Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
I semestre Oct 1, 2018 Jan 12, 2019
ANNUALE Oct 1, 2018 Jun 1, 2019
II semestre Feb 18, 2019 Jun 1, 2019
Exam sessions
Session From To
ESAMI LINGUE- sessione invernale Jan 14, 2019 Feb 16, 2019
ESAMI LINGUE- sessione estiva Jun 3, 2019 Jul 27, 2019
ESAMI LINGUE- sessione autunnale Aug 26, 2019 Sep 21, 2019
Degree sessions
Session From To
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione autunnale (a.a. 2017/18) Nov 12, 2018 Nov 17, 2018
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione straordinaria (a.a. 2017/18) Apr 1, 2019 Apr 6, 2019
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione estiva (a.a. 2018/19) Jul 8, 2019 Jul 13, 2019
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione autunnale (a.a. 2018/19) Nov 4, 2019 Nov 9, 2019
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione straordinaria (a.a. 2018/19) Mar 30, 2020 Apr 4, 2020
Holidays
Period From To
Festa di Ognissanti Nov 1, 2018 Nov 1, 2018
Sospensione dell'attività didattica Nov 2, 2018 Nov 3, 2018
Festa dell’Immacolata Dec 8, 2018 Dec 8, 2018
VACANZE DI NATALE Dec 22, 2018 Jan 6, 2019
VACANZE DI PASQUA Apr 19, 2019 Apr 23, 2019
Sospensione dell'attività didattica Apr 24, 2019 Apr 24, 2019
Festa della liberazione Apr 25, 2019 Apr 25, 2019
Festa del lavoro May 1, 2019 May 1, 2019
Sospensione dell'attività didattica May 20, 2019 May 20, 2019
Festa del Santo Patrono May 21, 2019 May 21, 2019
Festa della Repubblica Jun 2, 2019 Jun 2, 2019
VACANZE ESTIVE Aug 13, 2019 Aug 18, 2019

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Foreign Languages and Literatures Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G K L M N P R S T U V Z

Adami Valentina

symbol email valentina.adami@univr.it

Aloe Stefano

symbol email stefano.aloe@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8409

Battisti Chiara

symbol email chiara.battisti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8317

Bellomi Paola

symbol email paola.bellomi@univr.it

Beltrame Daniele

symbol email daniele.beltrame@univr.it

Bertollo Sabrina

symbol email sabrina.bertollo@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8753

Bezrucka Yvonne

symbol email yvonne.bezrucka@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8580

Bisetto Barbara

symbol email barbara.bisetto@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8597

Bognolo Anna

symbol email anna.bognolo@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8327

Bonadonna Maria Francesca

symbol email mariafrancesca.bonadonna@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8663

Boschiero Manuel

symbol email manuel.boschiero@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8405

Bullado Emanuela

symbol email emanuela.bullado@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 8028548

Butturini Paolo

symbol email paolo.butturini@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 0458028890 - 8406

Cagliero Roberto

symbol email roberto.cagliero@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8694

Caleffi Paola Maria

symbol email paolamaria.caleffi@univr.it

Cantarini Sibilla

symbol email sibilla.cantarini@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8199

Carlotto Ilaria

symbol email ilaria.carlotto@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8264

Cassia Fabio

symbol email fabio.cassia@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458028689

Colombo Laura Maria

symbol email laura.colombo@univr.it symbol phone-number + 39 045802 8322

Dalla Rosa Elisa

symbol email elisa.dallarosa@univr.it

D'Attoma Sara

symbol email sara.dattoma@univr.it

De Beni Matteo

symbol email matteo.debeni@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 8540

Facchinetti Roberta

symbol email roberta.facchinetti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8374

Fiorato Sidia

symbol email sidia.fiorato@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8317

Frassi Paolo

symbol email paolo.frassi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8408

Gambin Felice

symbol email felice.gambin@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8323

Genetti Stefano

symbol email stefano.genetti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8412

Giumelli Riccardo

symbol email riccardo.giumelli@univr.it

Kofler Peter Erwin

symbol email peter.kofler@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8313

Lando Mariangela

symbol email mariangela.lando@univr.it - marilando771@gmail.com

Larcati Arturo

symbol email arturo.larcati@univr.it symbol phone-number + 39 045802 8311

Lorenzetti Maria Ivana

symbol email mariaivana.lorenzetti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8579

Miotti Renzo

symbol email renzo.miotti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8571

Montemezzo Stefania

symbol email stefania.montemezzo@univr.it

Nicolini Matteo

symbol email matteo.nicolini@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8028893

Niu Chunye

symbol email chunye.niu@univr.it

Palermo Francesco

symbol email francesco.palermo@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8028878

Pellegrini Paolo

symbol email paolo.pellegrini@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 8559

Perazzolo Paola

symbol email paola.perazzolo@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8412

Polatti Alessia

symbol email alessia.polatti@univr.it

Pomarolli Giorgia

symbol email giorgia.pomarolli@univr.it symbol phone-number +390458028405

Rabanus Stefan

symbol email stefan.rabanus@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8490

Renna Dora

symbol email dora.renna@univr.it

Riolfo Gianluca

symbol email gianluca.riolfo@univr.it symbol phone-number 0464/480337

Rossato Chiara

symbol email chiara.rossato@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8620

Salgaro Massimo

symbol email massimo.salgaro@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8312

Salvi Luca

symbol email luca.salvi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8468

Sartor Elisa

symbol email elisa.sartor@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8598

Sassi Carla

symbol email carla.sassi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8701

Savi Paola

symbol email paola.savi@univr.it symbol phone-number 045-8028243

Schiffermuller Isolde

symbol email ischifferm@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8478

Scrignoli Fabio Antonio

symbol email fabioantonio.scrignoli@univr.it

Simeoni Francesca

symbol email francesca.simeoni@univr.it symbol phone-number + 39 045 802 8160

Stanzani Sandro

symbol email sandro.stanzani@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 0458028649

Sun Min

symbol email min.sun@univr.it

Tallarico Giovanni Luca

symbol email giovanni.tallarico@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 8663

Tincani Chiara

symbol email chiara.tincani@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8028896

Trovato Sonia

symbol email sonia.trovato@univr.it

Ugolini Marta Maria

symbol email marta.ugolini@univr.it symbol phone-number + 39 045 802 8126

Vigolo Vania

symbol email vania.vigolo@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 8624

Zanfei Anna

symbol email anna.zanfei@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8347

Zangrandi Alessandra

symbol email alessandra.zangrandi@univr.it symbol phone-number 0458028115

Zinato Andrea

symbol email andrea.zinato@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045802 8339

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

CURRICULUM TIPO:
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
Modules Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




S Placements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S002903

Coordinatore

Sidia Fiorato

Credits

6

Language

English en

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

L-LIN/10 - ENGLISH LITERATURE

Period

I semestre dal Oct 1, 2018 al Jan 12, 2019.

Learning outcomes

The course, held in English, aims at introducing students to relevant aspects of English literature, from the Pre-Romantic to the Contemporary period, via the reading of a selection of canonical texts. Primary notions about possible methodological approaches for the analysis of literary texts and genres will be imparted. Furthermore, the course will provide a sound knowledge of the English literature of the period (historical context, texts, genres, literary movements and authors) and stimulate abilities and skills for the critical analysis of texts, their discussion and analysis, in consideration of their historical, cultural, and context specificities.

At the end of the course, students will be able to:
- Analyse the literary texts of the syllabus discussing them in relation to their historical and cultural context;
- Discuss the texts using an appropriate critical approach demonstrating the knowledge of the literary conventions of their time;
- Express the acquired literary and critical knowledge demonstrating an adequate competence also in the English language.

Program

After a general introduction to literary theory and the history of modern and contemporary English literature (1780-today), the course will focus on the development of the English novel and on the relationship between literature and visual culture. The following topics will be covered during the course:
- critical literary theories
- the history of modern and contemporary English literature
- the development of the English novel
- visual culture
- in-depth analysis of three novels through an interdisciplinary approach (including the sphere of the law and advertising)

TEACHING METHODS

Students who attend the course: the course will be held in English through lectures and will also include parts for reflection and discussion on the part of the students upon the topics under consideration.
The critical references indicated in the programme will be available for the students. Slides related to the topics of the course and used during the lessons will be uploaded to Moodle and are part of the programme.

Students who do not attend the course: the programme remains the one indicated on the webpage. They can access Moodle and the uploaded slides which are part of the programme.

All students can ask for further references or about the topics of the course during the receiving hours (as indicated on the webpage)

A) Primary Texts (any edition, but NOT abridged)

B. Stoker, Dracula
A.C. Doyle, A Study in Scarlet
P. Ackroyd, Dan Leno and the Limehouse Golem

NB: the programme will be integrated at the beginning of the course

B) CRITICAL TEXTS

D. Carpi, “A Biojuridical Reading of Dracula”, in Polemos, 6.2 (2012), 169-182
Matthew C. Brennan, “The Novel as Nightmare: Decentering of the Self in Bram Stoker’s Dracula”, Journal of the Fantastic in the Arts, 7.4 (28), 1996, 48-59
S. Onega, “Family Traumas and Serial Killing in Peter Ackroyd’s Dan Leno and the Limehouse Golem”, in Marie Luise Kohlke, Christian Gutleben, Neo-Victorian Families. Gender, Sexual and Cultural Politics, Amsterdam, Rodopi, 2011, 267-296
S. Onega, “Dan Leno and the Limehouse Golem”, in S. Onega, Metafiction and Myth in the novels of Peter Ackroyd , Drawer, Camden House, 1999, 133- 147.
Ed Wiltse, ““So constant an expectation”: Sherlock Holmes and Seriality”, Narrative, 6.2 (1998), 105-122
Svetlana Bochman, “Detecting the Technocratic Detective”, in Lynnette Porter ed., Sherlock Holmes for the 21st Century Essays on New Adaptations, Jefferson, McFarland & Company, 2012, 144-154

The section of the critical texts will be integrated at the beginning of the course


C) History of Literature
- A. Sanders, The Short Oxford History of English Literature, Oxford University Press, 2003
A specific focus will be devoted to Charles Dickens

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
D. Carpi “A Biojuridical reading of Dracula”, Polemos, 6.2 (2012), 169-182 2012
Arthur Conan Doyle A Study in Scarlet 1887
Peter Ackroyd Dan Leno and the Limehouse Golem 1994
Susana Onega “Dan Leno and the Limehouse Golem”, in S. Onega, Metafiction and Myth in the novels of Peter Ackroyd , Drawer, Camden House, 1999, 133- 147. 1993
Svetlana Bochman “Detecting the Technocratic Detective”, in Lynnette Porter ed., Sherlock Holmes for the 21st Century Essays on New Adaptations, Jefferson, McFarland & Company, 2012, 144-154 2012
BRAM STOKER Dracula 1897
Susana Onega “Family Traumas and Serial Killing in Peter Ackroyd’s Dan Leno and the Limehouse Golem”, in Marie Luise Kohlke, Christian Gutleben, Neo-Victorian Families. Gender, Sexual and Cultural Politics, Amsterdam, Rodopi, 2011, 267-296 2011
Ed Wiltse ““So constant an expectation”: Sherlock Holmes and Seriality”, Narrative, 6.2 (1998), 105-122 1998
Matthew C. Brennan “The Novel as Nightmare: Decentering of the Self in Bram Stoker’s Dracula”, Journal of the Fantastic in the Arts, 7.4 (28), 1996, 48-59 1996
Andrew Sanders The Short Oxford History of English Literature Oxford, Oxford University Press 1994

Examination Methods

The lessons will be in English. The exam will be an oral discussion in English on the topic of the course and the texts in the program (parts A,B,C).
In particular:
- the ability to discuss topics (literary trends, authors, genres) within the history of English literature
- the ability to present a critical argumentation on topics related to the texts of the syllabus (making examples from scenes and passages)
- the ability to make connections between the topics of the course, on the basis of the critical texts indicated in the programme


Requirements
Students unable to attend lectures are required to get in touch before preparing for the exam.
All students, possibly also the students who will not be able to attend the course regularly, are kindly invited to attend the first class of the course, when the programme will be illustrated in detail.

???AdattamentoProvaEsameDSA???

Type D and Type F activities

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Area riservata studenti


Gestione carriere


Assegnazione tutore


Attività accreditate D/F


Calendario didattico dettagliato


Cambio lingua curriculare


Competenze informatiche


Competenze linguistiche (prima e seconda lingua)


Competenze linguistiche in triennale (terza lingua CFU F)


Compilazione del piano didattico


Corso di Lingua catalana


Corso di Lingua portoghese brasiliana


Erasmus+ e altre esperienze all'estero


Linguistic training CLA


Saperi minimi


Graduation


Stage e tirocini

Nel piano didattico della laurea triennale in Lingue per il turismo e il commercio internazionale (L12) è previsto un periodo di stage obbligatorio (CFU 6) in organizzazioni imprenditoriali.

Le attività di stage sono finalizzate a far acquisire allo studente una conoscenza diretta in settori di particolare interesse per l’inserimento nel mondo del lavoro e per l’acquisizione di abilità professionali specifiche.
Le attività di stage sono svolte sotto la diretta responsabilità di un singolo docente presso studi professionali, enti della pubblica amministrazione, aziende accreditate dall’Ateneo veronese.
I crediti maturati in seguito ad attività di stage saranno attribuiti secondo quanto disposto nel dettaglio dal “Regolamento d’Ateneo per il riconoscimento dei crediti maturati negli stage universitari” vigente.


Tutte le informazioni in merito agli stage sono reperibili al link https://www.univr.it/it/i-nostri-servizi/stage-e-tirocini

Ulteriori informazioni al seguente link https://www.univr.it/it/i-nostri-servizi/gestione-carriere-studenti-lingue-e-letterature-straniere/stage-e-tirocini-lingue-e-letterature-straniere


Vademecum dello studente