Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
I semestre Oct 1, 2019 Jan 31, 2020
II semestre Mar 2, 2020 Jun 12, 2020
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione invernale d'esame Feb 3, 2020 Feb 28, 2020
Sessione estiva d'esame Jun 15, 2020 Jul 31, 2020
Sessione autunnale d'esame Sep 1, 2020 Sep 30, 2020
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione estiva di laurea Jul 22, 2020 Jul 22, 2020
Sessione autunnale di laurea Oct 14, 2020 Oct 14, 2020
Sessione autunnale di laurea solo triennale Dec 10, 2020 Dec 10, 2020
Sessione invernale di laurea Mar 16, 2021 Mar 16, 2021
Holidays
Period From To
Festa di Ognissanti Nov 1, 2019 Nov 1, 2019
Festa dell'Immacolata Dec 8, 2019 Dec 8, 2019
Vacanze di Natale Dec 23, 2019 Jan 6, 2020
Vacanze di Pasqua Apr 10, 2020 Apr 14, 2020
Festa della Liberazione Apr 25, 2020 Apr 25, 2020
Festa del lavoro May 1, 2020 May 1, 2020
Festa del Santo Patrono May 21, 2020 May 21, 2020
Festa della Repubblica Jun 2, 2020 Jun 2, 2020
Vacanze estive Aug 10, 2020 Aug 23, 2020

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Science and Engineering Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D E F G L M N O P R S V Z

Albi Giacomo

symbol email giacomo.albi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7913

Angeleri Lidia

symbol email lidia.angeleri@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7911

Baldo Sisto

symbol email sisto.baldo@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7935

Bos Leonard Peter

symbol email leonardpeter.bos@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7987

Caliari Marco

symbol email marco.caliari@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7904

Canevari Giacomo

symbol email giacomo.canevari@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027979

Chignola Roberto

symbol email roberto.chignola@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7953

Collet Francesca

symbol email francesca.collet@univr.it

Cubico Serena

symbol email serena.cubico@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8132

Daffara Claudia

symbol email claudia.daffara@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7942

Dai Pra Paolo

symbol email paolo.daipra@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 0458027093

Daldosso Nicola

symbol email nicola.daldosso@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027076 - 7828 (laboratorio)

Delledonne Massimo

symbol email massimo.delledonne@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7962; Lab: 045 802 7058

De Sinopoli Francesco

symbol email francesco.desinopoli@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 842 5450

Dipasquale Federico Luigi

symbol email federicoluigi.dipasquale@univr.it

Enrichi Francesco

symbol email francesco.enrichi@univr.it symbol phone-number +390458027051

Fioroni Tamara

symbol email tamara.fioroni@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458028489

Gnoatto Alessandro

symbol email alessandro.gnoatto@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8537

Gonzato Guido

symbol email guido.gonzato@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8303

Gregorio Enrico

symbol email Enrico.Gregorio@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7937

Laking Rosanna Davison

symbol email rosanna.laking@univr.it

Lubian Diego

symbol email diego.lubian@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8419

Mantese Francesca

symbol email francesca.mantese@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7978

Mantovani Matteo

symbol email matteo.mantovani@univr.it symbol phone-number 045-802(7814)

Mattiolo Davide

symbol email davide.mattiolo@univr.it

Mazzi Giulio

symbol email giulio.mazzi@univr.it

Mazzuoccolo Giuseppe

symbol email giuseppe.mazzuoccolo@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 0458027838

Nardon Chiara

symbol email chiara.nardon@univr.it

Orlandi Giandomenico

symbol email giandomenico.orlandi at univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7986

Pianezzi Daniela

symbol email daniela.pianezzi@univr.it

Raffaele Alice

symbol email alice.raffaele@univr.it

Rizzi Romeo

symbol email romeo.rizzi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027088

Segala Roberto

symbol email roberto.segala@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7997

Solitro Ugo

symbol email ugo.solitro@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7977

Vincenzi Elia

symbol email elia.vincenzi@univr.it

Zivcovich Franco

symbol email franco.zivcovich@univr.it

Zuccher Simone

symbol email simone.zuccher@univr.it

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

CURRICULUM TIPO:
Modules Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°
Other activitites
6
F
-

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




S Placements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S00704

Coordinatore

Marco Caliari

Credits

6

Language

Italian

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

MAT/08 - NUMERICAL ANALYSIS

Period

Primo semestre dal Oct 4, 2021 al Jan 28, 2022.

Learning outcomes

The course will discuss, from both the analytic and computational points of view, the main methods for the numerical solution of Ordinary Differential Equations and classical Partial Differential Equations. Exponential Integrators, a current topic of active research in Applied Mathematics, will also be briefly discussed. The course has an important Laboratory component where the methods studied will be implemented using the MATLAB programming platform (using either the official Matlab from Mathworks or else the open source version GNU OCTAVE). At the end of the course the student will be expected to demonstrate that s/he has attained a level of competence in the computational and computer aspects of the course subject, the numerical solution of differential equations.

Program

Prerequisites: linear algebra, differential calculus in one and several variables, integral calculus, basic notions of differential equations, main methods of numerical analysis.

The course will last 52 hours, 20 of which in the computer laboratory.

The course will discuss the following topics:

* Boundary Value Problems: Finite Difference methods, Finite Elements, introduction to Spectral Methods (collocation, discrete Fourier Transform, Galerkin)

* Ordinary Differential Equations: numerical methods for initial value problems, step methods (theta method, variable stepsize Runge-Kutta, introduction to Exponential Integrators) and multistep, stability, absolute stability.

* Partial Differential Equations: basic properties of some of the classical PDEs (Laplace, Heat and Transport), the Method of Lines.

It is expected that there will be a tutor to help with the correction of assigned exercises and with the Laboratory sessions.

Bibliography

Visualizza la bibliografia con Leganto, strumento che il Sistema Bibliotecario mette a disposizione per recuperare i testi in programma d'esame in modo semplice e innovativo.

Examination Methods

The purpose of the exam is to see if the student is able to recall and produce the theory of numerical methods for differential equations presented during the lectures and Laboratory and knows how to use Computer resources for possible further investigation. Moreover, the student must show that s/he knows how to program in the specific software introduced during the course. The exam method is both written (solution with the computer of given exercises within a certain amount of time, with the possibility to use any material) and oral (devoted to the theory). To access the oral part it is mandatory to succeed in the written one.
The examination procedure could undergo variations depending on the evolution of the situation.

???AdattamentoProvaEsameDSA???

Type D and Type F activities

I semestre From 10/1/19 To 1/31/20
years Modules TAF Teacher
1° 2° 3° Python programming language D Maurizio Boscaini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° SageMath F Zsuzsanna Liptak (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° History of Modern Physics 2 D Francesca Monti (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° History and Didactics of Geology D Guido Gonzato (Coordinatore)
II semestre From 3/2/20 To 6/12/20
years Modules TAF Teacher
1° 2° 3° C Programming Language D Sara Migliorini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° C++ Programming Language D Federico Busato (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° LaTeX Language D Enrico Gregorio (Coordinatore)
List of courses with unassigned period
years Modules TAF Teacher
1° 2° 3° Corso Europrogettazione D Not yet assigned
1° 2° 3° Corso online ARPM bootcamp F Not yet assigned
1° 2° 3° ECMI modelling week F Not yet assigned
1° 2° 3° ESA Summer of code in space (SOCIS) F Not yet assigned
1° 2° 3° Google summer of code (GSOC) F Not yet assigned

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Graduation

For schedules, administrative requirements and notices on graduation sessions, please refer to the Graduation Sessions - Science and Engineering service.

Attachments

Title Info File
Doc_Univr_pdf 1. Come scrivere una tesi 31 KB, 29/07/21 
Doc_Univr_pdf 2. How to write a thesis 31 KB, 29/07/21 
Doc_Univr_pdf 5. Regolamento tesi (valido da luglio 2022) 171 KB, 17/02/22 

List of theses and work experience proposals

theses proposals Research area
Formule di rappresentazione per gradienti generalizzati Mathematics - Analysis
Formule di rappresentazione per gradienti generalizzati Mathematics - Mathematics
Proposte Tesi A. Gnoatto Various topics
Mathematics Bachelor and Master thesis titles Various topics
Stage Research area
Internship proposals for students in mathematics Various topics

Attendance

As stated in point 25 of the Teaching Regulations for the A.Y. 2021/2022, except for specific practical or lab activities, attendance is not mandatory. Regarding these activities, please see the web page of each module for information on the number of hours that must be attended on-site.
Please refer to the Crisis Unit's latest updates for the mode of teaching.

Career management


Area riservata studenti