Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

A.A. 2017/2018

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
I sem. Oct 2, 2017 Jan 31, 2018
II sem. Mar 1, 2018 Jun 15, 2018
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione invernale d'esame Feb 1, 2018 Feb 28, 2018
Sessione estiva d'esame Jun 18, 2018 Jul 31, 2018
Sessione autunnale d'esame Sep 3, 2018 Sep 28, 2018
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione di laurea estiva Jul 18, 2018 Jul 18, 2018
Sessione di laurea autunnale Nov 22, 2018 Nov 22, 2018
Sessione di laurea invernale Mar 20, 2019 Mar 20, 2019
Holidays
Period From To
Christmas break Dec 22, 2017 Jan 7, 2018
Easter break Mar 30, 2018 Apr 3, 2018
Patron Saint Day May 21, 2018 May 21, 2018
Vacanze estive Aug 6, 2018 Aug 19, 2018

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Science and Engineering Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

B C D F G L M O P Q S T U

Belussi Alberto

alberto.belussi@univr.it +39 045 802 7980
Foto,  February 9, 2017

Bloisi Domenico Daniele

domenico.bloisi@univr.it

Bombieri Nicola

nicola.bombieri@univr.it +39 045 802 7094

Bonacina Maria Paola

mariapaola.bonacina@univr.it +39 045 802 7046

Bonnici Vincenzo

vincenzo.bonnici@univr.it +39 045 802 7045

Boscaini Maurizio

maurizio.boscaini@univr.it

Busato Federico

federico.busato@univr.it

Calanca Andrea

andrea.calanca@univr.it +39 045 802 7847

Carra Damiano

damiano.carra@univr.it +39 045 802 7059

Combi Carlo

carlo.combi@univr.it 045 802 7985

Daffara Claudia

claudia.daffara@univr.it +39 045 802 7942

Dalla Preda Mila

mila.dallapreda@univr.it

Di Pierro Alessandra

alessandra.dipierro@univr.it +39 045 802 7971

Fiorini Paolo

paolo.fiorini@univr.it 045 802 7963

Fummi Franco

franco.fummi@univr.it 045 802 7994

Geretti Luca

luca.geretti@univr.it +39 045 802 7850

Giachetti Andrea

andrea.giachetti@univr.it +39 045 8027998

Giacobazzi Roberto

roberto.giacobazzi@univr.it +39 045 802 7995

Gobbi Bruno

bruno.gobbi@univr.it

Gregorio Enrico

Enrico.Gregorio@univr.it 045 802 7937

Lora Michele

michele.lora@univr.it

Maris Bogdan Mihai

bogdan.maris@univr.it +39 045 802 7074

Marzola Pasquina

pasquina.marzola@univr.it 045 802 7816 (ufficio); 045 802 7614 (laboratorio)

Mastroeni Isabella

isabella.mastroeni@univr.it +39 045 802 7089

Menegaz Gloria

gloria.menegaz@univr.it +39 045 802 7024

Mogavero Fabio

fabio.mogavero@univr.it

Oliboni Barbara

barbara.oliboni@univr.it +39 045 802 7077

Posenato Roberto

roberto.posenato@univr.it +39 045 802 7967

Pravadelli Graziano

graziano.pravadelli@univr.it +39 045 802 7081

Quaglia Davide

davide.quaglia@univr.it +39 045 802 7811

Segala Roberto

roberto.segala@univr.it 045 802 7997

Setti Francesco

francesco.setti@univr.it +39 045 802 7804

Spoto Nicola Fausto

fausto.spoto@univr.it +39 045 8027940

Tomazzoli Claudio

claudio.tomazzoli@univr.it

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
B
(INF/01)
6
C
(FIS/01)
6
B
(ING-INF/05)
12
B
(ING-INF/05)
6
B
(INF/01)
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
B
(ING-INF/05)
One course to be chosen among the following
6
B
(INF/01)
Training
6
F
-
Final exam
6
E
-

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
B
(INF/01)
6
C
(FIS/01)
6
B
(ING-INF/05)
12
B
(ING-INF/05)
6
B
(INF/01)

3° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
B
(ING-INF/05)
One course to be chosen among the following
6
B
(INF/01)
Training
6
F
-
Final exam
6
E
-

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S00038

Coordinatore

Pasquina Marzola

Credits

6

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

FIS/01 - EXPERIMENTAL PHYSICS

Language

Italian

Period

II sem. dal Mar 1, 2018 al Jun 15, 2018.

Learning outcomes


The aim of the course is to provide the students with an introduction to the scientific method and with the basic knowledge of classical mechanics and thermodynamics.
At the end of the course, the students will be able to:
a) Show to possess good knowledge of the fundamental laws of classical mechanics and thermodynamics.
b) Solve problems in mechanics and thermodynamics.
c) Apply the physical laws to the different fields of interest in order to solve practical problems that they will face during their studies.

Program

1- Physics and measurement. Standards of lenght, mass and time. Dimensional analysis, Conversion of units. Vector and scalar quantities. Components of a vector and unit vectors. Properties of vectors. The scalar and vector products of two vectors.
2- Motion in one dimension. Position, velocity and speed. Particle under constant velocity. Acceleration. Motion diagrams. Particle under constant acceleration. Freely falling object. Motion in two dimensions. Position velocity and acceleration vectors. Two dimensional motion with constant acceleration. Projectile motion. Particle in uniform circular motion. Tangential and radial acceleration. Relative velocity and relative acceleration.
3- The Laws of Motion: The concept of force. Newton’s first law and inertial frames. Mass. Newton’s second law. The gravitational and electrostatic forces. The gravitational force and weight. Newton’s third law. Forces of friction. Newton’s second law for a particle under uniform circular motion. Non uniform circular motion. Motion in accelerated frames. Motion in the presence of resistive forces.
4- Energy and work. Work done by a constant force. Work done by a varying force. Kinetic energy and the work-kinetic energy theorem. Potential energy. Conservative and non conservative forces. Relationship between conservative forces and potential energy. Energy diagrams and equilibrium of a system. Conservation of energy for a non isolated system and for an isolated system. Situations involving kinetic friction. Changes in mechanical energy for non conservative forces. Power.
5- Linear momentum and collisions. Linear momentum and its conservation. Collisions in one dimension. Collisions in two dimensions. The center of mass. Systems of many particles. Rocket propulsion.
6- Rotation of a rigid object about a fixed axis. Angular position, velocity and acceleration. Rigid object under constant angular acceleration. Angular and translational quantities. Rotational kinetic energy. Moments of Inertia. Torque. Rigid object under a net torque. Energy consideration in rotational motion. Angular momentum. Angular momentum for a rigid object. Angular momentum for an isolated system.
7- Newton’s law of universal gravitation. Free-fall acceleration and the gravitational force. Kepler’s laws and the motion of planets. The gravitational field. Gravitational potential energy.
8- Fluid Mechanics. Pressure. Variation of pressure with depth. Pressure measurements. Archimede’s principle. Fluid dynamics. Bernoulli’s equation.
9- Oscillatory motion. Motion of an object attached to a spring. Particle in simple harmonic motion. Energy of the simple harmonic oscillator. Comparing simple harmonic motion with uniform circular motion. The pendulum. Damped and forced oscillations.
10- Thermodynamics. Temperature and the zeroth law of thermodynamics. Thermometers and the Celsius temperature scale. The constant-volume gas thermometer and the absolute temperature scale. Thermal expansion. Macroscopic description of an ideal gas. Heat and internal energy. Specific heat and calorimetry. Work and heat in thermodynamic processes. The first law of Thermodynamics. Heat engines and the second law of thermodynamics. Reversible and irreversible processes. The Carnot engine. Entropy.

Bibliografia

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
Serway Jewett Fisica per Scienze ed Ingegneria volume primo (Edizione 5) EdiSES srl 2015 978-88-7959-834-7

Examination Methods

Written test consisting of exercises on the topics covered during the course and some multiple choice questions. The witten test can be followed by an oral exam (optional), which aims to acquire, if necessary, further elements for evaluation of students and eventually clarify aspects of the written test.

Type D and Type F activities

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Graduation

List of theses and work experience proposals

theses proposals Research area
Analisi e percezione dei segnali biometrici per l'interazione con robot AI, Robotics & Automatic Control - AI, Robotics & Automatic Control
Integrazione del simulatore del robot Nao con Oculus Rift AI, Robotics & Automatic Control - AI, Robotics & Automatic Control
Domain Adaptation Computer Science and Informatics: Informatics and information systems, computer science, scientific computing, intelligent systems - Computer graphics, computer vision, multi media, computer games
Domain Adaptation Computer Science and Informatics: Informatics and information systems, computer science, scientific computing, intelligent systems - Machine learning, statistical data processing and applications using signal processing (e.g. speech, image, video)
BS or MS theses in automated reasoning Computing Methodologies - ARTIFICIAL INTELLIGENCE
Domain Adaptation Computing Methodologies - IMAGE PROCESSING AND COMPUTER VISION
Domain Adaptation Computing methodologies - Machine learning
Dati geografici Information Systems - INFORMATION SYSTEMS APPLICATIONS
Analisi e percezione dei segnali biometrici per l'interazione con robot Robotics - Robotics
Integrazione del simulatore del robot Nao con Oculus Rift Robotics - Robotics
BS or MS theses in automated reasoning Theory of computation - Logic
BS or MS theses in automated reasoning Theory of computation - Semantics and reasoning
Proposte di tesi/collaborazione/stage in Intelligenza Artificiale Applicata Various topics
Proposte di Tesi/Stage/Progetto nell'ambito delle basi di dati/sistemi informativi Various topics

Gestione carriere


Area riservata studenti


Attendance

As stated in point 25 of the Teaching Regulations for the A.Y. 2021/2022, attendance at the course of study is not mandatory.
Please refer to the Crisis Unit's latest updates for the mode of teaching.

Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.