Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
I semestre Oct 1, 2019 Jan 31, 2020
II semestre Mar 2, 2020 Jun 12, 2020
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione invernale d'esame Feb 3, 2020 Feb 28, 2020
Sessione estiva d'esame Jun 15, 2020 Jul 31, 2020
Sessione autunnale d'esame Sep 1, 2020 Sep 30, 2020
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione Estiva Jul 15, 2020 Jul 15, 2020
Sessione Autunnale Oct 16, 2020 Oct 16, 2020
Sessione Autunnale Dicembre Dec 11, 2020 Dec 11, 2020
Sessione Invernale Mar 17, 2021 Mar 17, 2021
Holidays
Period From To
Festa di Ognissanti Nov 1, 2019 Nov 1, 2019
Festa dell'Immacolata Dec 8, 2019 Dec 8, 2019
Vacanze di Natale Dec 23, 2019 Jan 6, 2020
Vacanze di Pasqua Apr 10, 2020 Apr 14, 2020
Festa della Liberazione Apr 25, 2020 Apr 25, 2020
Festa del Lavoro May 1, 2020 May 1, 2020
Festa del Santo Patrono May 21, 2020 May 21, 2020
Festa della Repubblica Jun 2, 2020 Jun 2, 2020
Vacanze estive Aug 10, 2020 Aug 23, 2020

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Science and Engineering Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

B C D F G M N O P Q R S T V

Ballottari Matteo

symbol email matteo.ballottari@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7098

Baruffi Maria Caterina

symbol email mariacaterina.baruffi@univr.it

Bicego Manuele

symbol email manuele.bicego@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7072

Bonnici Vincenzo

symbol email vincenzo.bonnici@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7045

Boscaini Maurizio

symbol email maurizio.boscaini@univr.it

Capaldi Stefano

symbol email stefano.capaldi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7907

Capuani Rossana

symbol email rossana.capuani@univr.it

Cicalese Ferdinando

symbol email ferdinando.cicalese@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7969

Combi Carlo

symbol email carlo.combi@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7985

Cozza Vittoria

symbol email vittoria.cozza@univr.it

Daducci Alessandro

symbol email alessandro.daducci@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027025

Della Libera Chiara

symbol email chiara.dellalibera@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 0458027219

Delledonne Massimo

symbol email massimo.delledonne@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7962; Lab: 045 802 7058

Dell'Orco Daniele

symbol email daniele.dellorco@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7637

Dominici Paola

symbol email paola.dominici@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7966; Lab: 045 802 7956-7086

D'Onofrio Mariapina

symbol email mariapina.donofrio@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7801

Drago Nicola

symbol email nicola.drago@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7081

Franco Giuditta

symbol email giuditta.franco@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7045

Fummi Franco

symbol email franco.fummi@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7994

Giachetti Andrea

symbol email andrea.giachetti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027998

Giacobazzi Roberto

symbol email roberto.giacobazzi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7995

Giorgetti Alejandro

symbol email alejandro.giorgetti@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7982

Gregorio Enrico

symbol email Enrico.Gregorio@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7937

Maris Bogdan Mihai

symbol email bogdan.maris@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7074

Menegaz Gloria

symbol email gloria.menegaz@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7024

Migliorini Sara

symbol email sara.migliorini@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7908

Monti Francesca

symbol email francesca.monti@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7910

Nardon Chiara

symbol email chiara.nardon@univr.it

Oliboni Barbara

symbol email barbara.oliboni@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7077

Posenato Roberto

symbol email roberto.posenato@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7967

Quaglia Davide

symbol email davide.quaglia@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7811

Romeo Alessandro

symbol email alessandro.romeo@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7974-7936; Lab: +39 045 802 7808

Spoto Nicola Fausto

symbol email fausto.spoto@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027940

Storti Silvia Francesca

symbol email silviafrancesca.storti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7908

Tomazzoli Claudio

symbol email claudio.tomazzoli@univr.it

Trabetti Elisabetta

symbol email elisabetta.trabetti@univr.it symbol phone-number 045/8027209

Valenti Maria Teresa

symbol email mariateresa.valenti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 8450

Villa Tiziano

symbol email tiziano.villa@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7034

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
C
CHIM/03 ,CHIM/06
6
A
FIS/01
English B1
6
E
-

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




S Placements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S00199

Credits

6

Coordinatore

Alessandro Romeo

Language

Italian

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

FIS/07 - APPLIED PHYSICS

The teaching is organized as follows:

teoria
The activity is given by Biophysics - teoria of the course Bachelor's degree in Biotechnology

Credits

5

Period

I semestre

Academic staff

Alessandro Romeo

Esercitazioni
The activity is given by Biophysics - Esercitazioni of the course Bachelor's degree in Biotechnology

Credits

1

Period

I semestre

Academic staff

Alessandro Romeo

Learning outcomes

The Biophyics lectures are intended to spread the views of physics particularly regarding the study and interpretation of biological phenomena.

Different aspects of both classical and quantistic physics are taken into consideration.

The main objectives are to give the students the right tools to understand the experiments in Biology also from a physics point of view, moreover to give the basic knowledge for biophysical analysis es-pecially spectroscopy and microscopy.

Program

The course in 2020 will be held via Zoom, in streaming, with the possibility of reviewing the recorded lessons
The lectures will be on the following topics:

• Analysis of mechanical physics and wave physics.
• Hints of relativistic physics.
• Physics quantum-mechanical.
• The description of matter in classical physics and quantum physics.
• wave-matter interaction (with examples of biological systems)
• subject-matter interaction (with examples of biological systems).
• Optical Microscopy
• Fluorescence Microscopy
• Electron Microscopy (SEM and TEM)
• Atomic force microscopy (AFM)
• Absorption Spectroscopy (Visible, Infrared, Ultraviolet)
• Spectroscopy in emission (fluorescence)
• FRET
• Scattering
• Raman
• Optical activity (linear and circular dichroism, optical rotation)
• Mass Spectrometry
• Nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) and electron spin resonance (EPR)
• Dynamic Light Scattering

Material:

The educational material of the course consists of slides, handouts, articles and material for in-depth and reference.

The complete teaching material is available on the e-learning portal.

Books:

The course is based on the following books, however, the educational material provided is sufficient for the preparation of exam.

Physical Chemistry Organic 2 (Atkins-De Paula)
Principles of Physical Biochemistry (KE Van Holde)

Bibliography

Reference texts
Activity Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
teoria Atkins Peter; De Paula Julio Chimica fisica biologica. Vol. 2 Zanichelli 2008 9788808049858
teoria Kensal E van Holde Principles of Physical Biochemistry (2nd Edition) Prentice Hall 2005 978-0130464279
Esercitazioni Jewett & Serway Principi di Fisica vol.1 (Edizione 4) Edises 2008 978-88-7959-419-6

Examination Methods

The exam will be an oral exam on the discussed topics.
More specifically the following questions will be the major part of the exam: physical basis of the techniques, methodology, problems of the techniques, resolution, limitations to the resolution, measurement set up, analysis of the measured signal, description of spectrum and/or image acquired, practical applications of the techniques.

It is possible to take the exam out of the fixed dates but always within the exam session time, by asking an appointment with the professor. In any case it is mandatory to register to the exam.

Examination methods are not differentiated between attending and not-attending students.

Type D and Type F activities

1° periodo di lezioni From 9/30/19 To 12/14/19
years Modules TAF Teacher
The fashion lab (1 ECTS) D Maria Caterina Baruffi (Coordinatore)
I semestre From 10/1/19 To 1/31/20
years Modules TAF Teacher
Python programming language D Maurizio Boscaini (Coordinatore)
II semestre From 3/2/20 To 6/12/20
years Modules TAF Teacher
CyberPhysical Laboratory D Andrea Calanca (Coordinatore)
C++ Programming Language D Federico Busato (Coordinatore)
LaTeX Language D Enrico Gregorio (Coordinatore)
Matlab-Simulink programming D Bogdan Mihai Maris (Coordinatore)
List of courses with unassigned period
years Modules TAF Teacher
Corso Europrogettazione D Not yet assigned
The course provides an introduction to blockchain technology. It focuses on the technology behind Bitcoin, Ethereum, Tendermint and Hotmoka. D Matteo Cristani

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Graduation

For schedules, administrative requirements and notices on graduation sessions, please refer to the Graduation Sessions - Science and Engineering service.

List of theses and work experience proposals

Stage Research area
Correlated mutations Various topics

Attendance

As stated in point 25 of the Teaching Regulations for the A.Y. 2021/2022, attendance at the course of study is not mandatory.
Please refer to the Crisis Unit's latest updates for the mode of teaching.

Career management


Area riservata studenti