Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
First half of Semester 1 Sep 25, 2017 Nov 11, 2017
Second half of Semester 1 Nov 13, 2017 Jan 20, 2018
First half of Semester 2 Feb 26, 2018 Apr 21, 2018
Second half of Semester 2 Apr 23, 2018 Jun 9, 2018
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione d'esame invernale Jan 22, 2018 Feb 24, 2018
Sessione d'esame estiva Jun 11, 2018 Jul 28, 2018
Sessione d'esame autunnale Aug 27, 2018 Sep 22, 2018
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione estiva Jul 16, 2018 Jul 21, 2018
Sessione autunnale Nov 12, 2018 Nov 17, 2018
Sessione invernale Apr 1, 2019 Apr 6, 2019
Holidays
Period From To
All Saints Day Nov 1, 2017 Nov 1, 2017
Immaculate Conception Dec 8, 2017 Dec 8, 2017
Christmas break Dec 22, 2017 Jan 7, 2018
Easter break Mar 30, 2018 Apr 3, 2018
Liberation Day Apr 25, 2018 Apr 25, 2018
Labour Day May 1, 2018 May 1, 2018
Patron Saint Day May 21, 2018 May 21, 2018
Republic Day Jun 2, 2018 Jun 2, 2018
Summer break Aug 13, 2018 Aug 18, 2018

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Culture and Civilisation Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G L M P R S T Z

Aikema Bernard Jan Hendrik

symbol email bernard.aikema@univr.it (per tutti), aikemaforstudents@gmail.com (per studenti) symbol phone-number +39 045802 8197

Arcangeli Alessandro

symbol email alessandro.arcangeli@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8351

Artoni Paola

symbol email paola.artoni@univr.it symbol phone-number 045.802.8141

Barbierato Federico

symbol email federico.barbierato@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8351

Bassetti Massimiliano

symbol email massimiliano.bassetti@univr.it symbol phone-number 045802 8376

Basso Patrizia

symbol email patrizia.basso@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8638

Borghetti Vincenzo

symbol email vincenzo.borghetti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 8584

Boscaini Maurizio

symbol email maurizio.boscaini@univr.it

Buonopane Alfredo

symbol email alfredo.buonopane@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 0458028120

Camurri Renato

symbol email renato.camurri@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 8635

Ciancio Luca

symbol email luca.ciancio@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8122

Coden Fabio

symbol email fabio.coden@univr.it symbol phone-number 045802 8365

Concina Chiara Maria

symbol email chiara.concina@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 8325

Cretella Stefania

symbol email stefania.cretella@libero.it

Dal Pozzolo Enrico

symbol email enrico.dalpozzolo@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8569

Dobreva Diana Sergeeva

symbol email dianasergeeva.dobreva@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8392

Ferrarini Edoardo

symbol email edoardo.ferrarini@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8112

Formiga Federica

symbol email federica.formiga@univr.it symbol phone-number 045802 8123

Forner Fabio

symbol email fabio.forner@univr.it symbol phone-number + 39 045 802 8194

Franco Tiziana

symbol email tiziana.franco@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8380

Giannotti Vincenzo

symbol email vincenzo.giannotti@univr.it

Golinelli Paolo

symbol email paolo.golinelli@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8765

Grossi Piergiovanna

symbol email piergiovanna.grossi@univr.it

Guidarelli Gianmario

symbol email gianmario.guidarelli@univr.it

Lazzarin Gianmarco

symbol email gianmarco.lazzarin@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8391

Lerco Elisa

symbol email elisa.lerco@univr.it

Ligugnana Giovanna

symbol email giovanna.ligugnana@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8425392

Lupi Francesco

symbol email francesco.lupi@univr.it

Mastrocinque Attilio

symbol email attilio.mastrocinque@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8386

Migliavacca Mara Gioia

symbol email maragioia.migliavacca@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8392

Molteni Monica

symbol email monica.molteni@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 8028021

Paini Anna Maria

symbol email anna.paini@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8129

Pappalardo Maria

symbol email maria.pappalardo@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8391
Foto,  April 14, 2018

Pasini Roberto

symbol email pasini.roberto@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8121

Pasqualicchio Nicola

symbol email nicola.pasqualicchio@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458028585

Ponchia Simonetta

symbol email simonetta.ponchia@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8365

Prandi Luisa

symbol email luisa.prandi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 8718

Raccanelli Renata

symbol email renata.raccanelli@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458028366

Rossi Mariaclara

symbol email mariaclara.rossi@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8380

Saggioro Fabio

symbol email fabio.saggioro@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 8113

Salgaro Silvino

symbol email silvino.salgaro@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8272

Scandola Alberto

symbol email alberto.scandola@univr.it symbol phone-number 045.8028586

Terraroli Valerio

symbol email valerio.terraroli@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458028441

Zamperini Alessandra

symbol email alessandra.zamperini@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458028685

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

CURRICULUM TIPO:
Modules Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°
Other activities
6
F
-

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




S Placements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

iIntroductory
padvanced
mMasterful

Teaching code

4S004608

Credits

6

Also offered in courses:

Language

Italian

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

L-ANT/01 - PREHISTORY AND EARLY HISTORY

Period

Sem. 2B dal Apr 8, 2019 al Jun 1, 2019.

Learning outcomes

Aims and objectives of the course
• To provide an advanced methodological knowledge and a general overview of the subject of study.
• To stimulate a critical analysis of the material useful to the reconstruction of the proto-historic world, at different complexity levels: the artefacts; the sites in the landscape and in their organization; the economic, social, political and ideological organization.
• To provide an advanced knowledge in the archaeology of Northern Italy from the early Bronze Age to the Romanization.
• To underline the relationship between Proto-historic Northern Italy and other areas (Northern and Central Europe, Italic and Mediterranean world).
• To engage students with the material and resources related to the study themes that are present in the surrounding area.

Program

The course surveys the dramatic changes that emerged from the Copper Age to the end of the first millennium B.C. in the human relationship with the environment and in the social organization of human societies, in North-Eastern Italy especially but also in the broader framework of Europe to the North, of central and southern Italy, the Aegean and Mediterranean world to the South. The evolution over time of artefacts, settlements and economic, social and cultural organization is explained also through case studies. A part of the course is devoted to the methodology and the interpretation of prehistoric research.
Unit 1
Introduction to Proto-history. Sources and chronology.
The spread of metallurgy and the consequent economic and social changes.
Unit 2
The Copper age. The emergence of the metallurgic technology: available data.
The emergence of a new human-environment relationship. Changes in cultural, economic and social organization.
Unit 3
The Bronze age: available archaeological data.
Changes in the settlement system and in the cultural, economic and social organization.
The pile-dwellings: organization and exchanges.
Unit 4
Terramare and castellieri: a great transformation in the landscape.
Archaeological data.
Changes in the settlement system and in the cultural, economic and social organization
Unit 5
The collapse of the terramare system and the spread of a new world.
The Early Iron age: introduction to the iron metallurgy.
Archaeological data.
Changes in the settlement system and in the cultural, economic and social organization
The emergence of the early urban centers.
Unit 6
The Late Iron age: archaeological data.
The emergence of writing and of ethnic definition.
Changes in the settlement system and in the cultural, economic and social organization.

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
R. Peroni Introduzione alla protostoria italiana. Laterza 1994 8842043818
A.M. Bietti Sestieri L'Italia nell'età del bronzo e del ferro: dalle palafitte a Romolo (2200-700 a. C.) Carocci 2010 9788843052073
G. Leonardi e V. Tiné (a cura di) Preistoria e Protostoria del Veneto, XLVIII Riunione Scientifica IIPP Istituto Italiano di Preistoria e Protostoria 2015

Examination Methods

oral examination

???AdattamentoProvaEsameDSA???

Type D and Type F activities

First half of Semester 1 From 9/25/17 To 11/11/17
years Modules TAF Teacher
History of Medieval Architecture (i) D Fabio Coden (Coordinatore)
European Art History (i) D Bernard Jan Hendrik Aikema (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Castelvecchio Lectures (City Art Museums) F Alessandra Zamperini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° San Rocco lectures (Quinzano) F Alessandra Zamperini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° C.T.G. Lectures F Alessandra Zamperini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Graphical representation of archaeological evidence I F Giuliana Maria Facchini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Karis - I ciclo F Tiziana Franco (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Archeology laboratory of instrumentum domesticum F Giuliana Maria Facchini (Coordinatore)
Second half of Semester 1 From 11/13/17 To 1/20/18
years Modules TAF Teacher
How to write your dissertation F Alessandro Arcangeli (Coordinatore)
Museology (i) D Valerio Terraroli (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Castelvecchio Lectures (City Art Museums) F Alessandra Zamperini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° San Rocco lectures (Quinzano) F Alessandra Zamperini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° C.T.G. Lectures F Alessandra Zamperini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Graphical representation of archaeological evidence I F Giuliana Maria Facchini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Ephigraphy of production and distribution F Alfredo Buonopane (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Archeology laboratory of instrumentum domesticum F Giuliana Maria Facchini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Laboratory of theatrical and musical criticism F Simona Brunetti (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° CRES Lectures F Corrado Viola (Coordinatore)
First half of Semester 2 From 2/26/18 To 4/21/18
years Modules TAF Teacher
Lectures "Musiche/Culture/Civiltà" F Vincenzo Borghetti (Coordinatore)
RENAISSANCE ARCHITECTURE IN THE VENETO REGION F Daniela Zumiani (Coordinatore)
Iconography of Female Fashion. The Social Meaning of Clothes through Visual Arts, from the Renaissance to the 17th Century. F Alessandra Zamperini (Coordinatore)
Introduction to Mesopotamian medicine F Simonetta Ponchia (Coordinatore)
Recording the theatrical ephemeral F Simona Brunetti (Coordinatore)
How to write your dissertation F Alessandro Arcangeli (Coordinatore)
History of the Republic of Venice (p) D Federico Barbierato (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Classification of archaeological Finds F Giuliana Maria Facchini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Castelvecchio Lectures (City Art Museums) F Alessandra Zamperini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° San Rocco lectures (Quinzano) F Alessandra Zamperini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° C.T.G. Lectures F Alessandra Zamperini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Graphical representation of archaeological evidence II F Giuliana Maria Facchini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Karis - II ciclo F Tiziana Franco (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Lab on Methodology of Ethnographic Research F Stefano Maltese (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Basic laboratory of data F Maurizio Boscaini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Laboratory of theatrical and musical criticism F Simona Brunetti (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Laboratory of photo F Marco Ambrosi (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Workshop of Cultural Heritage Photography F Stefano Marziali (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Workshop on the History of Manuscript Illumination F Marta Minazzato (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Workshop on Noninvasive Analytical Techniques Applied to Paintings F Paola Artoni (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Leggere il medioevo. autori, incontri, discussioni F Tiziana Franco (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° CRES Lectures F Corrado Viola (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Cultural Heritage and the Web F Piergiovanna Grossi (Coordinatore)
Second half of Semester 2 From 4/23/18 To 6/9/18
years Modules TAF Teacher
Recording the theatrical ephemeral F Simona Brunetti (Coordinatore)
Latin Epigraphy (i) D Alfredo Buonopane (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Classification of archaeological Finds F Giuliana Maria Facchini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Castelvecchio Lectures (City Art Museums) F Alessandra Zamperini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° C.T.G. Lectures F Alessandra Zamperini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Graphical representation of archaeological evidence II F Giuliana Maria Facchini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Laboratory of medieval archaeology F Elisa Lerco (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Workshop of Cultural Heritage Photography F Stefano Marziali (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Workshop on the History of Manuscript Illumination F Marta Minazzato (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Leggere il medioevo. autori, incontri, discussioni F Tiziana Franco (Coordinatore)
List of courses with unassigned period
years Modules TAF Teacher
Archaeological research on the northern part of the Civita of Tarquinia F Attilio Mastrocinque (Coordinatore)
Archaeological excavation in Aquileia F Patrizia Basso (Coordinatore)
Archaeological excavation in Gazzo Veronese F Patrizia Basso (Coordinatore)
Field archaeological research in Leno Monastery F Fabio Saggioro (Coordinatore)
Field archaeological research in Piuro settlement F Fabio Saggioro (Coordinatore)

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Linguistic training CLA


Graduation

List of theses and work experience proposals

theses proposals Research area
Ambiti di tesi Art & Architecture - Art & Architecture
Stage Research area
Lavorare in archivio Various topics

Student mentoring


Gestione carriere


Student login and resources