Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
I semestre Oct 1, 2013 Jan 31, 2014
II semestre Mar 3, 2014 Jun 13, 2014
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione straordinaria Feb 3, 2014 Feb 28, 2014
Sessione estiva Jun 16, 2014 Jul 31, 2014
Sessione autunnale Sep 1, 2014 Sep 30, 2014
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione autunnale Oct 16, 2013 Oct 16, 2013
Sessione straordinaria Dec 10, 2013 Dec 10, 2013
Sessione invernale Mar 19, 2014 Mar 19, 2014
Sessione estiva Jul 14, 2014 Jul 14, 2014
Holidays
Period From To
Vacanze Natalizie Dec 22, 2013 Jan 6, 2014
Vacanze di Pasqua Apr 17, 2014 Apr 22, 2014
Festa del S. Patrono S. Zeno May 21, 2014 May 21, 2014
Vacanze Estive Aug 11, 2014 Aug 15, 2014

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Science and Engineering Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

B C D F G L M N O P S T

Ballottari Matteo

symbol email matteo.ballottari@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7823

Betterle Nico

symbol email nico.betterle@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027807

Bicego Manuele

symbol email manuele.bicego@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7072

Canevari Giacomo

symbol email giacomo.canevari@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027979

Capaldi Stefano

symbol email stefano.capaldi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7907

Carra Damiano

symbol email damiano.carra@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7059

Combi Carlo

symbol email carlo.combi@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7985

Cozza Vittoria

symbol email vittoria.cozza@univr.it

Cristani Matteo

symbol email matteo.cristani@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7983

Daducci Alessandro

symbol email alessandro.daducci@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027025

Della Libera Chiara

symbol email chiara.dellalibera@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 0458027219

Delledonne Massimo

symbol email massimo.delledonne@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7962; Lab: 045 802 7058

Dell'Orco Daniele

symbol email daniele.dellorco@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7637

D'Onofrio Mariapina

symbol email mariapina.donofrio@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7801

Franco Giuditta

symbol email giuditta.franco@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7045

Giachetti Andrea

symbol email andrea.giachetti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027998

Giorgetti Alejandro

symbol email alejandro.giorgetti@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7982

Gregorio Enrico

symbol email Enrico.Gregorio@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7937

Liptak Zsuzsanna

symbol email zsuzsanna.liptak@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7032

Marino Valerio

symbol email valerio.marino@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7227

Menegaz Gloria

symbol email gloria.menegaz@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7024

Monti Francesca

symbol email francesca.monti@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7910

Nardon Chiara

symbol email chiara.nardon@univr.it

Oliboni Barbara

symbol email barbara.oliboni@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7077

Posenato Roberto

symbol email roberto.posenato@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7967

Spoto Nicola Fausto

symbol email fausto.spoto@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027940

Storti Silvia Francesca

symbol email silviafrancesca.storti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7908

Trabetti Elisabetta

symbol email elisabetta.trabetti@univr.it symbol phone-number 045/8027209

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

activated in the A.Y. 2014/2015
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
B
INF/01
12
C
BIO/10
6
C
BIO/18

2° Year activated in the A.Y. 2014/2015

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
B
INF/01
12
C
BIO/10
6
C
BIO/18

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




S Placements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S00103

Credits

6

Language

Italian

Also offered in courses:

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

BIO/10 - BIOCHEMISTRY

To show the organization of the course that includes this module, follow this link:  Course organization

The teaching is organized as follows:

Teoria

Credits

3

Period

II sem.

Academic staff

Alberto Ferrarini

Laboratorio

Credits

3

Period

II sem.

Learning outcomes

The course will provide the theoretical and practical basis to understand and employ algorithms and programs currently used in Bioinformatics. Major biological databases will be introduced with a special focus on genomic, proteomic and biochemical information. The students will also be introduced to the most modern fields of structural bioinformatics and systems biology.

Program

Theoretical Module

- Overview of the main structural features of proteins and nucleic acids in relation to the concept of evolution. Introduction to biomolecular databases: online resources and their use

- Biological databases: organization and integration of information concerning: a) protein and nucleic acid sequences; b) biomolecular structures; c) bibliographic and scientific literature. Retrieve of specific information: use of limitations and Boolean operators.

- Sequence comparison and alignments: static and dynamic algorithms; substitution matrices (PAM,BLOSUM)
-
- Search-algorithms: FASTA and BLAST; Smith-Waterman; Needleman-Wunsch; statistic significance for an alignment (z-score, expectation values and probability)

- Multiple sequence alignments: ClustalW, search on specific databases, other algorithms, PSI-BLAST

- Short introduction on philogenetic trees

- Introduction to Structural Bioinformatics: visualization and analysis of protein and nucleic acid 3D structures

- Methods to predict protein secondary structure elements starting from the sequence

- Introduction to Systems Biology: Spatial and temporal scales, static and dynamic models, mathematical frameworks, introduction on signal transduction networks


Laboratory Module

- Introduction to Linux

- NCBI databases: Entrez interface, Gene, UniGene, Protein, Uniprot and EBI

- Single and multiple sequence alignments, score matrices, optimal methods; online resources and spreadsheets

- BLAST,PSI-BLAST and BLAT: online tools and their use

- Tools for multiple alignments, the Homologene databank, computation and visualization of multiple alignments

- Tools for phylogenesis : Mobyle (Institut Pasteur and Phylogeny.fr)

- Introduction to PyMol and molecular visualization. Use of PSI-PRED and JPRED for predicting secondary structures from sequences

- Systems biology: numerical simulation of simple biochemical reactions. Building simple kinetic models by using SBOTOOLBOX2 for Matlab; application to G-potein signalling cycles.

Examination Methods

Written exam for both modules. The two marks will be averaged. Students can chose to prepare a presentation in groups of 3-4 students on a selected database, which will also contribute to the final mark.

Students with disabilities or specific learning disorders (SLD), who intend to request the adaptation of the exam, must follow the instructions given HERE

Type D and Type F activities

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details: only in this way will you be able to receive notification of all the notices from your teachers and your secretariat via email and soon also via the Univr app.

Erasmus+ and other experiences abroad


Graduation

For schedules, administrative requirements and notices on graduation sessions, please refer to the Graduation Sessions - Science and Engineering service.

List of theses and work experience proposals

Stage Research area
Correlated mutations Various topics

Attendance

As stated in the Teaching Regulations for the A.Y. 2022/2023, attendance at the course of study is not mandatory.
Please refer to the Crisis Unit's latest updates for the mode of teaching.


Career management


Student login and resources