Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

A.A. 2020/2021

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
CuCi IA Sep 21, 2020 Oct 31, 2020
CuCi IB Nov 9, 2020 Jan 9, 2021
CuCi IIA Feb 15, 2021 Apr 1, 2021
CuCi IIB Apr 14, 2021 May 29, 2021
Exam sessions
Session From To
sessione d'esame invernale CuCi Jan 11, 2021 Feb 13, 2021
sessione d'esame estiva CuCi Jun 7, 2021 Jul 24, 2021
sessione d'esame autunnale CuCi Aug 23, 2021 Sep 18, 2021
Degree sessions
Session From To
sessione di laurea invernale 19-20 Apr 7, 2021 Apr 13, 2021
sessione di laurea estiva 20-21 Jul 5, 2021 Jul 10, 2021
Sessione autunnale di laurea a.a. 2020/21 Nov 8, 2021 Nov 13, 2021
Sessione straordinaria di laurea a.a. 2020/21 Mar 28, 2022 Apr 2, 2022
Holidays
Period From To
Festa di Ognissanti Nov 1, 2020 Nov 1, 2020
Chiusura Ateneo ponte Immacolata Dec 7, 2020 Dec 7, 2020
Festa dell'Immacolata Dec 8, 2020 Dec 8, 2020
Vacanze di Natale Dec 24, 2020 Jan 6, 2021
Vacanze di Pasqua Apr 2, 2021 Apr 6, 2021
Festa della liberazione Apr 25, 2021 Apr 25, 2021
Festa del lavoro May 1, 2021 May 1, 2021
Festa del Santo Patrono May 21, 2021 May 21, 2021
Sospensione delle lezioni May 22, 2021 May 22, 2021
Festa della Repubblica Jun 2, 2021 Jun 2, 2021
Vacanze estive Aug 9, 2021 Aug 15, 2021

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Culture and Civilisation Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G L M O P R S T U V Z

Aikema Bernard Jan Hendrik

bernard.aikema@univr.it (per tutti), aikemaforstudents@gmail.com (per studenti) +39 045802 8197

Arcangeli Alessandro

alessandro.arcangeli@univr.it +39 045802 8351

Artoni Paola

paola.artoni@univr.it 045.802.8141

Barbierato Federico

federico.barbierato@univr.it 045 802 8351

Bassetti Massimiliano

massimiliano.bassetti@univr.it 045802 8376

Basso Patrizia

patrizia.basso@univr.it +39 045802 8638

Bianchi Edoardo

edoardo.bianchi@univr.it +39 045 802 8108

Borghetti Vincenzo

vincenzo.borghetti@univr.it +39 045 802 8584

Brunetti Simona

simona.brunetti@univr.it +39 045802 8575

Buonopane Alfredo

alfredo.buonopane@univr.it +39 0458028120

Camurri Renato

renato.camurri@univr.it +39 045 802 8635

Ciancio Luca

luca.ciancio@univr.it +39 045802 8122

Coden Fabio

fabio.coden@univr.it 045802 8365

Concina Chiara Maria

chiara.concina@univr.it +39 045 802 8325

Cretella Stefania

stefania.cretella@libero.it

Dalla Valle Marco

marco.dallavalle@univr.it

Dal Pozzolo Enrico

enrico.dalpozzolo@univr.it +39 045802 8569

Dobreva Diana Sergeeva

dianasergeeva.dobreva@univr.it +39 045802 8392

Ferrarini Edoardo

edoardo.ferrarini@univr.it +39 045802 8112

Formiga Federica

federica.formiga@univr.it 045802 8123

Forner Fabio

fabio.forner@univr.it + 39 045 802 8194

Franco Tiziana

tiziana.franco@univr.it +39 045802 8380

Giannotti Vincenzo

vincenzo.giannotti@univr.it

Grossi Piergiovanna

piergiovanna.grossi@univr.it

Lazzarin Gianmarco

gianmarco.lazzarin@univr.it 045 802 8391

Lerco Elisa

elisa.lerco@univr.it

Ligugnana Giovanna

giovanna.ligugnana@univr.it +39 045 8028892

Lupi Francesco

francesco.lupi@univr.it

Mastrocinque Attilio

attilio.mastrocinque@univr.it +39 045802 8386

Migliavacca Mara Gioia

maragioia.migliavacca@univr.it +39 045802 8392

Molteni Monica

monica.molteni@univr.it 045 8028021

Ophaelders Markus Georg

markus.ophalders@univr.it 045-8028732

Paini Anna Maria

anna.paini@univr.it +39 045802 8129

Pappalardo Maria

maria.pappalardo@univr.it +39 045802 8391

Pasqualicchio Nicola

nicola.pasqualicchio@univr.it 0458028585

Ponchia Simonetta

simonetta.ponchia@univr.it +39 045802 8365

Raccanelli Renata

renata.raccanelli@univr.it 0458028366

Rizzo Luca Simone

lucasimone.rizzo@univr.it / lucasimone.rizzo@unipd.it

Rodighiero Andrea

andrea.rodighiero@univr.it +39 045 802 8643

Rossi Mariaclara

mariaclara.rossi@univr.it 045 802 8380

Saggioro Fabio

fabio.saggioro@univr.it +39 045 802 8113

Scandola Alberto

alberto.scandola@univr.it 045.8028586

Soldani Arnaldo

arnaldo.soldani@univr.it 045 - 8028648

Stoffella Marco

marco.stoffella@univr.it +39 045802 8376

Terraroli Valerio

valerio.terraroli@univr.it 0458028441

Ugolini Gherardo

gherardo.ugolini@univr.it +39 0458028665

Vannini Carlo

carlo.vannini@accademiabelleartiverona.it

Viola Corrado

corrado.viola@univr.it +39 045802 8194

Zamperini Alessandra

alessandra.zamperini@univr.it 0458028685

Zangrandi Alessandra

alessandra.zangrandi@univr.it 0458028115

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

CURRICULUM TIPO:
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
6
A
(M-GGR/01)
1 module to be chosen among the following
6
A
(L-FIL-LET/02)
6
A
(L-FIL-LET/04)
6
A
(L-FIL-LET/09)
Foreign language B1
6
E
-
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1 module to be chosen among the following
6
A
(L-OR/03)
6
A
(L-ANT/03)
2 modules to be chosen among the following
6
B
(M-STO/08)
6
B
(L-ANT/01)
6
B
(L-ANT/01)
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1 module to be chosen among the following
6
A
(L-OR/03)
6
A
(L-ANT/03)
1 module to be chosen among the following
Final exam
6
E
-

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
6
A
(M-GGR/01)
1 module to be chosen among the following
6
A
(L-FIL-LET/02)
6
A
(L-FIL-LET/04)
6
A
(L-FIL-LET/09)
Foreign language B1
6
E
-

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1 module to be chosen among the following
6
A
(L-OR/03)
6
A
(L-ANT/03)
2 modules to be chosen among the following
6
B
(M-STO/08)
6
B
(L-ANT/01)
6
B
(L-ANT/01)

3° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1 module to be chosen among the following
6
A
(L-OR/03)
6
A
(L-ANT/03)
1 module to be chosen among the following
Final exam
6
E
-
Modules Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°
Other activities
6
F
-

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S02111

Credits

6

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

L-ANT/10 - METHODS OF ARCHAEOLOGICAL RESEARCH

Language

Italian

Period

CuCi IB dal Nov 9, 2020 al Jan 9, 2021.

Learning outcomes

The course on Methodology of Archaeological Research aims to direct the students into the set of problems relevant to the archaeological research in order to obtain theoretical knowledge of the methodological and technical fundamentals of Archaeology, to be improved additionally by practical exercises during field work and laboratory practises.      KNOWLEDGES: 1. To be familiar with interdisciplinary methods and approaches in Archaeology in order to read and understand the material culture data correctly. 2. To be aware of particular archaeological terminology of the field. SKILLS: 1. To understand the principal techniques and strategies in stratigraphy of the archaeological diggings. 2. To use correctly particular archaeological terminology. 3. To learn the variety of archaeometrical approaches that are usually used in the archaeological research (as durng the investigation of material culture evidence, landscapes, sites and so on).


Program

The course aims to illustrate methods and approaches usually used during the field research and during the elaboration and historical interpretation of the archaeological data. In particular, the course will be structured into two separate parts teach by two different lecturers.

In the first part (12 hours, held by Mara Migliavacca) will be addressed the following themes:
- Technical aspects and operational models in field and in lab (stratigraphic excavations and surveys).
- The contribution of the scientific disciplines (geomorphology, paleo botanic, achaeozoology, dendrochronology, archaeometry and so on) to the archaeological studies.
- Some aspects on etnoarchaeology used to interpret the archaeological data .

The second part (24 hours, held by Diana Dobreva) will be dedicated to the management of the archaeological finds recovered during the archaeological excavations and surveys and to some aspects of the public archaeology. The course will deal with:
- Methods of collecting, quantification and documentation of the archaeological finds;
- Notes on preliminary classification: parameters of classification and analytical study of the pottery finds recovered during archaeological investigations;
- Typological analyses and context data management of the archaeological materials;
- The use of the archaeological finds during the interpretation of the site and/or area;
- Some aspects related to the public archaeology and the valorisation and public fruition of archaeological sites and areas;

The meetings will be established in the dual mode system, delivering the courses concurrently for on-campus students and off-campus online students and using PowerPoint presentations that will be get available to the students through the Moodle platform.
To the students attending the course will be offered the possibility to participate to the archaeological excavations organised by the lecturers during the summer.

Reference list of titles
Notes of the lectures and of the illustrations made available through the e-learning platform (Powerpoint presentations from the lessons). Furthermore, it’s expected the study of:

R. FRANCOVICH, D. MANACORDA (a cura di), Dizionario di archeologia, Roma-Bari 2000 (items Archeobotanica; Archeometria; Archeozoologia; Architettura, archeologia della; Ceramica; Classificazione e tipologia; Comunicazione archeologica; Contesto; Datazione, metodi di; Diagnostica archeologica; Disegno ricostruttivo; Geoarcheologia; Post-processuale, archeologia; Processi formativi; Quantitativa, archeologia; Residuo; Scavo archeologico; Scavo, pratica e documentazione).

The students who are not able to attend the course are expected to integrate their own competences also by selecting one of the following titles:
F. CAMBI, Archeologia dei paesaggi antichi: fonti e diagnostica, Roma 2003.
D. MANACORDA, Lezioni di archeologia, Laterza, Roma-Bari 2008.
A. CARANDINI, Storie dalla terra, Einaudi, Torino ed. 2010.
A. GABUCCI, L’archeologia come mestiere. Dallo scavo al magazzino. I materiali, EUT, Trieste 2013 (it’s free avalilable on https://www.openstarts.units.it).

Bibliografia

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
F. Cambi Archeologia dei paesaggi antichi: fonti e diagnostica Carocci 2003
R. Francovich e D. Manacorda Dizionario di archeologia Laterza 2006
A. Gabucci L’archeologia come mestiere. Dallo scavo al magazzino. I materiali EUT 2013
D. Manacorda Lezioni di archeologia Laterza 2008
A. Carandini Storie dalla terra Einaudi 2010

Examination Methods

The aim of the exam consists in testing the expected results of learning objectives previously listed.
The exam will provide an oral examination. The same admission requirements and assessment criteria are applied to off-campus on line students that choose the possibility to make the exam on line.

Type D and Type F activities

CuCi IA From 9/21/20 To 10/31/20
years Modules TAF Teacher
1° 2° 3° Castelvecchio Lectures (City Art Museums) F Alessandra Zamperini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° C.T.G. Lectures F Alessandra Zamperini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Giornata mondiale della poesia F Arnaldo Soldani (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Giovedì' culturali dell'ISSR I ciclo F Tiziana Franco (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° The Unesco World Heritage Sites F Silvana Bianchi (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Il testo en abyme: rappresentazioni della scrittura nell’Europa romantica - Convegno internazionale del CRIER - 5-6 novembre 2020 F Corrado Viola (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Orientaday F Tiziana Franco (Coordinatore)
CuCi IB From 11/9/20 To 1/9/21
years Modules TAF Teacher
1° 2° 3° Castelvecchio Lectures (City Art Museums) F Alessandra Zamperini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Convegno su carlo gozzi nel terzo centenario della nascita F Nicola Pasqualicchio (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° C.T.G. Lectures F Alessandra Zamperini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Giovedì' culturali dell'ISSR I ciclo F Tiziana Franco (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° How to write your dissertation F Alessandro Arcangeli (Coordinatore)
CuCi IIA From 2/15/21 To 4/1/21
years Modules TAF Teacher
1° 2° 3° Antifascismo/i, un percorso in quattro profili F Renato Camurri (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Archeology of protohistoric and historical buildings F Elisa Lerco (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Lectures "Musiche/Culture/Civiltà" F Vincenzo Borghetti (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Castelvecchio Lectures (City Art Museums) F Alessandra Zamperini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° C.T.G. Lectures F Alessandra Zamperini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Documentazione grafica e fotografica dei reperti archeologici F Sabrina Zago (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Iconography of Female Fashion. The Social Meaning of Clothes through Visual Arts, from the Renaissance to the 17th Century. F Alessandra Zamperini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° inlgese Iconography and Iconology F Valerio Terraroli (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Educational workshop on bibliotherapy F Marco Dalla Valle (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Laboratory of photo F Carlo Vannini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Laboratory of history of miniature F Marta Minazzato (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Workshop on Noninvasive Analytical Techniques Applied to Paintings F Paola Artoni (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Geographic Information Systems for Landscape Archaeology F Filippo Carraro (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° History of jewellery F Paola Venturelli (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Techniques of jewellery making F Paola Venturelli (Coordinatore)
CuCi IIB From 4/14/21 To 5/29/21
years Modules TAF Teacher
1° 2° 3° Antifascismo/i, un percorso in quattro profili F Renato Camurri (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Archeology of protohistoric and historical buildings F Elisa Lerco (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Cycle of CRIER Conferences for the Napoleon’s Death Bicentenary F Corrado Viola (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Lectures "Musiche/Culture/Civiltà" F Vincenzo Borghetti (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Castelvecchio Lectures (City Art Museums) F Alessandra Zamperini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° PhD Conference 2021: Margins and Forgotten places F Simona Brunetti (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° C.T.G. Lectures F Alessandra Zamperini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Documentazione grafica e fotografica dei reperti archeologici F Sabrina Zago (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° inlgese Iconography and Iconology F Valerio Terraroli (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Its Dark Materials. Incontri/confronti sulle tecniche e la conservazione dell'arte contemporanea F Monica Molteni (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Educational workshop on bibliotherapy F Marco Dalla Valle (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Laboratory of photo F Carlo Vannini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Laboratory of history of miniature F Marta Minazzato (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Workshop on Noninvasive Analytical Techniques Applied to Paintings F Paola Artoni (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Geographic Information Systems for Landscape Archaeology F Filippo Carraro (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° History of jewellery F Paola Venturelli (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Techniques of jewellery making F Paola Venturelli (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Cultural Heritage and the Web F Piergiovanna Grossi (Coordinatore)
List of courses with unassigned period
years Modules TAF Teacher
Introduction to the study of decorative arts F Valerio Terraroli (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Attivita' FAI F Not yet assigned
1° 2° 3° Practical exercises for the recognition of works of art - Enrico Dal Pozzolo (Coordinatore)

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Student mentoring


Gestione carriere


Graduation

Attachments

List of theses and work experience proposals

theses proposals Research area
Ambiti di tesi Art & Architecture - Art & Architecture
Stage Research area
Lavorare in archivio Various topics

Linguistic training CLA


Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.