Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
I semestre Oct 1, 2018 Jan 31, 2019
II semestre Mar 4, 2019 Jun 14, 2019
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione invernale d'esame Feb 1, 2019 Feb 28, 2019
Sessione estiva d'esame Jun 17, 2019 Jul 31, 2019
Sessione autunnale d'esame Sep 2, 2019 Sep 30, 2019
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione Estiva Jul 17, 2019 Jul 17, 2019
Sessione Autunnale Nov 20, 2019 Nov 20, 2019
Sessione Invernale Mar 17, 2020 Mar 17, 2020
Holidays
Period From To
Sospensione attività didattica Nov 2, 2018 Nov 3, 2018
Vacanze di Natale Dec 24, 2018 Jan 6, 2019
Vacanze di Pasqua Apr 19, 2019 Apr 28, 2019
Festa del Santo Patrono May 21, 2019 May 21, 2019
Vacanze estive Aug 5, 2019 Aug 18, 2019

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Science and Engineering Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

B C D F G M O P Q R S T V Z

Ballottari Matteo

symbol email matteo.ballottari@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7098

Baruffi Maria Caterina

symbol email mariacaterina.baruffi@univr.it

Bicego Manuele

symbol email manuele.bicego@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7072

Bonnici Vincenzo

symbol email vincenzo.bonnici@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7045

Boscaini Maurizio

symbol email maurizio.boscaini@univr.it

Busato Federico

symbol email federico.busato@univr.it

Calanca Andrea

symbol email andrea.calanca@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7847

Canevari Giacomo

symbol email giacomo.canevari@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027979

Capaldi Stefano

symbol email stefano.capaldi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7907

Cicalese Ferdinando

symbol email ferdinando.cicalese@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7969

Combi Carlo

symbol email carlo.combi@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7985

Cristani Matteo

symbol email matteo.cristani@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7983

Daducci Alessandro

symbol email alessandro.daducci@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027025

Dall'Alba Diego

symbol email diego.dallalba@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7074

Della Libera Chiara

symbol email chiara.dellalibera@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 0458027219

Delledonne Massimo

symbol email massimo.delledonne@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7962; Lab: 045 802 7058

Dell'Orco Daniele

symbol email daniele.dellorco@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7637

Dominici Paola

symbol email paola.dominici@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7966; Lab: 045 802 7956-7086

D'Onofrio Mariapina

symbol email mariapina.donofrio@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7801

Drago Nicola

symbol email nicola.drago@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7081

Farinelli Alessandro

symbol email alessandro.farinelli@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7842

Giachetti Andrea

symbol email andrea.giachetti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027998

Giacobazzi Roberto

symbol email roberto.giacobazzi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7995

Giorgetti Alejandro

symbol email alejandro.giorgetti@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7982

Gregorio Enrico

symbol email Enrico.Gregorio@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7937

Mariotto Gino

symbol email gino.mariotto@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027031

Maris Bogdan Mihai

symbol email bogdan.maris@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7074

Menegaz Gloria

symbol email gloria.menegaz@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7024

Migliorini Sara

symbol email sara.migliorini@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7908

Oliboni Barbara

symbol email barbara.oliboni@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7077

Paci Federica Maria Francesca

symbol email federicamariafrancesca.paci@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7909

Piccinelli Fabio

symbol email fabio.piccinelli@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7097

Posenato Roberto

symbol email roberto.posenato@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7967

Quaglia Davide

symbol email davide.quaglia@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7811

Romeo Alessandro

symbol email alessandro.romeo@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7974-7936; Lab: +39 045 802 7808

Spoto Nicola Fausto

symbol email fausto.spoto@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027940

Storti Silvia Francesca

symbol email silviafrancesca.storti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7908

Trabetti Elisabetta

symbol email elisabetta.trabetti@univr.it symbol phone-number 045/8027209

Valenti Maria Teresa

symbol email mariateresa.valenti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 8450

Villa Tiziano

symbol email tiziano.villa@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7034

Zivcovich Franco

symbol email franco.zivcovich@univr.it

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
C
CHIM/03 ,CHIM/06
6
A
FIS/01
English B1
6
E
-

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
C
CHIM/03 ,CHIM/06
6
A
FIS/01
English B1
6
E
-

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




S Placements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S004476

Credits

6

Language

Italian

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

BIO/11 - MOLECULAR BIOLOGY

Period

II semestre dal Mar 2, 2020 al Jun 12, 2020.

Learning outcomes

The aim of this course is to provide a detailed description at the molecular level of the main issues regarding the mechanisms involved in transmission, variation and expression of the information con-tained in the genome of prokaryotes and eukaryotes. The main topics of the course will focus on a detailed description of the processes of gene transcription and translation and those related to DNA replication and mutagenesis.

The students will acquire knowledge of the fundamental structures of biological systems in a molecu-lar and cellular perspective and of the mechanisms inherent to the transmission, manipulation and expression of the information contained in the genome of prokaryotes and eukaryotes.

The students will be able to understand the genetic bases of life and to apply the acquired knowledge to use and possibly develop bioinformatics tools for the investigation of structure-function relationships of biological macromolecules and the regulation of their functions. They will be able to read and un-derstand advanced biology textsbooks and undertake a master-level course in both biotechnology and bioinformatics.

Program

DNA: Structure and Conformations
Genomic and mitochondrial DNA
Chromatin and chromosomes
DNA replication
DNA repair mechanisms
Recombination
Genes and Genetic Code
RNA: structure and conformations
RNA transcription and maturation
Regulation of gene expression in procariotes
Regulation of gene expression in eukaryotes
Protein: translation and related regulations
Post-translational protein changes and regulations
Role of epigenetics in biomedicine
Methylation mechanisms and microRNAs
Molecular biology techniques
Gene therapy
Model organisms for the study of molecular biology

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
Michael Cox Biologia Molecolare Zanichelli 2013
Amaldi, Benedetti, Pesole, Plevani Biologia Molecolare (Edizione 3) Ambrosiana 2018 978-88-08-18518-1

Examination Methods

The exam consists of multiple-choice test.

???AdattamentoProvaEsameDSA???

Type D and Type F activities

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Graduation

For schedules, administrative requirements and notices on graduation sessions, please refer to the Graduation Sessions - Science and Engineering service.

List of theses and work experience proposals

Stage Research area
Correlated mutations Various topics

Attendance

As stated in point 25 of the Teaching Regulations for the A.Y. 2021/2022, attendance at the course of study is not mandatory.
Please refer to the Crisis Unit's latest updates for the mode of teaching.

Career management


Area riservata studenti