Studying at the University of Verona

A.A. 2018/2019

Academic calendar

Il calendario accademico riporta le scadenze, gli adempimenti e i periodi rilevanti per la componente studentesca, personale docente e personale dell'Università. Sono inoltre indicate le festività e le chiusure ufficiali dell'Ateneo.
L’anno accademico inizia il 1° ottobre e termina il 30 settembre dell'anno successivo.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates. .

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
Sem. 1A Sep 24, 2018 Nov 10, 2018
Sem. 1B Nov 19, 2018 Jan 12, 2019
Sem. 2A Feb 18, 2019 Mar 30, 2019
Sem. 2B Apr 8, 2019 Jun 1, 2019
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione d'esame invernale Jan 14, 2019 Feb 16, 2019
Sessione d'esame estiva (gli esami sono sospesi durante la sessione di laurea) Jun 3, 2019 Jul 27, 2019
Sessione d'esame autunnale Aug 26, 2019 Sep 21, 2019
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione di laurea estiva Jul 8, 2019 Jul 13, 2019
Sessione di laurea autunnale Nov 4, 2019 Nov 9, 2019
Sessione di laurea invernale Mar 30, 2020 Apr 4, 2020
Holidays
Period From To
Festa di Ognissanti Nov 1, 2018 Nov 1, 2018
Sospensione dell'attività didattica Nov 2, 2018 Nov 3, 2018
Festa dell’Immacolata Dec 8, 2018 Dec 8, 2018
Vacanze di Natale Dec 24, 2018 Jan 5, 2019
Vacanze di Pasqua Apr 19, 2019 Apr 23, 2019
Sospensione attività didattica Apr 24, 2019 Apr 27, 2019
Festa della liberazione Apr 25, 2019 Apr 25, 2019
Festa del lavoro May 1, 2019 May 1, 2019
Festa del Santo Patrono May 21, 2019 May 21, 2019
Festa della Repubblica Jun 2, 2019 Jun 2, 2019
Vacanze Estive Aug 12, 2019 Aug 17, 2019

Exam calendar

The exam roll calls are centrally administered by the operational unit   Culture and Civilisation Teaching and Student Services Unit
Exam Session Calendar and Roll call enrolment   sistema ESSE3 . If you forget your password to the online services, please contact the technical office in your Faculty or to the service credential recovery .

Exam calendar

Per dubbi o domande Read the answers to the more serious and frequent questions - F.A.Q. Examination enrolment

Academic staff

B C D F G M P S T V Z

Barbierato Federico

federico.barbierato@univr.it 045 802 8351

Boscaini Maurizio

maurizio.boscaini@univr.it

Brunetti Simona

simona.brunetti@univr.it +39 045802 8575

Caleffi Paola Maria

paolamaria.caleffi@univr.it

Calvi Lisanna

lisanna.calvi@univr.it +39 045 802 8673

Camurri Renato

renato.camurri@univr.it +39 045 802 8635

Cavaleri Mattia

mattia.cavaleri@univr.it +39 045 8015017

Ceschi Andrea

andrea.ceschi@univr.it +39 045 802 8137

Corte Maurizio

maurizio.corte@univr.it

Cubico Serena

serena.cubico@univr.it 045 802 8132

Dalla Preda Mila

mila.dallapreda@univr.it

Delfitto Denis

denis.delfitto@univr.it +39 045802 8114

Formiga Federica

federica.formiga@univr.it 045802 8123

Franco Tiziana

tiziana.franco@univr.it +39 045802 8380

Gallo Claudio

maxclaudiogallo@gmail.com

Grossato Elisa

elisa.grossato@univr.it +39 045802 8647

Guaraldo Olivia

olivia.guaraldo@univr.it +39 045802 8066

Magagnino Mario

mario.magagnino@gmail.com 0458028418

Mastrocinque Attilio

attilio.mastrocinque@univr.it +39 045802 8386

Migliorati Lorenzo

lorenzo.migliorati@univr.it 045802 8135

Paini Anna Maria

anna.paini@univr.it +39 045802 8129

Palma Flavia

flavia.palma@univr.it

Poggi Davide

davide.poggi@univr.it +39 045802 8361

Possenti Ilaria

ilaria.possenti@univr.it +39 045802 8687

Sandrini Giuseppe

giuseppe.sandrini@univr.it 045 802 8069

Sartori Riccardo

riccardo.sartori@univr.it +39 045 802 8140

Scandola Alberto

alberto.scandola@univr.it 045.8028586

Soldani Arnaldo

arnaldo.soldani@univr.it 045 - 8028648

Tani Stefano

stefano.tani@univr.it +39 045802 8110

Tuppini Tommaso

tommaso.tuppini@univr.it 045 802 8142

Valbusa Ivan

ivan.valbusa@univr.it

Viviani Debora

debora.viviani@univr.it 0458028470

Zardini Alessandro

alessandro.zardini@univr.it 045 802 8565

Zorzi Margherita

margherita.zorzi@univr.it +39 045 802 7908

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

TeachingsCreditsTAFSSD
1 course to be chosen among the following
2nd foreign language
6
E
-

2° Anno

TeachingsCreditsTAFSSD
1 course to be chosen among the following
2nd foreign language
6
E
-

3° Anno

TeachingsCreditsTAFSSD
1 course to be chosen among the following
Prova finale
6
E
(-)
Teachings Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°
Stage/laboratories
9
F
-

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S01196

Coordinatore

Lisanna Calvi

Credits

6

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

L-LIN/10 - ENGLISH LITERATURE

Language of instruction

Italian

Period

Sem. 2B dal Apr 8, 2019 al Jun 1, 2019.

Learning outcomes

The module aims at offering an overview of late-nineteenth to twentieth-century English drama, as well as at presenting the students with the basics of textual analysis. On successful completion of the module, students will achieve a good knowledge of the cultural context in which the texts included in the programme were composed. They will be able to develop a coherent and detailed interpretation of the texts, apply key methods and concepts relevant to textual analysis, and provide a plausible critical interpretation in a register and style that serve the context and intention.

Program

Theatre and communication: words and silence on the late twentieth-century British stage
The module will deal with a selection of late twentieth-century dramatic texts in order to offer an overview of British theatre after the World War II with special regard to how the problem of communication is introduced and acted on the stage. Starting from John Osborne’s ‘Theatre of Anger’, herald of an improbable as well as ‘shouted’ emancipation, the module will explore Arnold Wesker’s social drama, whose characters fight against apathy and communicative deficiency, Samuel Beckett’s theatre and of absurd, rooted in dynamics of alienation and communicative closure, and Harold Pinter’s dramaturgy that deliberately abandons rational constructs and refuses the logical and consequential function of language leading to the failure of communication itself.

Please be advised
Language: lectures will be held in Italian; primary texts will be read in English.
Further materials (slides, images, videos, etc.) will be used in class and will later be available for download from the MOODLE e-repository.
Students are required to do all the readings indicated in the three sections below:
1. Primary Texts
2. References
3. References for non-attending students

BIBLIOGRAPHY
1. Primary texts
- J. Osborne, Look Back in Anger (Faber and Faber, 1996)
- A. Wesker, Chicken Soup with Barley e Roots (Methuen, 2003)
- S. Beckett, Waiting for Godot (Faber and Faber, 2009)
- H. Pinter, Old Times (Faber and Faber, 2004)
- H. Pinter, Ashes to Ashes (Dramatist’s Play Service, 2009)
2. References
- A. M. Adams, “Look Back in Realism: The Making and Unmaking of Dramatic Form in the Reception of the British New Wave”, The Journal of the Midwest Modern Language Association, Vol. 40, No. 1 (Spring, 2007), pp. 75-86 (available on Jstor – see MOODLE for instructions).
- A. Cascetta, Il tragico e l’umorismo: studio sulla drammaturgia di Samuel Beckett, Le Lettere, 2000, pp. 17-76.
- G. Leeming and S. Trussler, The Plays of Arnold Wesker. An Assessment, Victor Gollancz, 1971, pp. 43-87.
- A. Rayner, “Harold Pinter: Narrative and Presence”, Theatre Journal , Vol. 40, No. 4 (December 1988), pp. 482-497 (available on Jstor – see MOODLE for instructions).
- K. Elam, The Semiotics of Theatre and Drama, Routlegde, 2005, pp. 1-113.
3. References for non-attending students
- M. Corsani, Il nuovo teatro inglese (Mursia, 1982), pp. 7-43; 53-114.
- M. M. Reiter, “Old Times Revisited: Harold Pinter’s Ashes to Ashes”, AAA: Arbeiten aus Anglistik und Amerikanistik, Vol. 22, No. 2 (1997), pp. 173-194 (available on Jstor – see MOODLE for instructions).

Further details on required readings and general information on bibliographical material will be provided during classes.

FURTHER MATERIALS
Other teaching materials (slides, images, videos, etc.) that will be used in class will be avaible for download from the MOODLE e-repository. Their contents do not substitute but complement the mandatory readings listed in the BIBLIOGRAPHY section above.

Bibliografia

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
Harold Pinter Ashes to Ashes Dramatist’s Play Service 2009
Arnold Wesker Chicken Soup with Barley Methuen 2003
Alice Rayner “Harold Pinter: Narrative and Presence” Theatre Journal, Vol. 40, No. 4, pp. 482-97 1988
Mary Corsani Il nuovo teatro inglese Mursia 1983 pp. 7-43; 53-114
Annamaria Cascetta Il tragico e l’umorismo: studio sulla drammaturgia di Samuel Beckett (pp. 17-76) Le Lettere 2000 pp. 17-76
John Osborne Look Back in Anger Faber and Faber 1996
Anne Marie Adams “Look Back in Realism: The Making and Unmaking of Dramatic Form in the Reception of the British New Wave” The Journal of the Midwest Modern Language Association, Vol. 40, No. 1, pp. 75-86 2007
Harold Pinter Old Times Faber and Faber 2004
Manuela M. Reiter “Old Times Revisited: Harold Pinter’s Ashes to Ashes” AAA: Arbeiten aus Anglistik und Amerikanistik, Vol. 22, No. 2, pp. 173-194 1997
Arnold Wesker Roots Methuen 2003
Glenda Leeming, Simon Trussler The Plays of Arnold Wesker. An Assessment Victor Gollancz 1971 pp. 43-87
Keir Elam The Semiotics of Theatre and Drama Routledge 2005 pp. 1-113
Samuel Beckett Waiting for Godot Faber and Faber 2009

Examination Methods

Typology: oral exam. There will be no mid-term tests.
The exam will consist in an oral discussion (in Italian) that will test the knowledge of the module’s topics (texts and authors). Students will be required to analyse and critically evaluate the primary texts also by contextualizing them in their historical, dramatic, and cultural background. Assessment will consider: 1. the knowledge and comprehension of dramatic texts, 2. the development of good analytical and synthetic skill levels with regard to the main historical, cultural, textual, and critical topics of the module, 3. the use of an appropriate vocabulary.

Tipologia di Attività formativa D e F

List of courses with unassigned period
years Teachings TAF Teacher
1° 2° 3° Laboratory of Theatrical Criticism F Not yet assigned

Career prospects


Avvisi degli insegnamenti e del corso di studio

Per la comunità studentesca

Se sei già iscritta/o a un corso di studio, puoi consultare tutti gli avvisi relativi al tuo corso di studi nella tua area riservata MyUnivr.
In questo portale potrai visualizzare informazioni, risorse e servizi utili che riguardano la tua carriera universitaria (libretto online, gestione della carriera Esse3, corsi e-learning, email istituzionale, modulistica di segreteria, procedure amministrative, ecc.).
Entra in MyUnivr con le tue credenziali GIA.

Linguistic training CLA


Graduation

List of theses and work experience proposals

theses proposals Research area
Laureandi Scienze della Comunicazione: vademecum Various topics
Stage Research area
L'iter del libro in biblioteca Various topics
POTENZIAMENTO COMUNICAZIONE E SOCIAL NETWORK Various topics

Tutorato per studenti

 Tutti i docenti del Corso di Studio possono fornire nell'orario di ricevimento una forma di tutorato volta ad orientare e assistere gli studenti lungo tutto il corso degli studi.

Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.