Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
Sem. IA (31.10.16 sosp.lezioni) Oct 3, 2016 Nov 12, 2016
Sem. IB Nov 14, 2016 Jan 21, 2017
Sem. IIA Feb 27, 2017 Apr 22, 2017
Sem. IIB Apr 24, 2017 Jun 10, 2017
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione d'esami invernale Jan 23, 2017 Feb 25, 2017
Sessione d'esame estiva Jun 12, 2017 Jul 29, 2017
Sessione d'esami autunnale Aug 21, 2017 Sep 23, 2017
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione di Laurea Estiva Jul 10, 2017 Jul 15, 2017
Sessione di Laurea Autunnale Dec 18, 2017 Dec 21, 2017
Sessione di Laurea Invernale Mar 23, 2018 Mar 29, 2018
Holidays
Period From To
Festa di Ognissanti Nov 1, 2016 Nov 1, 2016
Festa dell'Immacolata Dec 8, 2016 Dec 8, 2016
Vacanze Natalizie Dec 23, 2016 Jan 7, 2017
Vacanze Pasquali Apr 14, 2017 Apr 18, 2017
Festa della Liberazione Apr 25, 2017 Apr 25, 2017
Festa dei Lavoratori May 1, 2017 May 1, 2017
Festa del Santo Patrono - San Zeno May 21, 2017 May 21, 2017
Festa della Repubblica Jun 2, 2017 Jun 2, 2017
Vacanze Estive Aug 14, 2017 Aug 19, 2017

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Culture and Civilisation Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

B C D F G M P S T V Z

Barbierato Federico

symbol email federico.barbierato@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8351

Boscaini Maurizio

symbol email maurizio.boscaini@univr.it

Brunetti Simona

symbol email simona.brunetti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8575

Caleffi Paola Maria

symbol email paolamaria.caleffi@univr.it

Calvi Lisanna

symbol email lisanna.calvi@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458028673

Camurri Renato

symbol email renato.camurri@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 8635

Cavaleri Mattia

symbol email mattia.cavaleri@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8015017
Cavallo,  February 10, 2019

Cavallo Tiziana

symbol email tiziana.cavallo@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458028030

Ceschi Andrea

symbol email andrea.ceschi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 8137

Corte Maurizio

symbol email maurizio.corte@univr.it

Cubico Serena

symbol email serena.cubico@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8132

Dalla Preda Mila

symbol email mila.dallapreda@univr.it

Delfitto Denis

symbol email denis.delfitto@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8114

Formiga Federica

symbol email federica.formiga@univr.it symbol phone-number 045802 8123

Franco Tiziana

symbol email tiziana.franco@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8380

Gallo Claudio

symbol email maxclaudiogallo@gmail.com

Grossato Elisa

symbol email elisa.grossato@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8647

Guaraldo Olivia

symbol email olivia.guaraldo@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8066

Magagnino Mario

symbol email mario.magagnino@gmail.com symbol phone-number 0458028418

Mastrocinque Attilio

symbol email attilio.mastrocinque@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8386

Migliorati Lorenzo

symbol email lorenzo.migliorati@univr.it symbol phone-number 045802 8135

Paini Anna Maria

symbol email anna.paini@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8129

Palma Flavia

symbol email flavia.palma@univr.it

Poggi Davide

symbol email davide.poggi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8361

Possenti Ilaria

symbol email ilaria.possenti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8687

Sandrini Giuseppe

symbol email giuseppe.sandrini@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8069

Sartori Riccardo

symbol email riccardo.sartori@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 8140

Scandola Alberto

symbol email alberto.scandola@univr.it symbol phone-number 045.8028586

Soldani Arnaldo

symbol email arnaldo.soldani@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 - 8028648

Tani Stefano

symbol email stefano.tani@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8110

Tuppini Tommaso

symbol email tommaso.tuppini@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8142

Valbusa Ivan

symbol email ivan.valbusa@univr.it

Viviani Debora

symbol email debora.viviani@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458028470

Zardini Alessandro

symbol email alessandro.zardini@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8565

Zorzi Margherita

symbol email margherita.zorzi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7908

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
A
L-LIN/12
2nd foreign language B1 (CB Test): French, German, Russian, Spanish
6
E
-

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
A
L-LIN/12
2nd foreign language B1 (CB Test): French, German, Russian, Spanish
6
E
-
Modules Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°
Stage/laboratories
9
F
-

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




S Placements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

iIntroductory
padvanced
mMasterful

Teaching code

4S02215

Coordinatore

Anna Maria Paini

Credits

6

Language

Italian

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

M-DEA/01 - DEMOLOGY, ETHNOLOGY AND ANTHROPOLOGY

Period

Sem. 2B dal Apr 8, 2019 al Jun 1, 2019.

Learning outcomes

The course is designed to introduce students to a critical understanding of key concepts of the discipline in order to analyze through them how different contemporary situations are approached in the media, highlighting the peculiar sensitivity and the potentiality of an anthropological gaze.

At the end of the course the student is expected to :
a) have a better understanding of the main categories used within anthropology to understand inter-cultural processes.
b) become acquainted with anthropological research practices;
c) be capable of making use of the acquired tools to approach contemporary (inter)cultural processes;
d) be capable of a critical approach regarding relevant issues in the public debate.

Program

Anthropological knowledge is a practical knowledge, action oriented, and constantly engaging with other world views. Starting from these premises, the course will be divided into two parts:

Part one: Concepts and methodological tools within Anthropology

The critical analysis of some objects of study of the discipline, such as culture, boundaries, belonging, representation of alterity, practices and local knowledge as well as the methodological tools of the discipline (participant observation and ethnographic interviews).

Part two: Cultural stereotypes and fake news

The analysis of cases of "false rumors" circulating in the media from print media to the internet in the post-truth era. In some cases, these untruths/distortions are harmless, in others they are deliberate manipulations created ad hoc, news built on stereotypes, which can have devastating effects. Critically addressing "fake news" is a vital issue for students who are involved in communications. During the course we will deal with a particular type of "lies"(untruth/distortion), those that are fed from an imagery filled with cultural stereotypes. Fake news creates dangerous short circuits.

Course Readings:
1)Ugo Fabietti, 2015, Elementi di Antropologia culturale. Terza edizione. Mondadori Università

2) Silverman, Craig (2014) Lies, Damn Lies and Viral Content.
How News Websites Spread (and Debunk) Online Rumors, Unverified Claims and Misinformation.
Available from http://towcenter.org/research/lies-damn-lies-and-viral-content/

3) Rivera, Annamaria (2015) La guerra dei simboli. Veli postcoloniali e retoriche dell'alterità, Dedalo, Bari, including glossary pp.125-133.

Examination Methods

Final oral exam on the whole program; the student is asked questions about the course readings and about the main thematic issues they addressed. The student should bring with her/him the texts which s/he has studied.
The final evaluation is based on 30/30.
The oral test wants to verify:
- the breadth of knowledge gained;
- the use of a correct language;
- the ability to make connections and to discuss them.

For those attending classes : class participation, in-class presentation and reports/papers . More specific details will be given at the beginning of the course.

Erasmus and international students may study the texts and take the final exam in English or French. If interested, they need to discuss the choice of the new reading materials with me during Office hours.

???AdattamentoProvaEsameDSA???

Type D and Type F activities

Prima parte del Primo semestre From 10/3/16 To 11/12/16
years Modules TAF Teacher
1° 2° 3° Laboratory of History of Theatre F Simona Brunetti (Coordinatore)
Seconda parte del Primo semestre From 11/14/16 To 1/21/17
years Modules TAF Teacher
1° 2° 3° Laboratory of History of Theatre F Simona Brunetti (Coordinatore)
Prima parte del Secondo semestre From 2/27/17 To 4/22/17
years Modules TAF Teacher
Communication and human resources management D Serena Cubico (Coordinatore)
Data elaboration laboratory F Maurizio Boscaini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Professional interview F Riccardo Sartori (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Creative workshop in business communication F Riccardo Sartori (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Sociology of Communication F Lorenzo Migliorati (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Sociology of Mass Communication (p) F Lorenzo Migliorati (Coordinatore)
Seconda parte del Secondo semestre From 4/24/17 To 6/10/17
years Modules TAF Teacher
Communication and human resources management D Serena Cubico (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Creative workshop in business communication F Riccardo Sartori (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Laboratory of radio languages F Tiziana Cavallo (Coordinatore)

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Graduation

Attachments

Title Info File
Doc_Univr_pdf Tesi di laurea: vademecum per docenti e studenti 263 KB, 09/02/22 

List of theses and work experience proposals

theses proposals Research area
Laureandi Scienze della Comunicazione: vademecum Various topics
Stage Research area
L'iter del libro in biblioteca Various topics
POTENZIAMENTO COMUNICAZIONE E SOCIAL NETWORK Various topics
Proposte stages - Centro di ricerca Skenè Various topics

Linguistic training CLA


Student mentoring


Gestione carriere


Area riservata studenti