Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
I sem. Oct 2, 2017 Jan 31, 2018
II sem. Mar 1, 2018 Jun 15, 2018
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione invernale d'esame Feb 1, 2018 Feb 28, 2018
Sessione estiva d'esame Jun 18, 2018 Jul 31, 2018
Sessione autunnale d'esame Sep 3, 2018 Sep 28, 2018
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione di laurea estiva Jul 18, 2018 Jul 18, 2018
Sessione di laurea autunnale Nov 22, 2018 Nov 22, 2018
Sessione di laurea invernale Mar 20, 2019 Mar 20, 2019
Holidays
Period From To
Christmas break Dec 22, 2017 Jan 7, 2018
Easter break Mar 30, 2018 Apr 3, 2018
Patron Saint Day May 21, 2018 May 21, 2018
Vacanze estive Aug 6, 2018 Aug 19, 2018

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Science and Engineering Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

B C D F G M O P Q R S T V Z

Ballottari Matteo

symbol email matteo.ballottari@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7098

Baruffi Maria Caterina

symbol email mariacaterina.baruffi@univr.it

Bicego Manuele

symbol email manuele.bicego@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7072

Bonnici Vincenzo

symbol email vincenzo.bonnici@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7045

Boscaini Maurizio

symbol email maurizio.boscaini@univr.it

Busato Federico

symbol email federico.busato@univr.it

Calanca Andrea

symbol email andrea.calanca@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7847

Canevari Giacomo

symbol email giacomo.canevari@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027979

Capaldi Stefano

symbol email stefano.capaldi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7907

Cicalese Ferdinando

symbol email ferdinando.cicalese@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7969

Combi Carlo

symbol email carlo.combi@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7985

Cristani Matteo

symbol email matteo.cristani@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7983

Daducci Alessandro

symbol email alessandro.daducci@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027025

Dall'Alba Diego

symbol email diego.dallalba@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7074

Della Libera Chiara

symbol email chiara.dellalibera@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 0458027219

Delledonne Massimo

symbol email massimo.delledonne@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7962; Lab: 045 802 7058

Dell'Orco Daniele

symbol email daniele.dellorco@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7637

Dominici Paola

symbol email paola.dominici@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7966; Lab: 045 802 7956-7086

D'Onofrio Mariapina

symbol email mariapina.donofrio@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7801

Drago Nicola

symbol email nicola.drago@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7081

Farinelli Alessandro

symbol email alessandro.farinelli@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7842

Giachetti Andrea

symbol email andrea.giachetti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027998

Giacobazzi Roberto

symbol email roberto.giacobazzi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7995

Giorgetti Alejandro

symbol email alejandro.giorgetti@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7982

Gregorio Enrico

symbol email Enrico.Gregorio@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7937

Mariotto Gino

symbol email gino.mariotto@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027031

Maris Bogdan Mihai

symbol email bogdan.maris@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7074

Menegaz Gloria

symbol email gloria.menegaz@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7024

Migliorini Sara

symbol email sara.migliorini@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7908

Oliboni Barbara

symbol email barbara.oliboni@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7077

Paci Federica Maria Francesca

symbol email federicamariafrancesca.paci@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7909

Piccinelli Fabio

symbol email fabio.piccinelli@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7097

Posenato Roberto

symbol email roberto.posenato@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7967

Quaglia Davide

symbol email davide.quaglia@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7811

Romeo Alessandro

symbol email alessandro.romeo@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7974-7936; Lab: +39 045 802 7808

Spoto Nicola Fausto

symbol email fausto.spoto@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027940

Storti Silvia Francesca

symbol email silviafrancesca.storti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7908

Trabetti Elisabetta

symbol email elisabetta.trabetti@univr.it symbol phone-number 045/8027209

Valenti Maria Teresa

symbol email mariateresa.valenti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 8450

Villa Tiziano

symbol email tiziano.villa@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7034

Zivcovich Franco

symbol email franco.zivcovich@univr.it

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
One course to be chosen among the following
Other activitites
3
F
-
Final exam
3
E
-

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




S Placements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S00012

Credits

6

Coordinatore

Roberto Posenato

Language

Italian

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

INF/01 - INFORMATICS

The teaching is organized as follows:

Laboratorio

Credits

3

Period

II semestre

Academic staff

Roberto Posenato

Teoria

Credits

3

Period

II semestre

Academic staff

Roberto Posenato

Learning outcomes

------------------------
Theory unit
------------------------
The course aims to provide the necessary skills to:
(i) understand how computer network work
(ii) understand the internal architecture of systems for the management of relational databases
(iii) the use of a system for the management of relational databases in order to create, manage and query databases;
(iv) the development of applications that interact with relational databases.

At the end of the course the student must demonstrate:
(i) to know how systems for relational data management work, the SQL language fundamentals, and the fundamental mechanisms to develop applications that interact with a database;
(ii) to query and efficiently use the data managed by a system,
(iii) to apply the acquired knowledge to design and implement an application that interacts with a database,
(iv) to know how to develop the skills necessary to continue the studies independently in the field of data management systems and software solutions development.

------------------------
Lab unit
------------------------
The aim of this module is to provide the student with the necessary concepts and methods for working with a database management system and connect to it from external programs. To attend the course in a productive way, students have to be confident with object-oriented programming.

Program

------------------------
Theory unit
------------------------
Computer networks (fundamentals).
The internal architecture of a database management system:
- sequential data structures and indexes (B-trees and hashing)
- transactions.
Semistructured data models: XML for bioinformatics.

Teaching methods
-------------------
Lecturing. Didactical material (slides) and further exercise texts are available on the eLearning platform. The teacher is available for individual meeting in office hours.

------------------------
Lab unit
------------------------
- Introduction to the relational database management system (RDBMS) PostgreSQL.
- Introduction to the use of SQL in PostgreSQL.
- Query Optimization.
- Introduction to the transaction.
- Database access from applications written in Java/Python.

Teaching methods
-------------------
Lecturing and practicing in a computer laboratory. Didactical material (slides) and further exercise texts are available on the eLearning platform. The teacher is available for individual meeting in office hours.

Bibliography

Reference texts
Activity Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
Laboratorio Docente del corso Dispense del docente 2020
Laboratorio Autori Vari Manuale di Postgresql (https://www.postgresql.org/docs/) Postgresql  
Teoria Paolo Atzeni, Stefano Ceri, Piero Fraternali, Stefano Paraboschi, Riccardo Torlone Basi di dati (Edizione 5) McGraw Hill 2018 9788838694455
Teoria Docente del corso Dispense del docente 2020
Teoria Andrew S. Tanenbaum, David J. Wetherall Reti di calcolatori (Edizione 5) Pearson 2018

Examination Methods

To pass the exam, the student must show that:
- they are able to describe the concepts in a clear and exhaustive way without digressions;
- they are able to apply the acquired knowledge to solve application scenarios described by means of exercises, questions, and projects.

The exam consists of two parts: written and oral test.
The written test lasts 2 hours and consists of exercises and questions about the course program.
After the correction of the written test, there is an oral test where the teacher can ask some questions about the written test for making more clear the given answers and some other questions for integrating the written test (the questions can require to solve something using a computer).

A selection of previous exam tests is published at http://profs.scienze.univr.it/~posenato/courses/labBD/raccoltaTemiEsameLaboratorioBasiDatiDal2016.pdf

Type D and Type F activities

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Graduation

For schedules, administrative requirements and notices on graduation sessions, please refer to the Graduation Sessions - Science and Engineering service.

List of theses and work experience proposals

Stage Research area
Correlated mutations Various topics

Attendance

As stated in point 25 of the Teaching Regulations for the A.Y. 2021/2022, attendance at the course of study is not mandatory.
Please refer to the Crisis Unit's latest updates for the mode of teaching.

Career management


Area riservata studenti