Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
I semestre (Lingue e letterature straniere) Sep 27, 2021 Jan 8, 2022
II semestre (Lingue e letterature straniere) Feb 14, 2022 May 28, 2022

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Foreign Languages and Literatures Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G H K L M N P R S T Z

Aloe Stefano

stefano.aloe@univr.it +39 045802 8409

Artoni Daniele

daniele.artoni@univr.it +39 045802 8465

Battisti Chiara

chiara.battisti@univr.it +39 045802 8317

Bertagna Federica

federica.bertagna@univr.it 0458028637

Bigliazzi Silvia

silvia.bigliazzi@univr.it +39 045802 8477

Bognolo Anna

anna.bognolo@univr.it +39 045802 8327

Bonadonna Maria Francesca

mariafrancesca.bonadonna@univr.it +39 045802 8663

Boschiero Manuel

manuel.boschiero@univr.it +39 045802 8405

Cantarini Sibilla

sibilla.cantarini@univr.it +39 045802 8199

Cappellotto Anna

anna.cappellotto@univr.it +39 045802 8314

Colombo Laura Maria

laura.colombo@univr.it + 39 045802 8322

Corrizzato Sara

sara.corrizzato@univr.it +39 045802 8694

Dalle Pezze Francesca

francesca.dallepezze@univr.it + 39 045802 8598

Di Maio Davide

davide.dimaio@univr.it +39 045802 8678

Fiorato Sidia

sidia.fiorato@univr.it +39 045802 8317

Fiorini Paolo

paolo.fiorini@univr.it 045 802 7963

Formiga Federica

federica.formiga@univr.it 045802 8123

Forner Fabio

fabio.forner@univr.it + 39 045 802 8194

Fossaluzza Giorgio

giorgio.fossaluzza@univr.it +39 045 802 8795

Genetti Stefano

stefano.genetti@univr.it +39 045802 8412

Giust Anna

anna.giust@univr.it +39 045 802 8465

Gorris Rosanna

rosanna.gorris@univr.it +39 045802 8324

Grossi Piergiovanna

piergiovanna.grossi@univr.it

Hartle Sharon

sharon.hartle@univr.it +39 045802 8259

Kofler Peter Erwin

peter.kofler@univr.it +39 045802 8313

Lorenzetti Maria Ivana

mariaivana.lorenzetti@univr.it +39 045802 8579

Masotti Lucia

lucia.masotti@univr.it 0458028272

Mazzoni Luca

luca.mazzoni@univr.it

Miotti Renzo

renzo.miotti@univr.it +39 045802 8571

Moro Sergio

sergio.moro@univr.it +39 045 8028857

Neri Stefano

stefano.neri@univr.it +39 045802 8692

Padovan Andrea

andrea.padovan@univr.it +39 045 802 8753

Pagliaroli Stefano

stefano.pagliaroli@univr.it +39 045 8028056

Paolini Sara

sara.paolini@univr.it

Pelloni Gabriella

gabriella.pelloni@univr.it +39 045802 8328

Rabanus Stefan

stefan.rabanus@univr.it +39 045802 8490

Rebora Simone

simone.rebora@univr.it

Rizza Alfredo

alfredo.rizza@univr.it +39 045802 8587

Rospocher Marco

marco.rospocher@univr.it +39 045802 8326

Salgaro Massimo

massimo.salgaro@univr.it +39 045802 8312

Sartor Elisa

elisa.sartor@univr.it +39 045802 8598

Stanzani Sandro

sandro.stanzani@univr.it +39 0458028649

Tallarico Giovanni Luca

giovanni.tallarico@univr.it +39 045 802 8663

Tirelli Matteo

matteo.tirelli@univr.it

Zinato Andrea

andrea.zinato@univr.it +39 045802 8339

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

CURRICULUM TIPO:
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1ST FOREIGN LANGUAGE
2ND FOREIGN LANGUAGE
1ST FOREIGN LITERATURE
2ND FOREIGN LITERATURE
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1ST FOREIGN LANGUAGE
2ND FOREIGN LANGUAGE
1ST FOREIGN LITERATURE
2ND FOREIGN LITERATURE
PHILOLOGY RELATED TO 1ST OR 2ND FOREIGN LANGUAGE

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1ST FOREIGN LANGUAGE
2ND FOREIGN LANGUAGE
1ST FOREIGN LITERATURE
2ND FOREIGN LITERATURE

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1ST FOREIGN LANGUAGE
2ND FOREIGN LANGUAGE
1ST FOREIGN LITERATURE
2ND FOREIGN LITERATURE
PHILOLOGY RELATED TO 1ST OR 2ND FOREIGN LANGUAGE

3° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1ST FOREIGN LANGUAGE
2ND FOREIGN LANGUAGE
Training
6
F
-
Final exam
6
E
-
Modules Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°3rd foreign language B1 level

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




S Placements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S002896

Coordinatore

Sharon Hartle

Credits

9

Language

English en

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

L-LIN/12 - LANGUAGE AND TRANSLATION - ENGLISH

Period

II semestre (Lingue e letterature straniere) dal Feb 14, 2022 al May 28, 2022.

Learning outcomes

This course aims at developing and consolidating students’ competence in the phonological and morphological aspects of contemporary English, also paying attention to their evolution over time. Students should also acquire a linguistic competence in English at a B2 level according to the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages.

Program

“Introduction to English phonetics, phonology and morphology”

1. PHONETICS AND PHONOLOGY
- written language and spoken language
- grapheme, phone, phoneme, allophone
- International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA)
- phonetic transcriptions
- speech organs
- vowel sounds and consonant sounds
- voiced sounds and voiceless sounds
- place of articulation
- manner of articulation
- syllable
- stress, rhythm, intonation

2. MORPHOLOGY
- words: grammatical classes
- content words and function words
- morphemes and allomorphs
- affixation
- inflection
- derivation
- compounding

Basic readings
Facchinetti, Roberta (2020) "English Phonetics and Morphology. A Reader for First Year University Students" (3rd ed.), Verona: Quiedit.

Kuiper, Koenraad and W. Scott Allan (2016) "An Introduction to English Language: Word, Sound and Sentence" (4th ed.), Houndsmills: Palgrave Macmillan.

Additional readings
Cruttenden, Alan (2014) "Gimson's Pronunciation of English". London: Routledge.
Plag, Ingo (2003) "Word-Formation in English". Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.


Teaching Methodology
The course will consist of a blended learning approach which combines face to dace classroom lectures with classroom discussion and the use of digital tools; the students are encouraged to participate actively in the discussions.

Bibliography

Visualizza la bibliografia con Leganto, strumento che il Sistema Bibliotecario mette a disposizione per recuperare i testi in programma d'esame in modo semplice e innovativo.

Examination Methods

Pre-requisite: B2 language certificate (Council of Europe). This can be obtained from the Language Centre (CLA) or from a number of certified language institutes (see student guide).

Aims: the exam aims at evaluating:
- the knowledge and understanding of the topics in the syllabus
- the ability to make linguistic analyses
- the development of metalinguistic awareness
-
Contents: students will be examined on the range of topics listed in the syllabus

Assessment: a written exam consisting of open questions, multiple choice questions, phonetic transcriptions and exercises. The exam lasts 1 hour.

Evaluation: the final mark (out of 30)is a combination of the written exam (50%) and the mark of the B2 language certificate (50%)

Final note: the contents of the exam are the same for attending and non-attending students. All students will be tested for the same skills.

Type D and Type F activities

Nei piani didattici di ciascun Corso di studio è previsto l’obbligo di conseguire un certo numero di CFU di tipologia D e di tipologia F.

CFU D (attività a scelta dello studente)
I CFU D possono essere acquisiti mediante:

  • insegnamenti non obbligatori nel proprio piano didattico (previa approvazione del Presidente del Collegio didattico per insegnamenti non selezionabili in autonomia)
  • attività accreditate dal Collegio didattico
  • competenze linguistiche (diverse o ulteriori) rispetto a quelle obbligatorie
  • tirocini o stage
  • TALC (competenze trasversali).

Competenze trasversali TALC

Scopri i percorsi formativi promossi dal  Teaching and learning centre dell'Ateneo, destinati agli studenti iscritti ai corsi di laurea, volti alla promozione delle competenze trasversali: https://talc.univr.it/it/competenze-trasversali
Nota bene: i corsi TALC sono riconosciuti solo come CFU D.


Il numero di CFU D va calcolato complessivamente sull’intero triennio/biennio e non è legato all'annualità.


CFU F
I CFU F sono solitamente relativi ad abilità informatiche, competenze linguistiche, stage e tirocini e ulteriori attività formative accreditate in questa tipologia dal Collegio Didattico.
Nel corso di laurea in Lingue e letterature per l’editoria e i media digitali sono previste le seguenti tipologie:
- 3 CFU per terza lingua (livello B1)
- 6 CFU per tirocinio obbligatorio
- 3 CFU per informatica (curriculum Editoria)
- 9 CFU per laboratori (curriculum Digital Humanities).
Le competenze informatiche possono essere acquisite attraverso:
- il superamento della prova pratica presso le aule informatiche di Ateneo,
- la frequenza dei corsi attivati da scuole e centri accreditati dall’AICA (Associazione Italiana per l’Informatica e il Calcolo Automatico) o riconosciuti dalla Provincia e dalla Regione e superamento della relativa prova finale. Le domande per il riconoscimento delle competenze informatiche acquisite precedentemente vengono esaminate dalla Commissione per il riconoscimento delle Competenze Informatiche.Le attività di tirocinio sono finalizzate a far acquisire allo studente una conoscenza diretta nel settore editoriale e delle Digital Humanities nonché abilità specifiche d’interesse professionale (revisione bozze, grafica editoriale, costruzione di pagine web, archivi digitali etc.).
 

2 A CuCi From 2/14/22 To 3/26/22
years Modules TAF Teacher
1° 2° 3° Introduction to robotics for humanities students D Paolo Fiorini (Coordinatore)
List of courses with unassigned period
years Modules TAF Teacher
1° 2° 3° Wikimedia workshop for international dissemination of cultural heritage D Piergiovanna Grossi (Coordinatore)

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.


Area riservata studenti


Gestione carriere


Assegnazione tutore


Attività accreditate D/F


Calendario didattico dettagliato


Cambio lingua curriculare


Competenze informatiche


Competenze linguistiche (prima e seconda lingua)


Competenze linguistiche in triennale (terza lingua CFU F)


Compilazione del piano didattico


Erasmus+ e altre esperienze all'estero


Linguistic training CLA


Saperi minimi


Graduation


Stage e tirocini

Nel piano didattico della laurea triennale in Lingue e letterature per l’editoria e i media digitali (L11 ED-DH) è previsto un tirocinio/stage obbligatorio (CFU 6).

Le attività di stage sono finalizzate a far acquisire allo studente una conoscenza diretta in settori di particolare interesse per l’inserimento nel mondo del lavoro e per l’acquisizione di abilità professionali specifiche.
Le attività di stage sono svolte sotto la diretta responsabilità di un singolo docente presso studi professionali, enti della pubblica amministrazione, aziende accreditate dall’Ateneo veronese.
I crediti maturati in seguito ad attività di stage saranno attribuiti secondo quanto disposto nel dettaglio dal “Regolamento d’Ateneo per il riconoscimento dei crediti maturati negli stage universitari” vigente.


Tutte le informazioni in merito agli stage sono reperibili al link https://www.univr.it/it/i-nostri-servizi/stage-e-tirocini

Ulteriori informazioni al seguente link https://www.univr.it/it/i-nostri-servizi/gestione-carriere-studenti-lingue-e-letterature-straniere/stage-e-tirocini-lingue-e-letterature-straniere


Vademecum dello studente