Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
Semestrino IA Sep 28, 2015 Nov 14, 2015
Semestrino IB Nov 16, 2015 Jan 16, 2016
Semestrino IIA Feb 22, 2016 Apr 16, 2016
Semestrino IIB Apr 18, 2016 Jun 4, 2016
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione invernale Jan 18, 2016 Feb 20, 2016
Sessione estiva Jun 6, 2016 Jul 30, 2016
Sessione autunnale Sep 1, 2016 Sep 30, 2016
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione estiva Jul 5, 2016 Jul 6, 2016
Sessione autunnale Nov 22, 2016 Nov 23, 2016
Sessione invernale Apr 3, 2017 Apr 8, 2017
Holidays
Period From To
Festa di Ognissanti Nov 1, 2015 Nov 1, 2015
Festa dell'Immacolata Dec 8, 2015 Dec 8, 2015
Vacanze di Natale Dec 23, 2015 Jan 6, 2016
Vancanze di Pasqua Mar 24, 2016 Mar 29, 2016
Festa della Liberazione Apr 25, 2016 Apr 25, 2016
Festa dei Lavoratori May 1, 2016 May 1, 2016
Festa del S. Patrono S. Zeno May 21, 2016 May 21, 2016
Festa della Repubblica Jun 2, 2016 Jun 2, 2016
Vacanze estive Aug 8, 2016 Aug 15, 2016

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Culture and Civilisation Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G L M N O P R S T U V Z

Arcangeli Alessandro

symbol email alessandro.arcangeli@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8351
Guido Avezzù,  July 23, 2019

Avezzu' Guido

symbol email guido.avezzu@univr.it

Barbierato Federico

symbol email federico.barbierato@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8351

Bassetti Massimiliano

symbol email massimiliano.bassetti@univr.it symbol phone-number 045802 8376

Bigliazzi Silvia

symbol email silvia.bigliazzi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8477

Bondì Davide

symbol email davide.bondi@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 8028389

Borghetti Vincenzo

symbol email vincenzo.borghetti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 8584

Brunetti Simona

symbol email simona.brunetti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8575

Buonopane Alfredo

symbol email alfredo.buonopane@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 0458028120

Calabrese Evita

symbol email evita.calabrese@univr.it

Camurri Renato

symbol email renato.camurri@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 8635

Carnero Roberto

symbol email roberto.carnero@univr.it

Cavarzere Alberto

symbol email alberto.cavarzere@univr.it
Foto,  August 29, 2018

Chiecchi Giuseppe

symbol email giuseppe.chiecchi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8117

Ciancio Luca

symbol email luca.ciancio@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8122

Concina Chiara Maria

symbol email chiara.concina@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 8325

Cotticelli Paola

symbol email paola.cotticelli@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8587

Dal Pozzolo Enrico

symbol email enrico.dalpozzolo@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8569

Danelon Fabio

symbol email fabio.danelon@univr.it symbol phone-number 045/8028378

Demo Edoardo

symbol email edoardo.demo@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8782 (VR) 0444.393930 (VI)

De Prisco Antonio

symbol email antonio.deprisco@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 8553

Facchini Giuliana Maria

symbol email giuliana.facchini@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8391

Formiga Federica

symbol email federica.formiga@univr.it symbol phone-number 045802 8123

Forner Fabio

symbol email fabio.forner@univr.it symbol phone-number + 39 045 802 8367

Franco Tiziana

symbol email tiziana.franco@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8380

Genetti Stefano

symbol email stefano.genetti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8412

Giusfredi Federico

symbol email federico.giusfredi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8481

Gonzato Federica

symbol email federica.gonzato@univr.it

Lerco Elisa

symbol email elisa.lerco@univr.it

Lupi Francesco

symbol email francesco.lupi@univr.it

Mastrocinque Attilio

symbol email attilio.mastrocinque@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8386

Melloni Chiara

symbol email chiara.melloni@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8119

Minozzi Stefano

symbol email stefano.minozzi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8028553

Neri Stefano

symbol email stefano.neri@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8692

Ophaelders Markus Georg

symbol email markus.ophalders@univr.it symbol phone-number 045-8028732

Pagliaroli Stefano

symbol email stefano.pagliaroli@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8028056

Paini Anna Maria

symbol email anna.paini@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8129

Palma Flavia

symbol email flavia.palma@univr.it
Foto,  April 14, 2018

Pasini Roberto

symbol email pasini.roberto@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8121

Pasqualicchio Nicola

symbol email nicola.pasqualicchio@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458028585

Pellegrini Paolo

symbol email paolo.pellegrini@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 8559

Pelloni Gabriella

symbol email gabriella.pelloni@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8328
Marco Peresani,  March 30, 2016

Peresani Marco

Piovan Dino

symbol email dino.piovan@univr.it

Ponchia Simonetta

symbol email simonetta.ponchia@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8365
Foto 11/18,  January 31, 2019

Pozzo Riccardo

symbol email riccardo.pozzo@univr.it symbol phone-number +390458028053

Prandi Luisa

symbol email luisa.prandi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 8718

Raccanelli Renata

symbol email renata.raccanelli@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458028366

Ricottilli Licinia

symbol email licinia.ricottilli@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8366

Rima Matteo

symbol email matteo.rima@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458028440

Rodighiero Andrea

symbol email andrea.rodighiero@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 8643

Romagnani Gian Paolo

symbol email gianpaolo.romagnani@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8377

Rossi Mariaclara

symbol email mariaclara.rossi@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8380

Sandrini Giuseppe

symbol email giuseppe.sandrini@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8069

Scandola Alberto

symbol email alberto.scandola@univr.it symbol phone-number 045.8028586

Scattolin Paolo

symbol email paolo.scattolin@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 8645

Stanzani Sandro

symbol email sandro.stanzani@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 0458028649

Tani Stefano

symbol email stefano.tani@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8110

Tedoldi Leonida

symbol email leonida.tedoldi@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 8028618

Trovato Sonia

symbol email sonia.trovato@univr.it

Ugolini Gherardo

symbol email gherardo.ugolini@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 0458028665

Vantini Sandra

symbol email sandra.vantini@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8548

Varanini Gian Maria

symbol email gianmaria.varanini@univr.it

Viola Corrado

symbol email corrado.viola@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8194

Zangrandi Alessandra

symbol email alessandra.zangrandi@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458028115

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

CURRICULUM TIPO:
activated in the A.Y. 2016/2017
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
One course to be chosen among the following
6
B
L-FIL-LET/05
6
B
L-FIL-LET/04
2 course to be chosen among the following

2° Year activated in the A.Y. 2016/2017

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
One course to be chosen among the following
6
B
L-FIL-LET/05
6
B
L-FIL-LET/04
2 course to be chosen among the following
Modules Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°
Other activitites
6
F
-

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




S Placements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

iIntroductory
padvanced
mMasterful

Teaching code

4S01967

Coordinatore

Angela Alaimo

Credits

6

Language

Italian

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

M-GGR/01 - GEOGRAPHY

Period

First half of Semester 1 , Second half of Semester 1

Learning outcomes

The Urban Geography course aims at teaching students new points of view for the analyses of the city. This approach aims at understanding not just the facts, but also the interpretations provided by the residents, according to the hermeneutical paradigm of knowledge. To that end, the course stimulates the students to develop a scientific curiosity towards the geographical areas and the social actors they study (starting from the city and its inhabitants).

Teaching methods
Lectures, Classroom Exercises, Seminars, Surveys & Inspections.

LEARNING OUTCOMES
1. KNOWLEDGE AND COMPREHENSION ABILITIES

The students shall acquire those tools that can help them understand the most recent evolutions of urban history (globalization, de-urbanization, etc.) and the implications of the use of maps and models. This knowledge will help the students navigate through urban studies, by adopting the peculiar approach of social sciences.
This goal is achieved by attending lectures and seminars, participating in on-the- spot inspections, and library researches.
The educational tools used for this goal are Power Point presentations, along with geography handbooks and manuals.
2. ABILITY TO APPLY KNOWLEDGE AND COMPREHENSION

The students will apply the theoretical concepts they have learnt during the lectures and their individual study in a series of practical activities in classroom. The following activities will help the students apply their knowledge: classroom exercises, seminars, inspections, individual or group researches.

3. JUDGEMENT AUTONOMY


Each student is invited, both individually and in group, to express his/her own personal opinions on the area he/she has studied and the people he/she has met.
The students will be invited to study and acquire the best practices of social participation achieved through qualitative techniques of analysis, as well as developing teamworking skills and the ability to act as facilitators in participation processes.

4. COMMUNICATION ABILITIES

Teamworking and seminars allow the students to acquire communication abilities by using diverse media, like oral presentations, graphical representations (e.g. mental maps), written texts and Power Point presentations. The final goal is to understand and master the diverse languages used by residents, city users, politicians, etc.
The students will discuss these topics through oral presentations, graphical representations and written texts.
The educational tools used for these goals include thematic maps, ideograms, photographic and hypertextual presentations.

Program

SUGGESTED BBLIOGRAPHY
For attending students:
1) DEMATTEIS G., LANZA C., Le città del mondo. Una geografia urbana, Torino, UTET, 2014 (seconda edizione; I capitoli indicati a lezione da integrare con i materiali forniti durante il corso);
2) DALL’Ò G., Smart city, Bologna, Il Mulino, 2014.
For non-attending students:
1) DEMATTEIS G., LANZA C., Le città del mondo. Una geografia urbana, Torino, UTET, 2014 (seconda edizione);
2) ROSSI U., VANOLO A., Geografia politica urbana, Roma-Bari, Laterza, 2010;
3) One chosen from this two options:
- DALL’Ò G., Smart city, Bologna, Il Mulino, 2014;
- VIANELLO M., Smart Cities. Gestire la complessità urbana nell’era di Internet, Santarcangelo di Romagna (RN), Maggioli editore, 2013.



PROGRAMM
Lesson 1
The key words of urban geography
Lesson 2
Geographical representations
Lesson 3
The geographer in the city: methods of analysis
Lesson 4
Definitions of town and city. Cities of trade, of power, of production, of knowledge and culture, of tourism.
Lesson 5
From the country to the city; the urbanization of the world. Counter-urbanization and de-urbanization. Urban life cycle.
Lesson 6
From the city to the country: urban growth and dispersion. Metropolitan areas.
Lesson 7
Urban functions and urban growth. Tertiary and quaternary sectors.
Lesson 8
Urban populations. Ghettos and gentrification.
Lesson 9
Urban systems and urban networks. Global cities.
Lesson 10
Smart cities: sostainable, smart and creative
Lesson 11
Politics as representation. Images and representations in the strategies of urban development.
Lesson 12
Politics as government. Urban neoliberalism: from the triumph to the crisis.
Lesson 13
Politics as protest. Urban justice: struggles and reclaiming. Conclusions and assessment of the experiences done so far.

Examination Methods

Oral Exam and (for attending students) participation in teamworking in class.

Evaluation criteria

The student will have to answer at least three oral questions, on all of the topics described in the list below (see 'Suggested Bibliography'), as studied in the suggested readings list provided below. There will be at least one question for each suggested book.
The final evaluation aims at appraising whether the student possesses a good knowledge and comprehension of the topics, and whether he/she has acquired the ability to interpret and the autonomously judge actual cases (i.e. the geographical areas he/she studied or analyzed).
The lowest evaluation grade will be achieved if the student proves his/her knowledge and comprehension of the main subjects, at least within a general framework, and can apply that knowledge. The student shall also be able to present to the examiner, while competently discussing, the topics related to Urban Geography in a successful way. Below that threshold, the student will not be able to pass the examination. On the contrary, the more the student will be able to interact with the examiner and discuss the topics, and the more he/she will prove to have acquired the basics of Urban Geography and of the techniques of qualitative research, the higher will the evaluation grade be.
The evaluation grades range is comprised between 18 and 30, according to the following criteria:

Excellent (30 – 30 e lode): Excellent knowledge of the subjects studied in the course, excellent language skills, good analytical and interpretative capacity; the student is fully able to apply qualitative social techniques to interpret geographic phenomena.
Very good (26-29): Good mastery of the subjects studied in the course, very good language skills; the student is able to apply qualitative social research techniques to interpret geographic phenomena.
Good (24-25): Knowledge of the main subjects studied in the course, good language skills; the student shows a limited ability to apply qualitative techniques to interpret geographic phenomena.
Average (21-23): Basic knowledge of some subjects studied in the course, adequate language skills; poor ability to autonomously apply qualitative techniques to interpret geographic phenomena.
Pass (18-20): Minimal knowledge of some geographic subjects and of the technical language; very poor or inexistent ability to autonomously apply qualitative techniques to interpret geographic phenomena.
Fail: The student does not have an acceptable knowledge of the subjects studied in the Urban Geography course.

ERASMUS students are requested to contact the teacher at the beginning of the course to agree on the teaching and examination methods together.

Students with disabilities or specific learning disorders (SLD), who intend to request the adaptation of the exam, must follow the instructions given HERE

Type D and Type F activities

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details: only in this way will you be able to receive notification of all the notices from your teachers and your secretariat via email and soon also via the Univr app.

Linguistic training CLA


Graduation

List of theses and work experience proposals

theses proposals Research area
tesi di Glottologia, Storia comparata, Linguistica storica ENGLISH LANGUAGE - Grammar and Syntax – Grammatik und Syntax
tesi di Glottologia, Storia comparata, Linguistica storica GERMANIC LANGUAGE - Dialectology - Dialektologie
tesi di Glottologia, Storia comparata, Linguistica storica HUMANITIES & SOCIAL STUDIES - HUMANITIES & SOCIAL STUDIES
tesi di Glottologia, Storia comparata, Linguistica storica Indo-European languages & literatures - Indo-European languages & literatures
tesi di Glottologia, Storia comparata, Linguistica storica LINGUISTICS - LINGUISTICS
Stage Research area
Lavorare in archivio Various topics
L'iter del libro in biblioteca Various topics

Student mentoring


Requisiti classi di abilitazione insegnamento

Requisiti necessari per accedere alle classi di abilitazione per l'insegnamento.
vedi allegato pdf

Inoltre, per informazioni sui 24 CFU nelle discipline antropo-psico-pedagogiche e nelle metodologie e tecnologie didattiche, si veda -> LINK 

Attachments

Title Info File
Doc_Univr_pdf Classi insegnamento con LM-14 307 KB, 30/11/21 

Gestione carriere


Student login and resources