Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

A.A. 2019/2020

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
primo semestre magistrali Sep 30, 2019 Dec 20, 2019
secondo semestre magistrali Feb 24, 2020 May 29, 2020
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione invernale magistrali Jan 7, 2020 Feb 21, 2020
Sessione estiva magistrali Jun 3, 2020 Jul 10, 2020
Autumn Session exams Aug 24, 2020 Sep 11, 2020
Degree sessions
Session From To
Autumn Session Dec 2, 2019 Dec 4, 2019
Winter Session Apr 7, 2020 Apr 9, 2020
Summer session Sep 7, 2020 Sep 9, 2020

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Economics Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

B C F G M N P R S V Z

Bazzani Claudia

claudia.bazzani@univr.it 0458028734

Berton Marina

marina.berton@univr.it

Broglia Angela

angela.broglia@univr.it 045 802 8240

Brunetti Federico

federico.brunetti@univr.it 045 802 8494

Bucciol Alessandro

alessandro.bucciol@univr.it 045 802 8278

Calabrese Bernardo

bernardo.calabrese@univr.it

Capitello Roberta

roberta.capitello@univr.it 045 802 8488

Castellani Paola

paola.castellani@univr.it 045 802 8127

Cavallo Daniela

daniela.cavallo@univr.it

Confente Ilenia

ilenia.confente@univr.it 045 802 8174

Corbella Silvano

silvano.corbella@univr.it 045 802 8217

Ferrari Maria Luisa

marialuisa.ferrari@univr.it 045 802 8532

Gaeta Davide Nicola Vincenzo

davide.gaeta@univr.it 045 683 5632

Giaretta Elena

elena.giaretta@univr.it 045 802 8051

Goldoni Giovanni

giovanni.goldoni@univr.it 045 802 8792

Grossi Luigi

luigi.grossi@univr.it 045 802 8247

Mariutto Alberto

alberto.mariutto@univr.it

Menon Martina

martina.menon@univr.it 045 802 8420

Minozzo Marco

marco.minozzo@univr.it 045 802 8234

Mion Giorgio

giorgio.mion@univr.it 045.802 8172

Mori Luca

luca.mori@univr.it 045 802 8388

Noto Sergio

elefante@univr.it 045 802 8008

Perali Federico

federico.perali@univr.it 045 802 8486

Rossato Chiara

chiara.rossato@univr.it 045 802 8620

Russo Ivan

ivan.russo@univr.it 045 802 8161 (VR)

Sidali Katia Laura

katialaura sidali@univr it 045 802 8592

Signori Paola

paola.signori@univr.it 0444 393942 (VI) 045 802 8492 (VR)

Stacchezzini Riccardo

riccardo.stacchezzini@univr.it 045 802 8186

Viviani Debora

debora.viviani@univr.it 0458028470

Zarri Luca

luca.zarri@univr.it 045 802 8101

Zoli Claudio

claudio.zoli@univr.it 045 802 8479

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

CURRICULUM TIPO:
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
6
B
(SECS-P/01)
9
B
(SECS-S/03)
6
B
(SECS-P/12)
Stage
6
F
-

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
6
B
(SECS-P/01)
9
B
(SECS-S/03)
6
B
(SECS-P/12)
Stage
6
F
-
Modules Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 1°- 2°

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S001452

Teacher

Sergio Noto

Coordinatore

Sergio Noto

Credits

6

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

SECS-P/12 - ECONOMIC HISTORY

Language

Italian

Period

secondo semestre magistrali dal Feb 24, 2020 al May 29, 2020.

Learning outcomes

The course mainly aims to support the attitude to consider the economic development as a complex issue, surely not determined only by quantitative factors, on the opposite greatly influenced by non-economic factors, widely cultural, such as religion, ethics, geography, technology, history, demography etc. The course discusses some interpretations based on relevant economic history and economic recent contributions.

Program

1. Definition of economic development. Economic development considered as a cultural process. Robert J. Barro and J. Huizinga.
2. Capital accumulation and the pursuing of the eternal life in the Middle Age. Its social and economic organization.
3. Some relevant cases of social utopia in the 19th and 20th Century. The Soviet communism in the U.S.S.R and some other countries. A concluded experiment?
4. Inclusive economic institutions and economic policies as a determinant of economic growth (UK, USA, Japan, West Europe).
5. Selective economic institutions and economic policies as a determinant of nation’s decline and failure (Mexico, USSR, China).
6. Culture and civilization: some paradigmatic case in Latin America.
7. Economic development in Asia: the cases of China, Japan and south Korea.
8. Bourgeois virtues: W. Sombart and D. McCloskey.
9. Patterns of economic development in Veneto and in the area of Verona.
10. The cluster’s pattern of economic development and its consequences within the SME territory.
11. Environmental issues and economic growth. Some degrowth theories. Sustainability and Economic equilibrium.

BOOKS:
D. Acemoglu, J. Robinson, Perché le nazioni falliscono. Alle origini di prosperità, potenza e povertà, Milano, Il Saggiatore, 2013.
M. De Cecco, L’economia di Lucignolo, opportunità e vincoli dello sviluppo italiano, Roma, Donzelli, 2000
J. Cohen e G. Federico, Lo sviluppo economico italiano 1820-1960, Bologna, Il Mulino, 2001.
E. Felice, Ascesa e declino. Storia economica d’Italia, Bologna, Il Mulino, 2015 (capitoli da concordare col docente).
J. Huizinga, La crisi della civiltà, Pgreco edizioni, 2012
D.N. McCloskey, I vizi degli economisti, le virtù della borghesia, IBL Libri, 2014.
T. Piketty, Il capitale nel XX secolo, Milano, Bompiani, 2014.
G. Roverato, L’industria nel Veneto: storia economica di un caso regionale, Padova, Esedra, 1996
J. Schumpeter, Teoria dello Sviluppo Economico, Milano, Rizzoli Etas, 2002
G. Toniolo, L’Italia e l’economia mondiale dall’Unità a oggi, Venezia, Marsili, 2013.

Examination Methods

The final examination will be provided orally. Students are requested to discuss at least two books from the above displayed list, and to write a short paper (around 40.000 characters spaces included) on a topic of their interest, chosen between those presented in the course.
Final grade will be settled as following: 65% oral examination; 25% paper; 10% teacher's evaluation based on student's personal participation to e-learning's and class' discussions.

Type D and Type F activities

Second semester bachelor degree From 2/17/20 To 6/5/20
years Modules TAF Teacher
1° 2° Enactus Verona 2020 D Paola Signori (Coordinatore)
1° 2° Parlare in pubblico e economic writing D Martina Menon (Coordinatore)
1° 2° Samsung Innovation Camp D Marco Minozzo (Coordinatore)
1° 2° Simulation and Implementation of Economic Policies D Federico Perali (Coordinatore)
secondo semestre magistrali From 2/24/20 To 5/29/20
years Modules TAF Teacher
Hub 34° - 2019/20 D Federico Brunetti (Coordinatore)
1° 2° Knowing and using digital marketing tools: google ads - 2019 D Federico Brunetti (Coordinatore)
1° 2° Predictive analytics for business decisions - 2019/20 D Claudio Zoli (Coordinatore)
1° 2° Professional communication for economics - 2019/20 D Claudio Zoli (Coordinatore)
1° 2° Parlare in pubblico e economic writing D Martina Menon (Coordinatore)
1° 2° Regulation, procurement and competition - 2019/20 D Claudio Zoli (Coordinatore)
1° 2° Simulation and Implementation of Economic Policies D Federico Perali (Coordinatore)
List of courses with unassigned period
years Modules TAF Teacher
1° 2° English for business and economics D Claudio Zoli (Coordinatore)
1° 2° Il Futuro Conta! D Alessandro Bucciol (Coordinatore)
1° 2° Il Futuro Conta! D Alessandro Bucciol (Coordinatore)
1° 2° Data Analysis Laboratory with R D Marco Minozzo (Coordinatore)
1° 2° Data Analysis Laboratory with R (Verona) D Marco Minozzo (Coordinatore)
1° 2° Data Visualization Laboratory D Marco Minozzo (Coordinatore)
1° 2° Python Laboratory D Marco Minozzo (Coordinatore)
1° 2° Data Science Laboratory with SAP D Marco Minozzo (Coordinatore)
1° 2° Advanced Excel Laboratory (Verona) D Marco Minozzo (Coordinatore)
1° 2° Excel Laboratory (Verona) D Marco Minozzo (Coordinatore)
1° 2° The fashion lab (1 ECTS) D Angela Broglia (Coordinatore)
1° 2° The fashion lab (2 ECTS) D Angela Broglia (Coordinatore)
1° 2° The fashion lab (3 ECTS) D Angela Broglia (Coordinatore)
1° 2° Methods and tools to support strategic marketing and business management decisions - 2019 D Claudia Bazzani (Coordinatore)
1° 2° Marketing Plan D Ilenia Confente (Coordinatore)
1° 2° Presente e futuro del pianeta D Federico Brunetti (Coordinatore)
1° 2° Programming in Matlab D Marco Minozzo (Coordinatore)
1° 2° Programming in SAS D Marco Minozzo (Coordinatore)
1° 2° Robo-Ethics D Giorgio Mion (Coordinatore)
1° 2° Univero' - Job Orienteering festival D Paola Signori (Coordinatore)

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Linguistic training CLA


Graduation

List of theses and work experience proposals

theses proposals Research area
Il futuro del corporate reporting (COVID19) Various topics
Le nuove sfide per le supply chain (COVID19) Various topics
Le scelte alimentari dei giovani italiani: quanto è importante la sostenibilità? Various topics
Nuovi scenari e nuovi contesti di acquisto e consumo di bevande alcoliche Various topics
Sfide e opportunità del contesto digitale Various topics
Tesi di Laurea in Economia Comportamentale Various topics

Internships


Gestione carriere


Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.