Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
Sem. I Trento Sep 17, 2018 Dec 21, 2018
Sem. 1A Sep 24, 2018 Nov 10, 2018
Sem. 1B Nov 19, 2018 Jan 12, 2019
Sem. II Trento Feb 11, 2019 May 31, 2019
Sem. 2A Feb 18, 2019 Mar 30, 2019
Sem. 2B Apr 8, 2019 Jun 1, 2019
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione d'esame straordinaria invernale Trento Dec 3, 2018 Dec 21, 2018
Sessione d'esame invernale Trento Jan 7, 2019 Feb 9, 2019
Sessione d'esame invernale Jan 14, 2019 Feb 16, 2019
Sessione d'esame estiva (gli esami sono sospesi durante la sessione di laurea) Jun 3, 2019 Jul 27, 2019
Sessione d'esame autunnale Trento Aug 19, 2019 Sep 14, 2019
Sessione d'esame autunnale Aug 26, 2019 Sep 21, 2019
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione di laurea estiva Jul 8, 2019 Jul 13, 2019
Sessione di laurea autunnale Nov 4, 2019 Nov 9, 2019
Sessione di laurea invernale Mar 30, 2020 Apr 4, 2020
Holidays
Period From To
Festa di Ognissanti Nov 1, 2018 Nov 1, 2018
Sospensione dell'attività didattica Nov 2, 2018 Nov 3, 2018
Festa dell’Immacolata Dec 8, 2018 Dec 8, 2018
Vacanze di Natale Dec 24, 2018 Jan 5, 2019
Vacanze di Pasqua Apr 19, 2019 Apr 23, 2019
Sospensione attività didattica Apr 24, 2019 Apr 27, 2019
Festa della liberazione Apr 25, 2019 Apr 25, 2019
Festa del lavoro May 1, 2019 May 1, 2019
Festa del Santo Patrono May 21, 2019 May 21, 2019
Festa della Repubblica Jun 2, 2019 Jun 2, 2019
Vacanze Estive Aug 12, 2019 Aug 17, 2019

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Culture and Civilisation Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G L M N P R S V Z

Arcangeli Alessandro

alessandro.arcangeli@univr.it +39 045802 8351

Barbierato Federico

federico.barbierato@univr.it 045 802 8351

Bassetti Massimiliano

massimiliano.bassetti@univr.it 045802 8376

Bernardini Giovanni

giovanni.bernardini@univr.it

Bernini Lorenzo

lorenzo.bernini@univr.it +39 045 8028687

Bertagna Federica

federica.bertagna@univr.it 0458028637

Bullado Emanuela

emanuela.bullado@univr.it 045 8028548

Camurri Renato

renato.camurri@univr.it +39 045 802 8635

Ciancio Luca

luca.ciancio@univr.it +39 045802 8122

Coden Fabio

fabio.coden@univr.it 045802 8365

Danelon Fabio

fabio.danelon@univr.it 045/8028378

Demo Edoardo

edoardo.demo@univr.it 045 802 8782 (VR) 0444.393930 (VI)

Ferrari Maria Luisa

marialuisa.ferrari@univr.it 045 802 8532

Ferrarini Edoardo

edoardo.ferrarini@univr.it +39 045802 8112

Franco Tiziana

tiziana.franco@univr.it +39 045802 8380

Garbellotti Marina

marina.garbellotti@univr.it 045802 8403

Giusfredi Federico

federico.giusfredi@univr.it +39 045802 8481

Guaraldo Olivia

olivia.guaraldo@univr.it +39 045802 8066

Masotti Lucia

lucia.masotti@univr.it 0458028272

Paini Anna Maria

anna.paini@univr.it +39 045802 8129

Pellegrini Paolo

paolo.pellegrini@univr.it +39 045 802 8559

Rizza Alfredo

alfredo.rizza@univr.it +39 045802 8587

Romagnani Gian Paolo

gianpaolo.romagnani@univr.it +39 045802 8377

Rossi Mariaclara

mariaclara.rossi@univr.it 045 802 8380

Sandrini Giuseppe

giuseppe.sandrini@univr.it 045 802 8069

Savi Paola

paola.savi@univr.it 045-8028243

Sideri Cecilia

cecilia.sideri@univr.it

Stoffella Marco

marco.stoffella@univr.it +39 045802 8376

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

CURRICULUM TIPO:
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1 course to be chosen among the following
1 course to be chosen among the following
1 course to be chosen among the following
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
Ulteriori conoscenze linguistiche (livello B2)
3
F
-

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1 course to be chosen among the following
1 course to be chosen among the following
1 course to be chosen among the following

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
Ulteriori conoscenze linguistiche (livello B2)
3
F
-

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S003214

Credits

6

Language

Italian

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

L-ANT/03 - ROMAN HISTORY

Period

I semestre - sede TN dal Sep 16, 2019 al Dec 20, 2019.

To show the organization of the course that includes this module, follow this link:  Course organization

Learning outcomes

Section A - one of a two-sections course, 30 hours=6 CFU each one (sections A + B = 12 CFU ) - is an "Introduction to Roman epigraphy", which aims to introduce to the subject of inscriptions and provide some guidance towards reading and understanding the epigraphic texts (mostly in Latin).
Students will be led to: acquire some basic technical skills of the epigraphic technique, firstly in reading and dating the inscriptions; know the historical development of the epigraphic science, as well as its main collections and editions. At the end of the course, students are expected to be able to read, translate, understand, and comment the given inscriptions, grasping their helpfulness and value as fundamental sources for any thorough study about ancient Roman world.

Program

A few introductory lectures will focus upon: the survival of epigraphic texts and the history of epigraphy; epigraphy as a branch of historical knowledge and its contribution to reconstructing Roman history; social and historical contexts of the epigraphic habit; archaeological and monumental aspects of the inscriptions; main collections and related updating.
On the basis of the inscriptions presented by the lecturer, the distinctive features of the epigraphic code (alphabet, acronyms and abbreviations, nouns, titles) will be explained, as well as methods of understanding and dating Roman inscriptions. Attention will be particularly paid to comparing inscriptions to coeval sources and documents.

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
A. Buonopane Manuale di epigrafia latina Carocci, Roma 2009 Si aggiungeranno: 1. lo studio di un manuale di storia romana, limitatamente alle parti relative al contesto storico-cronologico delle singole iscrizioni; 2. almeno un saggio di approfondimento tematico della/delle iscrizione/i a scelta individuale.

Examination Methods

The oral exam will aim to check firstly the student’s knowledge of events, subjects and topics as outlined in the textbooks and by the lecturers; then, his/her ability to understand and comment on the inscriptions and/or on documents, putting them in their proper historical contexts; finally, his/her thorough study of one (minimum) topic/document by personal choice. Students will be requested to: 1. study carefully the indicated chapters of the textbook; 2. read, translate and explain the documents illustrated during the course; 3. comment thoroughly on the inscription(s) studied by personal choice.

Bibliography

Type D and Type F activities

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.


Linguistic training CLA


Double degree

The University of Verona, through a network of agreements with foreign universities, offers international courses that enable students to gain a Double/Joint degree at the time of graduation. Indeed, students enrolled in a Double/Joint degree programme will be able to obtain both the degree of the University of Verona and the degree issued by the Partner University abroad - where they are expected to attend part of the programme -, in the time it normally takes to gain a common Master’s degree. The institutions concerned shall ensure that both degrees are recognised in the two countries.

Places on these programmes are limited, and admissions and any applicable grants are subject to applicants being selected in a specific Call for applications.

The latest Call for applications for Double/Joint Degrees at the University of Verona is available now!


Graduation

List of theses and work experience proposals

theses proposals Research area
Ambiti di tesi Art & Architecture - Art & Architecture

Student mentoring


Area riservata studenti