Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
Sem 1A Sep 23, 2019 Oct 31, 2019
Sem 1B Nov 11, 2019 Jan 11, 2020
Sem 2A Feb 17, 2020 Mar 28, 2020
Sem 2B Apr 6, 2020 May 30, 2020
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione d'esame invernale Jan 13, 2020 Feb 15, 2020
Sessione d'esame estiva (gli esami sono sospesi durante la sessione di laurea) Jun 3, 2020 Jul 25, 2020
Sessione d'esame autunnale Aug 24, 2020 Sep 19, 2020
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione di laurea estiva Jul 6, 2020 Jul 11, 2020
Sessione di laurea autunnale 19-20 Nov 2, 2020 Nov 7, 2020
sessione di laurea invernale 19-20 Apr 7, 2021 Apr 13, 2021
Holidays
Period From To
Festa di Ognissanti Nov 1, 2019 Nov 1, 2019
Sospensione delle lezioni Nov 2, 2019 Nov 2, 2019
Festa dell'Immacolata Dec 8, 2019 Dec 8, 2019
Vacanze di Natale Dec 23, 2019 Jan 6, 2020
Vacanze di Pasqua Apr 10, 2020 Apr 14, 2020
Festa della Liberazione Apr 25, 2020 Apr 25, 2020
Festa del Lavoro May 1, 2020 May 1, 2020
Sospensione delle lezioni May 2, 2020 May 2, 2020
Festa del Santo Patrono May 21, 2020 May 21, 2020
Sospensione delle lezioni May 22, 2020 May 23, 2020
Festa della Repubblica Jun 2, 2020 Jun 2, 2020
Vacanze estive Aug 10, 2020 Aug 15, 2020

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Culture and Civilisation Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G L M O P R S T U V Z

Aikema Bernard Jan Hendrik

bernard.aikema@univr.it (per tutti), aikemaforstudents@gmail.com (per studenti) +39 045802 8197

Arcangeli Alessandro

alessandro.arcangeli@univr.it +39 045802 8351

Artoni Paola

paola.artoni@univr.it 045.802.8141

Barbierato Federico

federico.barbierato@univr.it 045 802 8351

Bassetti Massimiliano

massimiliano.bassetti@univr.it 045802 8376

Basso Patrizia

patrizia.basso@univr.it +39 045802 8638

Bianchi Edoardo

edoardo.bianchi@univr.it +39 045 802 8108

Borghetti Vincenzo

vincenzo.borghetti@univr.it +39 045 802 8584

Brunetti Simona

simona.brunetti@univr.it +39 045802 8575

Buonopane Alfredo

alfredo.buonopane@univr.it +39 0458028120

Camurri Renato

renato.camurri@univr.it +39 045 802 8635

Ciancio Luca

luca.ciancio@univr.it +39 045802 8122

Coden Fabio

fabio.coden@univr.it 045802 8365

Concina Chiara Maria

chiara.concina@univr.it +39 045 802 8325

Cretella Stefania

stefania.cretella@libero.it

Dalla Valle Marco

marco.dallavalle@univr.it

Dal Pozzolo Enrico

enrico.dalpozzolo@univr.it +39 045802 8569

Dobreva Diana Sergeeva

dianasergeeva.dobreva@univr.it +39 045802 8392

Ferrarini Edoardo

edoardo.ferrarini@univr.it +39 045802 8112

Formiga Federica

federica.formiga@univr.it 045802 8123

Forner Fabio

fabio.forner@univr.it + 39 045 802 8194

Franco Tiziana

tiziana.franco@univr.it +39 045802 8380

Giannotti Vincenzo

vincenzo.giannotti@univr.it

Grossi Piergiovanna

piergiovanna.grossi@univr.it

Lazzarin Gianmarco

gianmarco.lazzarin@univr.it 045 802 8391

Lerco Elisa

elisa.lerco@univr.it

Ligugnana Giovanna

giovanna.ligugnana@univr.it +39 045 8028892

Lupi Francesco

francesco.lupi@univr.it

Mastrocinque Attilio

attilio.mastrocinque@univr.it +39 045802 8386

Migliavacca Mara Gioia

maragioia.migliavacca@univr.it +39 045802 8392

Molteni Monica

monica.molteni@univr.it 045 8028021

Ophaelders Markus Georg

markus.ophalders@univr.it 045-8028732

Paini Anna Maria

anna.paini@univr.it +39 045802 8129

Pappalardo Maria

maria.pappalardo@univr.it +39 045802 8391

Pasqualicchio Nicola

nicola.pasqualicchio@univr.it 0458028585

Ponchia Simonetta

simonetta.ponchia@univr.it +39 045802 8365

Raccanelli Renata

renata.raccanelli@univr.it 0458028366

Rizzo Luca Simone

lucasimone.rizzo@univr.it / lucasimone.rizzo@unipd.it

Rodighiero Andrea

andrea.rodighiero@univr.it +39 045 802 8643

Rossi Mariaclara

mariaclara.rossi@univr.it 045 802 8380

Saggioro Fabio

fabio.saggioro@univr.it +39 045 802 8113

Scandola Alberto

alberto.scandola@univr.it 045.8028586

Soldani Arnaldo

arnaldo.soldani@univr.it 045 - 8028648

Stoffella Marco

marco.stoffella@univr.it +39 045802 8376

Terraroli Valerio

valerio.terraroli@univr.it 0458028441

Ugolini Gherardo

gherardo.ugolini@univr.it +39 0458028665

Vannini Carlo

carlo.vannini@accademiabelleartiverona.it

Venturelli Paola

paola.venturelli@univr.it

Viola Corrado

corrado.viola@univr.it +39 045802 8194

Zamperini Alessandra

alessandra.zamperini@univr.it 0458028685

Zangrandi Alessandra

alessandra.zangrandi@univr.it 0458028115

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

CURRICULUM TIPO:
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1 module to be chosen among the following
6
A
L-FIL-LET/02
6
A
L-FIL-LET/04
6
A
L-FIL-LET/09
Foreign language (B1 level)
6
E
-
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1 module to be chosen among the following
2 modules to be chosen among the following
6
B
L-ANT/01

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1 module to be chosen among the following
6
A
L-FIL-LET/02
6
A
L-FIL-LET/04
6
A
L-FIL-LET/09
Foreign language (B1 level)
6
E
-

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1 module to be chosen among the following
2 modules to be chosen among the following
6
B
L-ANT/01
Modules Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°
Further activities
6
F
-

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S02191

Credits

6

Also offered in courses

Language

Italian

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

L-ANT/07 - CLASSICAL ARCHAEOLOGY

Period

CuCi IB dal Nov 9, 2020 al Jan 9, 2021.

To show the organization of the course that includes this module, follow this link:  Course organization

Learning outcomes

The main aim of the course on Archaeology and History of Greek and Roman Art (part II) is to acquire useful knowledge in identification and typological, functional and chronological classification of the artistic and artisan expressions of the Greek and Roman civilisations between 9th cent. BC to the beginning of the 4th cent. AD. During the lectures a general framework of the Greek and Roman artistic production will be developed through chronological articulation and by paying specific attention to ancient sculpture, portraits, pottery and glass. During the lessons a central theme will be the relationship between Greek and Roman culture e its particular expression in the ancient art and material culture.
The expected results of learning are:

KNOWLEDGES:
1. To be familiar with the basic archaeological terminology.
2. To be aware of the periodization of the Greek and Roman world in order to position correctly the major monuments and objects.
3. To be acquainted with the diachronic development of different styles and techniques, of cultural forms due to variety of artistic choices and the role of the one who orders the commission.
SKILLS
1. To use correctly the basic archaeological terminology, with particular attention to this related to the material culture studies.
2. To adopt interdisciplinary methods and approaches in order to read and understand the ancient art.
3. To put into the correct social, economical and historical background the artistic expressions of the Greek and Roman culture.
4. To disseminate by using suitable vocabulary aspects of the Greek and Roman archaeological heritage.

Program

The course intends to provide an introduction of the historic evolution of Greek and Roman culture through the examination of artistic and artisan products made between 9th cent. BC and the beginning of the 4th cent. AD. The programme of the course is organised into the following educational units:

1. Sculpture:
- Greek models;
- Hellenistic repertoire;
- Roman historical representations;
- Major triumphal monuments;

2. Portraits:
- The lost Greek art and the Roman copies (adopting the Greek art);
- Types of statue groups;
- Links between Greek and Roman cultures;

3. Pottery:
- Greek and Magno-Greek pottery:
a) Productions and repertoire;
b) In the potter’s workshop;
c) Black figure vase-painting;
d) Red figure vase-painting;
- Roman pottery:
a) Production and trade;
b) Consumption and globalisation;

4. Glass
- Technology and workshops
- Hellenistic mould-made glass
- Glass cameo technique
- Blown-made glass

Follow-up meetings
As part of the course will be organised some follow-up meetings, developed through a cross-cutting issue as the research on the relationship between Greek and Roman sculpture; pottery painting and visual transmission; the globalisation of Roman taste.

It’s expected that students have already attended the first part of the course – Archaeology and history of Greek and Roman Art (I part). Furthermore, it is believed that one has good knowledge of History of Greek and Roman world and of ancient geography (we suggest the use of historic atlas). We hereby heartily recommend the participation of the follow-up meetings and seminars, as so of the archaeological excavations organised by the other disciplines related to the field of Classics.

The meetings will be established in the dual mode system, delivering the courses concurrently for on-campus students and off-campus online students and using PowerPoint presentations that will be get available to the students through the Moodle platform.

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
G. Bejor, M. Castoldi, C. Lambrugo Arte greca. Dal decimo al primo secolo a.C. Mondadori Università 2013
M. Papini Arte romana Mondadori Università 2016
G. Bejor, M. Castoldi, C. Lambrugo, E. Panero Botteghe e artigiani Mondadori Università 2012
R. Francovich e D. Manacorda Dizionario di archeologia Laterza 2006

Examination Methods

The aim of the exam consists in testing the expected results of the learning objectives previously listed.
The exam will provide written examination for on campus students that will consist of the identification of monuments or artefacts, of the description of the their stylistic and technical characteristics, of their correct dating (based on the images includes in the PowerPoint presentations). An example of the exam test will be shortly discussed during the lectures. The same admission requirements and assessment criteria are applied to off-campus on line students that choose the possibility to make the exam on line.
For the final judgment will factor in the ability of the students to identify with expertise and self-confidence the monuments and the finds presented during the lectures, facing their description and chronological overview, so as the ability to deduce starting from technical analyses of the artefacts social, economical, historical and cultural conclusions.

Bibliography

Type D and Type F activities

Semestrino 1A From 9/23/19 To 10/31/19
years Modules TAF Teacher
1° 2° 3° Lectures "Musiche/Culture/Civiltà" F Vincenzo Borghetti (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Musei civici Verona Conferences F Not yet assigned
1° 2° 3° C.T.G. Lectures F Alessandra Zamperini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Graphic and photographic documentation of the archaeological artefacts: from traditional drawings to digital sources F Patrizia Basso (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Ephigraphy of production and distribution F Alfredo Buonopane (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Introduction to the study of decorative arts F Valerio Terraroli (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Presente e futuro del pianeta. economia, sostenibilità e politiche F Gian Maria Varanini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° How to write your dissertation F Alessandro Arcangeli (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Introductory seminar on art interpretation - BC F Enrico Dal Pozzolo (Coordinatore)
Semestrino 1B From 11/11/19 To 1/11/20
years Modules TAF Teacher
1° 2° 3° Lectures "Musiche/Culture/Civiltà" F Vincenzo Borghetti (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Musei civici Verona Conferences F Not yet assigned
1° 2° 3° Contemporanee / Contemporanei F Valerio Terraroli (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° C.T.G. Lectures F Alessandra Zamperini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Graphic and photographic documentation of the archaeological artefacts: from traditional drawings to digital sources F Patrizia Basso (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Ephigraphy of production and distribution F Alfredo Buonopane (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Il museo di Palazzo Maffei: dall’arte antica alla contemporaneità F Valerio Terraroli (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Introduction to the study of decorative arts F Valerio Terraroli (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Read and interpret the physical phenomena on the IGM cartography F Silvino Salgaro (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Presente e futuro del pianeta. economia, sostenibilità e politiche F Gian Maria Varanini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° How to write your dissertation F Alessandro Arcangeli (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Introductory seminar on art interpretation - BC F Enrico Dal Pozzolo (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Un patrimonio urbano da ri-conoscere e ri-valutare: ville e palazzi storici di verona e circondario F Gian Maria Varanini (Coordinatore)
Semestrino 2A From 2/17/20 To 3/28/20
years Modules TAF Teacher
1° 2° 3° Musei civici Verona Conferences F Not yet assigned
1° 2° 3° Contemporanee / Contemporanei F Valerio Terraroli (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° C.T.G. Lectures F Alessandra Zamperini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Graphic and photographic documentation of the archaeological artefacts: from traditional drawings to digital sources (Part II) F Patrizia Basso (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Giornate fai di primavera (1 cfu) F Monica Molteni (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Iconography of Female Fashion. The Social Meaning of Clothes through Visual Arts, from the Renaissance to the 17th Century. F Alessandra Zamperini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Il museo di Palazzo Maffei: dall’arte antica alla contemporaneità F Valerio Terraroli (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Lab on Methodology of Ethnographic Research F Stefano Maltese (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Basic laboratory of data F Maurizio Boscaini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Educational workshop on bibliotherapy F Marco Dalla Valle (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Laboratory of photo F Carlo Vannini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Workshop on Noninvasive Analytical Techniques Applied to Paintings F Paola Artoni (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° How to write your dissertation F Alessandro Arcangeli (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° History, materials, techniques and criticism of decorative arts F Cristina Beltrami (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Cultural Heritage and the Web F Piergiovanna Grossi (Coordinatore)
Semestrino 2B From 4/6/20 To 5/30/20
years Modules TAF Teacher
1° 2° 3° Musei civici Verona Conferences F Not yet assigned
1° 2° 3° C.T.G. Lectures F Alessandra Zamperini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Graphic and photographic documentation of the archaeological artefacts: from traditional drawings to digital sources (Part II) F Patrizia Basso (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Fai un giro in villa (1 cfu) F Monica Molteni (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Workshop on classical archaeology F Piergiovanna Grossi (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Laboratory of medieval archaeology F Elisa Lerco (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Basic laboratory of data F Maurizio Boscaini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Educational workshop on bibliotherapy F Marco Dalla Valle (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Workshop on prehistory and protohistory F Anita Casarotto (Coordinatore)
List of courses with unassigned period
years Modules TAF Teacher
1° 2° 3° Art Verona F Not yet assigned
1° 2° 3° Giovedì' culturali dell'ISSR I ciclo F Tiziana Franco (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Giovedì' culturali dell'ISSR II ciclo F Tiziana Franco (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Univero’ 2019 F Tiziana Franco (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Urbs picta sulla storia dell’arte contemporanea F Not yet assigned
1° 2° 3° Urbs picta to be played - Video, immagine in movimento e videoinstallazione nella “generazione ottanta” F Not yet assigned

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.


Graduation

List of theses and work experience proposals

theses proposals Research area
Ambiti di tesi Art & Architecture - Art & Architecture
Stage Research area
Lavorare in archivio Various topics

Gestione carriere


Linguistic training CLA


Student mentoring


Area riservata studenti