Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

A.A. 2020/2021

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
Sem. 1A Sep 28, 2020 Oct 31, 2020
Sem. 1B Nov 16, 2020 Dec 23, 2020
Sem. 2A Feb 15, 2021 Mar 20, 2021
Sem. 2B Apr 12, 2021 May 15, 2021
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione d'esame invernale Jan 18, 2021 Feb 13, 2021
Sessione d'esame estiva Jun 7, 2021 Jul 24, 2021
Sessione d'esami autunnale Aug 23, 2021 Sep 18, 2021
Holidays
Period From To
Festa di Ognissanti Nov 1, 2020 Nov 1, 2020
Festa dell'Immacolata Dec 8, 2020 Dec 8, 2020
Vacanze di Natale Dec 24, 2020 Jan 6, 2021
Vacanze di Pasqua Apr 2, 2021 Apr 6, 2021
Festa della liberazione Apr 25, 2021 Apr 25, 2021
Festa del lavoro May 1, 2021 May 1, 2021
Festa del Santo Patrono May 21, 2021 May 21, 2021
Festa della Repubblica Jun 2, 2021 Jun 2, 2021
Vacanze estive Aug 9, 2021 Aug 15, 2021
Other Periods
Description Period From To
Laboratori insegnamenti 1A Lab. 1A Nov 2, 2020 Nov 14, 2020
Laboratori insegnamenti 1B Lab. 1B Jan 7, 2021 Jan 16, 2021
Laboratori insegnamenti 2A Lab. 2A Mar 22, 2021 Apr 1, 2021
Laboratori insegnamenti 2B Lab. 2B May 17, 2021 May 29, 2021

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Humanistic Studies Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G L M N O P R S T V Z

Antonello Monica

monica.antonello@univr.it

Badino Massimiliano

massimiliano.badino@univr.it +39 045 802 8459

Bianchi Edoardo

edoardo.bianchi@univr.it +39 045 802 8108

Biino Valentina

valentina.biino@univr.it

Blezza Silvia

silvia.blezzapicherle@univr.it +39 045802 8651

Caleffi Paola Maria

paolamaria.caleffi@univr.it

Covolan Federico

federico.covolan@univr.it 0458425210

Crimi Massimo

massimo.crimi@univr.it 045 802 7924; Lab: 045 802 7050

Daffara Claudia

claudia.daffara@univr.it +39 045 802 7942

D'Onofrio Mariapina

mariapina.donofrio@univr.it 045 802 7801

Dusi Paola

paola.dusi@univr.it 045/8028616

Florit Elena

elena.florit@univr.it 045 8028065

Gamberoni Emanuela

emanuela.gamberoni@univr.it 045 802 8391

Garbellotti Marina

marina.garbellotti@univr.it 045802 8403

Gecchele Mario

mario.gecchele@univr.it +39 045802 8651

Girelli Claudio

claudio.girelli@univr.it 045/8028628

Gregorio Enrico

Enrico.Gregorio@univr.it 045 802 7937

Guzzo Flavia

flavia.guzzo@univr.it 045 802 7923

Landi Licia

licia.landi@univr.it

La Rana Adele

adele.larana@univr.it

Majorano Marinella

marinella.majorano@univr.it 0458028372

Mastroeni Isabella

isabella.mastroeni@univr.it +39 045 802 7089

Melodia Festa Beatrice

beatrice.melodiafesta@univr.it

Migliorati Lorenzo

lorenzo.migliorati@univr.it 045802 8135

Monti Francesca

francesca.monti@univr.it 045 802 7910

Mortari Luigina

luigina.mortari@univr.it 045 802 8652

Nitti Paolo

paolo.nitti@univr.it

Odini Luca

luca.odini@univr.it

Picotti Michele

michele.picotti@univr.it

Pontrandolfo Stefania

stefania.pontrandolfo@univr.it 045 802 8483

Richieri Cristina

cristina.richieri@univr.it

Silva Roberta

roberta.silva@univr.it 045/8028385

Simonati Alessandro

alessandro.simonati@univr.it +39 0458126625/4883

Tassinari Giancarlo

giancarlo.tassinari@univr.it +39 0458027153

Tomba Barbara

barbara.tomba@univr.it 0458425210

Valbusa Federica

federica.valbusa@univr.it 045 802 8035

Vannini Lara

lara.vannini@univr.it 3478600758

Vettorel Paola

paola.vettorel@univr.it +39 045802 8259

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
9
B
(L-ART/02 ,L-ART/03 ,L-ART/06)
Training 5th year
9
F
-
Final exam
9
F
-

5° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
9
B
(L-ART/02 ,L-ART/03 ,L-ART/06)
Training 5th year
9
F
-
Final exam
9
F
-
Modules Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 4°- 5°

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S006156

Coordinatore

Paola Vettorel

Credits

2

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

L-LIN/12 - LANGUAGE AND TRANSLATION - ENGLISH

Language

Italian

Period

Sem. 1A dal Sep 28, 2020 al Oct 31, 2020.

Learning outcomes

The main aim of the workshop is to provide students with methodological tools to teach English to young learners (primary and pre-primary education), and more specifically to:
- develop knowledge of the main approaches, techniques and didactic tools to teach English to young learners (primary and pre-primary education)
- develop familiarity with topics related to the pedagogic implications of the current sociolinguistic complexity of English (World Englishes, English as a Lingua Franca)
- be able to plan and develop activities and materials to teach English to young learners (primary and pre-primary education)
- be able to choose adequate techniques, tools and materials to teach English to young learners (primary and pre-primary education)

Program

Topics and issues related to the main approaches, techniques and strategies to teach English to young learners children will be explored during the course, including the development of the four skills (listening and speaking in particular), as well as on how to evaluate and design ELT materials for young learners. The course will include work on the following areas: young learners’ characteristics; English, Englishes and ELF: implications for the language classroom; Skills: Listening and speaking - drama and storytelling; songs/chants and game activities; reading and writing; vocabulary and grammar; creating, adapting and evaluating activities for young language learners.

After an introductory session with issues and materials related to the lesson topics, students will work cooperatively in pairs/small groups, with individual contributions in the development of activities relatedto the different topics. Lessons will be integrated by online materials and activities within the dedicated e-learning Moodle class. The course will be held in English.

Pre-requisite: B1 CEFR language level (English)

Materials (power point slides, articles and essays distributed during the lessons) can be integrated with the books in the reading lists (basic and additional).

Reading list

Cameron L. 2001. Teaching Languages to Young Learners. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press.
Moon J. 2005. Children Learning English. Oxford: MacMillan.
Pinter A. 2006. Teaching Young Language Learners. Oxford: Oxford University Press.
Slattery M., Willis J. 2003. English for Primary Teachers. Oxford: Oxford University Press.

Additional readings
Balbi R. 2010. L’apprendimento dell’inglese. Proposte per la scuola primaria. Roma: Carocci Faber.
Bianchi C., Corasaniti P., Panzarasa N. 2004. L’inglese nella scuola primaria. Roma: Carocci Faber.
Lopriore L. 2012. Buzzwords in ELT. Roma: Anicia.
Santipolo M. (ed.). 2012. Educare i bambini alla lingua inglese. Lecce: PensaMultimedia
Thornbury S. 2006. An A-Z of ELT. Oxford: MacMillan.

Bibliografia

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
Moon J. Children Learning English. MacMillan 2005
Slattery M., Willis J. English for Primary Teachers. Oxford University Press. 2003
Cameron L. Teaching Languages to Young Learners Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 2001
Pinter A. Teaching Young Language Learners. Oxford University Press. 2006

Examination Methods

During the oral exam, to be held in English, students will discuss topics related to the course, starting from materials and activities part of the Individual Learning Portfolio that was developed during the course, supporting their choices as to activities and materials.
Evaluation criteria:
The final score, out of 30, will take into account the ability to:
● adequately illustrate and discuss the contents of the Individual Learning Portfolio
● connect the activities included in the Individual Learning Portfolio with the methodological framework, adequately supporting and motivating the rationale within which they were planned
Pre-requisite for the exam: B2 CEFR language level (English)

Type D and Type F activities

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Graduation


Gestione carriere


Linguistic training CLA


Student mentoring


Stage e Tirocini

Le attività di tirocinio indirette e dirette, per complessive 600 ore pari a 24 crediti formativi universitari, come stabilito dal D.M. 249/2010, hanno inizio nel secondo anno di corso e si svolgono secondo modalità tali da assicurare un aumento progressivo del numero dei relativi crediti formativi universitari fino all'ultimo anno.
 
La struttura generale del tirocinio prevede:
- II annualità 100 ore di tirocinio pari a 4 CFU
- III annualità 100 ore di tirocinio pari a 4 CFU
- IV annualità 175 ore di tirocinio pari a 7 CFU
- V annualità   225 ore di tirocinio pari a 9 CFU.
 
Il tirocinio è seguito da insegnanti tutor coordinatori e da tutor organizzatori distaccati, rispettivamente a tempo parziale e a tempo pieno, presso il CdS. Esso prevede attività che si sviluppano secondo modalità di partecipazione periferica e modalità di partecipazione attiva: tali attività dovranno essere, adeguatamente documentate da parte dello studente e saranno supervisionate dai tutor competenti.
La frequenza alle attività di tirocinio è obbligatoria.
 

Attachments

Title Info File
pdf Regolamento 115 KB, 23/06/21 

Practical information for students


Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.