Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

A.A. 2015/2016

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
lez 2 anno 1 semestre TLB Oct 1, 2015 Nov 27, 2015
lez 3 anno 1 semestre TLB Oct 1, 2015 Nov 27, 2015
lez 1 anno 1 semestre TLB Oct 5, 2015 Dec 20, 2015
lez 2 anno 2 semestre TLB Mar 1, 2016 Apr 29, 2016
lez 3 anno 2 semestre TLB Mar 1, 2016 Apr 29, 2016
lez 1 anno 2 semestre TLB Mar 1, 2016 Apr 29, 2016
Exam sessions
Session From To
Esami Sess. Inv.le 1 anno TLB Jan 7, 2016 Jan 29, 2016
Esami Sess. Inv.le 2 e 3 anno TLB Feb 2, 2016 Feb 27, 2016
Esami Sess. Estiva 1 e 2 anno TLB Jul 1, 2016 Jul 29, 2016
Esami Sess. Estiva 3 anno TLB Jul 1, 2016 Jul 31, 2016
Esami Sess. Autunnale TLB Sep 1, 2016 Sep 30, 2016
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione Autunnale 2016 Oct 1, 2016 Nov 30, 2016
Sessione Primaverile Mar 1, 2017 Apr 30, 2017
Other Periods
Description Period From To
Tirocini 3 anno TLB Tirocini 3 anno TLB Oct 1, 2015 Mar 31, 2016
Tirocini 2 anno TLB Tirocini 2 anno TLB Nov 30, 2015 Jan 29, 2016
Tirocini 1 anno TLB Tirocini 1 anno TLB Feb 1, 2016 Feb 29, 2016
Tirocini 3 anno TLB 2^ PERIODO Tirocini 3 anno TLB 2^ PERIODO Apr 1, 2016 Sep 30, 2016
Tirocini 1 anno TLB 2^ PERIODO Tirocini 1 anno TLB 2^ PERIODO May 2, 2016 Jun 30, 2016
Tirocini 2 anno TLB 2^ PERIODO Tirocini 2 anno TLB 2^ PERIODO May 2, 2016 Jun 30, 2016

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Medicine Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G L M N O P R S T V Z

Accordini Simone

simone.accordini@univr.it +39 045 8027657

Adami Valentina

valentina.adami@univr.it 0458028410

Bazzoni Flavia

flavia.bazzoni@univr.it +39 045 802 7128

Benini Anna

anna.benini@univr.it 045 8027603

Bria Emilio

emilio.bria@univr.it +390458128124

Cabrini Giulio

giulio.cabrini@univr.it 045 812 2457

Chiamulera Cristiano

cristiano.chiamulera@univr.it +39 045 8027277

Chiarini Anna Maria

anna.chiarini@univr.it +39 045 802 7646

Cicoira Mariantonietta

mariantonietta.cicoira@univr.it +39 045 812 7720

Danese Elisa

elisa.danese@univr.it +39 045 812 6698

Foroni Marina

marina.foroni@univr.it

Giavarina Davide

davide.giavarina@ulssvicenza.it 0444 753372

Gotte Giovanni

giovanni.gotte@univr.it 0458027694

Lievens Patricia

patricia.lievens@univr.it 0458027218

Ligozzi Marco

marco.ligozzi@univr.it 045 8027601

Lippi Giuseppe

giuseppe.lippi@univr.it +39 045 812 4308

Majori Silvia

silvia.majori@univr.it +39 045 8027653

Malatesta Manuela

manuela.malatesta@univr.it +39 045 802 7569

Mariotto Sofia Giovanna

sofia.mariotto@univr.it 0458027167

Martignoni Guido

guido.martignoni@univr.it 045 8027618

Marzola Pasquina

pasquina.marzola@univr.it 045 802 7816 (ufficio); 045 802 7614 (laboratorio)

Mazzariol Annarita

annarita.mazzariol@univr.it 045 8027690

Minuz Pietro

pietro.minuz@univr.it +39 045 812 4414

Montagnana Martina

martina.montagnana@univr.it +39 045 812 6698

Murgia Maria

maria.murgia@aovr.veneto.it

Nicoli Aldini Nicolo

nicolo.nicolialdini@gmail.com 338 7363781

Olioso Debora

debora.olioso@univr.it +39 045 812 3492

Polettini Aldo Eliano

aldo.polettini@univr.it 3337475432

Romanelli Maria

mariagrazia.romanelli@univr.it +39 045 802 7182

Romano Gabriele

gabriele.romano@univr.it 045 8027631

Romano Maria

maria.romano@univr.it 0458027245

Romeo Luciano

luciano.romeo@univr.it 045 8124295 - 8124969

Russo Ivan

ivan.russo@univr.it 045 802 8161 (VR)

Salvagno Gian Luca

gianluca.salvagno@univr.it 045 8124308-0456449264

Sartoris Silvia

silvia.sartoris@univr.it 045 8126451

Scarpa Aldo

aldo.scarpa@univr.it 045 8127457

Signoretto Caterina

caterina.signoretto@univr.it 045 802 7195

Tafi Maria Carla

mariacarla.tafi@univr.it 045 8027245

Turco Alberto

alberto.turco@univr.it 0458027189

Vinante Fabrizio

fabrizio.vinante@univr.it +39 045 807 4032

Zamboni Giuseppe

giuseppe.zamboni@univr.it; giuseppe.zamboni@sacrocuore.it +39 045 6013415; +39 045 8124846

Zanolin Maria Elisabetta

elisabetta.zanolin@univr.it +39 045 802 7654

Zoppini Giacomo

giacomo.zoppini@univr.it +39 045 8123115

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
8
A/B
(BIO/09 ,BIO/16 ,BIO/17 ,MED/46)
3
E/F
(L-LIN/12)
7
A/B
(BIO/13 ,MED/03 ,MED/07 ,MED/46)
5
B
(BIO/12 ,MED/46)
7
A/B
(FIS/07 ,ING-INF/06 ,ING-INF/07 ,MED/01)
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
8
B
(MED/07 ,MED/46 ,VET/06)
4
B
(MED/06 ,MED/11 ,MED/13 ,MED/15)
6
B
(MED/04)
4
A/B
(BIO/14 ,MED/46)

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
8
A/B
(BIO/09 ,BIO/16 ,BIO/17 ,MED/46)
3
E/F
(L-LIN/12)
7
A/B
(BIO/13 ,MED/03 ,MED/07 ,MED/46)
5
B
(BIO/12 ,MED/46)
7
A/B
(FIS/07 ,ING-INF/06 ,ING-INF/07 ,MED/01)

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
8
B
(MED/07 ,MED/46 ,VET/06)
4
B
(MED/06 ,MED/11 ,MED/13 ,MED/15)
6
B
(MED/04)
4
A/B
(BIO/14 ,MED/46)

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S000326

Credits

4

The teaching is organized as follows:

Epidemiologia clinica e sperimentale

Credits

2

Period

lez 3 anno 1 semestre TLB

Valutazione e controllo della qualita' dei servizi diagnostici

Credits

2

Period

lez 3 anno 1 semestre TLB

Academic staff

Gian Luca Salvagno

Learning outcomes

------------------------
MM: EPIDEMIOLOGIA CLINICA E SPERIMENTALE
------------------------
The course aims to introduce the basic theoretical tools of Quantitative Medicine. The course points to prepare students to: - describe, interpret and communicate appropriately the information gathered on a collective of patients (or other experimental units); - assess the reliability of the measurements in the biomedical field, in terms of sensitivity, specificity, accuracy and precision; - generalize the observations collected on a limited number of subjects to the population of origin using elementary inferential techniques - read critically the articles of the biomedical area
------------------------
MM: VALUTAZIONE E CONTROLLO DELLA QUALITA' DEI SERVIZI DIAGNOSTICI
------------------------
The course allows the student to acquire basic notions regarding the evaluation of quality control processes in diagnostic services. The course provides the student with the cognitive and methodological tools necessary for the verifi-cation of technical-analytical processes, especially in the management of the pre-analytical, analytical and post-analytical phases. In particular, attention will be paid to the meaning of validation and verification of a analytical methods in clinical biochemistry, implementation of analytical goals and objectives for a continuous im-provement of the diagnostic service offered. The course allows the student to understand the meaning of: - Standard Operating Procedure (SOP), - Validation and verification of a clinical biochemical methods. -Procedure for implementation and maintenance of a Certification System according to the ISO 9001 standard - Accreditation of clinical laboratories, according to ISO Standard 15189 - knowledge of CLSI documents (Clinical and Laboratory Standard Institute) - definition of an indicator for monitoring the performance of pre-analytical, analytical and post-analytical procedures.

Program

------------------------
MM: EPIDEMIOLOGIA CLINICA E SPERIMENTALE
------------------------
Introduction: The purpose of the statistics in medicine. Descriptive statistics 1) The measurement process and the different types of measurement scales 2) The statistical variables and their representation by means of frequency distributions: tables with one or two variables. 3) Graphical representation of a frequency distribution 4) Measures of position (mean, median, mode, percentiles, weighted average) 5) Measures of dispersion (range, interquartile deviation, deviation, variance, standard deviation, coefficient of variation) Probability 1) Definitions of probability: classical, frequentist, subjectivist 2) The rules of calculation of probability: addition and product rule 3) Independent and conditional probability 4) The sensitivity and specificity of a diagnostic tool 5) ROC curves 6) Bayes theorem and its applications to differential diagnosis 7) Random variables 8) Normal Distribution 9) Population and sample. Introduction to the sampling theory 10) The sampling distribution of an estimator (sample mean) Inferential Statistics 1) Point and interval estimates: confidence interval 2) The logic of hypothesis testing: the null and the alternative hypothesis; first and second type error; the power of a test 3) Comparison of a sample mean with a population mean: z-test and t-test 4) Comparison of two sample means: t-test for unpaired data and for paired data 5) Chi-square test 6) Correlation and regression
------------------------
MM: VALUTAZIONE E CONTROLLO DELLA QUALITA' DEI SERVIZI DIAGNOSTICI
------------------------
Objectives of the course At the end of the course the student will be able to: • Use the own methodologies of clinical biochemistry for the Verification and Validation of Analytical methods • Implement the Standard Operating Procedures (SOP) for pre-analytical, analytical and post-analytical activities • Implement and evaluate an Internal Quality Control System for analytical systems (CQI) and exter-nal Quality Assessment (VEQ) • Follow the methodologies used in diagnostic services for accreditation and certification procedures.

Examination Methods

------------------------
MM: EPIDEMIOLOGIA CLINICA E SPERIMENTALE
------------------------
The exam is written and consists of multiple choice tests and exercises. The answers provided in the examination will be discussed with the student.
------------------------
MM: VALUTAZIONE E CONTROLLO DELLA QUALITA' DEI SERVIZI DIAGNOSTICI
------------------------
The assessment of the learning outcomes includes a written and oral test. Written exam, with some open questions and multiple choice tests. This test consists of an interview aimed at ascertaining the knowledge of the topics in the program and the analytical and argumentative capacity.

Bibliografia

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
Jekel JF, Katz DL, Elmore JG, Wild DMG Epidemiologia, Biostatistica e Medicina Preventiva Elsevier-Masson 2009
Verlato G, Zanolin ME Esercizi di Statistica Medica, Informatica ed Epidemiologia Libreria Cortina Editrice, Verona 2000
Carl A. Burtis Edward R. Ashwood, David E. Bruns Tietz Textbook of Clinical Chemistry and Molecular Diagnostics (Edizione 5) Elsevier 2011

Type D and Type F activities

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Graduation


Gestione carriere


Risultati di apprendimento attesi


Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.