Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
I semestre Oct 1, 2019 Jan 31, 2020
II semestre Mar 2, 2020 Jun 12, 2020
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione invernale d'esame Feb 3, 2020 Feb 28, 2020
Sessione estiva d'esame Jun 15, 2020 Jul 31, 2020
Sessione autunnale d'esame Sep 1, 2020 Sep 30, 2020
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione estiva di laurea Jul 22, 2020 Jul 22, 2020
Sessione autunnale di laurea Oct 14, 2020 Oct 14, 2020
Sessione autunnale di laurea solo triennale Dec 10, 2020 Dec 10, 2020
Sessione invernale di laurea Mar 16, 2021 Mar 16, 2021
Holidays
Period From To
Festa di Ognissanti Nov 1, 2019 Nov 1, 2019
Festa dell'Immacolata Dec 8, 2019 Dec 8, 2019
Vacanze di Natale Dec 23, 2019 Jan 6, 2020
Vacanze di Pasqua Apr 10, 2020 Apr 14, 2020
Festa della Liberazione Apr 25, 2020 Apr 25, 2020
Festa del lavoro May 1, 2020 May 1, 2020
Festa del Santo Patrono May 21, 2020 May 21, 2020
Festa della Repubblica Jun 2, 2020 Jun 2, 2020
Vacanze estive Aug 10, 2020 Aug 23, 2020

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Science and Engineering Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G I M N O P R S V Z

Albi Giacomo

symbol email giacomo.albi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7913

Baldo Sisto

symbol email sisto.baldo@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7935

Bos Leonard Peter

symbol email leonardpeter.bos@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7987

Caliari Marco

symbol email marco.caliari@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7904

Canevari Giacomo

symbol email giacomo.canevari@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027979

Capuani Rossana

symbol email rossana.capuani@univr.it

Chignola Roberto

symbol email roberto.chignola@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7953

Cozza Vittoria

symbol email vittoria.cozza@univr.it

Cubico Serena

symbol email serena.cubico@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8132

Daffara Claudia

symbol email claudia.daffara@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7942

Dai Pra Paolo

symbol email paolo.daipra@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 0458027093

Daldosso Nicola

symbol email nicola.daldosso@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027076 - 7828 (laboratorio)

Delledonne Massimo

symbol email massimo.delledonne@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7962; Lab: 045 802 7058

De Sinopoli Francesco

symbol email francesco.desinopoli@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 842 5450

Di Persio Luca

symbol email luca.dipersio@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7968

Favretto Giuseppe

symbol email giuseppe.favretto@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 8749 - 8748

Fioroni Tamara

symbol email tamara.fioroni@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458028489

Gnoatto Alessandro

symbol email alessandro.gnoatto@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8537

Gonzato Guido

symbol email guido.gonzato@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8303

Gregorio Enrico

symbol email Enrico.Gregorio@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7937

Imperio Michele

Mantese Francesca

symbol email francesca.mantese@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7978

Marigonda Antonio

symbol email antonio.marigonda@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7809

Mattiolo Davide

symbol email davide.mattiolo@univr.it

Mazzuoccolo Giuseppe

symbol email giuseppe.mazzuoccolo@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 0458027838

Monti Francesca

symbol email francesca.monti@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7910

Nardon Chiara

symbol email chiara.nardon@univr.it

Orlandi Giandomenico

symbol email giandomenico.orlandi at univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7986

Patacca Marco

symbol email marco.patacca@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458028788

Rizzi Romeo

symbol email romeo.rizzi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027088

Sala Pietro

symbol email pietro.sala@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458027850

Sansonetto Nicola

symbol email nicola.sansonetto@univr.it symbol phone-number 049-8027932

Schuster Peter Michael

symbol email peter.schuster@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7029

Segala Roberto

symbol email roberto.segala@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7997

Solitro Ugo

symbol email ugo.solitro@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7977

Vincenzi Elia

symbol email elia.vincenzi@univr.it

Zuccher Simone

symbol email simone.zuccher@univr.it

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

CURRICULUM TIPO:
Modules Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°
Other activitites
6
F
-

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




S Placements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S00247

Credits

6

Language

Italian

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

MAT/03 - GEOMETRY

Period

I semestre dal Oct 1, 2020 al Jan 29, 2021.

Learning outcomes

The course aims to provide students with the basic concepts of the general topology and the basics of differential geometry of curves and surfaces embedded in an Euclidean space. At the end of the course, the student has a general and complete vision of topological properties in a wider context than that of real Euclidean spaces. He/She be able to recognize and compute the main geometrical characteristics of a curve and of a surface (Frenet frames, curvatures, fundamental quadratic forms ...). He/She also be able to produce rigorous arguments and proofs on these topics and he/she can read papers and advanced texts on Topology and Differential Geometry.

Program

The entire course will be available online. There will also be 12 hours of tutoring (also online) that will focus in particular on the resolution of topology exercises.

-General Topology.

Topological space, definition. Examples: trivial topology, discrete topology, discrete topology, cofinite topology. Comparison of topologies. Basis. Neighbourhoods. Closure. Contnuos applications. Homeomorphisms. Limit points and isolated points. Dense set. Topological subspace, induced topology. Product spaces.
Separation axioms. Hausdorff spaces, Normal spaces, Regular spaces.
Countability axioms. Quotient space. Open and closed applications.
Relevant examples: sphere, projective space, Moebius strip...
Compactness. Heine-Borel Theorem. Tychonoff Theorem. Bolzano-Weierstrass Theorem.
Connectivity, local connectivity. Path connectivity. Examples and counterexamples. Simply connected, homotopy and fundamental group. Jordan curve Theorem.

-Differential geometry of curves.

Curves in the plane:
Examples. Regular points and singular points. Embedding and immersion. Vector fields along a curve. Tangent vector and line. Length of an arc. Parametrization by arc-length. Inflection points. Curvature and radius of curvature. Center of curvature. Frenet-Serret formula.
Curves in the space:
Tangent line. Normal plane. Inflection points. Osculator plane. Curvatures. Principal frame. Frenet-Serret formula. Torsion. Fundamental Theorem.

-Differential geometry of surfaces.

Definitions. Differentiable atlas. Oriented atlas, Tangent plane, Normal versor.
First fundamental quadratic form: metric and area. Tangential curvature and normal curvature of a curve on a surface. Curvatures, normal sections, Meusnier Theorem. Principal curvatures, Gaussian curvature and mean curvature: Theorem Egregium. Geodetics.

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
Abate, Tovena Curve e Superfici (Edizione 1) Springer 2006
Kosniowski Introduzione alla topologia algebrica (Edizione 1) Zanichelli 1988

Examination Methods

To pass the exam, students must show that:
- they know and understand the fundamental concepts of general topology
- they know and understand the fundamental concepts of local theory of curves and surfaces
- they have analysis and abstraction abilities
- they can apply this knowledge in order to solve problems and exercises and they can rigorously support their arguments.

Written test (150 minutes).
The exam consists of four exercises (2 on topology, 1 on curve theory and 1 on surfaces theory) and two questions (1 on general definition / concepts and 1 with a proof of a theorem presented during the lectures).

Oral Test (Optional)
It is a discussion with the lecturer on definitions and proofs discussed during the lessons.

???AdattamentoProvaEsameDSA???

Type D and Type F activities

I semestre From 10/1/19 To 1/31/20
years Modules TAF Teacher
1° 2° 3° Python programming language D Maurizio Boscaini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° SageMath F Zsuzsanna Liptak (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° History of Modern Physics 2 D Francesca Monti (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° History and Didactics of Geology D Guido Gonzato (Coordinatore)
II semestre From 3/2/20 To 6/12/20
years Modules TAF Teacher
1° 2° 3° C Programming Language D Sara Migliorini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° C++ Programming Language D Federico Busato (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° LaTeX Language D Enrico Gregorio (Coordinatore)
List of courses with unassigned period
years Modules TAF Teacher
1° 2° 3° Corso Europrogettazione D Not yet assigned
1° 2° 3° Corso online ARPM bootcamp F Not yet assigned
1° 2° 3° ECMI modelling week F Not yet assigned
1° 2° 3° ESA Summer of code in space (SOCIS) F Not yet assigned
1° 2° 3° Google summer of code (GSOC) F Not yet assigned

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Graduation

For schedules, administrative requirements and notices on graduation sessions, please refer to the Graduation Sessions - Science and Engineering service.

Attachments

Title Info File
Doc_Univr_pdf 1. Come scrivere una tesi 31 KB, 29/07/21 
Doc_Univr_pdf 2. How to write a thesis 31 KB, 29/07/21 
Doc_Univr_pdf 5. Regolamento tesi (valido da luglio 2022) 171 KB, 17/02/22 

List of theses and work experience proposals

theses proposals Research area
Formule di rappresentazione per gradienti generalizzati Mathematics - Analysis
Formule di rappresentazione per gradienti generalizzati Mathematics - Mathematics
Proposte Tesi A. Gnoatto Various topics
Mathematics Bachelor and Master thesis titles Various topics
Stage Research area
Internship proposals for students in mathematics Various topics

Attendance

As stated in point 25 of the Teaching Regulations for the A.Y. 2021/2022, except for specific practical or lab activities, attendance is not mandatory. Regarding these activities, please see the web page of each module for information on the number of hours that must be attended on-site.
Please refer to the Crisis Unit's latest updates for the mode of teaching.

Career management


Area riservata studenti