Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
I sem. Oct 3, 2016 Jan 31, 2017
II sem. Mar 1, 2017 Jun 9, 2017
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione invernale Appelli d'esame Feb 1, 2017 Feb 28, 2017
Sessione estiva Appelli d'esame Jun 12, 2017 Jul 31, 2017
Sessione autunnale Appelli d'esame Sep 1, 2017 Sep 29, 2017
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione estiva Appelli di Laurea Jul 18, 2017 Jul 18, 2017
Sessione autunnale Appelli di laurea Nov 22, 2017 Nov 22, 2017
Sessione invernale Appelli di laurea Mar 20, 2018 Mar 20, 2018
Holidays
Period From To
Festa di Ognissanti Nov 1, 2016 Nov 1, 2016
Festa dell'Immacolata Concezione Dec 8, 2016 Dec 8, 2016
Vacanze di Natale Dec 23, 2016 Jan 8, 2017
Vacanze di Pasqua Apr 14, 2017 Apr 18, 2017
Anniversario della Liberazione Apr 25, 2017 Apr 25, 2017
Festa del Lavoro May 1, 2017 May 1, 2017
Festa della Repubblica Jun 2, 2017 Jun 2, 2017
Vacanze estive Aug 8, 2017 Aug 20, 2017

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Science and Engineering Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

B C D F G M O P Q S T U V Z

Ballottari Matteo

symbol email matteo.ballottari@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7823

Bicego Manuele

symbol email manuele.bicego@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7072

Bonnici Vincenzo

symbol email vincenzo.bonnici@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7045

Boscaini Maurizio

symbol email maurizio.boscaini@univr.it

Buffelli Mario Rosario

symbol email mario.buffelli@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 0458027268

Busato Federico

symbol email federico.busato@univr.it

Calanca Andrea

symbol email andrea.calanca@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7847

Capaldi Stefano

symbol email stefano.capaldi@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7907

Cicalese Ferdinando

symbol email ferdinando.cicalese@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7969

Combi Carlo

symbol email carlo.combi@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7985

Daducci Alessandro

symbol email alessandro.daducci@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027025
Personal photo,  February 10, 2015

Dall'Alba Diego

symbol email diego.dallalba@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7074

Delledonne Massimo

symbol email massimo.delledonne@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7962; Lab: 045 802 7058

Dell'Orco Daniele

symbol email daniele.dellorco@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7637

Dominici Paola

symbol email paola.dominici@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7966; Lab: 045 802 7956-7086

D'Onofrio Mariapina

symbol email mariapina.donofrio@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7801

Drago Nicola

symbol email nicola.drago@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7081

Farinelli Alessandro

symbol email alessandro.farinelli@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7842

Giachetti Andrea

symbol email andrea.giachetti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027998

Giorgetti Alejandro

symbol email alejandro.giorgetti@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7982

Gregorio Enrico

symbol email Enrico.Gregorio@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7937

Manca Vincenzo

symbol email vincenzo.manca@univr.it symbol phone-number 045 802 7981

Maris Bogdan Mihai

symbol email bogdan.maris@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7074

Menegaz Gloria

symbol email gloria.menegaz@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7024

Oliboni Barbara

symbol email barbara.oliboni@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7077

Paci Federica Maria Francesca

symbol email federicamariafrancesca.paci@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7909

Piccinelli Fabio

symbol email fabio.piccinelli@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7097

Posenato Roberto

symbol email roberto.posenato@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7967

Quaglia Davide

symbol email davide.quaglia@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7811

Spoto Nicola Fausto

symbol email fausto.spoto@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 8027940

Storti Silvia Francesca

symbol email silviafrancesca.storti@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7908

Trabetti Elisabetta

symbol email elisabetta.trabetti@univr.it symbol phone-number 045/8027209

Villa Tiziano

symbol email tiziano.villa@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7034

Zanatta Marco

symbol email marco.zanatta@univr.it symbol phone-number +39 045 802 7093

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
C
CHIM/03 ,CHIM/06
6
A
FIS/01
English language competence-complete b1 level
6
E
-
activated in the A.Y. 2017/2018
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
B
INF/01
6
C
BIO/18
activated in the A.Y. 2018/2019
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
One course to be chosen among the following
Other activitites
3
F
-
Prova finale
3
E
-

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
C
CHIM/03 ,CHIM/06
6
A
FIS/01
English language competence-complete b1 level
6
E
-

2° Year activated in the A.Y. 2017/2018

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
B
INF/01
6
C
BIO/18

3° Year activated in the A.Y. 2018/2019

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
One course to be chosen among the following
Other activitites
3
F
-
Prova finale
3
E
-

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




S Placements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S02714

Credits

6

Coordinatore

Andrea Giachetti

Language

Italian

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

INF/01 - INFORMATICS

The teaching is organized as follows:

Teoria

Credits

4

Period

I semestre

Academic staff

Andrea Giachetti

Laboratorio

Credits

2

Period

I semestre

Academic staff

Andrea Giachetti

Learning outcomes

The course aims to provide the student with basic information on scientific and information visualization techniques.
Furthermore, it gives the student the tools needed to master algorithms and computational methods upon which many interactive computer graphics applications are based. The
focus is on understanding the theory (geometry, radiometry) and
the computational issues (algorithms, programming) that lie behind computer-generated images.
At the end of the course, the students will be able to:
-Use smartly visualization techniques and tools
-Understand the functionality of the graphics pipeline of computers
-Understand the basics of 3D modeling and rendering algorithms
-Design and implement simple graphics and visualization applications

Program

1. Introduction to visualization
- Scientific and information visualization
- Graphics and data visualization
- The scientific visualization process

2. Fundamentals of graphics: Geometric modeling
-The Euclidean space
- Representations of objects
-Mesh, curves and surfaces (outline)
- Solid construction geometry (outline)
- Spatial partitioning (outline)

3. Rendering and lighting
- Introduction to rendering: ray casting
- Physical model: outline of radiometry, BRDF, rendering equation

4. Lighting models
- Phong model
- Types of lights

5. Rasterization pipeline
- Geometric transformations
- Clipping
- Removing hidden surfaces: list-priority, depth-buffer
- Scan conversion
- Shading: Flat, Phong and Gouraud
- The OpenGL pipeline
- Texture mapping

6. Other techniques for scientific visualization
- Isosurfaces
- Direct volume rendering

7. Laboratory (24h)
- Effective plots
- Images and volumes
- Paraview tutorial

Examination Methods

Written test (20/30) and evaluation of graphics programming skills (10/30)

To pass the exam students must demonstrate that:
- to have understood principles and methods of Scientific Visualization
- they have understood the basic algorithms related to modeling, lighting and rasterization pipeline
- they are able to describe these concepts in a clear and exhaustive way
- they are able to apply the acquired knowledge to solve application scenarios described by means of exercises, questions, and projects.

Written test:
The written test is composed of a few open questions and/or exercises testing the understanding of the different topics of the course.


Lab test:
The exam consists of the evaluation of exercises developed during the lab sessions.
For students who cannot attend the lab sessions, it will be assigned a project (typically a Visualization task to be realized with Paraview) to be completed, documented and discussed in an oral presentation.

Details and guidelines on the examination modalities are available in the e-learning area of the course.

Students with disabilities or specific learning disorders (SLD), who intend to request the adaptation of the exam, must follow the instructions given HERE

Type D and Type F activities

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details: only in this way will you be able to receive notification of all the notices from your teachers and your secretariat via email and soon also via the Univr app.

Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.


Erasmus+ and other experiences abroad


Graduation

For schedules, administrative requirements and notices on graduation sessions, please refer to the Graduation Sessions - Science and Engineering service.

List of theses and work experience proposals

Stage Research area
Correlated mutations Various topics

Attendance

As stated in the Teaching Regulations for the A.Y. 2022/2023, attendance at the course of study is not mandatory.
Please refer to the Crisis Unit's latest updates for the mode of teaching.


Career management


Student login and resources