Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
I sem. Oct 1, 2014 Jan 30, 2015
II sem. Mar 2, 2015 Jun 12, 2015
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione straordinaria appelli d'esame Feb 2, 2015 Feb 27, 2015
Sessione estiva appelli d'esame Jun 15, 2015 Jul 31, 2015
Sessione autunnale appelli d'esame Sep 1, 2015 Sep 30, 2015
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione autunnale appello di laurea 2014 Nov 26, 2014 Nov 26, 2014
Sessione invernale appello di laurea 2015 Mar 18, 2015 Mar 18, 2015
Sessione estiva appello di laurea 2015 Jul 14, 2015 Jul 14, 2015
Sessione autunnale appello di laurea 2015 Nov 25, 2015 Nov 25, 2015
Sessione invernale appello di laurea 2016 Mar 16, 2016 Mar 16, 2016
Holidays
Period From To
Vacanze di Natale Dec 22, 2014 Jan 6, 2015
Vacanze di Pasqua Apr 2, 2015 Apr 7, 2015
Ricorrenza del Santo Patrono May 21, 2015 May 21, 2015
Vacanze estive Aug 10, 2015 Aug 16, 2015

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Science and Engineering Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

B C D F G L M O P Q T U V

Belussi Alberto

alberto.belussi@univr.it +39 045 802 7980

Bicego Manuele

manuele.bicego@univr.it +39 045 802 7072

Buffelli Mario Rosario

mario.buffelli@univr.it +39 0458027268

Capaldi Stefano

stefano.capaldi@univr.it +39 045 802 7907

Cicalese Ferdinando

ferdinando.cicalese@univr.it +39 045 802 7969

Combi Carlo

carlo.combi@univr.it 045 802 7985

Daffara Claudia

claudia.daffara@univr.it +39 045 802 7942

Delledonne Massimo

massimo.delledonne@univr.it 045 802 7962; Lab: 045 802 7058

Dell'Orco Daniele

daniele.dellorco@univr.it +39 045 802 7637

Dominici Paola

paola.dominici@univr.it 045 802 7966; Lab: 045 802 7956-7086

D'Onofrio Mariapina

mariapina.donofrio@univr.it 045 802 7801

Drago Nicola

nicola.drago@univr.it 045 802 7081

Farinelli Alessandro

alessandro.farinelli@univr.it +39 045 802 7842

Fiorini Paolo

paolo.fiorini@univr.it 045 802 7963

Giachetti Andrea

andrea.giachetti@univr.it +39 045 8027998

Giorgetti Alejandro

alejandro.giorgetti@univr.it 045 802 7982

Gobbi Bruno

bruno.gobbi@univr.it

Gregorio Enrico

Enrico.Gregorio@univr.it 045 802 7937

Lovato Pietro

pietro.lovato@univr.it +39 045 802 7035

Manca Vincenzo

vincenzo.manca@univr.it 045 802 7981

Masini Andrea

andrea.masini@univr.it 045 802 7922

Menegaz Gloria

gloria.menegaz@univr.it +39 045 802 7024

Oliboni Barbara

barbara.oliboni@univr.it +39 045 802 7077

Piccinelli Fabio

fabio.piccinelli@univr.it +39 045 802 7097

Posenato Roberto

roberto.posenato@univr.it +39 045 802 7967

Quaglia Davide

davide.quaglia@univr.it +39 045 802 7811

Trabetti Elisabetta

elisabetta.trabetti@univr.it 045/8027209

Villa Tiziano

tiziano.villa@univr.it +39 045 802 7034

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S00103

Credits

12

Coordinatore

Paola Dominici

Also offered in courses

The teaching is organized as follows:

Laboratorio di bioinformatica i

Credits

6

Period

II semestre

Academic staff

Daniele Dell'Orco

Elementi di biochimica

Credits

6

Period

I semestre

Academic staff

Not yet assigned

Learning outcomes

------------------------
MM: ELEMENTI DI BIOCHIMICA
------------------------

------------------------
MM: LABORATORIO DI BIOINFORMATICA I
------------------------
The course will provide the theoretical and practical basis to understand and employ algorithms and programs currently used in Bioinformatics. Major biological databases will be introduced with a special focus on genomic, proteomic and biochemical information. The students will also be introduced to the most modern fields of structural bioinformatics and systems biology.

Program

------------------------
MM: ELEMENTI DI BIOCHIMICA
------------------------

------------------------
MM: LABORATORIO DI BIOINFORMATICA I
------------------------
Theoretical Module - Overview of the main structural features of proteins and nucleic acids in relation to the concept of evolution. Introduction to biomolecular databases: online resources and their use - Biological databases: organization and integration of information concerning: a) protein and nucleic acid sequences; b) biomolecular structures; c) bibliographic and scientific literature. Retrieve of specific information: use of limitations and Boolean operators. - Sequence comparison and alignments: static and dynamic algorithms; substitution matrices (PAM,BLOSUM) - - Search-algorithms: FASTA and BLAST; Smith-Waterman; Needleman-Wunsch; statistic significance for an alignment (z-score, expectation values and probability) - Multiple sequence alignments: ClustalW, search on specific databases, other algorithms, PSI-BLAST - Short introduction on philogenetic trees - Introduction to Structural Bioinformatics: visualization and analysis of protein and nucleic acid 3D structures - Methods to predict protein secondary structure elements starting from the sequence - Introduction to Systems Biology: Spatial and temporal scales, static and dynamic models, mathematical frameworks, introduction on signal transduction networks Laboratory Module - Introduction to Linux - NCBI databases: Entrez interface, Gene, UniGene, Protein, Uniprot and EBI - Single and multiple sequence alignments, score matrices, optimal methods; online resources and spreadsheets - BLAST,PSI-BLAST and BLAT: online tools and their use - Tools for multiple alignments, the Homologene databank, computation and visualization of multiple alignments - Tools for phylogenesis : Mobyle (Institut Pasteur and Phylogeny.fr) - Introduction to PyMol and molecular visualization. Use of PSI-PRED and JPRED for predicting secondary structures from sequences - Systems biology: numerical simulation of simple biochemical reactions. Building simple kinetic models by using SBOTOOLBOX2 for Matlab; application to G-potein signalling cycles.

Bibliography

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
BERG-TYMOCZKO- STRYER BIOCHIMICA (Edizione 7) ZANICHELLI 2012

Examination Methods

------------------------
MM: ELEMENTI DI BIOCHIMICA
------------------------

------------------------
MM: LABORATORIO DI BIOINFORMATICA I
------------------------
Written exam for both modules. The two marks will be averaged. Students can chose to prepare a presentation in groups of 3-4 students on a selected database, which will also contribute to the final mark. An oral examination can be chose in addition, in order to improve the final mark.

Type D and Type F activities

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Graduation

List of theses and work experience proposals

Stage Research area
Correlated mutations Various topics

Attendance

As stated in point 25 of the Teaching Regulations for the A.Y. 2021/2022, attendance at the course of study is not mandatory.
Please refer to the Crisis Unit's latest updates for the mode of teaching.

Career management


Area riservata studenti