Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
I semestre Oct 1, 2020 Jan 29, 2021
II semestre Mar 1, 2021 Jun 11, 2021
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione invernale d'esame Feb 1, 2021 Feb 26, 2021
Sessione estiva d'esame Jun 14, 2021 Jul 30, 2021
Sessione autunnale d'esame Sep 1, 2021 Sep 30, 2021
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione Estiva Jul 19, 2021 Jul 19, 2021
Sessione Autunnale Oct 19, 2021 Oct 19, 2021
Sessione Autunnale Dicembre Dec 7, 2021 Dec 7, 2021
Sessione Invernale Mar 17, 2022 Mar 17, 2022
Holidays
Period From To
Festa dell'Immacolata Dec 8, 2020 Dec 8, 2020
Vacanze Natalizie Dec 24, 2020 Jan 3, 2021
Epifania Jan 6, 2021 Jan 6, 2021
Vacanze Pasquali Apr 2, 2021 Apr 5, 2021
Santo Patrono May 21, 2021 May 21, 2021
Festa della Repubblica Jun 2, 2021 Jun 2, 2021

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Science and Engineering Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrollment FAQs

Academic staff

B C D F G L M P Q R S T V Z

Belussi Alberto

symbol email alberto.belussi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7980

Bicego Manuele

symbol email manuele.bicego@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7072

Boscaini Maurizio

symbol email maurizio.boscaini@univr.it

Burato Alberto

symbol email alberto.burato@univr.it

Calanca Andrea

symbol email andrea.calanca@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7847

Calgaro Matteo

symbol email matteo.calgaro_01@univr.it

Canevari Giacomo

symbol email giacomo.canevari@univr.it symbol phone-number +390458027979

Carra Damiano

symbol email damiano.carra@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7059

Castellini Alberto

symbol email alberto.castellini@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7908

Centomo Stefano

symbol email stefano.centomo@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802(7048)

Collet Francesca

symbol email francesca.collet@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027979

Combi Carlo

symbol email carlo.combi@univr.it symbol phone-number +390458027985

Cozza Vittoria

symbol email vittoria.cozza@univr.it

Cristani Marco

symbol email marco.cristani@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7841

Daffara Claudia

symbol email claudia.daffara@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7942

Dai Pra Paolo

symbol email paolo.daipra@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 0458027093

Dalla Preda Mila

symbol email mila.dallapreda@univr.it

Di Pierro Alessandra

symbol email alessandra.dipierro@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7971

Drago Nicola

symbol email nicola.drago@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7081

Farinelli Alessandro

symbol email alessandro.farinelli@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7842

Fiorini Paolo

symbol email paolo.fiorini@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7963

Fummi Franco

symbol email franco.fummi@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7994

Giachetti Andrea

symbol email andrea.giachetti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027998

Giacobazzi Roberto

symbol email roberto.giacobazzi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7995

Ginesi Michele

symbol email michele.ginesi@univr.it

Gregorio Enrico

symbol email Enrico.Gregorio@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7937

Laking Rosanna Davison

symbol email rosanna.laking@univr.it

Lora Michele

symbol email michele.lora@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458027847

Maris Bogdan Mihai

symbol email bogdan.maris@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7074

Marzola Pasquina

symbol email pasquina.marzola@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7816 (ufficio); 045 802 7614 (laboratorio)

Mastroeni Isabella

symbol email isabella.mastroeni@univr.it symbol phone-number +390458027089

Migliorini Sara

symbol email sara.migliorini@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7908

Muradore Riccardo

symbol email riccardo.muradore@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7835

Pravadelli Graziano

symbol email graziano.pravadelli@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7081

Quaglia Davide

symbol email davide.quaglia@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7811

Quintarelli Elisa

symbol email elisa.quintarelli@univr.it symbol phone-number +390458027852

Rizzi Romeo

symbol email romeo.rizzi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027088

Sala Pietro

symbol email pietro.sala@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458027850

Segala Roberto

symbol email roberto.segala@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7997

Setti Francesco

symbol email francesco.setti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7804

Spellini Stefano

symbol email stefano.spellini@univr.it

Spoto Nicola Fausto

symbol email fausto.spoto@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027940

Storti Silvia Francesca

symbol email silviafrancesca.storti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7850

Tomazzoli Claudio

symbol email claudio.tomazzoli@univr.it

Visentin Francesco

symbol email francesco.visentin@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7964

Zivcovich Franco

symbol email franco.zivcovich@univr.it

Zorzi Margherita

symbol email margherita.zorzi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7908

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University.
Please select your Study Plan based on your enrollment year.

2° Year  activated in the A.Y. 2021/2022

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
B
INF/01
6
C
FIS/01
6
B
ING-INF/05
6
C
ING-INF/04
12
B
ING-INF/05

3° Year  activated in the A.Y. 2022/2023

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
B
ING-INF/05
1 module among the following
6
C
INF/01
6
C
ING-INF/04
Final exam
6
E
-
activated in the A.Y. 2021/2022
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
B
INF/01
6
C
FIS/01
6
B
ING-INF/05
6
C
ING-INF/04
12
B
ING-INF/05
activated in the A.Y. 2022/2023
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
B
ING-INF/05
1 module among the following
6
C
INF/01
6
C
ING-INF/04
Final exam
6
E
-
Modules Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 2°- 3°
Between the years: 2°- 3°
Training
6
F
-

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




S Placements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Type D and Type F activities

Le attività formative in ambito D o F comprendono gli insegnamenti impartiti presso l'Università di Verona o periodi di stage/tirocinio professionale.
Nella scelta delle attività di tipo D, gli studenti dovranno tener presente che in sede di approvazione si terrà conto della coerenza delle loro scelte con il progetto formativo del loro piano di studio e dell'adeguatezza delle motivazioni eventualmente fornite.
 

I semestre From 10/1/20 To 1/29/21
years Modules TAF Teacher
Control theory D Riccardo Muradore (Coordinator)
Biomedical Data and Signal Processing D Silvia Francesca Storti (Coordinator)
Matlab-Simulink programming D Bogdan Mihai Maris (Coordinator)
II semestre From 3/1/21 To 6/11/21
years Modules TAF Teacher
Introduction to 3D printing D Franco Fummi (Coordinator)
Python programming language D Vittoria Cozza (Coordinator)
HW components design on FPGA D Franco Fummi (Coordinator)
Rapid prototyping on Arduino D Franco Fummi (Coordinator)
Protection of intangible assets (SW and invention)between industrial law and copyright D Roberto Giacobazzi (Coordinator)
List of courses with unassigned period
years Modules TAF Teacher
Subject requirements: mathematics D Rossana Capuani
The fashion lab (1 ECTS) D Maria Caterina Baruffi (Coordinator)
LaTeX Language D Enrico Gregorio (Coordinator)

Teaching code

4S008200

Credits

6

Language

Italian

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

ING-INF/04 - SYSTEMS AND CONTROL ENGINEERING

Period

Semester 1 dal Oct 3, 2022 al Jan 27, 2023.

Learning objectives

The course aims to provide the mathematical tools needed to model, analyze and control a dynamic system in the time and frequency domain. At the end of the course the student will have the following knowledge and skills: Ability to analyze the properties of a dynamic system in the time and frequency domain; Ability to study the stability, robustness, and performance of a feedback system; Ability to design a control system starting from performance and robust stability requirements; Ability to evalu- ate the feasibility of a control system and choose the most appropriate design method. The student should also be able to work with other engineers (e.g. electronic, control, mechanical engineers) to design advanced control architectures, and to increase autonomously his/her knowledge in the con- text of control systems.

Prerequisites and basic notions

Mathematics, Physics (mechanics), System Theory

Program

Topics that will be addressed during the course:
- Review: continuous LTI systems, discrete LTI systems, stability, frequency analysis
- Properties of feedback systems
- Requirements of a control system: stability, robustness and performance
- Stability analysis using root locus
- Stability analysis using Nyquist diagrams, Nyquist criterion
- Stability analysis using Bode diagrams, Bode criterion
- Synthesis using frequency shaping
- Synthesis of PID controllers
- Synthesis using pole placement
- Advanced control schemes (cascade control, feedforward control, anti wind-up)
- Digital control systems
- Synthesis of digital control systems using pole placement
- Discretization of continuous control systems
Matlab laboratory on frequency synthesis
Matlab laboratory on PID controllers
Matlab laboratory on advanced control schemes

Bibliography

Visualizza la bibliografia con Leganto, strumento che il Sistema Bibliotecario mette a disposizione per recuperare i testi in programma d'esame in modo semplice e innovativo.

Didactic methods

Frontal lessons for the theoretical part; Lectures with the active involvement of students for the laboratory part. Students on certified Covid quarantine can contact the teacher for additional materials.

Learning assessment procedures

The exam will consist of a written test on the course topics. The exam will contain questions in the form of theoretical questions and exercises where it will be required to apply specific theoretical knowledge. Each question will contribute to the total score according to an additive metric that will be specified before the exam.

If the written test is evaluated positively, an optional oral test is foreseen, which will cover the theoretical part of the course. The overall score will be the mean of the oral and written tests scores.

Students with disabilities or specific learning disorders (SLD), who intend to request the adaptation of the exam, must follow the instructions given HERE

Evaluation criteria

To pass the exam, the student must demonstrate:
- to have understood the topics explained in the course,
- to be able to apply the knowledge acquired during the course to solve the assigned problems,
- be able to present their work and to argue the design choices.

Criteria for the composition of the final grade

The final grade will be the average of the written grade and of the possible oral exam.

Exam language

Italiano

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details: only in this way will you be able to receive notification of all the notices from your teachers and your secretariat via email and soon also via the Univr app.

Graduation

For schedules, administrative requirements and notices on graduation sessions, please refer to the Graduation Sessions - Science and Engineering service.

List of theses and work experience proposals

theses proposals Research area
Analisi e percezione dei segnali biometrici per l'interazione con robot AI, Robotics & Automatic Control - AI, Robotics & Automatic Control
Integrazione del simulatore del robot Nao con Oculus Rift AI, Robotics & Automatic Control - AI, Robotics & Automatic Control
Domain Adaptation Computer Science and Informatics: Informatics and information systems, computer science, scientific computing, intelligent systems - Computer graphics, computer vision, multi media, computer games
Domain Adaptation Computer Science and Informatics: Informatics and information systems, computer science, scientific computing, intelligent systems - Machine learning, statistical data processing and applications using signal processing (e.g. speech, image, video)
BS or MS theses in automated reasoning Computing Methodologies - ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE
Domain Adaptation Computing Methodologies - IMAGE PROCESSING AND COMPUTER VISION
Domain Adaptation Computing methodologies - Machine learning
Dati geografici Information Systems - INFORMATION SYSTEMS APPLICATIONS
Analisi e percezione dei segnali biometrici per l'interazione con robot Robotics - Robotics
Integrazione del simulatore del robot Nao con Oculus Rift Robotics - Robotics
BS or MS theses in automated reasoning Theory of computation - Logic
BS or MS theses in automated reasoning Theory of computation - Semantics and reasoning
Proposte di tesi/collaborazione/stage in Intelligenza Artificiale Applicata Various topics
Proposte di Tesi/Stage/Progetto nell'ambito dell'analisi dei dati Various topics

Attendance

As stated in the Teaching Regulations for the A.Y. 2022/2023, attendance at the course of study is not mandatory.
 


Career management


Student login and resources


Erasmus+ and other experiences abroad