbligatorio (CFU 6) in organizzazioni imprenditoriali.

Le attività di stage sono finalizzate a far acquisire allo studente una conoscenza diretta in settori di particolare interesse per l’inserimento nel mondo del lavoro e per l’acquisizione di abilità professionali specifiche.
Le attività di stage sono svolte sotto la diretta responsabilità di un singolo docente presso studi professionali, enti della pubblica amministrazione, aziende accreditate dall’Ateneo veronese.
I crediti maturati in seguito ad attività di stage saranno attribuiti secondo quanto disposto nel dettaglio dal “Regolamento d’Ateneo per il riconoscimento dei crediti maturati negli stage universitari” vigente.
Tutte le informazioni in merito agli stage sono reperibili al link https://www.univr.it/it/i-nostri-servizi/stage-e-tirocini.
 

Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.