Training and Research

PhD school courses/classes - 2023/2024

Please note: Additional information will be added during the year. Currently missing information is labelled as “TBD” (i.e. To Be Determined).

PhD students must obtain a specified number of CFUs each year by attending teaching activities offered by the PhD School.
First and second year students must obtain 8 CFUs. Teaching activities ex DM 226/2021 provide 5 CFUs; free choice activities provide 3 CFUs.
Third year students must obtain 4 CFUs. Teaching activities ex DM 226/2021 provide 2 CFUs; free choice activities provide 2 CFUs.

Registering for the courses is not required unless explicitly indicated; please consult the course information to verify whether registration is required or not. When registration is actually required, no confirmation e-mail will be sent after signing up.

Teaching Activities ex DM 226/2021: Linguistic Activities

Teaching Activities ex DM 226/2021: Research management and Enhancement

Teaching Activities ex DM 226/2021: Statistics and Computer Sciences

Teaching Activities: Free choice

Credits

0.5

Language

English

Class attendance

Free Choice

Location

VERONA

Learning objectives

The course will provide an overview on the assessment of validity and reliability of diagnostic tests, introducing the concepts of sensitivity, specificity, positive and negative predictive values, and interobserver agreement.

Prerequisites and basic notions

There are no prerequisites for this course.

Program

This course aims to equip PhD candidates with an understanding of the main sources of measurement error and the implications of measurement error in scientific research. We will delve into the distinctions between precision, accuracy, and validity of measurements and explore methods for assessing the validity and reliability of diagnostic tests.
Course topics:
1. Precision (random error)
- Measures of variability
- Reliability vs precision
- Effects of measurement error on association estimates
2. Validity
- Prevention and screening tests
- Validity of diagnostic tests
- Validity of epidemiological definitions
3. Accuracy (error systematic)
- Selection bias
- Information bias

Bibliography

Visualizza la bibliografia con Leganto, strumento che il Sistema Bibliotecario mette a disposizione per recuperare i testi in programma d'esame in modo semplice e innovativo.

When and where

The teaching is structured as frontal theoretical lessons (4 hours) delivered in presence + Zoom. Full attendance is required.
The teaching material is available on the teaching e-learning web page (Moodle platform).
Please note: this course was previously named "Sensitivity, specificity, positive and negative predictive values of a screening test. Roc curves. Cohen’s kappa coefficient of agreement"

https://univr.zoom.us/j/86816660978?pwd=emhaandUVWlnNk9SZ3RFMC9LcUNIQT09

Learning assessment procedures

There is no final exam.

Students with disabilities or specific learning disorders (SLD), who intend to request the adaptation of the exam, must follow the instructions given HERE

Assessment

Not applicable

Criteria for the composition of the final grade

Not applicable

Scheduled Lessons

When Classroom Teacher topics
Friday 01 March 2024
13:00 - 17:00
Duration: 4:00 AM
Istituti Biologici Blocco B Ala NUOVA - PROF. DE MARCO [ - II] Alessandro Marcon Validity and reliability of measurements and diagnostic tests https://univr.zoom.us/j/86816660978?pwd=emhaandUVWlnNk9SZ3RFMC9LcUNIQT09

Faculty

A B C D F G L M O P R S T Z

Antoniazzi Franco

symbol email franco.antoniazzi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 7811-7131

Bencivenga Maria

symbol email maria.bencivenga@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 7053

Conci Simone

symbol email simone.conci@univr.it

De Santis Daniele

symbol email daniele.desantis@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 4251 - 4097

Ferrante Giuliana

symbol email giuliana.ferrante@univr.it symbol phone-number 045/8127858

Gaudino Rossella

symbol email rossella.gaudino@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 7121

Gottin Leonardo

symbol email leonardo.gottin@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 7250

Lombardo Giorgio

symbol email giorgio.lombardo@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 4867

Luciani Giovanni Battista

symbol email giovanni.luciani@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 3337

Maffeis Claudio

symbol email claudio.maffeis@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 7664

Onorati Francesco

symbol email francesco.onorati@univr.it symbol phone-number 045/8121945

Pedrazzani Corrado

symbol email corrado.pedrazzani@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 6719

Pietrobelli Angelo

symbol email angelo.pietrobelli@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 7125

Ribichini Flavio Luciano

symbol email flavio.ribichini@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 2039

Rungatscher Alessio

symbol email alessio.rungatscher@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 3307

Ruzzenente Andrea

symbol email andrea.ruzzenente@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 4464

Salvia Roberto

symbol email roberto.salvia@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 4816

Schweiger Vittorio

symbol email vittorio.schweiger@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 4311

Trevisiol Lorenzo

symbol email lorenzo.trevisiol@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 4023

Zaffanello Marco

symbol email marco.zaffanello@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 7126

Zotti Francesca

symbol email francesca.zotti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 6938

PhD students

PhD students present in the:

No people are present. 40° Ciclo not started.

Course lessons
PhD Schools lessons

Loading...

Guidelines for PhD students

Below you will find the files that contain the Guidelines for PhD students and rules for the acquisition of ECTS credits (in Italian: "CFU") for the Academic Year 2023/2024.