Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
Semestrino IA Sep 28, 2015 Nov 14, 2015
Semestrino IB Nov 16, 2015 Jan 16, 2016
Semestrino IIA Feb 22, 2016 Apr 16, 2016
Semestrino IIB Apr 18, 2016 Jun 4, 2016
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione invernale Jan 18, 2016 Feb 20, 2016
Sessione estiva Jun 6, 2016 Jul 30, 2016
Sessione autunnale Sep 1, 2016 Sep 30, 2016
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione estiva Jul 5, 2016 Jul 6, 2016
Sessione autunnale Nov 22, 2016 Nov 23, 2016
Sessione invernale Apr 3, 2017 Apr 8, 2017
Holidays
Period From To
Festa di Ognissanti Nov 1, 2015 Nov 1, 2015
Festa dell'Immacolata Dec 8, 2015 Dec 8, 2015
Vacanze di Natale Dec 23, 2015 Jan 6, 2016
Vancanze di Pasqua Mar 24, 2016 Mar 29, 2016
Festa della Liberazione Apr 25, 2016 Apr 25, 2016
Festa dei Lavoratori May 1, 2016 May 1, 2016
Festa del S. Patrono S. Zeno May 21, 2016 May 21, 2016
Festa della Repubblica Jun 2, 2016 Jun 2, 2016
Vacanze estive Aug 8, 2016 Aug 15, 2016

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Culture and Civilisation Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G L M N O P R S T U V Z

Arcangeli Alessandro

alessandro.arcangeli@univr.it +39 045802 8351
Guido Avezzù,  July 23, 2019

Avezzu' Guido

guido.avezzu@univr.it

Barbierato Federico

federico.barbierato@univr.it 045 802 8351

Bassetti Massimiliano

massimiliano.bassetti@univr.it 045802 8376

Bigliazzi Silvia

silvia.bigliazzi@univr.it +39 045802 8477

Bondì Davide

davide.bondi@univr.it 045 8028389

Borghetti Vincenzo

vincenzo.borghetti@univr.it +39 045 802 8584

Brunetti Simona

simona.brunetti@univr.it +39 045802 8575

Buonopane Alfredo

alfredo.buonopane@univr.it +39 0458028120

Calabrese Evita

evita.calabrese@univr.it

Camurri Renato

renato.camurri@univr.it +39 045 802 8635

Carnero Roberto

roberto.carnero@univr.it

Cavarzere Alberto

alberto.cavarzere@univr.it
Foto,  August 29, 2018

Chiecchi Giuseppe

giuseppe.chiecchi@univr.it +39 045802 8117

Ciancio Luca

luca.ciancio@univr.it +39 045802 8122

Concina Chiara Maria

chiara.concina@univr.it +39 045 802 8325

Cotticelli Paola

paola.cotticelli@univr.it +39 045802 8587

Dal Pozzolo Enrico

enrico.dalpozzolo@univr.it +39 045802 8569

Danelon Fabio

fabio.danelon@univr.it 045/8028378

Demo Edoardo

edoardo.demo@univr.it 045 802 8782 (VR) 0444.393930 (VI)

De Prisco Antonio

antonio.deprisco@univr.it +39 045 802 8553

Facchini Giuliana Maria

giuliana.facchini@univr.it +39 045802 8391

Formiga Federica

federica.formiga@univr.it 045802 8123

Forner Fabio

fabio.forner@univr.it + 39 045 802 8194

Franco Tiziana

tiziana.franco@univr.it +39 045802 8380

Genetti Stefano

stefano.genetti@univr.it +39 045802 8412

Giusfredi Federico

federico.giusfredi@univr.it +39 045802 8481

Gonzato Federica

federica.gonzato@univr.it

Lerco Elisa

elisa.lerco@univr.it

Lupi Francesco

francesco.lupi@univr.it

Mastrocinque Attilio

attilio.mastrocinque@univr.it +39 045802 8386

Melloni Chiara

chiara.melloni@univr.it +39 045802 8119

Minozzi Stefano

stefano.minozzi@univr.it +39 045 8028553

Neri Stefano

stefano.neri@univr.it +39 045802 8692

Ophaelders Markus Georg

markus.ophalders@univr.it 045-8028732

Pagliaroli Stefano

stefano.pagliaroli@univr.it +39 045 8028056

Paini Anna Maria

anna.paini@univr.it +39 045802 8129

Palma Flavia

flavia.palma@univr.it
Foto,  April 14, 2018

Pasini Roberto

pasini.roberto@univr.it +39 045802 8121

Pasqualicchio Nicola

nicola.pasqualicchio@univr.it 0458028585

Pellegrini Paolo

paolo.pellegrini@univr.it +39 045 802 8559

Pelloni Gabriella

gabriella.pelloni@univr.it +39 045802 8328
Marco Peresani,  March 30, 2016

Peresani Marco

Piovan Dino

dino.piovan@univr.it

Ponchia Simonetta

simonetta.ponchia@univr.it +39 045802 8365
Foto 11/18,  January 31, 2019

Pozzo Riccardo

riccardo.pozzo@univr.it +390458028053

Prandi Luisa

luisa.prandi@univr.it +39 045 802 8718

Raccanelli Renata

renata.raccanelli@univr.it 0458028366

Ricottilli Licinia

licinia.ricottilli@univr.it +39 045802 8366

Rima Matteo

matteo.rima@univr.it 0458028440

Rodighiero Andrea

andrea.rodighiero@univr.it +39 045 802 8643

Romagnani Gian Paolo

gianpaolo.romagnani@univr.it +39 045802 8377

Rossi Mariaclara

mariaclara.rossi@univr.it 045 802 8380

Sandrini Giuseppe

giuseppe.sandrini@univr.it 045 802 8069

Scandola Alberto

alberto.scandola@univr.it 045.8028586

Scattolin Paolo

paolo.scattolin@univr.it +39 045 802 8645

Stanzani Sandro

sandro.stanzani@univr.it +39 0458028649

Tani Stefano

stefano.tani@univr.it +39 045802 8110

Tedoldi Leonida

leonida.tedoldi@univr.it 045 8028618

Trovato Sonia

sonia.trovato@univr.it

Ugolini Gherardo

gherardo.ugolini@univr.it +39 0458028665

Vantini Sandra

sandra.vantini@univr.it +39 045802 8548

Varanini Gian Maria

gianmaria.varanini@univr.it

Viola Corrado

corrado.viola@univr.it +39 045802 8194

Zangrandi Alessandra

alessandra.zangrandi@univr.it 0458028115

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

CURRICULUM TIPO:

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
One course to be chosen among the following
6
B
L-FIL-LET/05
6
B
L-FIL-LET/04
2 course to be chosen among the following
Modules Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°
Other activitites
6
F
-

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S01196

Coordinatore

Silvia Bigliazzi

Credits

6

Language

Italian

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

L-LIN/10 - ENGLISH LITERATURE

Period

First half of Semester 1  dal Sep 25, 2017 al Nov 11, 2017.

Learning outcomes

The module aims at introducing the students to nineteenth- and twentieth-century English Literature with a focus upon a few canonical texts and within the context of coeval continental literature. At the same time, it wishes to provide appropriate instruments for a critical approach to texts and genres. The module will develop abilities of textual reading and analysis of modern and contemporary narrative works within their historical and cultural contexts. It will also introduce students to critical approaches aimed at strengthening their analytical and argumentative skills. On successful completion of the module, students will be able to re-elaborate critically the acquired knowledge, to comprehend texts in English and translate them into Italian, and to discuss topics employing appropriate linguistic and stylistic registers.

Program

“The self and the ‘other’: the ‘double’ motif in nineteenth- and twentieth-century English literature.”
The course concentrates on the motif of the ‘double’ in nineteenth- and twentieth-century novels and short stories. After an introduction to canonical European narratives on this subject and to British late-nineteenth-century examples, such as Stevenson’s and Wilde’s, the module will come to explore Conrad’s protomodernist experimentation in a novel and two short stories. It will then investigate Virginia Woolf’s own modernist reinterpretation of the ‘double’ issue through an unprecedented focalization upon the characters’ own consciences.

TEACHING METHODS:
The module will be held in Italian; primary texts will be read in English and translated into Italian. Attending students will take one self-assessment test at the end of the module. A written calendar of the topics that will be dealt with will be circulated in class at the beginning of the course.
Further teaching material will be available for download from the MOODLE repository.

BIBLIOGRAPHY:
Students are required to do all the readings indicated in the two sections below: 1. Primary Texts (the writers’ works), 2. Secondary Texts (references):

1) Primary Texts:
• Joseph Conrad, Heart of Darkness. Cuore di tenebra (1899; parallel text edition), ed. by U. Mursia, Milano, U. Mursia editore, 1978-85;
• Joseph Conrad, Il duello (1908; parallel text edition), a cura di M. Domenichelli, Venezia, Marsilio, 2004;
• Joseph Conrad, Il compagno segreto (1909; parallel text edition), with an introduction by A. Zanzotto, Milano, Rizzoli (BUR), 1975;
• Virginia Woolf, La Signora Dalloway (1925; con introduzione di), ed. by Marisa Sestito, Venezia, Marsilio, 2012.

2) Secondary Texts:
• Romana Rutelli, Il desiderio del diverso: saggio sul doppio, Napoli, Liguori, 1984;
• F. Marenco, “‘And I saw my mistake’: Joseph Conrad e la narrativa di un secolo critico”, in G. Cianci (ed.), Modernismo/Modernismi, Milano, Principato, 1991, pp. 83-97;
• Maria DiBattista, Virginia Woolf’s Major Novels: The Fables of Anon, New Haven, Yale University Press, 1980, pp. 22-63.
• A. Marchese, L’officina del racconto, Milano, Mondadori, 1994, pp. 69-234.

Non-attending students:
Non-attending students are required to integrate the syllabus detailed above (parts 1 and 2) with the following readings:

• J.H. Stape (ed.), Cambridge Companion to Joseph Conrad, Cambridge, Cambridge University Press, 1996: Cedric Watts, “Heart of Darkness”, pp. 45-62; Jacob Loth, “Conradian Narrative”, pp. 160-178; Andrea White, “Conrad and Imperialism”, pp. 179-202; Kenneth Graham, “Conrad and Modernism”, pp. 203-222; Gene M. Moore, “Conrad’s Influence”, pp. 223-41;
• Alice Van Buren Kelly, The Novels of Virginia Woolf. Fact and Vision, Chicago and London, University of Chicago Press, 1973 pp. 88-113.

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
Franco Marenco “‘And I saw my mistake’: Joseph Conrad e la narrativa di un secolo critico”, in G. Cianci (a cura di), Modernismo/Modernismi Milano, Principato 1991 Testo secondario: pp. 83-97.
J.H. Stape (ed.) Cambridge Companion to Joseph Conrad Cambridge, Cambridge University Press 1996 Per studenti non frequentanti: è richiesto lo studio dei seguenti saggi (testi secondari): Cedric Watts, “Heart of Darkness”, pp. 45-62; Jacob Loth, “Conradian Narrative”, pp. 160-178; Andrea White, “Conrad and Imperialism”, pp. 179-202; Kenneth Graham, “Conrad and Modernism”, pp. 203-222; Gene M. Moore, “Conrad’s Influence”, pp. 223-41.
Joseph Conrad Heart of Darkness. Cuore di tenebra (1899; testo inglese a fronte), a cura di U. Mursia Milano, U. Mursia editore 1985 Testo primario.
Joseph Conrad Il compagno segreto (1909; testo inglese a fronte), con introduzione di A. Zanzotto Milano, Rizzoli (BUR) 1975 Testo primario.
Romana Rutelli Il desiderio del diverso: saggio sul doppio Napoli, Liguori 1984 Testo secondario.
Joseph Conrad Il duello (1908; testo inglese a fronte), a cura di M. Domenichelli Venezia, Marsilio 2004 Testo primario.
Virginia Woolf La Signora Dalloway (1925; testo inglese a fronte), a cura di Marisa Sestito Venezia, Marsilio 2012 Testo primario.
Angelo Marchese L’officina del racconto Milano, Mondadori 1994 Testo secondario.
Alice Van Buren Kelly The Novels of Virginia Woolf. Fact and Vision Chicago and London, University of Chicago Press 1973 Per studenti non frequentanti: è richiesto lo studio delle pp. 88-113.
Maria DiBattista Virginia Woolf’s Major Novels: The Fables of Anon New Haven, Yale University Press 1980 Testo secondario: pp. 22-63.

Examination Methods

The exam will consist in an oral discussion of the topics dealt with during the module. The acquired abilities will be evaluated in terms of:

1) knowledge of the primary texts within their historical and cultural contexts and in relation to the literary tradition of ‘the double’;
2) ability to use critical approaches appropriate to textual and contextual analysis, with special attention to stylistic and narratological features;
3) textual comprehension and translation into Italian of the primary texts;
4) argumentative skills in an academic discussion in Italian.

The oral exam will be held in Italian and will evaluate the knowledge acquired with regard to parts (1) and (2) of the above-detailed syllabus.

Alternatively, attending students only may deliver an essay in English of approximately 5,000 words at least two weeks before the date of the oral exam. The essay should be on one or more topics of their own choice among those dealt with in class. Before writing the essay, students are invited to discuss their project with the teacher. This written part will be integrated with an oral discussion of the same topic on the day of the exam.

Bibliography

Type D and Type F activities

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.


Linguistic training CLA


Graduation

List of theses and work experience proposals

theses proposals Research area
tesi di Glottologia, Storia comparata, Linguistica storica ENGLISH LANGUAGE - Grammar and Syntax – Grammatik und Syntax
tesi di Glottologia, Storia comparata, Linguistica storica GERMANIC LANGUAGE - Dialectology - Dialektologie
tesi di Glottologia, Storia comparata, Linguistica storica HUMANITIES & SOCIAL STUDIES - HUMANITIES & SOCIAL STUDIES
tesi di Glottologia, Storia comparata, Linguistica storica Indo-European languages & literatures - Indo-European languages & literatures
tesi di Glottologia, Storia comparata, Linguistica storica LINGUISTICS - LINGUISTICS
Stage Research area
Lavorare in archivio Various topics
L'iter del libro in biblioteca Various topics

Student mentoring


Requisiti classi di abilitazione insegnamento

Requisiti necessari per accedere alle classi di abilitazione per l'insegnamento.
vedi allegato pdf

Inoltre, per informazioni sui 24 CFU nelle discipline antropo-psico-pedagogiche e nelle metodologie e tecnologie didattiche, si veda -> LINK 

Attachments

Title Info File
Doc_Univr_pdf Classi insegnamento con LM-14 307 KB, 30/11/21 

Gestione carriere


Area riservata studenti