Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
I semestre Oct 1, 2019 Jan 31, 2020
II semestre Mar 2, 2020 Jun 12, 2020
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione invernale d'esame Feb 3, 2020 Feb 28, 2020
Sessione estiva d'esame Jun 15, 2020 Jul 31, 2020
Sessione autunnale d'esame Sep 1, 2020 Sep 30, 2020
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione Estiva Jul 15, 2020 Jul 15, 2020
Sessione Autunnale Oct 16, 2020 Oct 16, 2020
Sessione Autunnale Dicembre Dec 11, 2020 Dec 11, 2020
Sessione Invernale Mar 17, 2021 Mar 17, 2021
Holidays
Period From To
Festa di Ognissanti Nov 1, 2019 Nov 1, 2019
Festa dell'Immacolata Dec 8, 2019 Dec 8, 2019
Vacanze di Natale Dec 23, 2019 Jan 6, 2020
Vacanze di Pasqua Apr 10, 2020 Apr 14, 2020
Festa della Liberazione Apr 25, 2020 Apr 25, 2020
Festa del Lavoro May 1, 2020 May 1, 2020
Festa del Santo Patrono May 21, 2020 May 21, 2020
Festa della Repubblica Jun 2, 2020 Jun 2, 2020
Vacanze estive Aug 10, 2020 Aug 23, 2020

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Science and Engineering Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

B C D F G M N O P Q R S T V

Ballottari Matteo

symbol email matteo.ballottari@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7098

Baruffi Maria Caterina

symbol email mariacaterina.baruffi@univr.it

Bicego Manuele

symbol email manuele.bicego@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7072

Bonnici Vincenzo

symbol email vincenzo.bonnici@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7045

Boscaini Maurizio

symbol email maurizio.boscaini@univr.it

Capaldi Stefano

symbol email stefano.capaldi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7907

Capuani Rossana

symbol email rossana.capuani@univr.it

Cicalese Ferdinando

symbol email ferdinando.cicalese@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7969

Combi Carlo

symbol email carlo.combi@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7985

Cozza Vittoria

symbol email vittoria.cozza@univr.it

Daducci Alessandro

symbol email alessandro.daducci@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027025

Della Libera Chiara

symbol email chiara.dellalibera@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 0458027219

Delledonne Massimo

symbol email massimo.delledonne@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7962; Lab: 045 802 7058

Dell'Orco Daniele

symbol email daniele.dellorco@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7637

Dominici Paola

symbol email paola.dominici@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7966; Lab: 045 802 7956-7086

D'Onofrio Mariapina

symbol email mariapina.donofrio@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7801

Drago Nicola

symbol email nicola.drago@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7081

Franco Giuditta

symbol email giuditta.franco@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7045

Fummi Franco

symbol email franco.fummi@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7994

Giachetti Andrea

symbol email andrea.giachetti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027998

Giacobazzi Roberto

symbol email roberto.giacobazzi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7995

Giorgetti Alejandro

symbol email alejandro.giorgetti@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7982

Gregorio Enrico

symbol email Enrico.Gregorio@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7937

Maris Bogdan Mihai

symbol email bogdan.maris@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7074

Menegaz Gloria

symbol email gloria.menegaz@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7024

Migliorini Sara

symbol email sara.migliorini@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7908

Monti Francesca

symbol email francesca.monti@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7910

Nardon Chiara

symbol email chiara.nardon@univr.it

Oliboni Barbara

symbol email barbara.oliboni@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7077

Posenato Roberto

symbol email roberto.posenato@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7967

Quaglia Davide

symbol email davide.quaglia@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7811

Romeo Alessandro

symbol email alessandro.romeo@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7974-7936; Lab: +39 045 802 7808

Spoto Nicola Fausto

symbol email fausto.spoto@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027940

Storti Silvia Francesca

symbol email silviafrancesca.storti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7908

Tomazzoli Claudio

symbol email claudio.tomazzoli@univr.it

Trabetti Elisabetta

symbol email elisabetta.trabetti@univr.it symbol phone-number 045/8027209

Valenti Maria Teresa

symbol email mariateresa.valenti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 8450

Villa Tiziano

symbol email tiziano.villa@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7034

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
C
CHIM/03 ,CHIM/06
6
A
FIS/01
English B1
6
E
-

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




S Placements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S008231

Credits

12

Coordinatore

Davide Quaglia

Language

Italian

The teaching is organized as follows:

ELEMENTI DI SISTEMI OPERATIVI

Credits

6

Period

See the unit page

Academic staff

See the unit page

ELEMENTI DI RETI

Credits

6

Period

See the unit page

Academic staff

See the unit page

Learning outcomes

The aim of the course is to provide the theory and practice at the basis of the organization of a com-puter system and of the operating systems running on it, with the related issues of correctness and efficiency. The course provides the basics for the design, implementation, development, manage-ment and maintenance of hardware and software systems in biotechnological laboratories. At the end of the course, the students will be able to write shell scripts using system calls in C in the UNIX environment; manage an information system, especially for what the installation and mainte-nance of applications and resources is concerned; and use network analysis software and IT tools to support biology and medicine laboratories. The course is structured on two modules: Elements of operating systems and Elements of computer networks

Program

Theory
----------

* Operating systems
- Operating system architectures
- Starting the operating system
- Organization of mass storage
- File system
- Process scheduling
- Concurrency

* Networks
- The problem of communication
- Fundamental concepts
- The ISO/OSI model
- The physical layer
- The datalink layer
- The network layer
- The transport layer
- The application layer
- Fundamental concepts of network security

Laboratory
-----------------

* Operating systems
- Programming using the UNIX shell
- Programming using UNIX system calls

* Networks
- network analysis tools
- network programming through web services
- models for distributed computing

Examination Methods

To pass the exam, the student must show:
- they have understood the principles related to operating systems
- they have understood the principles related to the communication between systems
- they are able to describe the concepts in a clear and exhaustive way without digressions
- they are able to apply the acquired knowledge to solve application scenarios described by means of exercises, questions and projects.

The final evaluation is the arithmetic mean of the grade obtained for the Elementi di Sistemi Operativi module and of that for the Elementi di Reti module. For Elementi di Sistemi Operativi, the final exam consists of a written test containing questions and exercises for the Theory and, for the Laboratory, of a written test covering programming skills acquired during the course or, alternatively, some projects to be completed during the course. For Elementi di Reti, the final exam consists of an oral test on a computer with questions on both theory and laboratory.

Type D and Type F activities

1° periodo di lezioni From 9/30/19 To 12/14/19
years Modules TAF Teacher
The fashion lab (1 ECTS) D Maria Caterina Baruffi (Coordinatore)
I semestre From 10/1/19 To 1/31/20
years Modules TAF Teacher
Python programming language D Maurizio Boscaini (Coordinatore)
II semestre From 3/2/20 To 6/12/20
years Modules TAF Teacher
CyberPhysical Laboratory D Andrea Calanca (Coordinatore)
C++ Programming Language D Federico Busato (Coordinatore)
LaTeX Language D Enrico Gregorio (Coordinatore)
Matlab-Simulink programming D Bogdan Mihai Maris (Coordinatore)
List of courses with unassigned period
years Modules TAF Teacher
Corso Europrogettazione D Not yet assigned
The course provides an introduction to blockchain technology. It focuses on the technology behind Bitcoin, Ethereum, Tendermint and Hotmoka. D Matteo Cristani

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Graduation

For schedules, administrative requirements and notices on graduation sessions, please refer to the Graduation Sessions - Science and Engineering service.

List of theses and work experience proposals

Stage Research area
Correlated mutations Various topics

Attendance

As stated in point 25 of the Teaching Regulations for the A.Y. 2021/2022, attendance at the course of study is not mandatory.
Please refer to the Crisis Unit's latest updates for the mode of teaching.

Career management


Area riservata studenti