Studying at the University of Verona

A.A. 2018/2019

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
LEZIONI 1° E 2° SEMESTRE Oct 1, 2018 May 31, 2019
LEZIONI 1° SEMESTRE 2°-3°-4°-5°-6° ANNO Oct 1, 2018 Dec 21, 2018
LEZIONI I° SEMESTRE 1°ANNO Oct 15, 2018 Dec 21, 2018
LEZIONI 2° SEMESTRE Feb 18, 2019 May 31, 2019
Exam sessions
Session From To
SESSIONE INVERNALE A.A. 2017/2018 E 1°SEMESTRE A.A. 2018/2019 Jan 7, 2019 Feb 15, 2019
SESSIONE ESTIVA LAUREANDI Jun 3, 2019 Jul 5, 2019
SESSIONE ESTIVA A.A. 2018/2019 Jun 3, 2019 Jul 26, 2019
SESSIONE AUTUNNALE A.A. 2018/2019 Sep 2, 2019 Sep 27, 2019
Degree sessions
Session From To
SESSIONE INVERNALE Mar 4, 2019 Mar 15, 2019
SESSIONE ESTIVA Jul 15, 2019 Jul 31, 2019
SESSIONE AUTUNNALE Oct 14, 2019 Oct 25, 2019
Holidays
Period From To
FESTIVITA' OGNISSANTI Nov 1, 2018 Nov 1, 2018
FESTIVITA' IMMACOLATA CONCEZIONE Dec 8, 2018 Dec 8, 2018
VACANZE DI NATALE Dec 24, 2018 Jan 6, 2019
VACANZE DI PASQUA Apr 19, 2019 Apr 28, 2019
FESTA DELLA LIBERAZIONE Apr 25, 2019 Apr 25, 2019
FESTIVITA' DEL LAVORO May 1, 2019 May 1, 2019
FESTIVITA' DEL SANTO PATRONO SAN ZENO May 21, 2019 May 21, 2019
FESTA DELLA REPUBBLICA Jun 2, 2019 Jun 2, 2019
Other Periods
Description Period From To
ATTIVITA' FACOLTATIVA O DI RECUPERO TIROCINIO ATTIVITA' FACOLTATIVA O DI RECUPERO TIROCINIO Oct 1, 2018 Sep 30, 2019
TIROCINIO 1°SEMESTRE ESCLUSI I PERIODI DI VACANZA TIROCINIO 1°SEMESTRE ESCLUSI I PERIODI DI VACANZA Oct 1, 2018 Feb 17, 2019
TIROCINIO 2°SEMESTRE ESCLUSI I PERIODI DI VACANZA TIROCINIO 2°SEMESTRE ESCLUSI I PERIODI DI VACANZA Feb 18, 2019 Jul 26, 2019

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Medicine Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G I L M N P R S T Z

Albanese Massimo

massimo.albanese@univr.it +39 045 812 4251/4024

Bazzoni Flavia

flavia.bazzoni@univr.it +39 045 802 7128

Bertini Giuseppe

giuseppe.bertini@univr.it 045-802-7682

Bertossi Dario

dario.bertossi@univr.it +39 045 812 4096

Boschi Federico

federico.boschi@univr.it +39 045 802 7816 - 7272 (lab.)

Busetto Giuseppe

giuseppe.busetto@univr.it +39 0458027290

Cane' Stefania

stefania.cane@univr.it +39 045 8126449

Cassatella Marco Antonio

marco.cassatella@univr.it 045 8027130

Chiamulera Cristiano

cristiano.chiamulera@univr.it +39 045 8027277

Corsi Fabio

fabio.corsi@univr.it 347 0076598

D'Agostino Antonio

antonio.dagostino@univr.it +39 045 812 4023

Danese Elisa

elisa.danese@univr.it +39 045 812 6698

De Franceschi Lucia

lucia.defranceschi@univr.it 0458124918

De Leo Domenico

domenico.deleo@univr.it +39 045 812 4942

De Santis Daniele

daniele.desantis@univr.it +39 045 812 4251 - 4097

Donadello Katia

katia.donadello@univr.it +39 045 812 4311

Fabene Paolo

paolo.fabene@univr.it 0458027267

Fabrizi Gian Maria

gianmaria.fabrizi@univr.it +39 0458124461

Faccioni Fiorenzo

fiorenzo.faccioni@ospedaleuniverona.it +39 045 812 4251 - 4868

Gerosa Roberto

roberto.gerosa@univr.it 0458124863

Girelli Massimo

massimo.girelli@univr.it +39 0458027106

Girolomoni Giampiero

giampiero.girolomoni@univr.it +39 045 812 2547

Gisondi Paolo

paolo.gisondi@univr.it +39 045 812 2547

Iacono Calogero

calogero.iacono@univr.it +39 045 812 4412

Lleo'Fernandez Maria Del Mar

maria.lleo@univr.it 045 8027194

Lombardo Giorgio

giorgio.lombardo@univr.it +39 045 812 4867

Luciano Umberto

umberto.luciano@univr.it +39 045 807 4251

Maffeis Claudio

claudio.maffeis@univr.it +39 045 812 7664

Majori Silvia

silvia.majori@univr.it +39 045 8027653

Malchiodi Luciano

luciano.malchiodi@univr.it +39 045 812 4855

Mansueto Giancarlo

giancarlo.mansueto@univr.it 0458124301

Marchini Giorgio

giorgio.marchini@univr.it +39 045 812 6140

Marchioni Daniele

daniele.marchioni@univr.it +39 045 812 7669

Marchiori Mattia

mattia.marchiori@univr.it

Marcon Alessandro

alessandro.marcon@univr.it +39 045 802 7668

Martignoni Guido

guido.martignoni@univr.it 045 8027618

Menegazzi Marta

marta.menegazzi@univr.it +39 045 802 7168

Mottes Monica

monica.mottes@univr.it +39 045 8027 184

Nicoli Aldini Nicolo

nicolo.nicolialdini@gmail.com 338 7363781

Nocini Pier Francesco

pierfrancesco.nocini@univr.it + 39 045 812 4251

Polati Enrico

enrico.polati@univr.it +39 045 812 7430 - 4311

Renna Dora

dora.renna@univr.it

Romanelli Maria

mariagrazia.romanelli@univr.it +39 045 802 7182

Ruggeri Mirella

mirella.ruggeri@univr.it 0458124953

Sboarina Andrea

andrea.sboarina@univr.it +39 045 802 7291

Scupoli Maria

mariateresa.scupoli@univr.it 045-8027405 045-8128425

Tinazzi Michele

michele.tinazzi@univr.it +39 045 8122601

Trevisiol Lorenzo

lorenzo.trevisiol@univr.it +39 045 812 4023

Zanolin Maria Elisabetta

elisabetta.zanolin@univr.it +39 045 802 7654

Zerman Nicoletta

nicoletta.zerman@univr.it + 39 045 812 4251 - 4857

Zotti Francesca

francesca.zotti@univr.it +39 045 812 6938

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
10
A
(BIO/16)
8
A
(BIO/13)
7
A
(BIO/10)
6
A
(FIS/07)
7
B
(L-LIN/12)
7
A
(BIO/17)
13
A/B/C
(INF/01 ,MED/01 ,MED/02 ,M-PED/03 ,M-PSI/01)
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
7
A
(BIO/10)
20
B/C/F
(- ,INF/01 ,MED/28 ,MED/43 ,MED/50)
9
A
(BIO/09)
13
B
(MED/04 ,MED/07 ,MED/42)
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
14
B/C/F
(- ,BIO/12 ,MED/09 ,MED/30)
7
B
(BIO/14)
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
4
B
(MED/43)
4
B/F
(- ,MED/25 ,MED/26)
13
B/F
(- ,MED/18 ,MED/35 ,MED/41)
3
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
5
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
8
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
6
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
10
B/C/F
(- ,MED/28 ,MED/29 ,MED/31)
5
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
12
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
12
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
7
B/F
(- ,MED/28 ,MED/38)

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
10
A
(BIO/16)
8
A
(BIO/13)
7
A
(BIO/10)
6
A
(FIS/07)
7
B
(L-LIN/12)
7
A
(BIO/17)
13
A/B/C
(INF/01 ,MED/01 ,MED/02 ,M-PED/03 ,M-PSI/01)

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
7
A
(BIO/10)
20
B/C/F
(- ,INF/01 ,MED/28 ,MED/43 ,MED/50)
9
A
(BIO/09)
13
B
(MED/04 ,MED/07 ,MED/42)

3° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
14
B/C/F
(- ,BIO/12 ,MED/09 ,MED/30)
7
B
(BIO/14)

4° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
4
B
(MED/43)
4
B/F
(- ,MED/25 ,MED/26)
13
B/F
(- ,MED/18 ,MED/35 ,MED/41)
3
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
5
B/F
(- ,MED/28)

5° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
8
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
6
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
10
B/C/F
(- ,MED/28 ,MED/29 ,MED/31)
5
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
12
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
12
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
7
B/F
(- ,MED/28 ,MED/38)

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S00103

Coordinatore

Marta Menegazzi

Credits

7

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

BIO/10 - BIOCHEMISTRY

Language

Italian

Period

LEZIONI 1° SEMESTRE 2°-3°-4°-5°-6° ANNO dal Oct 1, 2018 al Dec 21, 2018.

Learning outcomes

The aim of Biochemistry course is focused on understanding the molecular bases of how biological systems work and the structure-function relationships of macromolecules, both in physiological and in pathological condition. The course aims to introduce the main metabolic pathways and their regulations at the molecular, cellular and tissue levels, integrating chemical, physiological and pathological aspects of human biochemistry, in order to provide students with biochemical knowledge useful in the practice of dentistry.

Program

Structure and classification of amino acids. Structure of the peptide bond. Secondary structures (alpha helix, beta sheet, triple helix of collagen). Tertiary and quaternary structures of proteins. Structure and function of fibrous proteins: alpha keratin, actin-myosin, elastin. Structure and function of proteins that bind the oxygen, saturation curve of hemoglobin for oxygen, cooperative effect, Bohr effect, 2,3 bisphosphoglycerate, pathological hemoglobins. Enzymes: examples of enzyme catalysis. Enzyme kinetics, maximum speed, Michaelis constant. Enzyme inhibition: competitive, non-competitive, allosteric. Regulation of enzyme activity by phosphorylation. Vitamins and co-enzymes.
Introduction to metabolism. Electron transport chain, theory chemo-osmotic, oxidative phosphorylation by rotational catalysis.
Digestion of carbohydrates, glycolysis, energy balance and its regulation, lactic fermentation. Gluconeogenesis, glycogen synthesis and glycogen lysis. Hormonal regulation of blood sugar. Pentose phosphate pathway.
Oxidative decarboxylation of pyruvate, the citric acid cycle and its regulation.
Catabolism of ethanol and its effects on hepatic metabolism. Cycle nutrition / fasting, metabolic dis-regulation in some human diseases.
Digestion of lipids, transport of lipids in the blood, lipoproteins.
Cytosolic activation of fatty acids, carnitine transport into mitochondria.
Beta oxidation of fatty acids. Ketogenesis, fatty acid synthesis, cholesterol metabolism.
Digestion of proteins. Amino acids metabolism: transfer, transport and deletion of the amino group, urea cycle. Catecholamine synthesis.
Nucleic acids, structure of DNA and RNA, DNA replication in eukaryotes, transcription.
Protein synthesis Regulation of gene expression and signal transduction.

Bibliografia

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
Mathews CK, Van Holde KE, Appling DR, Anthony-Cahill SJ Biochimica (Edizione 4) Piccin 2013 978-88-299-2683-1
Voet D, Voet JG, Pratt CW Fondamenti di Biochimica (Edizione 4) Zanichelli 2017 978 88 08 42096 1
David L Nelson, Michael M Cox I principi di biochimica di Lehninger (Edizione 7) Zanichelli   9788808920690
P.C. CHAMPE, R.A. HAEVEY, D.R. FERRIER Le basi della biochimica Zanichelli 2015

Examination Methods

Two progress tests with open questions will be conducted. The first one at the beginning of November concerning the structure and function of biological macromolecules, the second on December 20th concerning topics on metabolism. In the later, one of the questions will be the detailed description with chemical formulas of a particular metabolic pathway. To be admitted to the second part it is necessary to clear the first part of progress test. The final assessment would be made with mean of the both progress examinations.
In regular sessions, the examination will consist of a written part describing a particular metabolic pathway with chemical formulas and the oral discussion on that pathway and on other topics related to the program.

Free choice courses

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Gestione carriere


Graduation


Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.