Studying at the University of Verona

A.A. 2021/2022

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
LEZIONI 1° E 2° SEMESTRE (INSEGNAMENTI ANNUALI) Oct 4, 2021 May 27, 2022
LEZIONI 1° SEMESTRE 2°-3°-4°-5°-6°ANNO Oct 4, 2021 Dec 23, 2021
LEZIONI 1°SEMESTRE 1° ANNO Oct 18, 2021 Dec 23, 2021
LEZIONI 1° E 2° SEMESTRE 1° ANNO (INSEGNAMENTI ANNUALI) Oct 18, 2021 May 27, 2022
LEZIONI 2°SEMESTRE Feb 14, 2022 May 27, 2022
Exam sessions
Session From To
ESAMI DI PROFITTO SESSIONE INVERNALE A.A. 2020/2021 E 1° SEMESTRE A.A. 2021/2022 Jan 7, 2022 Feb 11, 2022
ESAMI DI PROFITTO SESSIONE ESTIVA LAUREANDI A.A. 2021/2022 May 31, 2022 Jul 1, 2022
ESAMI DI PROFITTO SESSIONE ESTIVA A.A. 2021/2022 May 31, 2022 Jul 29, 2022
ESAMI DI PROFITTO SESSIONE AUTUNNALE A.A. 2021/2022 Sep 1, 2022 Sep 30, 2022
Degree sessions
Session From To
SESSIONE INVERNALE A.A. 2020/2021 Mar 1, 2022 Mar 11, 2022
SESSIONE ESTIVA A.A. 2021/2022 Jul 13, 2022 Jul 29, 2022
SESSIONE AUTUNNALE A.A. 2021/2022 Oct 10, 2022 Oct 21, 2022
Holidays
Period From To
FESTIVITA' OGNISSANTI Nov 1, 2021 Nov 1, 2021
FESTIVITA' IMMACOLATA CONCEZIONE Dec 8, 2021 Dec 8, 2021
VACANZE DI NATALE Dec 23, 2021 Jan 2, 2022
VACANZE DI PASQUA Apr 15, 2022 Apr 19, 2022
FESTA DELLA LIBERAZIONE Apr 25, 2022 Apr 25, 2022
FESTA DEL LAVORO May 1, 2022 May 1, 2022
FESTIVITA' DEL SANTO PATRONO SAN ZENO May 21, 2022 May 21, 2022
FESTIVITA' DELLA REPUBBLICA Jun 2, 2022 Jun 2, 2022
Other Periods
Description Period From To
TIROCINIO 1° E 2° SEMESTRE (INSEGNAMENTI ANNUALI) TIROCINIO 1° E 2° SEMESTRE (INSEGNAMENTI ANNUALI) Oct 1, 2021 May 27, 2022
ATTIVITA' FACOLTATIVA O DI RECUPERO TIROCINIO ATTIVITA' FACOLTATIVA O DI RECUPERO TIROCINIO Oct 1, 2021 Sep 30, 2022
TIROCINIO 1° SEMESTRE TIROCINIO 1° SEMESTRE Oct 1, 2021 Feb 11, 2022
TIROCINIO 2° SEMESTRE TIROCINIO 2° SEMESTRE Feb 14, 2022 Jul 22, 2022

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Medicine Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G I L M N P R S T U Z

Albanese Massimo

massimo.albanese@univr.it +39 045 812 4251/4024

Bazzoni Flavia

flavia.bazzoni@univr.it +39 045 802 7128

Bertini Giuseppe

giuseppe.bertini@univr.it 045-802-7682

Bertossi Dario

dario.bertossi@univr.it +39 045 812 4096

Boschi Federico

federico.boschi@univr.it +39 045 802 7816 - 7272 (lab.)

Busetto Giuseppe

giuseppe.busetto@univr.it +39 0458027290

D'Agostino Antonio

antonio.dagostino@univr.it +39 045 812 4023

Danese Elisa

elisa.danese@univr.it +39 045 812 6698

De Franceschi Lucia

lucia.defranceschi@univr.it 0458124918

De Leo Domenico

domenico.deleo@univr.it +39 045 812 4942

De Santis Daniele

daniele.desantis@univr.it +39 045 812 4251 - 4097

Donadello Katia

katia.donadello@univr.it +39 045 812 4311

D'Onofrio Mirko

mirko.donofrio@univr.it +39 045 8124301

Fabene Paolo

paolo.fabene@univr.it 0458027267

Fabrizi Gian Maria

gianmaria.fabrizi@univr.it +39 0458124461

Faccioni Fiorenzo

fiorenzo.faccioni@ospedaleuniverona.it +39 045 812 4251 - 4868

Gerosa Roberto

roberto.gerosa@univr.it 0458124863

Girelli Massimo

massimo.girelli@univr.it +39 0458027106

Girolomoni Giampiero

giampiero.girolomoni@univr.it +39 045 812 2547

Gisondi Paolo

paolo.gisondi@univr.it +39 045 812 2547

Iacono Calogero

calogero.iacono@univr.it +39 045 812 4412

Lleo'Fernandez Maria Del Mar

maria.lleo@univr.it 045 8027194

Lombardo Giorgio

giorgio.lombardo@univr.it +39 045 812 4867

Luciano Umberto

umberto.luciano@univr.it +39 045 807 4251

Maffeis Claudio

claudio.maffeis@univr.it +39 045 812 7664

Malchiodi Luciano

luciano.malchiodi@univr.it +39 045 812 4855

Marchini Giorgio

giorgio.marchini@univr.it +39 045 812 6140

Marchiori Mattia

mattia.marchiori@univr.it

Marcon Alessandro

alessandro.marcon@univr.it +39 045 802 7668

Martignoni Guido

guido.martignoni@univr.it 045 8027618

Menegazzi Marta

marta.menegazzi@univr.it +39 045 802 7168

Molteni Gabriele

gabriele.molteni@univr.it 045 812 2330

Moretti Ugo

ugo.moretti@univr.it 0458027602; 0458124245

Mottes Monica

monica.mottes@univr.it +39 045 8027 184

Nicoli Aldini Nicolo

nicolo.nicolialdini@gmail.com 338 7363781

Nocini Pier Francesco

pierfrancesco.nocini@univr.it + 39 045 812 4251

Polati Enrico

enrico.polati@univr.it +39 045 812 7430 - 4311

Raniero Dario

dario.raniero@univr,.it 0458027503

Romanelli Maria

mariagrazia.romanelli@univr.it +39 045 802 7182

Ruggeri Mirella

mirella.ruggeri@univr.it 0458124953

Sboarina Andrea

andrea.sboarina@univr.it +39 045 802 7291

Scupoli Maria

mariateresa.scupoli@univr.it 045-8027405 045-8128425

Tardivo Stefano

stefano.tardivo@univr.it +39 045 802 7660

Tinazzi Michele

michele.tinazzi@univr.it +39 045 8122601

Trevisiol Lorenzo

lorenzo.trevisiol@univr.it +39 045 812 4023

Ugel Stefano

stefano.ugel@univr.it 045-8126451

Zanolin Maria Elisabetta

elisabetta.zanolin@univr.it +39 045 802 7654

Zerman Nicoletta

nicoletta.zerman@univr.it + 39 045 812 4251 - 4857

Zotti Francesca

francesca.zotti@univr.it +39 045 812 6938

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
10
A
(BIO/16)
8
A
(BIO/13)
7
A
(BIO/10)
6
A
(FIS/07)
7
B
(L-LIN/12)
7
A
(BIO/17)
13
A/B/C
(INF/01 ,MED/01 ,MED/02 ,M-PED/03 ,M-PSI/01)
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
7
A
(BIO/10)
9
A
(BIO/09)
13
B
(MED/04 ,MED/07 ,MED/42)
20
B/C/F
(- ,INF/01 ,MED/28 ,MED/43 ,MED/50)
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
7
B
(BIO/14)
14
B/C/F
(- ,BIO/12 ,MED/09 ,MED/30)
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
5
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
3
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
4
B
(MED/43)
4
B/F
(- ,MED/25 ,MED/26)
13
B/F
(- ,MED/18 ,MED/35 ,MED/41)
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
7
B/F
(- ,MED/28 ,MED/38)
12
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
8
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
6
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
10
B/C/F
(- ,MED/28 ,MED/29 ,MED/31)
5
B/F
(- ,MED/28)

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
10
A
(BIO/16)
8
A
(BIO/13)
7
A
(BIO/10)
6
A
(FIS/07)
7
B
(L-LIN/12)
7
A
(BIO/17)
13
A/B/C
(INF/01 ,MED/01 ,MED/02 ,M-PED/03 ,M-PSI/01)

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
7
A
(BIO/10)
9
A
(BIO/09)
13
B
(MED/04 ,MED/07 ,MED/42)
20
B/C/F
(- ,INF/01 ,MED/28 ,MED/43 ,MED/50)

3° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
7
B
(BIO/14)
14
B/C/F
(- ,BIO/12 ,MED/09 ,MED/30)

4° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
5
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
3
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
4
B
(MED/43)
4
B/F
(- ,MED/25 ,MED/26)
13
B/F
(- ,MED/18 ,MED/35 ,MED/41)

5° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
7
B/F
(- ,MED/28 ,MED/38)
12
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
8
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
6
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
10
B/C/F
(- ,MED/28 ,MED/29 ,MED/31)
5
B/F
(- ,MED/28)

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S00120

Coordinatore

Giuseppe Busetto

Credits

9

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

BIO/09 - PHYSIOLOGY

Language

Italian

Period

LEZIONI 1° SEMESTRE 2°-3°-4°-5°-6°ANNO dal Oct 4, 2021 al Dec 23, 2021.

Learning outcomes

1) Knowledge of cellular biophysics and physiology. 2) Mechanisms of function of the organs. 3) Integration of organs function into apparatuses. 4) Local and systemic mechanisms of regulation of organs function. 5) Most important human physiological parameters.

Program

1 Biophysics and cellular physiology
Homeostasis and the constancy of the internal environment. Structure of the membrane. Movement of molecules across the membrane. Resting membrane potential, graded potentials, action potential.

2 Muscle
Skeletal muscle: Molecular bases of contraction; neuromuscular junction, excitation-contraction coupling; types of synaptic transmission block; mechanics and energy expenditure of contraction; types of muscle fibres; motor unit; modulation of strength of contraction; muscle fatigue; effects of exercise. Smooth muscle: classification; molecular bases of contraction; excitation-contraction coupling.


3 Nervous System
Functional anatomy of the neuron. Structure of the synapse. Function of excitatory and inhibitory synapses. Temporal and spatial summation. Modulation of synaptic function: short-term and long-term synaptic plasticity. Principles of functional organization of the nervous tissue. Sensory systems: sensory receptors and transduction of sensory stimulus into nerve impulses; classification of sensory modalities; somatic sensation; pain sensation; chemical senses: smell and taste. Motor systems: spinal control of movement; spinal reflexes; alpha-gamma activation; different levels of control of posture and locomotion; functional organization of motor pathways.

4 Cardio-vascular system
Blood tissue: components and regulation of red cells production. The heart: functional structure; rhythmical excitation; excitation-contraction coupling; electrocardiogram in physiology and pathology; the cardiac cycle; regulation of cardiac output and venous return; Starling’s law . Circulation: overview; hemodynamic, pressure, flow, resistance, velocity; arterial pressure, definition, measurement, control; arterioles; local (organ) control of blood flow; capillary flow, diffusion of molecules, filtration and reabsorption of fluids; veins.

5 Respiratory system
Functional anatomy. Ventilation mechanics; Volumes and capacitances of the lungs; partial pressures of the gases; alveolar gas exchanges; respiratory exchange ratio; alveolar ventilation/perfusion ratio; transport of gases in the blood; respiratory center; chemical control of respiration; respiratory alkalosis/acidosis; hypoxia.

6 Kidney
Functional structure. Glomerular filtration, renal blood flow ant their control. Clearance. Renal tubular reabsorption and secretion. Henle’s loop. Control of water and sodium secretion. Control of potassium and calcium secretion. Control of pH.

7 Gastrointestinal system
Functional organization of the gastrointestinal tract. Neuronal and hormonal control GI function. Types of movements. Secretion of fluids and enzymes. Digestion and absorption of carbohydrates, proteins, lipids. Salivation and ingestion. The stomach. Small intestine. Colon.

8 Endocrinology
Principles of function. Pituitary hormones and their hypothalamic control. Thyroid and parathyroid hormones. Adrenocortical hormones. Pancreatic hormones. Gonadic hormones.

9 Physiology of the stomatognathic apparatus
Tooth pain sensation. Mechanism and reflexes of chewing. Central control of chewing.

Bibliografia

Visualizza la bibliografia con Leganto, strumento che il Sistema Bibliotecario mette a disposizione per recuperare i testi in programma d'esame in modo semplice e innovativo.

Examination Methods

Oral test

Free choice courses

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Gestione carriere


Graduation


Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.