Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

A.A. 2016/2017

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
I sem. Oct 3, 2016 Jan 31, 2017
II sem. Mar 1, 2017 Jun 9, 2017
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione invernale Appelli d'esame Feb 1, 2017 Feb 28, 2017
Sessione estiva Appelli d'esame Jun 12, 2017 Jul 31, 2017
Sessione autunnale Appelli d'esame Sep 1, 2017 Sep 29, 2017
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione estiva Appelli di Laurea Jul 18, 2017 Jul 18, 2017
Sessione autunnale Appelli di laurea Nov 22, 2017 Nov 22, 2017
Sessione invernale Appelli di laurea Mar 20, 2018 Mar 20, 2018
Holidays
Period From To
Festa di Ognissanti Nov 1, 2016 Nov 1, 2016
Festa dell'Immacolata Concezione Dec 8, 2016 Dec 8, 2016
Vacanze di Natale Dec 23, 2016 Jan 8, 2017
Vacanze di Pasqua Apr 14, 2017 Apr 18, 2017
Anniversario della Liberazione Apr 25, 2017 Apr 25, 2017
Festa del Lavoro May 1, 2017 May 1, 2017
Festa della Repubblica Jun 2, 2017 Jun 2, 2017
Vacanze estive Aug 8, 2017 Aug 20, 2017

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Science and Engineering Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

B C D F G L M O P Q T U V Z

Bicego Manuele

manuele.bicego@univr.it +39 045 802 7072

Buffelli Mario Rosario

mario.buffelli@univr.it +39 0458027268

Capaldi Stefano

stefano.capaldi@univr.it +39 045 802 7907

Cicalese Ferdinando

ferdinando.cicalese@univr.it +39 045 802 7969

Combi Carlo

carlo.combi@univr.it 045 802 7985

Delledonne Massimo

massimo.delledonne@univr.it 045 802 7962; Lab: 045 802 7058

Dominici Paola

paola.dominici@univr.it 045 802 7966; Lab: 045 802 7956-7086

D'Onofrio Mariapina

mariapina.donofrio@univr.it 045 802 7801

Drago Nicola

nicola.drago@univr.it 045 802 7081

Farinelli Alessandro

alessandro.farinelli@univr.it +39 045 802 7842

Fiorini Paolo

paolo.fiorini@univr.it 045 802 7963

Franco Giuditta

giuditta.franco@univr.it +39 045 802 7045

Giachetti Andrea

andrea.giachetti@univr.it +39 045 8027998

Giorgetti Alejandro

alejandro.giorgetti@univr.it 045 802 7982

Giugno Rosalba

rosalba.giugno@univr.it 0458027066

Gobbi Bruno

bruno.gobbi@univr.it

Gregorio Enrico

Enrico.Gregorio@univr.it 045 802 7937

Lovato Pietro

pietro.lovato@univr.it +39 045 802 7035

Manca Vincenzo

vincenzo.manca@univr.it 045 802 7981

Masini Andrea

andrea.masini@univr.it 045 802 7922

Menegaz Gloria

gloria.menegaz@univr.it +39 045 802 7024

Muradore Riccardo

riccardo.muradore@univr.it +39 045 802 7835

Oliboni Barbara

barbara.oliboni@univr.it +39 045 802 7077

Piccinelli Fabio

fabio.piccinelli@univr.it +39 045 802 7097

Posenato Roberto

roberto.posenato@univr.it +39 045 802 7967

Quaglia Davide

davide.quaglia@univr.it +39 045 802 7811

Trabetti Elisabetta

elisabetta.trabetti@univr.it 045/8027209

Valenti Maria Teresa

mariateresa.valenti@univr.it +39 045 812 8450

Villa Tiziano

tiziano.villa@univr.it +39 045 802 7034

Zanatta Marco

marco.zanatta@univr.it +39 045 802 7093

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
6
A
(MAT/02)
6
C
(BIO/13)
12
C
(CHIM/03 ,CHIM/06)
6
A
(FIS/01)
English language competence-complete b1 level
6
E
-
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
One course to be chosen among the following
2 courses to be chosen among the following
Other activitites
3
F
-
Prova finale
3
E
(-)

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
6
A
(MAT/02)
6
C
(BIO/13)
12
C
(CHIM/03 ,CHIM/06)
6
A
(FIS/01)
English language competence-complete b1 level
6
E
-

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
B
(INF/01)
6
C
(BIO/18)

3° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
One course to be chosen among the following
2 courses to be chosen among the following
Other activitites
3
F
-
Prova finale
3
E
(-)

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S00995

Coordinatore

Vincenzo Manca

Credits

6

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

INF/01 - INFORMATICS

Language

Italian

Period

II sem. dal Mar 1, 2017 al Jun 9, 2017.

Learning outcomes

The course intends to introduce the fundamental discrete structure by emphasizing their use in the definition of mathematical models of biological relevance. In the first part, after an introduction to the basic discrete structures, the number systems are analyzed, with the number representation systems, and the principle of structural induction. Then, the main concepts of formal language theory are presented, by concluding with the study of the principal combinatorial schemata.

Program

Discrete structures: sets, multisets, sequences, strings, operations, relations, functions, variables, parentheses and expressions. Numbers and induction: number systems, number representations, proofs by induction, definitions by induction of important number sequences. Structural induction over strings, trees e graphs. Outlines of first order logical languages (terms, formulas, interpretations). Formal languages, grammars and automata. Patterns and regular expressions, Chomsky hierarchy, finite state automata. Computing automata and Turing macjine. Decidability, semidecidability ed undecidability. Elements of combinatorics: allocations and partitions, binomial and multinomial coefficients. Enumeration of partitions and multisets.

Bibliografia

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
Vincenzo Manca Infobiotics Springer 2013

Examination Methods

Written and oral examination.

The written exam requires that the student is able to use correctly the formalism taught in the course for expressing synthetically and correctly the solutions to the problems asked in the exam text.

The oral examination starts by checking the answers given by the student in the written exam, possibly by asking specific clarifications and motivations to specific passages and statements. During this verification the student is also asked to refer about specific points of the course, with the intention of checking the understanding of the main concepts that the course intends to teach.

Teaching Material
Manca, V. - Infobiotics. Springer, 2013 (Chapters 5, 6, 7).
Manca V. - Vademecum all'Esame di Metodi Informazionali (with a list of definitions and theorems plus 100 exercises with the corresponding solutions).

Type D and Type F activities

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Graduation

List of theses and work experience proposals

Stage Research area
Correlated mutations Various topics

Gestione carriere


Attendance

As stated in point 25 of the Teaching Regulations for the A.Y. 2021/2022, attendance at the course of study is not mandatory.
Please refer to the Crisis Unit's latest updates for the mode of teaching.

Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.