Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

A.A. 2018/2019

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
ANNUALE Oct 1, 2018 Jun 1, 2019
I semestre Oct 1, 2018 Jan 12, 2019
II semestre Feb 18, 2019 Jun 1, 2019
Exam sessions
Session From To
ESAMI LINGUE- sessione invernale Jan 14, 2019 Feb 16, 2019
ESAMI LINGUE- sessione estiva Jun 3, 2019 Jul 27, 2019
ESAMI LINGUE- sessione autunnale Aug 26, 2019 Sep 21, 2019
Degree sessions
Session From To
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione autunnale (a.a. 2017/18) Nov 12, 2018 Nov 17, 2018
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione straordinaria (a.a. 2017/18) Apr 1, 2019 Apr 6, 2019
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione estiva (a.a. 2018/19) Jul 8, 2019 Jul 13, 2019
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione autunnale (a.a. 2018/19) Nov 4, 2019 Nov 9, 2019
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione straordinaria (a.a. 2018/19) Mar 30, 2020 Apr 4, 2020
Holidays
Period From To
Festa di Ognissanti Nov 1, 2018 Nov 1, 2018
Sospensione dell'attività didattica Nov 2, 2018 Nov 3, 2018
Festa dell’Immacolata Dec 8, 2018 Dec 8, 2018
VACANZE DI NATALE Dec 22, 2018 Jan 6, 2019
VACANZE DI PASQUA Apr 19, 2019 Apr 23, 2019
Sospensione dell'attività didattica Apr 24, 2019 Apr 24, 2019
Festa della liberazione Apr 25, 2019 Apr 25, 2019
Festa del lavoro May 1, 2019 May 1, 2019
Sospensione dell'attività didattica May 20, 2019 May 20, 2019
Festa del Santo Patrono May 21, 2019 May 21, 2019
Festa della Repubblica Jun 2, 2019 Jun 2, 2019
VACANZE ESTIVE Aug 13, 2019 Aug 18, 2019

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Foreign Languages and Literatures Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G K L M N P R S T U V Z

Adami Valentina

valentina.adami@univr.it 0458028410

Aloe Stefano

stefano.aloe@univr.it +39 045802 8409

Battisti Chiara

chiara.battisti@univr.it +39 045802 8317

Beltrame Daniele

daniele.beltrame@univr.it

Bertollo Sabrina

sabrina.bertollo@univr.it +39 045802 8753

Bezrucka Yvonne

yvonne.bezrucka@univr.it +39 045802 8580

Bisetto Barbara

barbara.bisetto@univr.it +39 045802 8597

Bognolo Anna

anna.bognolo@univr.it +39 045802 8327

Bonadonna Maria Francesca

mariafrancesca.bonadonna@univr.it +39 045802 8663

Boschiero Manuel

manuel.boschiero@univr.it +39 045802 8405

Bullado Emanuela

emanuela.bullado@univr.it 045 8028049

Butturini Paolo

paolo.butturini@univr.it +39 0458028890 - 8406

Cagliero Roberto

roberto.cagliero@univr.it +39 045802 8694

Caleffi Paola Maria

paolamaria.caleffi@univr.it

Cantarini Sibilla

sibilla.cantarini@univr.it +39 045802 8199

Carlotto Ilaria

ilaria.carlotto@univr.it 045 802 8264

Cassia Fabio

fabio.cassia@univr.it 0458028689

Colombo Laura Maria

laura.colombo@univr.it + 39 045802 8322

Dalla Rosa Elisa

elisa.dallarosa@univr.it

D'Attoma Sara

sara.dattoma@univr.it

De Beni Matteo

matteo.debeni@univr.it +39 045 802 8540

Facchinetti Roberta

roberta.facchinetti@univr.it +39 045802 8374

Fiorato Sidia

sidia.fiorato@univr.it +39 045802 8317

Frassi Paolo

paolo.frassi@univr.it +39 045802 8408

Gambin Felice

felice.gambin@univr.it +39 045802 8323

Genetti Stefano

stefano.genetti@univr.it +39 045802 8412

Giumelli Riccardo

riccardo.giumelli@univr.it

Kofler Peter Erwin

peter.kofler@univr.it +39 045802 8313

Larcati Arturo

arturo.larcati@univr.it + 39 045802 8311

Lorenzetti Maria Ivana

mariaivana.lorenzetti@univr.it +39 045802 8579

Miotti Renzo

renzo.miotti@univr.it +39 045802 8571

Montemezzo Stefania

stefania.montemezzo@univr.it

Nicolini Matteo

matteo.nicolini@univr.it +39 045 8028893

Niu Chunye

chunye.niu@univr.it

Palermo Francesco

francesco.palermo@univr.it +39 045 8028878

Pellegrini Paolo

paolo.pellegrini@univr.it +39 045 802 8559

Perazzolo Paola

paola.perazzolo@univr.it +39 045802 8412

Polatti Alessia

alessia.polatti@univr.it

Pomarolli Giorgia

giorgia.pomarolli@univr.it +390458028405

Rabanus Stefan

stefan.rabanus@univr.it +39 045802 8490

Renna Dora

dora.renna@univr.it

Riolfo Gianluca

gianluca.riolfo@univr.it 0464/480337

Rossato Chiara

chiara.rossato@univr.it 045 802 8620

Salgaro Massimo

massimo.salgaro@univr.it +39 045802 8312

Salvi Luca

luca.salvi@univr.it +39 045802 8468

Sartor Elisa

elisa.sartor@univr.it +39 045802 8598

Sassi Carla

carla.sassi@univr.it +39 045802 8701

Savi Paola

paola.savi@univr.it 045-8028243

Schiffermuller Isolde

ischifferm@univr.it +39 045802 8478

Scrignoli Fabio Antonio

fabioantonio.scrignoli@univr.it

Simeoni Francesca

francesca.simeoni@univr.it + 39 045 802 8160

Stanzani Sandro

sandro.stanzani@univr.it +39 0458028649

Sun Min

min.sun@univr.it

Tallarico Giovanni Luca

giovanni.tallarico@univr.it +39 045 802 8663

Tincani Chiara

chiara.tincani@univr.it +39 045 8028896

Trovato Sonia

sonia.trovato@univr.it

Ugolini Marta Maria

marta.ugolini@univr.it + 39 045 802 8126

Vigolo Vania

vania.vigolo@univr.it 045 802 8624

Zanfei Anna

anna.zanfei@univr.it +39 045802 8347

Zangrandi Alessandra

alessandra.zangrandi@univr.it 0458028115

Zinato Andrea

andrea.zinato@univr.it +39 045802 8339

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

CURRICULUM TIPO:
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1st foreign language
9
B
(L-LIN/04)
9
B
(L-LIN/21)
2nd foreign language
9
B
(L-OR/21)
9
B
(L-LIN/04)
9
B
(L-LIN/21)

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1st foreign language
9
B
(L-LIN/04)
9
B
(L-LIN/21)
2nd foreign language
9
B
(L-OR/21)
9
B
(L-LIN/04)
9
B
(L-LIN/21)
Modules Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S002903

Coordinatore

Sidia Fiorato

Credits

6

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

L-LIN/10 - ENGLISH LITERATURE

Language

English en

Period

I semestre dal Oct 1, 2018 al Jan 12, 2019.

Learning outcomes

The course, held in English, aims at introducing students to relevant aspects of English literature, from the Pre-Romantic to the Contemporary period, via the reading of a selection of canonical texts. Primary notions about possible methodological approaches for the analysis of literary texts and genres will be imparted. Furthermore, the course will provide a sound knowledge of the English literature of the period (historical context, texts, genres, literary movements and authors) and stimulate abilities and skills for the critical analysis of texts, their discussion and analysis, in consideration of their historical, cultural, and context specificities.

At the end of the course, students will be able to:
- Analyse the literary texts of the syllabus discussing them in relation to their historical and cultural context;
- Discuss the texts using an appropriate critical approach demonstrating the knowledge of the literary conventions of their time;
- Express the acquired literary and critical knowledge demonstrating an adequate competence also in the English language.

Program

After a general introduction to literary theory and the history of modern and contemporary English literature (1780-today), the course will focus on the development of the English novel and on the relationship between literature and visual culture. The following topics will be covered during the course:
- critical literary theories
- the history of modern and contemporary English literature
- the development of the English novel
- visual culture
- in-depth analysis of three novels through an interdisciplinary approach (including the sphere of the law and advertising)

TEACHING METHODS

Students who attend the course: the course will be held in English through lectures and will also include parts for reflection and discussion on the part of the students upon the topics under consideration.
The critical references indicated in the programme will be available for the students. Slides related to the topics of the course and used during the lessons will be uploaded to Moodle and are part of the programme.

Students who do not attend the course: the programme remains the one indicated on the webpage. They can access Moodle and the uploaded slides which are part of the programme.

All students can ask for further references or about the topics of the course during the receiving hours (as indicated on the webpage)

A) Primary Texts (any edition, but NOT abridged)

B. Stoker, Dracula
A.C. Doyle, A Study in Scarlet
P. Ackroyd, Dan Leno and the Limehouse Golem

NB: the programme will be integrated at the beginning of the course

B) CRITICAL TEXTS

D. Carpi, “A Biojuridical Reading of Dracula”, in Polemos, 6.2 (2012), 169-182
Matthew C. Brennan, “The Novel as Nightmare: Decentering of the Self in Bram Stoker’s Dracula”, Journal of the Fantastic in the Arts, 7.4 (28), 1996, 48-59
S. Onega, “Family Traumas and Serial Killing in Peter Ackroyd’s Dan Leno and the Limehouse Golem”, in Marie Luise Kohlke, Christian Gutleben, Neo-Victorian Families. Gender, Sexual and Cultural Politics, Amsterdam, Rodopi, 2011, 267-296
S. Onega, “Dan Leno and the Limehouse Golem”, in S. Onega, Metafiction and Myth in the novels of Peter Ackroyd , Drawer, Camden House, 1999, 133- 147.
Ed Wiltse, ““So constant an expectation”: Sherlock Holmes and Seriality”, Narrative, 6.2 (1998), 105-122
Svetlana Bochman, “Detecting the Technocratic Detective”, in Lynnette Porter ed., Sherlock Holmes for the 21st Century Essays on New Adaptations, Jefferson, McFarland & Company, 2012, 144-154

The section of the critical texts will be integrated at the beginning of the course


C) History of Literature
- A. Sanders, The Short Oxford History of English Literature, Oxford University Press, 2003
A specific focus will be devoted to Charles Dickens

Bibliografia

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
D. Carpi “A Biojuridical reading of Dracula”, Polemos, 6.2 (2012), 169-182 2012
Arthur Conan Doyle A Study in Scarlet 1887
Peter Ackroyd Dan Leno and the Limehouse Golem 1994
Susana Onega “Dan Leno and the Limehouse Golem”, in S. Onega, Metafiction and Myth in the novels of Peter Ackroyd , Drawer, Camden House, 1999, 133- 147. 1993
Svetlana Bochman “Detecting the Technocratic Detective”, in Lynnette Porter ed., Sherlock Holmes for the 21st Century Essays on New Adaptations, Jefferson, McFarland & Company, 2012, 144-154 2012
BRAM STOKER Dracula 1897
Susana Onega “Family Traumas and Serial Killing in Peter Ackroyd’s Dan Leno and the Limehouse Golem”, in Marie Luise Kohlke, Christian Gutleben, Neo-Victorian Families. Gender, Sexual and Cultural Politics, Amsterdam, Rodopi, 2011, 267-296 2011
Ed Wiltse ““So constant an expectation”: Sherlock Holmes and Seriality”, Narrative, 6.2 (1998), 105-122 1998
Matthew C. Brennan “The Novel as Nightmare: Decentering of the Self in Bram Stoker’s Dracula”, Journal of the Fantastic in the Arts, 7.4 (28), 1996, 48-59 1996
Andrew Sanders The Short Oxford History of English Literature Oxford, Oxford University Press 1994

Examination Methods

The lessons will be in English. The exam will be an oral discussion in English on the topic of the course and the texts in the program (parts A,B,C).
In particular:
- the ability to discuss topics (literary trends, authors, genres) within the history of English literature
- the ability to present a critical argumentation on topics related to the texts of the syllabus (making examples from scenes and passages)
- the ability to make connections between the topics of the course, on the basis of the critical texts indicated in the programme


Requirements
Students unable to attend lectures are required to get in touch before preparing for the exam.
All students, possibly also the students who will not be able to attend the course regularly, are kindly invited to attend the first class of the course, when the programme will be illustrated in detail.

Type D and Type F activities

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Student Guide

Attachments

Title Info File
pdf Vademecum normativo area Lingue e letterature straniere 1009 KB, 07/07/21 

Gestione carriere


Linguistic training CLA


Stage e tirocini

Nel piano didattico della laurea triennale in Lingue per il turismo e il commercio internazionale (L12) è previsto un periodo di stage obbligatorio (CFU 6) in organizzazioni imprenditoriali.

Le attività di stage sono finalizzate a far acquisire allo studente una conoscenza diretta in settori di particolare interesse per l’inserimento nel mondo del lavoro e per l’acquisizione di abilità professionali specifiche.
Le attività di stage sono svolte sotto la diretta responsabilità di un singolo docente presso studi professionali, enti della pubblica amministrazione, aziende accreditate dall’Ateneo veronese.
I crediti maturati in seguito ad attività di stage saranno attribuiti secondo quanto disposto nel dettaglio dal “Regolamento d’Ateneo per il riconoscimento dei crediti maturati negli stage universitari” vigente.
Tutte le informazioni in merito agli stage sono reperibili al link https://www.univr.it/it/i-nostri-servizi/stage-e-tirocini.
 

Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.