Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

A.A. 2020/2021

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
Lezioni 2-3 anno 1 semestre TLB Oct 5, 2020 Nov 27, 2020
Lezioni 1anno 1 semestre TLB Oct 5, 2020 Dec 4, 2020
Lezioni 1-2-3 anno - 2 semestre TLB Mar 1, 2021 Apr 30, 2021
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione Esami invernale 1 anno Jan 7, 2021 Jan 29, 2021
Sessione Esami invernale 2 e 3 anno Feb 1, 2021 Feb 26, 2021
Sessione Esami Estiva 1-2-3 anno Jul 1, 2021 Jul 30, 2021
Sessione Esami Autunnale 1-2-3 anno Sep 1, 2021 Sep 30, 2021
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione di Laurea Autunnale 2020/2021 Oct 1, 2021 Nov 30, 2021
Sessione di Laurea Primaverile 2020/2021 Mar 1, 2022 Apr 30, 2022
Holidays
Period From To
Festa dell'Immacolata Dec 8, 2020 Dec 8, 2020
Festività Santo Patrono May 21, 2021 May 21, 2021
Other Periods
Description Period From To
Tirocinio 3 anno 2020/2021 Tirocinio 3 anno 2020/2021 Oct 5, 2020 Sep 30, 2021
Tirocinio 2 anno -1 periodo 20/21 Tirocinio 2 anno -1 periodo 20/21 Dec 1, 2020 Jan 29, 2021
Tirocinio 1 anno -1 periodo 20/21 Tirocinio 1 anno -1 periodo 20/21 Feb 1, 2021 Feb 26, 2021
Tirocinio 1 anno - 2 periodo 20/21 Tirocinio 1 anno - 2 periodo 20/21 May 3, 2021 Jun 30, 2021
Tirocinio 2 anno -2 periodo 20/21 Tirocinio 2 anno -2 periodo 20/21 May 3, 2021 Jun 30, 2021

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Medicine Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

B C D F G L M N P R S T V Z

Barresi Valeria

valeria.barresi@univr.it 045 812 1964

Bazzoni Flavia

flavia.bazzoni@univr.it +39 045 802 7128

Benati Marco

marco.benati@univr.it +39 045 812 4418 - 6698

Bontempi Pietro

pietro.bontempi@univr.it +39 045 802 7614

Brunelli Matteo

matteo.brunelli@univr.it +39 045 8124323

Buffelli Mario Rosario

mario.buffelli@univr.it +39 0458027268

Cane' Stefania

stefania.cane@univr.it +39 045 8126449

Chiamulera Cristiano

cristiano.chiamulera@univr.it +39 045 8027277

Chiarini Anna Maria

anna.chiarini@univr.it +39 045 802 7646

Cicoira Mariantonietta

mariantonietta.cicoira@univr.it +39 045 812 7720

Cisterna Barbara

barbara.cisterna@univr.it +39 045 802 7564

Danese Elisa

elisa.danese@univr.it +39 045 812 6698

De Sanctis Francesco

francesco.desanctis@univr.it 0458126454

Foroni Marina

marina.foroni@univr.it

Giavarina Davide

davide.giavarina@ulssvicenza.it 0444 753372

Gottardo Rossella

rossella.gottardo@univr.it 045 8124247

Gotte Giovanni

giovanni.gotte@univr.it 0458027694

Lievens Patricia

patricia.lievens@univr.it 0458027218

Ligozzi Marco

marco.ligozzi@univr.it 045 8027601

Lippi Giuseppe

giuseppe.lippi@univr.it +39 045 812 4308

Luchini Claudio

claudio.luchini@univr.it 045/8127457 (segreteria)

Mafficini Andrea

andrea.mafficini@univr.it +39 045 812 4846

Majori Silvia

silvia.majori@univr.it +39 045 8027653

Marcon Alessandro

alessandro.marcon@univr.it +39 045 802 7668

Mariotto Sofia Giovanna

sofia.mariotto@univr.it 0458027167

Martignoni Guido

guido.martignoni@univr.it 045 8027618

Mazzariol Annarita

annarita.mazzariol@univr.it 045 8027690

Meyer Anja

anja.meyer@univr.it

Milella Michele

michele.milella@univr.it 0458128502

Minuz Pietro

pietro.minuz@univr.it +39 045 812 4414

Montagnana Martina

martina.montagnana@univr.it +39 045 812 6698

Nadalet Sylvain Giovanni

sylvain.nadalet@univr.it +39 045 8028848

Negri Mauro

negrivr@tin.it 045/8072157

Nicoli Aldini Nicolo

nicolo.nicolialdini@gmail.com 338 7363781

Paolone Giovanna

giovanna.paolone@univr.it 0458027224

Polettini Aldo Eliano

aldo.polettini@univr.it 3337475432

Romano Maria

maria.romano@univr.it 0458027245

Russo Ivan

ivan.russo@univr.it 045 802 8161 (VR)

Salvagno Gian Luca

gianluca.salvagno@univr.it 045 8124308-0456449264

Signoretto Caterina

caterina.signoretto@univr.it 045 802 7195

Tafi Maria Carla

mariacarla.tafi@univr.it 045 8027245

Turco Alberto

alberto.turco@univr.it 0458027189

Verlato Giuseppe

giuseppe.verlato@univr.it 045 8027628

Vinante Fabrizio

fabrizio.vinante@univr.it +39 045 807 4032

Zamboni Giuseppe

giuseppe.zamboni@univr.it; giuseppe.zamboni@sacrocuore.it +39 045 6013415; +39 045 8124846

Zamboni Giulia

giulia.zamboni@univr.it 0458124301

Zoppini Giacomo

giacomo.zoppini@univr.it +39 045 8123115

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
8
A/B
(BIO/09 ,BIO/16 ,BIO/17 ,MED/46)
7
A/B
(BIO/13 ,MED/03 ,MED/07 ,MED/46)
7
B
(BIO/12 ,MED/46)
7
A/B
(FIS/07 ,ING-INF/06 ,ING-INF/07 ,MED/01)
3
E/F
(L-LIN/12)
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
8
B
(MED/07 ,MED/46 ,VET/06)
4
B
(MED/06 ,MED/11 ,MED/13 ,MED/15)
6
B
(MED/04)
4
A/B
(BIO/14 ,MED/46)

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
8
A/B
(BIO/09 ,BIO/16 ,BIO/17 ,MED/46)
7
A/B
(BIO/13 ,MED/03 ,MED/07 ,MED/46)
7
B
(BIO/12 ,MED/46)
7
A/B
(FIS/07 ,ING-INF/06 ,ING-INF/07 ,MED/01)
3
E/F
(L-LIN/12)

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
8
B
(MED/07 ,MED/46 ,VET/06)
4
B
(MED/06 ,MED/11 ,MED/13 ,MED/15)
6
B
(MED/04)
4
A/B
(BIO/14 ,MED/46)

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S000330

Credits

6

Coordinatore

Giovanni Gotte

The teaching is organized as follows:

Chimica e propedeutica biochimica

Credits

3

Period

Lezioni 1anno 1 semestre TLB

Academic staff

Giovanni Gotte

Biochimica

Credits

3

Period

Lezioni 1anno 1 semestre TLB

Academic staff

Sofia Giovanna Mariotto

Learning outcomes

The Integrated Course of Structural and Functional Sciences of the Biomolecules intends to provide the basic knowledge of Chemistry and Biochemistry. In particular: - Knowledge of the scientific method and possible practical effects in laboratories. - Knowledge of the main concepts of General and Organic Chemistry. - Further attention to the notions of Organic Chemistry preparatory to Biochemistry. - Knowledge on the structure-function relationships of the main classes of biological macromolecules and on metabolic regulation at the molecular level. - Knowledge about the interconnections existing between the different biochemical processes and the energy transformations connected to them. At the end of the course, the student / student must demonstrate to have acquired terminologies and notions useful for a critical analysis of chemical processes and vital biochemical phenomena in order to achieve autonomy of critical evaluation of the processes themselves, and appreciate their applicability in laboratory practice. MODULO CHIMICA E PROPEDEUTICA BIOCHIMICA The Chemistry course provides knowledge of: - The scientific method, underlined to explain phenomena occurring in the laboratories. - The main notions of General and Organic Chemistry. - Further attention is spent for notions, especially of Organic Chemistry, which are preparatory for the study of the Biochemistry. At the end of the Course, students should demonstrate to have acquired the proper scientific terms and notions in order to critically and autonomously evaluate the chemical processes and their application in the laboratory practice. MODULO BIOCHIMICA. The course is mostly focused on the relationship between structure and function of biological macromolecules and the main metabolic pathways in which they are involved. The fundamental objective is to stimulate the student's interest in biomolecular science by highlighting interconnections between biochemical processes and related energetics.At the end of the Course the student should demonstrate to have acquired the proper scientific terms and notions in order to critically and autonomously evaluate the biochemical processes of life.

Program

CHEMISTRY
-Matter: aggregation states, energy, intensive and extensive properties.
-Atom: atomic theory, atomic weight. Inside the atom: protons, neutrons, electrons. Orbital wave function. Quantum numbers and periodic properties. Connection between micro- and macroscopic levels: the mole.
-Chemical bond: ionic, covalent, weak bonds: hydrogen bond and hints of hydrophobic interactions. The ‘noble gas’ or octet rule.
-States of the matter: The law of ideal gases; real gases; vapour pressure; liquids and solutions; hints of solids.
-Chemical reactions: syntheses, swapping; acid-base and pH, redox reactions; examples of biochemistry redox reactions.
-Chemical equilibrium: in aqueous solution or not; the amphoteric nature of water. Connection between Keq and deltaG.
-Thermodynamics and kinetics: principles of thermodynamics and spontaneous, or not, reactions. Kinetic theory of collisions, activation energy and catalysis.
-Organic chemistry: the chemistry of carbon; hybridation of the carbon orbitals; stereochemistry; structure, nomenclature, functional groups of the oxygenated organic compounds, and reactivity of them. Aromatic compounds: structure and reactions. Nitrogen compounds and and most important reactions.

BIOCHEMISTRY
- Structure and function of proteins: amino acids; peptide bond; structural levels of proteins; fibrous proteins and globular proteins; hemoglobin and myoglobin; hemoglobin variants; classification, function and regulation of enzymes. Chromatography.
- Bioenergetics: metabolism, chemical transformations in the cell; thermodynamics; ATP as energy exchanger; oxidation/reductions.
- Structure and metabolism of carbohydrates; mono- and disaccharides; polysaccharides. Glycolysis and its regulation. Alcoholic and lactic fermentation.. Gluconeogenesis. Penthose phosphate pathway. structure, function and metabolism of glycogen.
- Oxidative decarboxylation of pyruvate: synthesis of AcetylCoA. Citric acid cycle; electron transport chain and oxidative phosphorylation; ATP synthesis.
- Structure and metabolism of lipids: structural lipids and biological membranes; lipids transport; lipids digestion and fatty acids beta-oxidation; hints on fatty acids biosynthesis
- Amino acid metabolism; transamination and oxidative deamination; urea cycle; metabolism of the carbon chain.

Frontal teaching is the exclusive method adopted in this Course.

Examination Methods

The exam modalities, unchanged with respect to the past ones, are reported here below. Certainly, the unpredictable conditions induced by the pandemic COVID-19 will probably induce some modifications that will be communicated promptly.

To pass the Chemistry module test, the students must demonstrate they acquired the comprehension and knowledge of the program topics. Furthermore, they must show the capability to expose their reasoning in a critical and precise manner, by using an appropriate scientific language.
The assessment of the subjects' learning in the Chemistry and Biochemistry modules is carried out through a joint oral test. The exam is preceded by a short written test consisting of 7 multiple-choice Chemistry Questions and 7 Biochemistry Multiple Questions. This test gives access to the oral exam only if the correct answers are at least five for each subject and remains valid for the entire academic year.
The final score will be expressed in thirtys (/30). The examination will be validated with a minimum score of 18/30.
6 examination appeals are foreseen in the whole Academic Year: 2 in the Winter Session, after the Course ending, 2 in the Summer Session, and 2 in the Autumn session.

Bibliografia

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
Bertoldi M, Colombo D, Magni F, Marin O, Palestini P. Chimica e Biochimica (Edizione 1) EdiSES 2015 978 88 7959 878 1
M Samaja e R.Paroni Chimica e biochimica. Per le lauree triennale dell'area biomedica Piccin 2016
A. Fiecchi, M. Galli Kienle, A. Scala Chimica e propedeutica biochimica Edi-Ermes  
Martin S. Silberberg - Patricia Amadeus CHIMICA La natura molecolare della materia e delle sue trasformazioni (Edizione 4) McGraw-Hill Education, Italy 2019 88-386-9539-3
ALLINGER ed altri CHIMICA ORGANICA Zanichelli, Bologna  
D. Voet, J. G. Voet, C.W. Pratt Fondamenti di Biochimica (Edizione 4) Zanichelli 2017 9788808420961
David L Nelson, Michael M Cox Introduzione alla Biochimica del Lehninger Zanichelli 2018
Luciano BINAGLIA, Bruno GIARDINA CHIMICA e PROPEDEUTICA BIOCHIMICA (con CD-ROM) Ediz. Mc Graw-Hill  
Brown, LeMay, Bursten, Murphy, Woodward, Stoltzfus Fondamenti di Chimica (con ebook) (Edizione 4) EdiSES 2018 978-88-7959-853-8
P.C. CHAMPE, R.A. HAEVEY, D.R. FERRIER Le basi della biochimica Zanichelli 2015

Type D and Type F activities

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Risultati di apprendimento attesi


Gestione carriere


Orario Lezioni

Si pubblicano gli orari delle lezioni relativi al 1^anno -1° semestre: Gli orari degli anni 2 e 3 sono pubblicati alla voce "Orario " in alto a destra di questa pagina;

La frequenza in aula delle lezioni è obbligatoria ed è prevista per tutti e tre gli anni di corso.
Le lezioni si svolgeranno in sicurezza, la capienza delle aule è  limitata al 50% dei posti disponibili 
 
Per gli studenti l’accesso in aula richiederà obbligatoriamente la preventiva prenotazione del posto tramite l’App UNIVR Lezioni.
er consentire a tutta la comunità studentesca di frequentare le attività didattiche in presenza, potrà essere utilizzato il principio di turnazione ovvero l’alternanza tra la possibilità di frequentare in presenza. Verrà data priorità di accesso all’aula alle studentesse e agli studenti con esigenze specifiche di apprendimento e alle studentesse e agli studenti internazionali che lo richiederanno
 
Il Collegio Didattico ha recentemente deliberato che le lezioni siano erogate in presenza a metà studenti e l’altra metà in diretta streaming per tutti e tre gli anni di corso, attraverso l’utilizzo della piattaforma Zoom e che essendo  la frequenza prevista dal regolamento obbligatoria ( 75% per l'insegnamento e 50% del modulo), pena l'esclusione all’esame. Quest‘ultima è considerarata valida se lo studente è presente in aula e/o in collegamento in diretta streaming.

IMPORTANTE: PER POTER SEGUIRE LE LEZIONI IN STREAMING, I POSTI A SEDERE IN AULA, DOVRANNO RISULTARE TUTTI OCCUPATI

Lo studente è obbligato a mantenere accesa la telecamera mentre il microfono può essere spento.

Permane l’obbligo da parte del docente della registrazione la cui visione non vale come certificazione di presenza.
 
IMPORTANTE: l'aula assegnata al 1 anno di corso è l'aula F degli Istituti Biologici nelle adiacenze del Policlinico G.B. Rossi di Verona, la quale ha una capienza pari a 20 posti in presenza.
E‘ obbligatorio che il n. di studenti  prenotati per queste aule siano gli stessi numeri/persone per:
 
1 ANNO: Aula F Istituti Biologici

2-3 ANNO: Aula 3 Ex Area Gavazzi

https://www.univr.it/coronavirus-info-studenti

Attachments

Title Info File
Doc_Univr_pdf LEZIONI TLB 1A 1S 2021-22 25 KB, 28/09/21 

Graduation


Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.