Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

A.A. 2019/2020

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
FISIO VI 2A1S Oct 1, 2019 Nov 22, 2019
FISIO VI 3A1S Oct 1, 2019 Nov 15, 2019
FISIO VI 1A1S Oct 14, 2019 Dec 20, 2019
FISIO VI 3A2S Mar 2, 2020 Apr 17, 2020
FISIO VI 2A2S Mar 2, 2020 Apr 30, 2020
FISIO VI 1A2S Mar 2, 2020 May 15, 2020
Exam sessions
Session From To
FISIO VI SESSIONE INVERNALE Jan 7, 2020 Jan 31, 2020
FISIO VI SESSIONE ESTIVA Jul 6, 2020 Jul 31, 2020
FISIO VI SESSIONE AUTUNNALE Sep 1, 2020 Sep 30, 2020
Degree sessions
Session From To
FISIO VI SESSIONE AUTUNNALE Nov 1, 2020 Dec 22, 2020
FISIO VI SESSIONE PRIMAVERILE Mar 1, 2021 Apr 30, 2021
Holidays
Period From To
FESTIVITA' OGNISSANTI Nov 1, 2019 Nov 1, 2019
FESTIVITA' IMMACOLATA CONCEZIONE Dec 8, 2019 Dec 8, 2019
Vacanze di Natale Dec 24, 2019 Jan 6, 2020
VACANZE DI PASQUA Apr 10, 2020 Apr 15, 2020
FESTA DELLA LIBERAZIONE Apr 25, 2020 Apr 25, 2020
Festa del Lavoro May 1, 2020 May 1, 2020
FESTA DELLA REPUBBLICA Jun 2, 2020 Jun 2, 2020
FESTA S. PATRONO VICENZA Sep 8, 2020 Sep 8, 2020
Other Periods
Description Period From To
FISIO VI 3^ anno - 1^semestre (1 periodo) FISIO VI 3^ anno - 1^semestre (1 periodo) Nov 18, 2019 Dec 20, 2019
FISIO VI 2^ anno - 1^semestre (1 periodo) FISIO VI 2^ anno - 1^semestre (1 periodo) Nov 25, 2019 Dec 20, 2019
FISIO VI 2^ anno - 1^semestre (2 periodo) FISIO VI 2^ anno - 1^semestre (2 periodo) Feb 3, 2020 Feb 28, 2020
FISIO VI 1^ anno - 1^semestre FISIO VI 1^ anno - 1^semestre Feb 3, 2020 Feb 28, 2020
FISIO VI 3^ anno - 1^semestre (2 periodo) FISIO VI 3^ anno - 1^semestre (2 periodo) Feb 3, 2020 Feb 28, 2020
FISIO VI 3^ anno - 2^semestre FISIO VI 3^ anno - 2^semestre Apr 20, 2020 Jun 26, 2020
FISIO VI 2^ anno - 2^semestre FISIO VI 2^ anno - 2^semestre May 4, 2020 Jun 26, 2020
FISIO VI 1^ anno - 2^semestre FISIO VI 1^ anno - 2^semestre May 18, 2020 Jun 26, 2020

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Medicine Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

B C D E F G L M N P R S T V Z

Bettale Fernanda

fernanda.bettale@ulssvicenza.it 0444 753218

Bortolotti Federica

federica.bortolotti@univr.it 045 8124618

Cecchetto Simone

simone.cek@libero.it 0444/431354

Cecchin Enrica

enrica.cecchin@aulss8.veneto.it 0444753218

Cerruto Maria Angela

mariaangela.cerruto@univr.it +39 045 812 7728

Cuzzolin Laura

laura.cuzzolin@univr.it 0458027609

Dando Ilaria

ilaria.dando@univr.it +39 045 802 7169

Della Libera Chiara

chiara.dellalibera@univr.it +39 0458027219

De Marchi Sergio

sergio.demarchi@univr.it +39 045 8126813-4

Eccher Claudio

cleccher@fbk.eu 0461 314161

Fumene Feruglio Paolo

paolo.fumeneferuglio@univr.it +39 0458027680

Gabbrielli Armando

armando.gabbrielli@univr.it +39 045 812 4153

Galie' Mirco

mirco.galie@univr.it +39.045.8027681

Gandolfi Marialuisa

marialuisa.gandolfi@univr.it +39 045 812 4943

Goracci Giada

giada.goracci@univr.it giada.goracci@libero.it

Locatelli Francesca

francesca.locatelli@univr.it 045 8027655

Mansueto Giancarlo

giancarlo.mansueto@univr.it 0458124301

Mariotti Raffaella

raffaella.mariotti@univr.it 0458027164

Mazzariol Annarita

annarita.mazzariol@univr.it 045 8027690

Moro Valentina

Valentina.Moro@univr.it +39 045 802 8370

Mottes Monica

monica.mottes@univr.it +39 045 8027 184

Negrin Rolando

segreteria.pneumo@ulssvicenza.it 0444/753634

Picelli Alessandro

alessandro.picelli@univr.it +39 045 8124573

Pighi Michele

michele.pighi@univr.it 0458122320

Pilotto Franco

francopilotto@libero.it 049/5594050

Prior Manlio

manlio.prior@univr.it +39 045 812 6812

Rigoni Sergio

Sergiorigoni@hotmail.com 0424604326

Romanelli Maria

mariagrazia.romanelli@univr.it +39 045 802 7182

Sartori Riccardo

riccardo.sartori@univr.it +39 045 802 8140

Sorio Claudio

claudio.sorio@univr.it 045 8027688

Tamburin Stefano

stefano.tamburin@univr.it +39 0458124285 (segreteria)

Tardivo Stefano

stefano.tardivo@univr.it +39 045 802 7660

Tinazzi Michele

michele.tinazzi@univr.it +39 045 8122601

Vale' Nicola

nicola.vale@univr.it +39 045 812 4573

Varalta Valentina

valentina.varalta@univr.it +39 0458126499

Viapiana Ombretta

ombretta.viapiana@univr.it +39 045 812 4049

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
7
A/B
(BIO/16 ,BIO/17 ,MED/48)
6
A/B
(BIO/09 ,M-PSI/01)
7
A/B
(BIO/10 ,BIO/13 ,FIS/07 ,MED/01)
5
A/B/C
(INF/01 ,MED/36 ,MED/42 ,MED/48)
3
E/F
(L-LIN/12)

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S01837

Teacher

Ilaria Dando

Credits

2

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

BIO/10 - BIOCHEMISTRY

Language

Italian

Period

FISIO VI 1A1S dal Oct 14, 2019 al Dec 20, 2019.

To show the organization of the course that includes this module, follow this link:  Course organization

Learning outcomes

The course aims to provide:
- basic knowledge of general and organic chemistry in preparation for biochemistry;
- knowledge of the structure-function relationships of the main classes of biological macromolecules and the main metabolic pathways in which they are involved;
- knowledge of the existing interconnections between biochemical processes and related energetics.
At the end of the course the student should prove the acquisition of scientific terms and notions in order to critically and autonomously evaluate the biochemical processes of life.

Program

- Building blocks of general and organic chemistry: the carbon atom; electronic configuration; organic compounds nomenclature and functional groups.
- Protein structure and function: structure and physico-chemical properties of amino acids; peptide bond; protein structure levels; fibrous proteins; globular proteins; hemoglobin and myoglobin; actin; myosin.
- Enzymes: classification; activation energy; coenzymes and cofactors; water-soluble vitamins; regulation of enzymatic activity.
- Nucleic acids: basic notions of their structural functions; their role as energy carriers, as components of enzymatic cofactors, and as chemical messengers.
- Introduction to metabolism: anabolism and catabolism; ATP; redox coenzymes (NAD and FAD); chemical equilibrium and Le Chatelier principle; equilibrium constant; Gibbs free energy; exo- and endo-ergonic reactions; equilibria and spontaneity of reactions; metabolic pathways; metabolic intermediates; metabolism regulation.
- Carbohydrates: monosaccharides; disaccharides; polysaccharides; glycogen; starch; cellulose; glycosaminoglycans; proteoglycans and glycoproteins.
- Carbohydrate metabolism: glycolysis and its regulation; alcoholic fermentation; lactic fermentation; phosphate pentose pathway; gluconeogenesis; glycogenosynthesis; glycogenolysis; hormonal regulation (glucagon, insulin and adrenaline); Cori cycle.
- Citric acid cycle and oxidative phosphorylation: regulation of the citric acid cycle; electron transport chain; oxidative phosphorylation.
- Lipids: reserve lipids; structural membrane lipids; cholesterol; lipids as signals and cofactors.
- Lipid metabolism: lipid biosynthesis; fatty-acid synthase; cholesterol metabolism; beta-oxidation of fatty acids; cheotnic bodies.
- Amino acid metabolism: metabolic fate of amino groups; urea cycle; glucose-alanine cycle; transamination.

The teaching method used in this teaching is exclusively of the frontal type.

Bibliografia

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
Catani et all Appunti di biochimica (Edizione 2) piccin 2017 978-88-299-2843-9
Stefani M, Taddei N Chimica Biochimica e Biologia Applicata. Zanichelli ed., Bologna 2010
M. Samaja, R. Paroni Chimica e Biochimica Piccin 2016
David L Nelson, Michael M Cox Introduzione alla Biochimica del Lehninger Zanichelli 2018

Examination Methods

In order to pass the final exam, students shall demonstrate an appropriate understanding of the basic concepts of biochemistry, from biological macromolecules to metabolic transformations.
The exam consists of a written test based on the didactic contents of the whole course and will be structured as follows:
- 15 multiple choice questions - each correct answer is worth 1 point;
- 3 open questions, to be briefly answered in a limited space and in a complete and concise way - each open answer is worth 5 points.
The duration of the exam will be 60 minutes.
The final score will be expressed in thirty’s (/30) and will be given by the summing up the score obtained in all the questions. The Biochemistry module exam will be considered passed and maintained valid within the Academic Year with a minum score of 18/30.

Type D and Type F activities

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Gestione carriere


Graduation


Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.