Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Academic year:
Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
Semester 1 Oct 2, 2017 Jan 20, 2018
Semester 2 Feb 26, 2018 Jun 9, 2018
Exam sessions
Session From To
Winter session Jan 22, 2018 Feb 24, 2018
Summer session Jun 11, 2018 Jul 28, 2018
Autumn session Aug 27, 2018 Sep 22, 2018
Degree sessions
Session From To
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione autunnale a.a. 2016/2017 Dec 18, 2017 Dec 21, 2017
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione invernale a.a. 2016/2017 Mar 23, 2018 Mar 29, 2018
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione estiva Jul 16, 2018 Jul 21, 2018
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione autunnale Nov 12, 2018 Nov 17, 2018
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione invernale Apr 12, 2019 Apr 18, 2019
Holidays
Period From To
All Saints Day Nov 1, 2017 Nov 1, 2017
Immaculate Conception Dec 8, 2017 Dec 8, 2017
Christmas break Dec 22, 2017 Jan 7, 2018
Easter break Mar 30, 2018 Apr 3, 2018
Liberation Day Apr 25, 2018 Apr 25, 2018
Labour Day May 1, 2018 May 1, 2018
Patron Saint Day May 21, 2018 May 21, 2018
Republic Day Jun 2, 2018 Jun 2, 2018
Summer break Aug 13, 2018 Aug 18, 2018

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Foreign Languages and Literatures Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G L M N P R S T Z

Aloe Stefano

stefano.aloe@univr.it +39 045802 8409

Babbi Anna Maria

annamaria.babbi@univr.it +39 045 802 8325

Battisti Chiara

chiara.battisti@univr.it +39 045802 8317

Bertagna Federica

federica.bertagna@univr.it 0458028637

Bognolo Anna

anna.bognolo@univr.it +39 045802 8327

Boschiero Manuel

manuel.boschiero@univr.it +39 045802 8405

Bradas Marija

marija.bradas@univr.it

Bullado Emanuela

emanuela.bullado@univr.it 045 8028548

Caleffi Paola Maria

paolamaria.caleffi@univr.it

Cantarini Sibilla

sibilla.cantarini@univr.it +39 045802 8199

Cipolla Maria Adele

adele.cipolla@univr.it +39 045802 8314

Colombo Laura Maria

laura.colombo@univr.it + 39 045802 8322

Dalle Pezze Francesca

francesca.dallepezze@univr.it + 39 045802 8598

De Beni Matteo

matteo.debeni@univr.it +39 045 802 8540

Formiga Federica

federica.formiga@univr.it 045802 8123

Forner Fabio

fabio.forner@univr.it + 39 045 802 8194

Fossaluzza Giorgio

giorgio.fossaluzza@univr.it +39 045 802 8795

Genetti Stefano

stefano.genetti@univr.it +39 045802 8412

Gobbato Veronica

veronica.gobbato@univr.it

Larcati Arturo

arturo.larcati@univr.it + 39 045802 8311

Ligugnana Giovanna

giovanna.ligugnana@univr.it +39 045 8028892

Lorenzetti Maria Ivana

mariaivana.lorenzetti@univr.it +39 045802 8579

Magnani Marco

marco.magnani@univr.it +39 045802 8405

Mancinelli Tiziana

tiziana.mancinelli@univr.it

Miotti Renzo

renzo.miotti@univr.it +39 045802 8571

Neri Stefano

stefano.neri@univr.it +39 045802 8692

Pelloni Gabriella

gabriella.pelloni@univr.it +39 045802 8328

Pomarolli Giorgia

giorgia.pomarolli@univr.it +390458028405

Rabanus Stefan

stefan.rabanus@univr.it +39 045802 8490

Sassi Carla

carla.sassi@univr.it +39 045802 8701

Stanzani Sandro

sandro.stanzani@univr.it +39 0458028649

Tallarico Giovanni Luca

giovanni.tallarico@univr.it +39 045 802 8663

Tomaselli Alessandra

alessandra.tomaselli@univr.it +39 045802 8315

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1st foreign language
9
A
L-LIN/04
9
A
L-LIN/14
9
A
L-LIN/21
9
A
L-LIN/07
2nd foreign language
9
B
L-LIN/04
9
B
L-LIN/14
9
B
L-LIN/21
9
B
L-LIN/07
1st foreign literature
2nd foreign literature
3rd foreign Language (b1)
3
F
-
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1st foreign language
2nd foreign language
1st foreign literature
2nd foreign literature
One course to be chosen among the following
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
Philology of the first or second language
One course to be chosen among the following
6
C
IUS/10
Tirocinio - Training (-)
6
F
-
Prova finale - Final exam (-)
6
E
-

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1st foreign language
9
A
L-LIN/04
9
A
L-LIN/14
9
A
L-LIN/21
9
A
L-LIN/07
2nd foreign language
9
B
L-LIN/04
9
B
L-LIN/14
9
B
L-LIN/21
9
B
L-LIN/07
1st foreign literature
2nd foreign literature
3rd foreign Language (b1)
3
F
-

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1st foreign language
2nd foreign language
1st foreign literature
2nd foreign literature
One course to be chosen among the following

3° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
Philology of the first or second language
One course to be chosen among the following
6
C
IUS/10
Tirocinio - Training (-)
6
F
-
Prova finale - Final exam (-)
6
E
-
Modules Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S002932

Credits

6

Language

Italian

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

M-STO/08 - ARCHIVAL SCIENCE, BIBLIOGRAPHY AND LIBRARIANSHIP

Period

II semestre (Lingue e letterature straniere) dal Feb 17, 2020 al May 30, 2020.

Learning outcomes

Towards the end of the 19th century, cultural and technological advances stimulated a revolution in publishing comparable to the introduction of mobile fonts. What was known until then as commercial art became graphic design and a new industry was born that merged technical skill and artistic vision, craftsmanship and creativity. Graphic styles emerged at a surprising pace as the figure of the designer discovered new uses and outlets for his work, establishing himself and exploding during the course of the 20th century.
This course aims to tell the story of this evolution, examining the roots of the main graphic trends and exploring how generations of designers have influenced the culture and publishing of their time. After a wide introduction on the main movements and protagonists, the course will focus on the figure, the works and the creative method of Chip Kidd, today considered the most influential book cover designer in the world.

Program

- Evolution of products and publishing processes from 19th century to today;
- Analysis of the main graphic and typographic styles of the contemporary age;
- Analysis of the main works of the period: book covers, posters, magazines, record albums.

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
Tony Seddon 20th Century Design: A Decade-by-Decade Exploration of Graphic Style Quid Publishing 2014
Chip Kidd Book One: Work: 1986-2006 Rizzoli New York 2005 Solo le pagine riportate nella dispensa
Gary Hustwit Helvetica 2007
Bigardi Alessandro Innovating through Design. The work of the US cover designer Chip Kidd Logos 2019

Examination Methods

The examination will take place orally.

Bibliography

Type D and Type F activities

Academic year:

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.


Area riservata studenti


Assegnazione tutore


Attività accreditate D/F


Calendario didattico dettagliato


Cambio lingua curriculare


Competenze informatiche


Competenze linguistiche (prima e seconda lingua)


Competenze linguistiche in triennale (terza lingua CFU F)


Compilazione del piano didattico


Erasmus+ e altre esperienze all'estero


Linguistic training CLA


Graduation


Stage e tirocini

Nel piano didattico della laurea triennale in Lingue e culture per l’editoria (L11 ED) è previsto un tirocinio/stage obbligatorio (CFU 6).

Le attività di stage sono finalizzate a far acquisire allo studente una conoscenza diretta in settori di particolare interesse per l’inserimento nel mondo del lavoro e per l’acquisizione di abilità professionali specifiche.
Le attività di stage sono svolte sotto la diretta responsabilità di un singolo docente presso studi professionali, enti della pubblica amministrazione, aziende accreditate dall’Ateneo veronese.
I crediti maturati in seguito ad attività di stage saranno attribuiti secondo quanto disposto nel dettaglio dal “Regolamento d’Ateneo per il riconoscimento dei crediti maturati negli stage universitari” vigente.


Tutte le informazioni in merito agli stage sono reperibili al link https://www.univr.it/it/i-nostri-servizi/stage-e-tirocini

Ulteriori informazioni al seguente link https://www.univr.it/it/i-nostri-servizi/gestione-carriere-studenti-lingue-e-letterature-straniere/stage-e-tirocini-lingue-e-letterature-straniere


Vademecum dello studente