Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

A.A. 2021/2022

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
1° periodo lezioni (1A) Sep 16, 2021 Oct 30, 2021
1° periodo lezioni (1B) Nov 5, 2021 Dec 16, 2021
2° periodo lezioni (2A) Feb 14, 2022 Mar 26, 2022
2° periodo lezioni (2B) Apr 4, 2022 May 20, 2022
Exam sessions
Session From To
Prove parziali 9/12 CFU - Prove finali 6 CFU del periodo 1A Nov 2, 2021 Nov 4, 2021
1° appello invernale - dicembre 2021 Dec 17, 2021 Dec 23, 2021
Sessione invernale - 2 appelli Jan 8, 2022 Feb 12, 2022
Prove parziali 9/12 CFU - Prove finali 6 CFU del periodo 2A Mar 28, 2022 Apr 2, 2022
Appello riservato a studenti fuori corso Mar 28, 2022 Apr 2, 2022
Sessione estiva - 3 appelli May 23, 2022 Jul 27, 2022
Sessione autunnale - 1 appello Aug 25, 2022 Sep 17, 2022
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione autunnale - ottobre 2021 Oct 21, 2021 Oct 23, 2021
Sessione invernale - febbraio 2022 Feb 11, 2022 Feb 11, 2022
Sessione invernale - aprile 2022 Apr 26, 2022 Apr 28, 2022
Sessione estiva - giugno 2022 Jun 23, 2022 Jun 25, 2022
Holidays
Period From To
Festa di Tutti i Santi Nov 1, 2021 Nov 1, 2021
Festa dell'Immacolata Concezione Dec 8, 2021 Dec 8, 2021
Vacanze di Natale Dec 24, 2021 Jan 6, 2022
Vacanze Pasquali Apr 15, 2022 Apr 19, 2022
Festa della Liberazione Apr 25, 2022 Apr 25, 2022
FESTA DEL LAVORO May 1, 2022 May 1, 2022
Santo Patrono May 21, 2022 May 21, 2022
Festa della Repubblica Jun 2, 2022 Jun 2, 2022

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Law Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

B C D F G L M N O P R S T V

Baroncini Valentina

valentina.baroncini@univr.it

Bercelli Jacopo

jacopo.bercelli@univr.it +39 045 8028820

Butturini Daniele

daniele.butturini@univr.it +39 045 8028882

Calafà Laura

laura.calafa@univr.it +39 045 8028837

Caprara Andrea

andrea.caprara@univr.it 39 045 8028819

Catalano Stefano

stefano.catalano@univr.it 0458028808

Ciampi Annalisa

annalisa.ciampi@univr.it 045 802 8061

Comotti Giuseppe

giuseppe.comotti@univr.it +39 045 8028834

Cordiano Alessandra

alessandra.cordiano@univr.it +39 045 8028841

Dalla Massara Tommaso

tommaso.dallamassara@univr.it +39 045 8028810

Danieli Diletta

diletta.danieli@univr.it

De Leo Domenico

domenico.deleo@univr.it +39 045 812 4942

Duret Paolo

paolo.duret@univr.it 0458028873

Faccioli Mirko

mirko.faccioli@univr.it +39 045 8028879

Ferrari Fabio

fabio.ferrari@univr.it 045-8028859

Ferri Giampietro

giampietro.ferri@univr.it +39 045 8028843

Flor Roberto

roberto.flor@univr.it +39 045 8028899

Fratea Caterina

caterina.fratea@univr.it 045 802 8858

Guerra Giorgia

giorgia.guerra@univr.it

Landi Stefano

stefano.landi@univr.it 045 802 8168

Leardini Chiara

chiara.leardini@univr.it 045 802 8222

Ligugnana Giovanna

giovanna.ligugnana@univr.it +39 045 8028892

Lorenzetto Elisa

elisa.lorenzetto@univr.it +39 045 8028821

Lottieri Carlo

carlo.lottieri@univr.it + 39 045 8028833

Maggi Rita

rita.maggi@univr.it

Menon Martina

martina.menon@univr.it 045 802 8420

Merotto Maria Federica

mariafederica.merotto@univr.it

Meruzzi Giovanni

giovanni.meruzzi@univr.it +39 045 8028815

Messina Sebastiano Maurizio

sebastianomaurizio.messina@univr.it 045 802 8052

Nadalet Sylvain Giovanni

sylvain.nadalet@univr.it +39 045 8028848

Nicolini Matteo

matteo.nicolini@univr.it +39 045 8028893

Omodei Sale' Riccardo

riccardo.omodeisale@univr.it 045 802 8855

Onniboni Claudia

claudia.onniboni@univr.it +39 045 8028809

Ortino Matteo

matteo.ortino@univr.it +39 045 8028830

Palermo Francesco

francesco.palermo@univr.it +39 045 8028878

Pedrazza Gorlero Cecilia

cecilia.pedrazzagorlero@univr.it +39 045 8028850

Pelloso Carlo

carlo.pelloso@univr.it +39 045 8028826

Peruzzi Marco

marco.peruzzi@univr.it 045 8028838

Picotti Lorenzo

lorenzo.picotti@univr.it +39 045 8028861

Ragno Francesca

francesca.ragno@univr.it +39 045 8028898

Roffia Paolo

paolo.roffia@univr.it 045 802 8012

Rossi Giovanni

giovanni.rossi@univr.it +39 045 8028840

Salvadori Ivan

ivan.salvadori@univr.it Skype: ivansalvadori1

Tedoldi Alberto Maria

alberto.tedoldi@univr.it 3471567494

Tescaro Mauro

mauro.tescaro@univr.it 045 802 8880

Tincani Chiara

chiara.tincani@univr.it +39 045 8028896

Tomazzoli Claudio

claudio.tomazzoli@univr.it

Torsello Marco

marco.torsello@univr.it +39 045 8028881

Troiano Stefano

stefano.troiano@univr.it +39 045 8028817

Velo Dalbrenta Daniele

daniele.velodalbrenta@univr.it +39 045 8028833

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1 MODULE BETWEEN THE FOLLOWING
15
B
(IUS/07)
9
B
(IUS/17)
1 MODULE BETWEEN THE FOLLOWING
1 MODULE BETWEEN THE FOLLOWING
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
9
A
(IUS/01)
15
B
(IUS/04)
9
B
(IUS/17)
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
6
A
(IUS/01)
1 MODULE BETWEEN THE FOLLOWING
6
B
(IUS/12)
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1 MODULE BETWEEN THE FOLLOWING
6
A
(IUS/20)
Final exam
15
E
(-)

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1 MODULE BETWEEN THE FOLLOWING
15
B
(IUS/07)
9
B
(IUS/17)
1 MODULE BETWEEN THE FOLLOWING
1 MODULE BETWEEN THE FOLLOWING

3° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
9
A
(IUS/01)
15
B
(IUS/04)
9
B
(IUS/17)

4° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
6
A
(IUS/01)
1 MODULE BETWEEN THE FOLLOWING
6
B
(IUS/12)

5° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1 MODULE BETWEEN THE FOLLOWING
6
A
(IUS/20)
Final exam
15
E
(-)
Modules Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 3°- 4°- 5°5 MODULES TO BE CHOSEN AMONG THE FOLLOWING DURING THE 3RD, 4TH AND 5TH YEAR (IN DETAIL: 1 MODULE IN THE 3RD YEAR; 1 MODULE IN THE 4TH YEAR; 3 MODULES IN THE 5TH YEAR)
6
R
(IUS/11)
6
R
(IUS/04)
6
R
(IUS/05)
Between the years: 4°- 5°
Further activities (laboratories, training)
9
F
-

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S01090

Coordinatore

Lorenzo Picotti

Credits

9

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

IUS/17 - CRIMINAL LAW

Language

Italian

Period

1° periodo lezioni (1A), 1° periodo lezioni (1B)

Learning outcomes

The course aims at offering the basic notions of the “general part” of the Italian criminal law, in a critical and constitutional-oriented approach. Students will be able to understand the general categories of the current criminal law system and to assess the reasons and the implications both on logical-systematic and political-criminal options level.

Program

The course will be divided into the following parts:

1st Part: The evolution and the general characteristics of the criminal law
• The basis and limits of the punitive power of the State
• Comparison between the basic characteristics of the 1889 Italian Penal Code (so-called “Zanardelli Code”) and the 1930 Italian Penal Code (so-called “Rocco Code”)
• The influence of the Constitution of 1947 as well as the Constitutional Court case-law on the criminal justice system

2nd Part: The criminal legislation in a multilevel legal system

• Sources of criminal law
• The fundamental principle of legality (lex certa and lex scripta principles, non-retroactivity principle)
• The influence of the International and European Law on the Italian criminal law

3rd Part: The structure and the objective elements of the criminal offence
• The concept and function of the legal good (“bene giuridico”; “Rechtsgut”)
• The notion of “actus reus” (“fatto tipico”; “Tatbestand”)
• The active or omissive conduct
• The wrongful result and the rules of causation

4thPart: The unlawfulness of the act (“cause di giustificazione”; Rechtswidrigkeit”)
• Justification and excuse

5th Part: Subjective elements of the criminal offence (“mens rea”): culpability principle (“principio di colpevolezza”; “Schuldprinzip”)
• Intention (“dolo”)
• Negligence (“colpa”, “Fahrlässigkeit”)
• Preterintention and strict liability
• Ignorance and mistake of law

6th Part: The different forms and manifestations of the criminal offence
• The attempt
• Complicity and joint criminal enterprise
• Circumstances of the criminal offence
• Concurrence of offences

7th Part: The consequences of the criminal offence
• The “binary system” of criminal penalties and security measures
• The function and the general purposes of the criminal penalty
• The accessory penalties and the causes of extinction of the crime

NB. The discipline of corporate liability for crimes (Legislative Decree no. 231 of 2001), which is the subject of the Criminal Law 2 course, is therefore not included in the course program, therefore the study of the last chapter XV of the recommended Manual is not required, pages 889 ff.

TEACHING METHODS

Language of teaching for this course is Italian. All literature and auxiliary materials are also in Italian.

The course will be based on lectures (also in streaming and registration on Moodle) and slides concerning the basis and fundamental categories of the Italian Criminal Law. Workshops or seminars about specific topics or case studies could be organized (if possible) during the course. The online registration to the University e-learning platform will provide students with a source of reference, bibliography, scientific papers and selected case-law.

The professors will provide support to students non-attending classes during the office hours

Bibliografia

Visualizza la bibliografia con Leganto, strumento che il Sistema Bibliotecario mette a disposizione per recuperare i testi in programma d'esame in modo semplice e innovativo.

Examination Methods

The final exam consists of an oral examination. Intermediate tests are possible, according to procedures to be established.


The final exam aims at verifying:

• the level of achievement of the learning outcomes previously identified
• the linguistic accuracy
• the argumentative, reasoning and problem-solving skills
• the ability to connect systematically the knowledge achieved

Students attending classes have the possibility to write a short paper on specific topics of the program, upon agreement with the professors. The paper will be discussed during the oral examination and will constitute part of the program.

ERASMUS students are kindly requested to contact the Professors at the beginning of the course, in order the possibility to agree on the exam’s program and the parts of reference books to study.

Grades are awarded on a scale from 18 to 30, where 30 is the highest grade and 18 is the lowest grade to pass the exam. In case of an excellent knowledge, a high level of linguistic accuracy and an argumentative, reasoning and problem-solving capacity the candidate may earn the highest grade with “cum laude” honor.

Type D and Type F activities

Le attività che consentono l’acquisizione dei crediti riservati alle attività formative a libera scelta dello studente (TAF D) sono le seguenti:
• Un insegnamento previsto nell’elenco delle attività formative (TAF D) allegato al piano didattico del corso di laurea Magistrale in Giurisprudenza;
• Un insegnamento attivato nei Corsi di studi afferenti al Collegio di Giurisprudenza;
• Un laboratorio didattico attivato nei Corsi di studi afferenti al Collegio di Giurisprudenza;
• Un laboratorio didattico attivato nei Corsi di studi afferenti al Dipartimento di Scienze Giuridiche;
• Un insegnamento previsto dall’Offerta Formativa di Ateneo, non impartito nell’ambito dei corsi di studi afferenti al Collegio di Giurisprudenza: il riconoscimento dei crediti acquisiti sarà subordinato alla preventiva presentazione di coerenti programmi formativi valutati dalla Commissione istruttoria per la didattica e approvati dal Collegio didattico.
• Attività formative organizzate dai singoli docenti del Collegio di Giurisprudenza o del Dipartimento di Scienze Giuridiche: previa approvazione del Collegio ad esse verrà attribuito, dopo un’apposita verifica, un credito per ogni 6 ore di frequenza obbligatoria;
• Attività formative che implicano la partecipazione a convegni o seminari organizzati sotto il “logo” del Dipartimento di Scienze Giuridiche o dell’Ateneo: devono essere preventivamente approvate dal Collegio di Giurisprudenza indicando un docente di riferimento del Collegio di Giurisprudenza ovvero del Dipartimento di Scienze Giuridiche. Un credito per ogni giornata di convegno o di seminario si acquisisce dopo apposita verifica che dimostri l’avvenuta fruizione culturale del tema del convegno o del seminario.

Le attività che consentono l’acquisizione dei crediti riservati alle ulteriori attività formative (TAF F) sono le seguenti:
• Informatica (3 cfu)
• Stage;
• Un laboratorio didattico attivato nei Corsi di studi afferenti al Collegio di Giurisprudenza;
• Un laboratorio didattico attivato nei Corsi di studi afferenti al Dipartimento di Scienze Giuridiche.

Al link https://www.univr.it/it/i-nostri-servizi/segreterie-studenti/giurisprudenza#categdoc_7103 la modulistica per l'inserimento di attività non selezionabili in autonomia dallo studente in sede di compilazione del piano degli studi.

1° periodo lezioni (1B) From 11/5/21 To 12/16/21
years Modules TAF Teacher
4° 5° Economics, financial statement and control of Italian healthcare and social care organizations D Paolo Roffia (Coordinatore)
2° periodo lezioni (2A) From 2/14/22 To 3/26/22
years Modules TAF Teacher
Banking law D Giovanni Meruzzi (Coordinatore)
4° 5° CRISIS AND INSOLVENCY PROCEEDINGS LAW D Valentina Baroncini (Coordinatore)
4° 5° Law of the digital economy D Matteo Ortino (Coordinatore)
4° 5° Legal Medicine D Domenico De Leo (Coordinatore)
4° 5° Safety and social security D Sylvain Giovanni Nadalet
4° 5° Sociology of law D Carlo Lottieri (Coordinatore)
2° periodo lezioni (2B) From 4/4/22 To 5/20/22
years Modules TAF Teacher
4° 5° Safe and security law D Marco Peruzzi
List of courses with unassigned period
years Modules TAF Teacher
4° 5° The fashion lab (1 ECTS) D Not yet assigned
4° 5° The fashion lab (2 ECTS) D Not yet assigned
4° 5° The fashion lab (3 ECTS) D Not yet assigned

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Student mentoring


Dissertation


Gestione carriere


Graduation


Internships

Internships are aimed at enabling students to gain direct knowledge of the world of work and to acquire specific professional skills.

Internships are carried out under the responsibility of an individual lecturer, and can be carried out in professional firms, public administration bodies and companies recognised by the University of Verona.

Any CFU credits gained by doing internships will be recognised and recorded by the University in accordance with the relevant University regulations in force (Regolamento d’Ateneo per il riconoscimento dei crediti maturati negli stage universitari).

For further information on internships, please go to: https://www.univr.it/it/i-nostri-servizi/stage-e-tirocini.


Language skills


Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.