Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
1 A Sep 26, 2022 Nov 5, 2022
1 B Nov 14, 2022 Dec 23, 2022
2 A Feb 13, 2023 Apr 6, 2023
2 B Apr 12, 2023 May 27, 2023

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Culture and Civilisation Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G L M O P R S T Z

Arcangeli Alessandro

alessandro.arcangeli@univr.it +39 045802 8351

Barbierato Federico

federico.barbierato@univr.it 045 802 8351

Bassetti Massimiliano

massimiliano.bassetti@univr.it 045802 8376

Basso Patrizia

patrizia.basso@univr.it +39 045802 8638

Bianchi Edoardo

edoardo.bianchi@univr.it +39 045 802 8108

Borghetti Vincenzo

vincenzo.borghetti@univr.it +39 045 802 8584

Bullado Emanuela

emanuela.bullado@univr.it 045 8028548

Buonopane Alfredo

alfredo.buonopane@univr.it +39 0458028120

Camurri Renato

renato.camurri@univr.it +39 045 802 8635

Ciancio Luca

luca.ciancio@univr.it +39 045802 8122

Coden Fabio

fabio.coden@univr.it 045802 8365

Concina Chiara Maria

chiara.concina@univr.it +39 045 802 8325

Cretella Stefania

stefania.cretella@libero.it

Dal Pozzolo Enrico

enrico.dalpozzolo@univr.it +39 045802 8569

Dobreva Diana Sergeeva

dianasergeeva.dobreva@univr.it +39 045802 8392

Ferrarini Edoardo

edoardo.ferrarini@univr.it +39 045802 8112

Formiga Federica

federica.formiga@univr.it 045802 8123

Forner Fabio

fabio.forner@univr.it + 39 045 802 8194

Fossaluzza Giorgio

giorgio.fossaluzza@univr.it +39 045 802 8795

Franco Tiziana

tiziana.franco@univr.it +39 045802 8380

Giusfredi Federico

federico.giusfredi@univr.it +39 045802 8481

Lazzarin Gianmarco

gianmarco.lazzarin@univr.it 045 802 8391

Ligugnana Giovanna

giovanna.ligugnana@univr.it +39 045 8028892

Lotti Denis

denis.lotti@univr.it 0458028618

Lupi Francesco

francesco.lupi@univr.it

Mancassola Nicola

nicola.mancassola@univr.it +39 045 802 8178

Mastrocinque Attilio

attilio.mastrocinque@univr.it +39 045802 8386

Migliavacca Mara Gioia

maragioia.migliavacca@univr.it +39 045802 8392

Molteni Monica

monica.molteni@univr.it 045 8028021

Ophaelders Markus Georg

markus.ophalders@univr.it 045-8028732

Paini Anna Maria

anna.paini@univr.it +39 045802 8129

Pappalardo Maria

maria.pappalardo@univr.it +39 045802 8391

Pasqualicchio Nicola

nicola.pasqualicchio@univr.it 0458028585

Ponchia Simonetta

simonetta.ponchia@univr.it +39 045802 8365

Raccanelli Renata

renata.raccanelli@univr.it 0458028366

Rossi Mariaclara

mariaclara.rossi@univr.it 045 802 8380

Saggioro Fabio

fabio.saggioro@univr.it +39 045 802 8113

Scattolin Paolo

paolo.scattolin@univr.it +39 045 802 8645

Stoffella Marco

marco.stoffella@univr.it +39 045802 8376

Terraroli Valerio

valerio.terraroli@univr.it 0458028441

Turri Luigi

luigi.turri@univr.it +39 045802 8272

Zamperini Alessandra

alessandra.zamperini@univr.it 0458028685

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

CURRICULUM TIPO:
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1 module among the following
6
A
L-FIL-LET/02
6
A
L-FIL-LET/04
Foreign language B1 level
3
E
-

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1 module among the following
6
A
L-FIL-LET/02
6
A
L-FIL-LET/04
Foreign language B1 level
3
E
-
Modules Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°
Foreign language
3
E
-
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°
Further activities
6
F
-
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S004606

Credits

6

Language

Italian

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

L-ART/02 - HISTORY OF MODERN ART

Period

1 A, 1 B

Learning objectives

The course is dedicated to understanding and putting in context the main subject matters in Art History from Middle Ages to the XIX century. The course will also discuss the main methods of analysis in Art History. Lessons will focus on: - Periods and designations - Analysis of specific themes: the figure of the artist; the main genres; the perspective; the problem of time in the visual arts. - Methods of analyzing works of art. This course aims at providing the students with the basic tools that can be helpful in recognizing the main styles and the prevailing iconographies with autonomy; recognizing the most widespread genres, their development and their fortune; dealing with the cultural arguments involved in the way their designations were created in a critical way; being aware of the essential primary sources; mastering the main consultation tools for bibliographic research. During the course, students are frequently encouraged to verify the reliability of the theoretical statements they have learnt from the teacher (or the tutor, during the seminaries) by analyzing the works of art by their own (the main pieces will be discussed during the lessons and their images will be loaded on the e-learning website); furthermore, students are encouraged to express their opinions on specific problems concerning some particular works of art, so that they can develop their skills in forming their personal judgement.

Prerequisites and basic notions

No prerequisites are required

Program

Periodization: themes and characters of the main periodizations of art history Genres (eg definition and characters of 'history painting'; still life; vista and capriccio, etc.) Methods of analysis (in particular formal analysis; iconographic and iconological analysis) Sacred and profane iconographies (for example, what is meant by Sacred Conversation; main classical sources; iconographic attributes, etc.). The texts by Pinelli and Veratelli-Habcy are obligatory Antonio Pinelli, La storia dell'arte. Instructions for use, Laterza, 2009 (other editions are fine too) Federica Veratelli, Jasmine Habcy, Didactics of Art History, Mondadori, 2020

Bibliography

Visualizza la bibliografia con Leganto, strumento che il Sistema Bibliotecario mette a disposizione per recuperare i testi in programma d'esame in modo semplice e innovativo.

Didactic methods

Frontal lessons

Learning assessment procedures

Multiple choice written test, lasting a maximum of two hours. The student must demonstrate to remember: the definitions and main elements of the periods studied in the course; the main iconographies and possibly their sources (sacred or profane texts, myths, treatises, etc.); the main genres. There is no difference between attending and non-attending students. However, non-attending students are advised to also study the images that will be uploaded in parallel with the course. Erasmus students are also invited to attend the lessons and are required to take the test together with the other students. There are no intermediate tests. The examination procedure may be changed in relation to the situation deriving from the Coronavirus emergency and in accordance with the instructions of the university.

Evaluation criteria

The final grade depends on the number of correct answers. Wrong answers are evaluated as null, and do not include penalties.

Criteria for the composition of the final grade

Single mark resulting from a single test

Exam language

Italiano

Type D and Type F activities

COMPETENZE TRASVERSALI

Scopri i percorsi formativi promossi dal  Teaching and learning centre dell'Ateneo, destinati agli studenti iscritti ai corsi di laurea, volti alla promozione delle competenze trasversali:

List of courses with unassigned period
years Modules TAF Teacher
1° 2° 3° Conoscere MI/TI rispetto F Not yet assigned

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Graduation

List of theses and work experience proposals

theses proposals Research area
Ambiti di tesi Art & Architecture - Art & Architecture
Stage Research area
Lavorare in archivio Various topics

Gestione carriere


Linguistic training CLA


Student mentoring


Area riservata studenti