Studying at the University of Verona

A.A. 2015/2016

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
Lezioni 1° semestre Oct 1, 2015 Dec 11, 2015
Lezioni 1°-2° semestre Oct 1, 2015 Jun 3, 2016
Lezioni 2° semestre Feb 22, 2016 Jun 3, 2016
Exam sessions
Session From To
SESSIONE STRAORDINARIA RECUPERO DEBITO DIDATTICO Nov 2, 2015 Nov 30, 2015
SESSIONE INVERNALE A.A 15/16 Dec 14, 2015 Dec 18, 2015
PROSEGUIMENTO SESSIONE INVERNALE A.A 15/16 Jan 7, 2016 Feb 19, 2016
SESSIONE ESTIVA A.A.15/16 Jun 6, 2016 Jul 29, 2016
SESSIONE ESTIVA LAUREANDI A.A. 15/16 Jun 6, 2016 Jul 15, 2016
SESSIONE AUTUNNALE A.A.15/16 Sep 1, 2016 Sep 28, 2016
Degree sessions
Session From To
SESSIONE INVERNALE A.A.14/15 Mar 7, 2016 Mar 18, 2016
SESSIONE ESTIVA A.A.15/16 Jul 20, 2016 Jul 29, 2016
SESSIONE AUTUNNALE A.A.15/16 Oct 13, 2016 Oct 28, 2016
Holidays
Period From To
FESTA DI OGNISSANTI Nov 1, 2015 Nov 1, 2015
FESTA DELL'IMMACOLATA CONCEZIONE Dec 8, 2015 Dec 8, 2015
VACANZE DI NATALE Dec 23, 2015 Jan 6, 2016
VACANZE DI PASQUA Mar 24, 2016 Mar 29, 2016
FESTA DELLA LIBERAZIONE Apr 25, 2016 Apr 25, 2016
FESTA DEI LAVORATORI May 1, 2016 May 1, 2016
FESTA DEL SANTO PATRONO SAN ZENO May 21, 2016 May 21, 2016
FESTA DELLA REPUBBLICA Jun 2, 2016 Jun 2, 2016
Other Periods
Description Period From To
TIROCINIO TIROCINIO Oct 1, 2015 Sep 30, 2016

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Medicine Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G I L M N P R S T V Z

Albanese Massimo

massimo.albanese@univr.it +39 045 812 4251/4024

Bellavite Paolo

paolo.bellavite@univr.it 0458027554

Bertini Giuseppe

giuseppe.bertini@univr.it 045-802-7682

Bertossi Dario

dario.bertossi@univr.it +39 045 812 4096

Busetto Giuseppe

giuseppe.busetto@univr.it +39 0458027290

Chiamulera Cristiano

cristiano.chiamulera@univr.it +39 045 8027277

D'Agostino Antonio

antonio.dagostino@univr.it +39 045 812 4023

De Franceschi Lucia

lucia.defranceschi@univr.it 0458124918

De Leo Domenico

domenico.deleo@univr.it +39 045 812 4942

De Santis Daniele

daniele.desantis@univr.it +39 045 812 4251 - 4097

Fabene Paolo

paolo.fabene@univr.it 0458027267

Fabrizi Gian Maria

gianmaria.fabrizi@univr.it +39 0458124461

Faccioni Fiorenzo

fiorenzo.faccioni@ospedaleuniverona.it +39 045 812 4251 - 4868

Gerosa Roberto

roberto.gerosa@univr.it 0458124863

Girelli Massimo

massimo.girelli@univr.it +39 0458027106

Girolomoni Giampiero

giampiero.girolomoni@univr.it +39 045 812 2547

Gisondi Paolo

paolo.gisondi@univr.it +39 045 812 2547

Iacono Calogero

calogero.iacono@univr.it +39 045 812 4412

Lleo'Fernandez Maria Del Mar

maria.lleo@univr.it 045 8027194

Lombardo Giorgio

giorgio.lombardo@univr.it +39 045 812 4867

Maffeis Claudio

claudio.maffeis@univr.it +39 045 812 7664

Majori Silvia

silvia.majori@univr.it +39 045 8027653

Malchiodi Luciano

luciano.malchiodi@univr.it +39 045 812 4855

Manfredi Riccardo

riccardo.manfredi@univr.it +39 045 802 74 89

Marchini Giorgio

giorgio.marchini@univr.it +39 045 812 6140

Marchioni Daniele

daniele.marchioni@univr.it +39 045 812 7669

Martignoni Guido

guido.martignoni@univr.it

Menegazzi Marta

marta.menegazzi@univr.it +39 045 802 7168

Mottes Monica

monica.mottes@univr.it +39 045 8027 184

Nicoli Aldini Nicolo

nicolo.nicolialdini@gmail.com 338 7363781

Nocini Pier Francesco

pierfrancesco.nocini@univr.it + 39 045 812 4251

Polati Enrico

enrico.polati@univr.it +39 045 812 7430 - 4311

Romanelli Maria

mariagrazia.romanelli@univr.it +39 045 802 7182

Ruggeri Mirella

mirella.ruggeri@univr.it 0458124953

Salvagno Gian Luca

gianluca.salvagno@univr.it 045 8124308-0456449264

Sartoris Silvia

silvia.sartoris@univr.it 045 8126451

Schweiger Vittorio

vittorio.schweiger@univr.it +39 045 812 4311

Tinazzi Michele

michele.tinazzi@univr.it +39 045 8122601

Trevisiol Lorenzo

lorenzo.trevisiol@univr.it +39 045 812 4023

Verlato Giuseppe

giuseppe.verlato@univr.it 045 8027628

Zanolin Maria Elisabetta

elisabetta.zanolin@univr.it +39 045 802 7654

Zerman Nicoletta

nicoletta.zerman@univr.it + 39 045 812 4251 - 4857

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
10
A
(BIO/16)
8
A
(BIO/13)
7
A
(BIO/10)
6
A
(FIS/07)
7
B
(L-LIN/12)
7
A
(BIO/17)
13
A/B/C
(INF/01 ,MED/01 ,MED/02 ,M-PED/03 ,M-PSI/01)
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
7
A
(BIO/10)
9
A
(BIO/09)
13
B
(MED/04 ,MED/07 ,MED/42)
20
B/C/F
(- ,INF/01 ,MED/28 ,MED/43 ,MED/50)
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
5
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
3
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
4
B
(MED/43)
4
B/F
(- ,MED/25 ,MED/26)
13
B/F
(- ,MED/18 ,MED/35 ,MED/41)
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
7
B/F
(- ,MED/28 ,MED/38)
12
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
8
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
6
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
10
B/C/F
(- ,MED/28 ,MED/29 ,MED/31)
5
B/F
(- ,MED/28)

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
10
A
(BIO/16)
8
A
(BIO/13)
7
A
(BIO/10)
6
A
(FIS/07)
7
B
(L-LIN/12)
7
A
(BIO/17)
13
A/B/C
(INF/01 ,MED/01 ,MED/02 ,M-PED/03 ,M-PSI/01)

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
7
A
(BIO/10)
9
A
(BIO/09)
13
B
(MED/04 ,MED/07 ,MED/42)
20
B/C/F
(- ,INF/01 ,MED/28 ,MED/43 ,MED/50)

4° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
5
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
3
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
4
B
(MED/43)
4
B/F
(- ,MED/25 ,MED/26)
13
B/F
(- ,MED/18 ,MED/35 ,MED/41)

5° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
7
B/F
(- ,MED/28 ,MED/38)
12
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
8
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
6
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
10
B/C/F
(- ,MED/28 ,MED/29 ,MED/31)
5
B/F
(- ,MED/28)

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S02656

Credits

3

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

MED/04 - EXPERIMENTAL MEDICINE AND PATHOPHYSIOLOGY

Language

Italian

Period

Lezioni 2° semestre dal Feb 22, 2016 al Jun 3, 2016.

To show the organization of the course that includes this module, follow this link:  Course organization

Learning outcomes

The fundamental objective of the Immunology course is the acquisition of the conceptual and scientific tools allowing the comprehension of how the Immune system functions in both health and disease. In particolar, the objectives are the following:

1. Acquisition of the knowledge of the fundamental biologic mechanisms regulating the immune system functions in the defense against infections;
2. Acquisition of the knowledge of the fundamental pathologic mechanisms of the immune system, in particular in the hypersensibility, autoimmunity and immunodeficiency states;
3. Details on the immunology of the oral cavity.
4. Immune patologies of the oral cavity.
5. Systemic immune patologies and their effect at the oral cavity level



Texts:
Abul K. Abbas, Andrew H Lichtman, Shiv Pillai–BASIC IMMUNOLOGY. FUNCTIONS AND DISORDERS OF THE IMMUNE SYSTEM, 4th edition 2012, Elsiever Saunders editor. Cost : about 23 Euros

Consultation:
Abul K. Abbas, Andrew H Lichtman, Shiv Pillai,– CELLULAR AND MOLECULAR IMMUNOLOGY, 8th edition 2014, Elsiever Saunders editor

Kenneth Murphy- JANEWAY’S IMMUNOBIOLOGY, 8th edizione 2012, Garland science editor

Program

Program in extensive form:

Organization of the immune system:
1. Anatomy of the immune syste: lymphoid organs in general (spleen, limph nodes, Peyer patches, appendyx, bone marrow and thymus), lymphoid organs of the oral cavity (palatin tonsilse, lingual and of the pharynx, local lymph nodes, intra-lingual, lymphatic cells of the sub-mucosal tissue, lymphatic tissue of the salivary glands and gingival).
2. Citology of the immune system: limphocytes, NK cells , dendritic cells. The lymphocyte classes: B, T lymphocytes and the various sub-classes. Antigens and antibodies.
3. Biochemistry of the immune system: molecules (Immunoglobulins, T cell receptor, MHC and co-stimulatory molecules).

Physiology of the immune system:
1. Antigen processing and presentation;
2. The specific adaptive responses: cell mediated and humoral responses;
3. Cytokines and cellular cooperation;
4. Defence against infections;
5. Defensive and offensive responses.
6. Active and passive immunoprofilaxis.
7. Immunological tolerance.

Pathology of the immune system:
1. Hypersensibility reactions;
2. Autoimmune diseases;
3. Immunodeficiencies;.
4. Tumor immunology.
5. Immunoemathology, blood groups.
6. Transplantation immunology and HLA system.

Immunology of the oral cavity:
1. Ecosystem e microbiology of the oral cavity. The bacterial plaque. Lymphocyte activation induced by microbes of the oral cavity;
2. Humoral effector mechanisms and the secretory IgA;
3. Immunology of the oral infections: carie, periodontal disease, pulpo-apical disease, viral infection, mycosis.


Immunopathology of the oral cavity:
1. Systemic immune diseases and their influence on the oral cavity;
2. Oral Manifestations of hypersensibility and autoimmunity;
3. Conseguences of primary and secondary immunodeficiencies, in particular of the HIV infection.
5. Immunology of dental transplants.

Bibliografia

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
Abul K. Abbas, Andrew H Lichtman, Shiv Pillai, a cura di Silvano Sozzani LE BASI DELL’IMMUNOLOGIA. FISIOLOGIA DEL SISTEMA IMMUNITARIO (Edizione 4) EDRA MASSON 2015

Examination Methods

Examination modality: written, with multiple choice test and some test with open answer.

Free choice courses

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Graduation


Gestione carriere


Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.