Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

A.A. 2012/2013

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
I semestre Oct 1, 2012 Jan 31, 2013
II semestre Mar 4, 2013 Jun 14, 2013
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione straordinaria Feb 4, 2013 Feb 28, 2013
Sessione estiva Jun 17, 2013 Jul 31, 2013
Sessione autunnale Sep 2, 2013 Sep 30, 2013
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione autunnale Oct 18, 2012 Oct 18, 2012
Sessione straordinaria Dec 12, 2012 Dec 12, 2012
Sessione invernale Mar 21, 2013 Mar 21, 2013
Sessione estiva Jul 16, 2013 Jul 16, 2013
Holidays
Period From To
Festa di Ognissanti Nov 1, 2012 Nov 1, 2012
Festa dell'Immacolata Concezione Dec 8, 2012 Dec 8, 2012
Vacanze di Natale Dec 21, 2012 Jan 6, 2013
Vacanze di Pasqua Mar 29, 2013 Apr 2, 2013
Festa della Liberazione Apr 25, 2013 Apr 25, 2013
Festa del Lavoro May 1, 2013 May 1, 2013
Festa del Santo Patrono di Verona - San Zeno May 21, 2013 May 21, 2013
Festa della Repubblica Jun 2, 2013 Jun 2, 2013
Vacanze estive Aug 9, 2013 Aug 16, 2013

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Science and Engineering Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

B C D F G M O P Q R S V

Belussi Alberto

alberto.belussi@univr.it +39 045 802 7980

Bombieri Nicola

nicola.bombieri@univr.it +39 045 802 7094

Bonacina Maria Paola

mariapaola.bonacina@univr.it +39 045 802 7046

Carra Damiano

damiano.carra@univr.it +39 045 802 7059

Castellani Umberto

umberto.castellani@univr.it +39 045 802 7988

Combi Carlo

carlo.combi@univr.it 045 802 7985

Cristani Matteo

matteo.cristani@univr.it 045 802 7983

Cristani Marco

marco.cristani@univr.it +39 045 802 7841

Cubico Serena

serena.cubico@univr.it 045 802 8132

Di Pierro Alessandra

alessandra.dipierro@univr.it +39 045 802 7971

Farinelli Alessandro

alessandro.farinelli@univr.it +39 045 802 7842

Favretto Giuseppe

giuseppe.favretto@univr.it +39 045 802 8749 - 8748

Fiorini Paolo

paolo.fiorini@univr.it 045 802 7963

Fracastoro Gerolamo

gerolamo.fracastoro@univr.it + 39 0458122786

Fummi Franco

franco.fummi@univr.it 045 802 7994

Giachetti Andrea

andrea.giachetti@univr.it +39 045 8027998

Giacobazzi Roberto

roberto.giacobazzi@univr.it +39 045 802 7995

Masini Andrea

andrea.masini@univr.it 045 802 7922

Mastroeni Isabella

isabella.mastroeni@univr.it +39 045 802 7089

Menegaz Gloria

gloria.menegaz@univr.it +39 045 802 7024

Merro Massimo

massimo.merro@univr.it 045 802 7992

Monti Francesca

francesca.monti@univr.it 045 802 7910

Muradore Riccardo

riccardo.muradore@univr.it +39 045 802 7835

Oliboni Barbara

barbara.oliboni@univr.it +39 045 802 7077

Posenato Roberto

roberto.posenato@univr.it +39 045 802 7967

Pravadelli Graziano

graziano.pravadelli@univr.it +39 045 802 7081

Quaglia Davide

davide.quaglia@univr.it +39 045 802 7811

Rizzi Romeo

romeo.rizzi@univr.it +39 045 8027088

Segala Roberto

roberto.segala@univr.it 045 802 7997

Vigano' Luca

luca.vigano@univr.it

Villa Tiziano

tiziano.villa@univr.it +39 045 802 7034

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

CURRICULUM TIPO:
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
B
(ING-INF/05)
6
B
(ING-INF/05)
6
B
(ING-INF/05)
12
B
(ING-INF/05)
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
6
B
(INF/01)
Altre attivita' formative
4
F
-

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
B
(ING-INF/05)
6
B
(ING-INF/05)
6
B
(ING-INF/05)
12
B
(ING-INF/05)

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
6
B
(INF/01)
Altre attivita' formative
4
F
-
Modules Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 1°- 2°

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S00067

Credits

6

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

ING-INF/05 - INFORMATION PROCESSING SYSTEMS

Language

Italian

Period

I semestre dal Oct 1, 2012 al Jan 31, 2013.

Learning outcomes

The course presents advanced concepts related to special classes of operating systems, with particular regards to distributed, real-time and embedded operating systems. The main objective consists of highlighting differences between traditional and advanced operating systems in the context of processes, memory and file system management.

Program

Theory:
-------
* Introduction: HW/SW classification, architecture of non conventional operating systems, goals and problems.
* Introduction to distributed operating systems: goals and problems.
* Communication in distributed systems: client-server model, remote procedure call, group communication.
* Synchronization in distributed systems: synchronization of logical and physical clocks, identification of the global state, distributed mutual exclusion, atomic transaction, deadlock management, election algorithms.
* Process management: process allocation and migration, scheduling algorithms.
* Distributed shared memory: definition and implementation, memory consistency.
* Distributed File system: access model, sharing semantics, implementation, data migration and replication, consistency mechanisms.
* Real-time operating systems: definition, objective and problems.
* Scheduling in real time operating systems: scheduling of periodic, aperiodic and mixed tasks.

Laboratory:
-----------
* Embedded operating system: Introduction to the eCos operating system.
* Communication in embedded systems: Introduction to the ZigBee communication protocol.
* Mobile embedded systems: Introduction to development environments.
* Smartphone: Introduction to development environment (iPhone, Android, Windows Phone)

Bibliografia

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
A.Tanenbaum Disitributed Operating Systems Prentice Hall 1994 0132199084
Giorgio Buttazzo "HARD REAL-TIME COMPUTING SYSTEMS: Predictable Scheduling Algorithms and Applications", Kluwer Academic Publishers 1997

Examination Methods

The final examination consists of a written test containing questions and exercises of both theory and laboratory.
The test is passed with a grade of at least 18/30. The maximum grade is 30/30.

A laboratory project (to be done in a group of 2/3 students) is optional and it may consist of:
- implementing/modifying one or more functionalities of a real-time operating system
- analyzying, evaluating and presenting new trends on distributed or real-time operating systems.
The maximum grande for the project is 4/30 to be added to the grade of the written examination.

Teaching materials

Type D and Type F activities

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Attendance

As stated in point 25 of the Teaching Regulations for the A.Y. 2021/2022, attendance at the course of study is not mandatory.
Please refer to the Crisis Unit's latest updates for the mode of teaching.

Graduation

List of theses and work experience proposals

theses proposals Research area
Analisi ed identificazione automatica del tono/volume della voce AI, Robotics & Automatic Control - AI, Robotics & Automatic Control
Analisi e percezione dei segnali biometrici per l'interazione con robot AI, Robotics & Automatic Control - AI, Robotics & Automatic Control
Integrazione del simulatore del robot Nao con Oculus Rift AI, Robotics & Automatic Control - AI, Robotics & Automatic Control
BS or MS theses in automated reasoning Computing Methodologies - ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE
Sviluppo sistemi di scansione 3D Computing Methodologies - COMPUTER GRAPHICS
Sviluppo sistemi di scansione 3D Computing Methodologies - IMAGE PROCESSING AND COMPUTER VISION
Dati geografici Information Systems - INFORMATION SYSTEMS APPLICATIONS
Analisi ed identificazione automatica del tono/volume della voce Robotics - Robotics
Analisi e percezione dei segnali biometrici per l'interazione con robot Robotics - Robotics
Integrazione del simulatore del robot Nao con Oculus Rift Robotics - Robotics
BS or MS theses in automated reasoning Theory of computation - Logic
BS or MS theses in automated reasoning Theory of computation - Semantics and reasoning
Proposte di tesi/collaborazione/stage in Intelligenza Artificiale Applicata Various topics
Proposte di Tesi/Stage/Progetto nell'ambito delle basi di dati/sistemi informativi Various topics

Gestione carriere


Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.