Studying at the University of Verona

A.A. 2017/2018

Academic calendar

Il calendario accademico riporta le scadenze, gli adempimenti e i periodi rilevanti per la componente studentesca, personale docente e personale dell'Università. Sono inoltre indicate le festività e le chiusure ufficiali dell'Ateneo.
L’anno accademico inizia il 1° ottobre e termina il 30 settembre dell'anno successivo.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates. .

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
I sem. Oct 2, 2017 Jan 31, 2018
II sem. Mar 1, 2018 Jun 15, 2018
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione invernale d'esame Feb 1, 2018 Feb 28, 2018
Sessione estiva d'esame Jun 18, 2018 Jul 31, 2018
Sessione autunnale d'esame Sep 3, 2018 Sep 28, 2018
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione di laurea estiva Jul 18, 2018 Jul 18, 2018
Sessione di laurea autunnale Nov 22, 2018 Nov 22, 2018
Sessione di laurea invernale Mar 20, 2019 Mar 20, 2019
Holidays
Period From To
Christmas break Dec 22, 2017 Jan 7, 2018
Easter break Mar 30, 2018 Apr 3, 2018
Patron Saint Day May 21, 2018 May 21, 2018
Vacanze estive Aug 6, 2018 Aug 19, 2018

Exam calendar

The exam roll calls are centrally administered by the operational unit   Science and Engineering Teaching and Student Services Unit
Exam Session Calendar and Roll call enrolment   sistema ESSE3 . If you forget your password to the online services, please contact the technical office in your Faculty or to the service credential recovery .

Exam calendar

Per dubbi o domande Read the answers to the more serious and frequent questions - F.A.Q. Examination enrolment

Academic staff

B C D F G L M O P Q S T U

Belussi Alberto

alberto.belussi@univr.it +39 045 802 7980
Foto,  February 9, 2017

Bloisi Domenico Daniele

domenico.bloisi@univr.it

Bombieri Nicola

nicola.bombieri@univr.it +39 045 802 7094

Bonacina Maria Paola

mariapaola.bonacina@univr.it +39 045 802 7046

Bonnici Vincenzo

vincenzo.bonnici@univr.it +39 045 802 7045

Boscaini Maurizio

maurizio.boscaini@univr.it

Busato Federico

federico.busato@univr.it

Calanca Andrea

andrea.calanca@univr.it +39 045 802 7847

Carra Damiano

damiano.carra@univr.it +39 045 802 7059

Combi Carlo

carlo.combi@univr.it 045 802 7985

Daffara Claudia

claudia.daffara@univr.it +39 045 802 7942

Dalla Preda Mila

mila.dallapreda@univr.it

Di Pierro Alessandra

alessandra.dipierro@univr.it +39 045 802 7971

Fiorini Paolo

paolo.fiorini@univr.it 045 802 7963

Fummi Franco

franco.fummi@univr.it 045 802 7994

Geretti Luca

luca.geretti@univr.it +39 045 802 7850

Giachetti Andrea

andrea.giachetti@univr.it +39 045 8027998

Giacobazzi Roberto

roberto.giacobazzi@univr.it +39 045 802 7995

Gobbi Bruno

bruno.gobbi@univr.it

Gregorio Enrico

Enrico.Gregorio@univr.it 045 802 7937

Lora Michele

michele.lora@univr.it

Maris Bogdan Mihai

bogdan.maris@univr.it +39 045 802 7074

Marzola Pasquina

pasquina.marzola@univr.it 045 802 7816 (ufficio); 045 802 7614 (laboratorio)

Mastroeni Isabella

isabella.mastroeni@univr.it +39 045 802 7089

Menegaz Gloria

gloria.menegaz@univr.it +39 045 802 7024

Mogavero Fabio

fabio.mogavero@univr.it

Oliboni Barbara

barbara.oliboni@univr.it +39 045 802 7077

Posenato Roberto

roberto.posenato@univr.it +39 045 802 7967

Pravadelli Graziano

graziano.pravadelli@univr.it +39 045 802 7081

Quaglia Davide

davide.quaglia@univr.it +39 045 802 7811

Segala Roberto

roberto.segala@univr.it 045 802 7997

Setti Francesco

francesco.setti@univr.it +39 045 802 7804

Spoto Nicola Fausto

fausto.spoto@univr.it +39 045 8027940

Tomazzoli Claudio

claudio.tomazzoli@univr.it

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

TeachingsCreditsTAFSSD
12
B
(INF/01)
6
C
(FIS/01)
6
B
(ING-INF/05)
12
B
(ING-INF/05)
6
B
(INF/01)
TeachingsCreditsTAFSSD
12
B
(ING-INF/05)
One course to be chosen among the following
6
B
(INF/01)
Training
6
F
-
Final exam
6
E
-

2° Anno

TeachingsCreditsTAFSSD
12
B
(INF/01)
6
C
(FIS/01)
6
B
(ING-INF/05)
12
B
(ING-INF/05)
6
B
(INF/01)

3° Anno

TeachingsCreditsTAFSSD
12
B
(ING-INF/05)
One course to be chosen among the following
6
B
(INF/01)
Training
6
F
-
Final exam
6
E
-

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S02843

Credits

6

Coordinatore

Bruno Gobbi

Also offered in courses

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

MAT/06 - PROBABILITY AND STATISTICS

Language of instruction

Italian

The teaching is organized as follows:

Teoria

Credits

4

Period

II sem.

Academic staff

Bruno Gobbi

Laboratorio [Cognomi A-L]

Credits

2

Period

II sem.

Academic staff

Bruno Gobbi

Laboratorio [Cognomi M-Z]

Credits

2

Period

II sem.

Academic staff

Bruno Gobbi

Learning outcomes

The course aims to provide the basic concepts of descriptive Statistics and Probability, by modeling concrete problems through the use of probabilistic methods and, at the same time, to underline the natural application of these concepts to mathematical Statistics. The course also aims to provide actual tools to apply the main statistical techniques to real cases.
By the end of the course, students will have to show their knowledge and understanding of the main statistical techniques for the description and analysis of the phenomena under study; to express the ability to apply the acquired knowledge and understanding skills for the interpretation of the results of the applied statistical analyzes in a critical and proactive way, by using the available tools; to know how to develop the necessary skills to continue the studies independently in the field of statistical Analysis.

Program

Descriptive statistics. Means, median, quantiles.
Variance and other statistics to measure the variability of a distribution.
Simmetry: Skewness of Pearson.
Independence test in crossed tables.
Linear Regression.
Introduction to probability theory: historical roots, three kinds of definition. Revision of set theory. Axiomatic definition of probability: outcomes, random experiments, sample space. Conditional probability: total probability theorem, law of compound probabilities.
Combinatorics elements: dispositions, permutations, combinations.
Random variables, discrete density function and cumulative distribution function. Mean, variance and n-th moment of random variables. Models of discrete distributions: Bernoulli distribution, uniform distribution, binomial distribution, geometric distribution, hyper-geometric distribution, Poisson distribution. Examples of continuous distributions: exponential distribution, Gaussian distribution. Characteristic function and (moment) generating function.
Inferential statistics: parameters estimation and statistical hypothesis testing.

Examination Methods

Written exam and test by using the R programming language.

The exam is divided into two parts: a Theory module (22 points) and a Laboratory module (8 points), to be held together.
The test will consist of:
- 3 exercises to be performed with paper, pen and calculator, related to the Theory module;
- 2 exercises about the R programming language, to be performed with paper and pen, related to the Laboratory module.

It is forbidden to use textbooks, manuals or notes during the exam.
Students may use a scientific calculator.

Bibliografia

Reference texts
Activity Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
Teoria P. Baldi Calcolo delle Probabilità e Statistica (Edizione 2) Mc Graw-Hill 1998 8838607370
Teoria D. OLIVIERI Fondamenti di statistica Cedam, Padova  
Teoria D. OLIVIERI Temi svolti di statistica (2001-2007) Cedam, Padova 2008

Teaching materials

Tipologia di Attività formativa D e F

Academic year

Course not yet included

Career prospects


Avvisi degli insegnamenti e del corso di studio

Per la comunità studentesca

Se sei già iscritta/o a un corso di studio, puoi consultare tutti gli avvisi relativi al tuo corso di studi nella tua area riservata MyUnivr.
In questo portale potrai visualizzare informazioni, risorse e servizi utili che riguardano la tua carriera universitaria (libretto online, gestione della carriera Esse3, corsi e-learning, email istituzionale, modulistica di segreteria, procedure amministrative, ecc.).
Entra in MyUnivr con le tue credenziali GIA.

University Language Centre - CLA

Allegati


Area riservata studenti


Tutorato per gli studenti

I docenti dei singoli Corsi di Studio erogano un servizio di tutorato volto a orientare e assistere gli studenti del triennio, in particolare le matricole, per renderli partecipi dell’intero processo formativo, con l’obiettivo di prevenire la dispersione e il ritardo negli studi, oltre che promuovere una proficua partecipazione attiva alla vita universitaria in tutte le sue forme.

TUTORATO PER GLI STUDENTI DELL’AREA DI SCIENZE E INGEGNERIA
Tutorato finalizzato a offrire loro un’attività di orientamento che possa essere di supporto per gli aspetti organizzativi e amministrativi della vita universitaria.
Le tutor attualemente di riferimento sono:
  • Dott.ssa Luana Uda, luana.uda@univr.it
  • Dott.ssa Roberta RIgaglia, roberta.rigaglia@univr.it

Tirocini e stage

Le attività di stage sono finalizzate a far acquisire allo studente una conoscenza diretta in settori di particolare attività per l’inserimento nel mondo del lavoro e per l’acquisizione di abilità specifiche di interesse professionale.
Le attività di stage sono svolte sotto la diretta responsabilità di un singolo docente presso studi professionali, enti della pubblica amministrazione, aziende accreditate dall’Ateneo veronese.
I crediti maturati in seguito ad attività di stage saranno attribuiti secondo quanto disposto nel dettaglio dal “Regolamento d’Ateneo per il riconoscimento dei crediti maturati negli stage universitari” vigente.

Tutte le informazioni in merito agli stage sono reperibili al link https://www.univr.it/it/i-nostri-servizi/stage-e-tirocini.
 

Graduation

List of theses and work experience proposals

theses proposals Research area
Analisi e percezione dei segnali biometrici per l'interazione con robot AI, Robotics & Automatic Control - AI, Robotics & Automatic Control
Integrazione del simulatore del robot Nao con Oculus Rift AI, Robotics & Automatic Control - AI, Robotics & Automatic Control
Domain Adaptation Computer Science and Informatics: Informatics and information systems, computer science, scientific computing, intelligent systems - Computer graphics, computer vision, multi media, computer games
Domain Adaptation Computer Science and Informatics: Informatics and information systems, computer science, scientific computing, intelligent systems - Machine learning, statistical data processing and applications using signal processing (e.g. speech, image, video)
BS or MS theses in automated reasoning Computing Methodologies - ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE
Domain Adaptation Computing Methodologies - IMAGE PROCESSING AND COMPUTER VISION
Domain Adaptation Computing methodologies - Machine learning
Dati geografici Information Systems - INFORMATION SYSTEMS APPLICATIONS
Analisi e percezione dei segnali biometrici per l'interazione con robot Robotics - Robotics
Integrazione del simulatore del robot Nao con Oculus Rift Robotics - Robotics
BS or MS theses in automated reasoning Theory of computation - Logic
BS or MS theses in automated reasoning Theory of computation - Semantics and reasoning
Proposte di tesi/collaborazione/stage in Intelligenza Artificiale Applicata Various topics
Proposte di Tesi/Stage/Progetto nell'ambito delle basi di dati/sistemi informativi Various topics

Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.