Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

A.A. 2017/2018

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
TLB LEZ 1ANNO 1 SEM 16-17 Oct 2, 2017 Dec 7, 2017
TLB LEZ 2ANNO 1 SEM 16-17 Oct 2, 2017 Dec 7, 2017
TLB LEZ 3ANNO 1 SEM 16-17 Oct 2, 2017 Dec 7, 2017
TLB LEZ 3ANNO 2 SEM 16-17 Mar 5, 2018 May 4, 2018
TLB LEZ 2NNO 2 SEM 16-17 Mar 5, 2018 May 4, 2018
TLB LEZ 1NNO 2 SEM 16-17 Mar 5, 2018 May 4, 2018

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Medicine Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G L M N P R S T U V Z

Bazzoni Flavia

flavia.bazzoni@univr.it +39 045 802 7128

Boschi Federico

federico.boschi@univr.it +39 045 802 7816 - 7272 (lab.)

Brunelli Matteo

matteo.brunelli@univr.it +39 045 8124323

Buffelli Mario Rosario

mario.buffelli@univr.it +39 0458027268

Catania Salvatore

Chiamulera Cristiano

cristiano.chiamulera@univr.it +39 045 8027277

Chiarini Anna Maria

anna.chiarini@univr.it +39 045 802 7646

Cicoira Mariantonietta

mariantonietta.cicoira@univr.it +39 045 812 7720

Danese Elisa

elisa.danese@univr.it +39 045 812 6698

Ferdeghini Marco

marco.ferdeghini@univr.it 045 812 47 84 (Segreteria) 045 802 74 89 (Segreteria di Istituto)

Foroni Marina

marina.foroni@univr.it

Giavarina Davide

davide.giavarina@ulssvicenza.it 0444 753372

Gotte Giovanni

giovanni.gotte@univr.it 0458027694

Lievens Patricia

patricia.lievens@univr.it 0458027218

Ligozzi Marco

marco.ligozzi@univr.it 045 8027601

Lippi Giuseppe

giuseppe.lippi@univr.it +39 045 812 4308

Luchini Claudio

claudio.luchini@univr.it 045/8127457 (segreteria)

Majori Silvia

silvia.majori@univr.it +39 045 8027653

Malatesta Manuela

manuela.malatesta@univr.it +39 045 802 7569

Mariotto Sofia Giovanna

sofia.mariotto@univr.it 0458027167

Martignoni Guido

guido.martignoni@univr.it

Mazzariol Annarita

annarita.mazzariol@univr.it 045 8027690

Meyer Anja

anja.meyer@univr.it

Minuz Pietro

pietro.minuz@univr.it +39 045 812 4414

Montagnana Martina

martina.montagnana@univr.it +39 045 812 6698

Murgia Maria

maria.murgia@aovr.veneto.it

Negri Mauro

negrivr@tin.it 045/8072157

Nicoli Aldini Nicolo

nicolo.nicolialdini@gmail.com 338 7363781

Polettini Aldo Eliano

aldo.polettini@univr.it 3337475432

Porru Stefano

stefano.porru@univr.it + 39 045 812 4294

Romano Gabriele

gabriele.romano@univr.it 045 8027631

Romano Maria

maria.romano@univr.it 0458027245

Russo Ivan

ivan.russo@univr.it 045 802 8161 (VR)

Salvagno Gian Luca

gianluca.salvagno@univr.it 045 8124308-0456449264

Signoretto Caterina

caterina.signoretto@univr.it 045 802 7195

Tafi Maria Carla

mariacarla.tafi@univr.it 045 8027245

Tortora Giampaolo

giampaolo.tortora@univr.it 0458128502

Turco Alberto

alberto.turco@univr.it 0458027189

Ugel Stefano

stefano.ugel@univr.it 045-8126451

Verlato Giuseppe

giuseppe.verlato@univr.it 045 8027628

Vinante Fabrizio

fabrizio.vinante@univr.it +39 045 807 4032

Zamboni Giuseppe

giuseppe.zamboni@univr.it; giuseppe.zamboni@sacrocuore.it +39 045 6013415; +39 045 8124846

Zamo' Alberto

alberto.zamo@univr.it +39 045 8124835

Zanolin Maria Elisabetta

elisabetta.zanolin@univr.it +39 045 802 7654

Zoppini Giacomo

giacomo.zoppini@univr.it +39 045 8123115

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
8
A/B
(BIO/09 ,BIO/16 ,BIO/17 ,MED/46)
7
A/B
(BIO/13 ,MED/03 ,MED/07 ,MED/46)
5
B
(BIO/12 ,MED/46)
7
A/B
(FIS/07 ,ING-INF/06 ,ING-INF/07 ,MED/01)
3
E/F
(L-LIN/12)
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
8
B
(MED/07 ,MED/46 ,VET/06)
4
B
(MED/06 ,MED/11 ,MED/13 ,MED/15)
6
B
(MED/04)
4
A/B
(BIO/14 ,MED/46)

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
8
A/B
(BIO/09 ,BIO/16 ,BIO/17 ,MED/46)
7
A/B
(BIO/13 ,MED/03 ,MED/07 ,MED/46)
5
B
(BIO/12 ,MED/46)
7
A/B
(FIS/07 ,ING-INF/06 ,ING-INF/07 ,MED/01)
3
E/F
(L-LIN/12)

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
8
B
(MED/07 ,MED/46 ,VET/06)
4
B
(MED/06 ,MED/11 ,MED/13 ,MED/15)
6
B
(MED/04)
4
A/B
(BIO/14 ,MED/46)

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S000330

Credits

6

Coordinatore

Giovanni Gotte

The teaching is organized as follows:

Chimica e propedeutica biochimica

Credits

3

Period

TLB LEZ 1ANNO 1 SEM 16-17

Academic staff

Giovanni Gotte

Biochimica

Credits

3

Period

TLB LEZ 1ANNO 1 SEM 16-17

Academic staff

Sofia Giovanna Mariotto

Learning outcomes

The course provides the knowledge of the notions of Chemistry and Biochemistry:
In particular:
- The scientific method, underlined to explain phenomena occurring in the laboratories. The main notions of General and Organic Chemistry. Further attention is spent for notions of Organic Chemistry which are preparatory for Biochemistry.
The Biochemistry module is then mostly focused on the relationship between structure and function of biological macromolecules and the main metabolic pathways in which they are involved. The fundamental objective is to stimulate the student's interest in biomolecular science by highlighting interconnections between biochemical processes and related energetics.
At the end of the Course, students should demonstrate to have acquired the proper scientific terms and notions in order to critically and autonomously evaluate the chemical processes and their application in the laboratory practice and also the biochemical processes of life.

Program

CHEMISTRY
-Matter: aggregation states, energy, intensive and extensive properties.
-Atom: atomic theory, atomic weight. Inside the atom: protons, neutrons, electrons. Orbital wave function. Quantum numbers and periodic properties. Connection between micro- and macroscopic levels: the mole.
-Chemical bond: ionic, covalent, weak bonds: hydrogen bond and hints of hydrophobic interactions. The ‘noble gas’ or octet rule.
-States of the matter: The law of ideal gases; real gases; vapour pressure; liquids and solutions; hints of solids.
-Chemical reactions: syntheses, swapping; acid-base and pH, redox reactions; examples of biochemistry redox reactions.
-Chemical equilibrium: in aqueous solution or not; the amphoteric nature of water. Connection between Keq and deltaG.
-Thermodynamics and kinetics: principles of thermodynamics and spontaneous, or not, reactions. Kinetic theory of collisions, activation energy and catalysis.
-Organic chemistry: the chemistry of carbon; hybridation of the carbon orbitals; stereochemistry; structure, nomenclature, functional groups of the oxygenated organic compounds, and reactivity of them. Aromatic compounds: structure and reactions. Nitrogen compounds and and most important reactions.
Frontal teaching is the exclusive method adopted in this Course.

BIOCHEMISTRY
- Structure and function of proteins: amino acids; peptide bond; structural levels of proteins; fibrous proteins and globular proteins; hemoglobin and myoglobin; hemoglobin variants; classification, function and regulation of enzymes. Chromatography
- Bioenergetics: metabolism, chemical transformations in the cell; thermodynamics; ATP as energy exchanger; oxidation/reductions.
- Structure and metabolism of carbohydrates; mono- and disaccharides; polysaccharides. Glycolysis and its regulation. Alcoholic and lactic fermentation.. Gluconeogenesis. Penthose phosphate pathway. structure, function and metabolism of glycogen.
- Oxidative decarboxylation of pyruvate: synthesis of AcetylCoA. Citric acid cycle; electron transport chain and oxidative phosphorylation; ATP synthesis.
- Structure and metabolism of lipids: structural lipids and biological membranes; lipids transport; lipids digestion and fatty acids beta-oxidation; hints on fatty acids biosynthesis
- Amino acid metabolism; transamination and oxidative deamination; urea cycle; metabolism of the carbon chain.

The frontal teaching is the exclusive method adopted also in this course.

Examination Methods

To pass the integrated exam comprehending Chemistry and Biochemistry the students must demonstrate to acquire the comprehension and the knowledge of the program topics. Furthermore, they must show the capability to expose their reasoning in a critical and precise manner and using an appropriate scientific language.

The assessment of the subjects' learning in the Chemistry and Biochemistry modules is carried out through a joint oral test. The exam is preceded by a short written test consisting of 7 multiple-choice Chemistry Questions and 7 Biochemistry Multiple Questions Questions. This test gives access to the oral exam only if the correct answers are at least five for each subject and remains valid for the entire academic year.

The final score will be expressed in thirty's (/30). The examination will be validated with a minimum score of 18/30.
6 examination appeals are foreseen in the whole Academic Year: 2 in the Winter Session, after the Course ending, 2 in the Summer Session, and 2 in the Autumn session.

Bibliografia

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
Catani et all Appunti di biochimica (Edizione 2) piccin 2017 978-88-299-2843-9
Stefani M, Taddei N Chimica Biochimica e Biologia Applicata. Zanichelli ed., Bologna 2010
M. Samaja, R. Paroni Chimica e Biochimica Piccin 2016
A. Fiecchi, M. Galli Kienle, A. Scala Chimica e propedeutica biochimica Edi-Ermes  
Luciano BINAGLIA, Bruno GIARDINA CHIMICA e PROPEDEUTICA BIOCHIMICA (con CD-ROM) Ediz. Mc Graw-Hill  
ALLINGER ed altri CHIMICA ORGANICA Zanichelli, Bologna  
D. Voet, J. G. Voet, C.W. Pratt Fondamenti di Biochimica (Edizione 4) Zanichelli 2017 9788808420961
David L Nelson, Michael M Cox I principi di biochimica di Lehninger (Edizione 7) Zanichelli   9788808920690
M Samaja e R.Paroni Chimica e biochimica. Per le lauree triennale dell'area biomedica Piccin 2016
David L Nelson, Michael M Cox Introduzione alla Biochimica del Lehninger Zanichelli 2018
P.C. CHAMPE, R.A. HAEVEY, D.R. FERRIER Le basi della biochimica Zanichelli 2015

Type D and Type F activities

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Risultati di apprendimento attesi


Gestione carriere


Orario Lezioni

Si pubblicano gli orari delle lezioni relativi al 1^anno -1° semestre: Gli orari degli anni 2 e 3 sono pubblicati alla voce "Orario " in alto a destra di questa pagina;

La frequenza in aula delle lezioni è obbligatoria ed è prevista per tutti e tre gli anni di corso.
Le lezioni si svolgeranno in sicurezza, la capienza delle aule è  limitata al 50% dei posti disponibili 
 
Per gli studenti l’accesso in aula richiederà obbligatoriamente la preventiva prenotazione del posto tramite l’App UNIVR Lezioni.
er consentire a tutta la comunità studentesca di frequentare le attività didattiche in presenza, potrà essere utilizzato il principio di turnazione ovvero l’alternanza tra la possibilità di frequentare in presenza. Verrà data priorità di accesso all’aula alle studentesse e agli studenti con esigenze specifiche di apprendimento e alle studentesse e agli studenti internazionali che lo richiederanno
 
Il Collegio Didattico ha recentemente deliberato che le lezioni siano erogate in presenza a metà studenti e l’altra metà in diretta streaming per tutti e tre gli anni di corso, attraverso l’utilizzo della piattaforma Zoom e che essendo  la frequenza prevista dal regolamento obbligatoria ( 75% per l'insegnamento e 50% del modulo), pena l'esclusione all’esame. Quest‘ultima è considerarata valida se lo studente è presente in aula e/o in collegamento in diretta streaming.

IMPORTANTE: PER POTER SEGUIRE LE LEZIONI IN STREAMING, I POSTI A SEDERE IN AULA, DOVRANNO RISULTARE TUTTI OCCUPATI

Lo studente è obbligato a mantenere accesa la telecamera mentre il microfono può essere spento.

Permane l’obbligo da parte del docente della registrazione la cui visione non vale come certificazione di presenza.
 
IMPORTANTE: l'aula assegnata al 1 anno di corso è l'aula F degli Istituti Biologici nelle adiacenze del Policlinico G.B. Rossi di Verona, la quale ha una capienza pari a 20 posti in presenza.
E‘ obbligatorio che il n. di studenti  prenotati per queste aule siano gli stessi numeri/persone per:
 
1 ANNO: Aula F Istituti Biologici

2-3 ANNO: Aula 3 Ex Area Gavazzi

https://www.univr.it/coronavirus-info-studenti

Attachments

Title Info File
Doc_Univr_pdf LEZIONI TLB 1A 1S 2021-22 25 KB, 28/09/21 

Graduation


Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.