Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
1° Periodo di lezioni Oct 1, 2014 Dec 16, 2014
Periodo riservato ad eventuali recuperi di lezioni - dicembre 2014 Dec 17, 2014 Dec 18, 2014
2° Periodo di lezioni - febbraio/marzo 2015 Feb 10, 2015 Mar 30, 2015
2° Periodo di lezioni - aprile/maggio 2015 Apr 8, 2015 May 5, 2015
Periodo riservato ad eventuali recuperi di lezioni - maggio 2015 May 6, 2015 May 8, 2015
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione straordinaria 14/15 - studenti f.c. - dicembre 2014 Dec 19, 2014 Dec 23, 2014
1° appello - Sessione invernale 14/15 Jan 8, 2015 Jan 14, 2015
2° appello - Sessione invernale 14/15 Feb 2, 2015 Feb 7, 2015
Sessione straordinaria 14/15 - studenti f.c. - marzo/aprile 2015 Mar 31, 2015 Apr 2, 2015
1° appello - Sessione estiva 14/15 May 11, 2015 May 16, 2015
2° appello - Sessione estiva 14/15 Jun 8, 2015 Jun 13, 2015
3° appello - Sessione estiva 14/15 Jul 6, 2015 Jul 11, 2015
1° appello - Sessione autunnale 14/15 Aug 31, 2015 Sep 5, 2015
2° appello - Sessione autunnale 14/15 Sep 24, 2015 Sep 30, 2015
Degree sessions
Session From To
Termine presentazione tesi di laurea - ottobre 2014 Sep 25, 2014 Sep 25, 2014
Sessione autunnale 14/15 Oct 20, 2014 Oct 21, 2014
Termine presentazione tesi di laurea - gennaio 2015 Jan 12, 2015 Jan 12, 2015
Sessione invernale 14/15 Feb 9, 2015 Feb 9, 2015
Termine presentazione tesi di laurea - marzo 2015 Feb 13, 2015 Feb 13, 2015
Sessione invernale 14/15 - marzo 2015 Mar 17, 2015 Mar 19, 2015
Termine presentazione tesi di laurea - luglio 2015 Jun 8, 2015 Jun 8, 2015
Sessione estiva 14/15 Jul 2, 2015 Jul 3, 2015
Holidays
Period From To
Festa di Ognissanti Nov 1, 2014 Nov 1, 2014
Festa dell'Immacolata Concezione Dec 8, 2014 Dec 8, 2014
Vacanze di Natale Dec 24, 2014 Jan 6, 2015
Vacanze di Pasqua Apr 3, 2015 Apr 7, 2015
Festa della Liberazione Apr 25, 2015 Apr 25, 2015
Festa dei Lavoratori May 1, 2015 May 1, 2015
Festa del S. Patrono S. Zeno May 21, 2015 May 21, 2015
Festa della Repubblica Jun 2, 2015 Jun 2, 2015

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Law Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G L M N O P R S T V

Alberti Giovanni Battista

symbol email giovanni.alberti@univr.it

Baruffi Maria Caterina

symbol email mariacaterina.baruffi@univr.it

Bercelli Jacopo

symbol email jacopo.bercelli@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8028820

Butturini Daniele

symbol email daniele.butturini@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8028882

Calafà Laura

symbol email laura.calafa@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8028837

Caprara Andrea

symbol email andrea.caprara@univr.it symbol phone-number 39 045 8028819

Catalano Stefano

symbol email stefano.catalano@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458028808

Ciampi Annalisa

symbol email annalisa.ciampi@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8061

Comotti Giuseppe

symbol email giuseppe.comotti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8028834

Cordiano Alessandra

symbol email alessandra.cordiano@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8028841
foto,  July 23, 2015

Dalla Massara Tommaso

symbol email tommaso.dallamassara@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8028810

De Leo Domenico

symbol email domenico.deleo@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 812 4942

Duret Paolo

symbol email paolo.duret@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458028873

Faccioli Mirko

symbol email mirko.faccioli@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8028879

Ferri Giampietro

symbol email giampietro.ferri@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8028843

Flor Roberto

symbol email roberto.flor@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8028899

Fratea Caterina

symbol email caterina.fratea@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8858

Gottardi Donata

symbol email donata.gottardi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8028866

Leardini Chiara

symbol email chiara.leardini@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8222

Lorenzetto Elisa

symbol email elisa.lorenzetto@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8028821

Lottieri Carlo

symbol email carlo.lottieri@univr.it symbol phone-number + 39 045 8028833

Maggi Rita

symbol email rita.maggi@univr.it

Manzoni Elena

symbol email elena.manzoni@univr.it symbol phone-number 8783

Menon Martina

symbol email martina.menon@univr.it

Meruzzi Giovanni

symbol email giovanni.meruzzi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8028815

Messina Sebastiano Maurizio

symbol email sebastianomaurizio.messina@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8052

Moro Sergio

symbol email sergio.moro@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8028857

Nadalet Sylvain Giovanni

symbol email sylvain.nadalet@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8028848

Nicolini Matteo

symbol email matteo.nicolini@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8028893

Omodei Sale' Riccardo

symbol email riccardo.omodeisale@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8855

Onniboni Claudia

symbol email claudia.onniboni@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8028809

Ortino Matteo

symbol email matteo.ortino@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8028830

Palermo Francesco

symbol email francesco.palermo@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8028878
fotoPubblica,  July 17, 2018

Patrono Paolo

symbol email paolo.patrono@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8028813

Pedrazza Gorlero Cecilia

symbol email cecilia.pedrazzagorlero@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8028850

Pelloso Carlo

symbol email carlo.pelloso@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8028826

Peruzzi Marco

symbol email marco.peruzzi@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 8028838

Picotti Lorenzo

symbol email lorenzo.picotti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8028861

Ragno Francesca

symbol email francesca.ragno@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8028898

Roffia Paolo

symbol email paolo.roffia@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8012

Rossi Giovanni

symbol email giovanni.rossi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8028840

Salvadori Ivan

symbol email ivan.salvadori@univr.it symbol phone-number Skype: ivansalvadori1

Saraceno Melchiorre

symbol email melchiorre.saraceno@univr.it symbol phone-number 045596088

Strano Silvana

symbol email silvana.stranoligato@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8028856

Tedoldi Alberto Maria

symbol email alberto.tedoldi@univr.it symbol phone-number 3471567494

Tescaro Mauro

symbol email mauro.tescaro@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8880

Tincani Chiara

symbol email chiara.tincani@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8028896

Tomazzoli Claudio

symbol email claudio.tomazzoli@univr.it

Torsello Marco

symbol email marco.torsello@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8028881

Troiano Stefano

symbol email stefano.troiano@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8028817

Velo Dalbrenta Daniele

symbol email daniele.velodalbrenta@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8028833

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1 discipline at choice
6
A
IUS/18
1 discipline at choice

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1 discipline at choice
6
A
IUS/18
1 discipline at choice

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




S Placements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S00365

Credits

6

Language

Italian

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

IUS/19 - HISTORY OF MEDIEVAL AND MODERN LAW

Period

1° periodo di lezioni dal Oct 1, 2018 al Dec 14, 2018.

Learning outcomes

The course aims to recognize the theoretical foundations of modern and contemporary constitutions and codifications and the basis of the present legal order, to determine the inter-individual relationships and the relations among state powers. Constitutions and codes reproduce and interpret all the innovations and limits that mark originality and vitality within a stated historical experience. It follows that the legal order seems to be the result of a long time ‘negotiation’ indispensable to social peace and to the satisfaction of private and public interests. At the end of the course, students should be able to understand the evolution of modern and contemporary codifications and constitutions and value the deep influence of legal interpretation in order to protect basic rights.

Program

PART I – INTERPRETATION OF MODERN AND CONTEMPORARY CODES

The first part of the course aims to investigate the origin of contemporary codes through the study of the greatest eighteenth century consolidations and modern codifications, with special regard to the French (Code civil, 1804) and Austrian (ABGB, 1811) legal experiences. Particular attention will be given to: 1) ius commune and modern codification; 2) the European codification process; 3) the ‘crisis’ of codification; 4) judicial interpretation and doctrinal elaboration under a codified system of law.

PART II – MODERN CONSTITUTIONS BETWEEN OLD AND NEW WORLD

The second part of the course will be devoted to the analysis of the theoretical roots of modern constitutions in the aftermath of the French and American Revolutions. The elements of continuity between the modern and the contemporary constitutional experiences will be especially assessed in the light of the complex relationship between ‘law’ and ‘freedom’ and with special regard to the Italian Constitution.

TEACHING METHODOLOGY

Lectures on the main topics of the subject matter to be integrated with the materials provided to the students by the teacher and available in the e-learning platform.

CONTENTS OF THE COURSE:

- Doctrinal foundations of modern and contemporary codifications and constitutions;
- Justice and Law between the Middle Ages and the Modern Age;
- Evolution of the modern concept of code.
- Codification and Enlightenment;
- The French Civil Code of 1804 and the Austrian Civil Code of 1811;
- Codification and interpretation;
- The roots of modern constitutionalism;
- Doctrinal and historical foundations of liberty;
- Charters of rights and freedoms;
- The democratic constitutions of the 19th century.

TEXTBOOKS

- Attending students

Notes from lessons, materials provided to the students by the teacher and available in the e-learning platform and in the following textbooks:

- Codici. Una riflessione di fine millennio (Firenze, 26-28 ottobre 2000), a cura di P. Cappellini e B. Sordi, Milano, Giuffrè, 2002;
- Dalla Costituzione “inattuata” alla Costituzione “inattuale”? Potere costituente e riforme costituzionali nell'Italia repubblicana (Ferrara, 24-25 gennaio 2013), a cura di G. Brunelli e G. Cazzetta, Milano, Giuffrè, 2013.

- Non-attending students

Both of the following textbooks:

- E. DEZZA, Lezioni di storia della codificazione civile: il Code civil (1804) e l’Allgemeines Bürgerliches Gesetzbuch (ABGB, 1812), Torino, Giappichelli, 2000;
- M. FIORAVANTI, Appunti di storia delle costituzioni moderne. Le libertà fondamentali, Torino, Giappichelli, 2014 (terza edizione).

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
M. FIORAVANTI Appunti di storia delle costituzioni moderne. Le libertà fondamentali. Torino 1995
E. Dezza Lezioni di storia della codificazione civile: il Code civil (1804) e l'Allgemeines Bürgerliches Gesetzbuch (ABGB, 1812). G. Giappichelli Editore 2000

Examination Methods

Oral exam. Marks are expressed in thirtieths.

Attending students must demonstrate that they have achieved sufficient knowledge on the main topics of the course. Partial exam is scheduled at the closing of the course. The exam date will be communicated by the teacher at the beginning of the course.

Non-attending students must demonstrate sufficient knowledge of the textbooks.

ERASMUS students are requested to contact the teacher at the beginning of the course in order to properly plan their study. The exam is held in Italian.

???AdattamentoProvaEsameDSA???

Teaching materials

Type D and Type F activities

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Student mentoring


Internships

Internships are aimed at enabling students to gain direct knowledge of the world of work and to acquire specific professional skills.

Internships are carried out under the responsibility of an individual lecturer, and can be carried out in professional firms, public administration bodies and companies recognised by the University of Verona.

Any CFU credits gained by doing internships will be recognised and recorded by the University in accordance with the relevant University regulations in force (Regolamento d’Ateneo per il riconoscimento dei crediti maturati negli stage universitari).

For further information on internships, please go to: https://www.univr.it/it/i-nostri-servizi/stage-e-tirocini.


Language skills


Dissertation


Graduation


Gestione carriere


Area riservata studenti