Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

A.A. 2021/2022

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
Primo semestre Oct 4, 2021 Jan 28, 2022
Secondo semestre Mar 7, 2022 Jun 10, 2022
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione invernale d'esame Jan 31, 2022 Mar 4, 2022
Sessione estiva d'esame Jun 13, 2022 Jul 29, 2022
Sessione autunnale d'esame Sep 1, 2022 Sep 29, 2022
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione estiva Jul 14, 2022 Jul 14, 2022
Sessione autunnale Oct 10, 2022 Oct 10, 2022
Sessione autunnale - dicembre Dec 5, 2022 Dec 5, 2022
Sessione invernale Mar 8, 2023 Mar 8, 2023
Holidays
Period From To
Festa di Tutti i Santi Nov 1, 2021 Nov 1, 2021
Festa dell'Immacolata Concezione Dec 8, 2021 Dec 8, 2021
Festività natalizie Dec 24, 2021 Jan 2, 2022
Festa dell'Epifania Jan 6, 2022 Jan 6, 2022
Festività pasquali Apr 15, 2022 Apr 19, 2022
Festa della Liberazione Apr 25, 2022 Apr 25, 2022
Festività Santo Patrono di Verona May 21, 2022 May 21, 2022
Festa della Repubblica Jun 2, 2022 Jun 2, 2022
Chiusura estiva Aug 15, 2022 Aug 20, 2022

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Science and Engineering Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G L M N P R S T U V Z

Assfalg Michael

michael.assfalg@univr.it +39 045 802 7949

Avesani Linda

linda.avesani@univr.it +39 045 802 7839

Ballottari Matteo

matteo.ballottari@univr.it 045 802 7098

Bassi Roberto

roberto.bassi@univr.it 045 802 7916; Lab: 045 802 7915

Bellin Diana

diana.bellin@univr.it 045 802 7090

Bolzonella David

david.bolzonella@univr.it 045 802 7965

Buffelli Mario Rosario

mario.buffelli@univr.it +39 0458027268

Carrie Christopher James

christopherjames.carrie@univr.it +39 045 802 7916

Cazzaniga Stefano

stefano.cazzaniga@univr.it +39 045 8027807

Cecconi Daniela

daniela.cecconi@univr.it +39 045 802 7056; Lab: +39 045 802 7087

Chignola Roberto

roberto.chignola@univr.it 045 802 7953

Chiurco Carlo

carlo.chiurco@univr.it +390458028159

Commisso Mauro

mauro.commisso@univr.it 0458027078

Crimi Massimo

massimo.crimi@univr.it 045 802 7924; Lab: 045 802 7050

Dall'Osto Luca

luca.dallosto@univr.it +39 045 802 7806

Delledonne Massimo

massimo.delledonne@univr.it 045 802 7962; Lab: 045 802 7058

Dominici Paola

paola.dominici@univr.it 045 802 7966; Lab: 045 802 7956-7086

Favretto Filippo

filippo.favretto@univr.it 045 802 7956-7865

Felis Giovanna

giovanna.felis@univr.it +390456835627

Fiammengo Roberto

roberto.fiammengo@univr.it 0458027038

Frison Nicola

nicola.frison@univr.it 045 802 7965

Furini Antonella

antonella.furini@univr.it 045 802 7950; Lab: 045 802 7043

Giorgetti Alejandro

alejandro.giorgetti@univr.it 045 802 7982

Guardavaccaro Daniele

daniele.guardavaccaro@univr.it +39 045 802 7903

Guzzo Flavia

flavia.guzzo@univr.it 045 802 7923

Lampis Silvia

silvia.lampis@univr.it 045 802 7095

Munari Francesca

francesca.munari@univr.it +39 045 802 7906

Nardon Chiara

chiara.nardon@univr.it

Pandolfini Tiziana

tiziana.pandolfini@univr.it 045 802 7918

Piccinelli Fabio

fabio.piccinelli@univr.it +39 045 802 7097

Polverari Annalisa

annalisa.polverari@univr.it 045 8027064

Romeo Alessandro

alessandro.romeo@univr.it +39 045 802 7974-7936; Lab: +39 045 802 7808

Speghini Adolfo

adolfo.speghini@univr.it +39 045 8027900

Torriani Sandra

sandra.torriani@univr.it 045 802 7921

Ugel Stefano

stefano.ugel@univr.it 045-8126451

Vettori Andrea

andrea.vettori@univr.it 045 802 7861/7862

Vitulo Nicola

nicola.vitulo@univr.it 0458027982

Zaccone Claudio

claudio.zaccone@univr.it +39 045 8027864

Zapparoli Giacomo

giacomo.zapparoli@univr.it +390458027047

Zenoni Sara

sara.zenoni@univr.it 045 802 7941

Zipeto Donato

donato.zipeto@univr.it +39 045 802 7204

Zoccatelli Gianni

gianni.zoccatelli@univr.it +39 045 802 7952

Zorzi Margherita

margherita.zorzi@univr.it +39 045 802 7908

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

CURRICULUM TIPO:

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S007420

Coordinatore

Carlo Chiurco

Credits

6

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

M-FIL/03 - MORAL PHILOSOPHY

Language

Italian

Period

Secondo semestre dal Mar 7, 2022 al Jun 10, 2022.

Learning outcomes

Ethics is the branch of philosophy concerned with the study of the foundations and purposes of human agency. Through his actions, not only man builds his place and his meaning within the world, but also constantly reshapes the very meaning of the world. Western science is precisely the biggest reshaping of the world and its meaning ever enacted by mankind; as a consequence, ethical questions of enormous importance are necessarily embedded in it. Students will acquire a basic knowledge of the main concepts of ethics and how to articulate them. They will also acquire a basic knowledge of the main ethical and bioethical questions concerning scientific research, with particular reference to the problems and questions involving the three curricula of the course. Finally, they will acquire a sufficient ability to critically analyze these questions and autonomously form their opinions on them.

Program

TOPICS OF THE COURSE
The course consists of three parts:
In the first, we will define what is bioethics and what are its principles, to move on the specific analysis of the main bioethical topics concerning biotechnologies, notably biotech applied onto man (clonation and genome editing), animals (the main problems of animal ethics, clonation and EG), and the environment, with a special focus on plants.
In the second part we will deal with specific case studies, with a special focus on CRISPR, environmental ethics, and medical bioethics. Cases will be discussed in the class, while students are invited to offer their own views on them by providing their apport, either individually or in focus groups.
Finally, we will move on to discuss what is ethics, its purpose, why it is important to humans, its field of investigation, its methodology, its relation to science and technology. We will also give a general account on the most important ethical theories (Aristotle, Kant).

TEACHING
Classes will be held physically and/or, in case of protracted emergency, virtually, using the tools provided by the university, and may include reading and discussing texts of different authors and periods, as well as the usage of slides, and also movie projections. Classes will also entail the discussion of bioethical case-studies, with a special consideration for the ones concerning biotechnologies, in which students will be invited to actively take part, both at individual or group level, and discuss them.
Students are expected to learn the following knowledge:
- what is philosophy, what is ethics, what is bioethics, what’s the difference between them and empirical sciences, the main lines of Western ethics;
and the following abilities:
- autonomous critical judgement on ethical and bioethical problems, especially the ones concerning biotechnologies, in properly critical and philosophical terms; ability to grasp the various conceptions and subjects dealt with during the course, as well as a critically based approach to the texts of the course that takes into account a proper historical and hermeneutical background.
Students who cannot attend classes are not asked to follow a different program.
Beside reading the course texts, students are required to listen to the audio files (or watch the video files) of the classes found on the Moodle platform.
The text of the course is:
Il testo per l'esame è:
Adriano Pessina, Bioetica. L'uomo sperimentale, Pearson, Milano 2020.

Bibliografia

Visualizza la bibliografia con Leganto, strumento che il Sistema Bibliotecario mette a disposizione per recuperare i testi in programma d'esame in modo semplice e innovativo.

Examination Methods

The final examination will consist of an oral examination about the topics dealt with during the course. Students are warmly encouraged to produce a handout during the course, if they want to: in this case, it will form part of the evaluation.

Type D and Type F activities

Le attività formative di tipologia D o F comprendono gli insegnamenti impartiti presso l'Università di Verona o periodi di stage/tirocinio professionale.
Nella scelta delle attività di tipo D, gli studenti dovranno tener presente che in sede di approvazione si terrà conto della coerenza delle loro scelte con il progetto formativo del loro piano di studio e dell'adeguatezza delle motivazioni eventualmente fornite. Dal 1° dicembre 2021 al 27 febbraio 2022 e dal 2 maggio 2022 al 15 luglio 2022, tramite il presente modulo gli studenti possono richiedere l'inserimento di attività didattiche in TAF D ed F che non possono inserire autonomamente nel proprio piano di studi tramite la procedura on-line.

COMPETENZE LINGUISTICHE - dal 1° ottobre 2021 (Delibera del Consiglio della Scuola di Scienze e Ingegneria del 30 marzo 2021) per gli immatricolati dall'A.A. 2021/2022

  • Lingua inglese: vengono riconosciuti automaticamente 3 CFU per ogni livello di competenza superiore a quello richiesto dal corso di studio (se non già riconosciuto nel ciclo di studi precedente).
  • Altre lingue e italiano per stranieri: vengono riconosciuti automaticamente 3 CFU per ogni livello di competenza a partire da A2 (se non già riconosciuto nel ciclo di studi precedente).
Tali cfu saranno riconosciuti, fino ad un massimo di 6 cfu complessivi, di tipologia F se il piano didattico lo consente, oppure di tipologia D.
Ulteriori crediti a scelta per conoscenze linguistiche potranno essere riconosciuti solo se coerenti con il progetto formativo dello studente e se adeguatamente motivati.

COMPETENZE TRASVERSALI
Scopri i percorsi formativi promossi dal  Teaching and learning centre dell'Ateneo, destinati agli studenti iscritti ai corsi di laurea, volti alla promozione delle competenze trasversali:

 

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Graduation

List of theses and work experience proposals

theses proposals Research area
Studio delle proprietà di luminescenza di lantanidi in matrici proteiche Synthetic Chemistry and Materials: Materials synthesis, structure-properties relations, functional and advanced materials, molecular architecture, organic chemistry - Colloid chemistry
Multifunctional organic-inorganic hybrid nanomaterials for applications in Biotechnology and Green Chemistry Synthetic Chemistry and Materials: Materials synthesis, structure-properties relations, functional and advanced materials, molecular architecture, organic chemistry - New materials: oxides, alloys, composite, organic-inorganic hybrid, nanoparticles
Stampa 3D di nanocompositi polimerici luminescenti per applicazioni in Nanomedicina Synthetic Chemistry and Materials: Materials synthesis, structure-properties relations, functional and advanced materials, molecular architecture, organic chemistry - New materials: oxides, alloys, composite, organic-inorganic hybrid, nanoparticles
Biologia e proprietà immunologiche delle cellule staminali fetali Various topics
Dinamiche della metilazione del DNA e loro contributo durante il processo di maturazione della bacca di vite. Various topics
Risposte trascrittomiche a sollecitazioni ambientali in vite Various topics
Studio delle basi genomico-funzionali del processo di embriogenesi somatica in vite Various topics

Attendance

As stated in point 25 of the Teaching Regulations for the A.Y. 2021/2022, attendance is not mandatory. However, professors may require students to attend lectures for a minimum of hours in order to be able to take the module exam, in which case the methods that will be used to check attendance will be explained at the beginning of the module. 
Please refer to the Crisis Unit's latest updates for the mode of teaching.

Gestione carriere


Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.