Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
I semestre Oct 1, 2013 Jan 31, 2014
II semestre Mar 3, 2014 Jun 13, 2014
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione straordinaria Feb 3, 2014 Feb 28, 2014
Sessione estiva Jun 16, 2014 Jul 31, 2014
Sessione autunnale Sep 1, 2014 Sep 30, 2014
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione autunnale Oct 16, 2013 Oct 16, 2013
Sessione straordinaria Dec 10, 2013 Dec 10, 2013
Sessione invernale Mar 19, 2014 Mar 19, 2014
Sessione estiva Jul 14, 2014 Jul 14, 2014
Holidays
Period From To
Vacanze Natalizie Dec 22, 2013 Jan 6, 2014
Vacanze di Pasqua Apr 17, 2014 Apr 22, 2014
Festa del S. Patrono S. Zeno May 21, 2014 May 21, 2014
Vacanze Estive Aug 11, 2014 Aug 15, 2014

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Science and Engineering Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrollment FAQs

Academic staff

B C D F G L M O P Q R S T

Ballottari Matteo

symbol email matteo.ballottari@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7823

Betterle Nico

symbol email nico.betterle@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027871

Bicego Manuele

symbol email manuele.bicego@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7072

Canevari Giacomo

symbol email giacomo.canevari@univr.it symbol phone-number +390458027979

Capaldi Stefano

symbol email stefano.capaldi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7907

Carra Damiano

symbol email damiano.carra@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7059

Castellani Umberto

symbol email umberto.castellani@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7988

Cipriani Alessio

symbol email alessio.cipriani@univr.it symbol phone-number 049-8027932

Combi Carlo

symbol email carlo.combi@univr.it symbol phone-number +390458027985

Cristani Matteo

symbol email matteo.cristani@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7983

Daducci Alessandro

symbol email alessandro.daducci@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027025

Della Libera Chiara

symbol email chiara.dellalibera@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 0458027219

Dell'Orco Daniele

symbol email daniele.dellorco@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7637

Dominici Paola

symbol email paola.dominici@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7966; Lab: 045 802 7956-7086

D'Onofrio Mariapina

symbol email mariapina.donofrio@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7801

Franco Giuditta

symbol email giuditta.franco@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7045

Giorgetti Alejandro

symbol email alejandro.giorgetti@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7982

Gregorio Enrico

symbol email Enrico.Gregorio@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7937

Laking Rosanna Davison

symbol email rosanna.laking@univr.it

Liptak Zsuzsanna

symbol email zsuzsanna.liptak@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7032

Mantovani Matteo

symbol email matteo.mantovani@univr.it symbol phone-number 045-802(7814)

Menegaz Gloria

symbol email gloria.menegaz@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7024

Migliorini Sara

symbol email sara.migliorini@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7908

Oliboni Barbara

symbol email barbara.oliboni@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7077

Posenato Roberto

symbol email roberto.posenato@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7967

Quaglia Davide

symbol email davide.quaglia@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7811

Romeo Alessandro

symbol email alessandro.romeo@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7936; Lab: +39 045 802 7808

Sala Pietro

symbol email pietro.sala@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458027850

Spoto Nicola Fausto

symbol email fausto.spoto@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027940

Storti Silvia Francesca

symbol email silviafrancesca.storti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7850

Trabetti Elisabetta

symbol email elisabetta.trabetti@univr.it symbol phone-number 045/8027209

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University.
Please select your Study Plan based on your enrollment year.

2° Year  activated in the A.Y. 2014/2015

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
B
INF/01
12
C
BIO/10
6
C
BIO/18
activated in the A.Y. 2014/2015
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
B
INF/01
12
C
BIO/10
6
C
BIO/18

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




S Placements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S00021

Credits

6

Language

Italian

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

MAT/06 - PROBABILITY AND STATISTICS

The teaching is organized as follows:

Teoria
The activity is given by Probability and Statistics - Teoria of the course: Bachelor's degree in Computer Science

Credits

4

Period

II sem.

Academic staff

Immacolata Oliva

Laboratorio
The activity is given by Probability and Statistics - Laboratorio of the course: Bachelor's degree in Computer Science

Credits

2

Period

II sem.

Academic staff

Bruno Gobbi

Learning outcomes

Module: Theory
-------

The goal of the course is to introduce theoretical basis of probability, in order to solve the problem of modelling actual phenomena by using stochastic methods, especially applied to Statistics.

At the end of the course, the student should be able to deal with actual problems and to provide for the corresponding solution, by using probabilistic techniques.

Program

Module: Theory
-------

Introduction to probability theory: historical roots, three kinds of definition. Revision of set theory. Axiomatic definition of probability: outcomes, random experiments, sample space. Conditional probability: total probability theorem, law of compound probabilities, Bayes theorem. Stochastic independence.
Random variables, discrete density function and cumulative distribution function. Relationship among random variables and funcions with random variables. Mean, variance and n-th moment of random variables. Some famous problems: the gambler ruin problem, the birthday paradox, St. Petersburg paradox. Models of discrete distributions: Bernoulli distribution, uniform distribution, binomial distribution, geometric distribution, hyper-geometric distribution, Poisson distribution. The Bernoulli scheme and the approximation of a Poisson random variable by a binomial one. Examples of continuous distributions: exponential distribution, Gaussian distribution, Gamma distribution, Chi-squared distribution. Characteristic function and (moment) generating function. Law of large numbers and central limit theorem. Random vectors and marginal distributions. Introduction to descriptive statistics. Linear regression. Inferential statistics: parameters estimation and statistical hypothesis testing.

Bibliography

Reference texts
Activity Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
Teoria P. Baldi Calcolo delle Probabilità e Statistica (Edizione 2) Mc Graw-Hill 1998 8838607370
Teoria G. Cicchitelli Statistica: principi e metodi (Edizione 2) Pearson Italia, Milano 2012

Examination Methods

Module:
-------

Written and computer exam .


Taking into account the structure of the course, the exam is divided into two parts: a theory module (20 points) and a lab module (10 points), to be held together.

The exam is passed if a student gets at least 12 points in the former module and at least 6 points in the latter one. Students who do not reach the pass mark, even just in one of the two modules, must repeat the whole test, during one of the next sessions .

It is forbidden to use textbooks, manuals or notes during the exam.
Students may refer to a formulary, delivered by teachers together with the exam paper.

Students with disabilities or specific learning disorders (SLD), who intend to request the adaptation of the exam, must follow the instructions given HERE

Teaching materials e documents

Type D and Type F activities

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details: only in this way will you be able to receive notification of all the notices from your teachers and your secretariat via email and soon also via the Univr app.

Graduation

For schedules, administrative requirements and notices on graduation sessions, please refer to the Graduation Sessions - Science and Engineering service.

List of theses and work experience proposals

Stage Research area
Correlated mutations Various topics

Attendance

As stated in the Teaching Regulations for the A.Y. 2022/2023, attendance at the course of study is not mandatory.
Please refer to the Crisis Unit's latest updates for the mode of teaching.


Career management


Student login and resources


Erasmus+ and other experiences abroad