Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

A.A. 2017/2018

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
FULL YEAR Oct 2, 2017 Jun 9, 2018
Semester 1 Oct 2, 2017 Jan 20, 2018
Semester 2 Feb 26, 2018 Jun 9, 2018
Exam sessions
Session From To
Winter session Jan 22, 2018 Feb 24, 2018
Summer session Jun 11, 2018 Jul 28, 2018
Autumn session Aug 27, 2018 Sep 22, 2018
Degree sessions
Session From To
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione autunnale a.a. 2016/2017 Dec 18, 2017 Dec 21, 2017
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione invernale a.a. 2016/2017 Mar 23, 2018 Mar 29, 2018
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione estiva Jul 16, 2018 Jul 21, 2018
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione autunnale Nov 12, 2018 Nov 17, 2018
LAUREE LINGUE - sessione invernale Apr 12, 2019 Apr 18, 2019
Holidays
Period From To
Immaculate Conception Dec 8, 2017 Dec 8, 2017
Christmas break Dec 22, 2017 Jan 7, 2018
Easter break Mar 30, 2018 Apr 3, 2018
Liberation Day Apr 25, 2018 Apr 25, 2018
Labour Day May 1, 2018 May 1, 2018
Patron Saint Day May 21, 2018 May 21, 2018
Republic Day Jun 2, 2018 Jun 2, 2018
Summer break Aug 13, 2018 Aug 18, 2018
Other Periods
Description Period From To
ANNUALE ANNUALE Oct 2, 2017 Jun 9, 2018

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Foreign Languages and Literatures Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G H K L M N P R S T U V Z

Adami Valentina

valentina.adami@univr.it

Aloe Stefano

stefano.aloe@univr.it +39 045802 8409

Bellomi Paola

paola.bellomi@univr.it

Beltrame Daniele

daniele.beltrame@univr.it

Bertollo Sabrina

sabrina.bertollo@univr.it +39 045802 8753

Bezrucka Yvonne

yvonne.bezrucka@univr.it +39 045802 8580

Bognolo Anna

anna.bognolo@univr.it +39 045802 8327

Boschiero Manuel

manuel.boschiero@univr.it +39 045802 8405

Bullado Emanuela

emanuela.bullado@univr.it 045 8028049

Butturini Daniele

daniele.butturini@univr.it +39 045 8028882

Butturini Paolo

paolo.butturini@univr.it +39 0458028890 - 8406

Calvi Lisanna

lisanna.calvi@univr.it +39 045 802 8673

Cantarini Sibilla

sibilla.cantarini@univr.it +39 045802 8199

Carlotto Ilaria

ilaria.carlotto@univr.it 045 802 8264

Cassia Fabio

fabio.cassia@univr.it 0458028689

Colombo Laura Maria

laura.colombo@univr.it + 39 045802 8322

Corrizzato Sara

sara.corrizzato@univr.it +39 045802 8694

Dalla Rosa Elisa

elisa.dallarosa@univr.it

Dalle Pezze Francesca

francesca.dallepezze@univr.it + 39 045802 8598

D'Attoma Sara

sara.dattoma@univr.it

De Beni Matteo

matteo.debeni@univr.it +39 045 802 8540

Facchinetti Roberta

roberta.facchinetti@univr.it +39 045802 8374

Febbroni Federico

federico.febbroni@univr.it

Fiorato Sidia

sidia.fiorato@univr.it +39 045802 8317

Forner Fabio

fabio.forner@univr.it + 39 045 802 8194

Frassi Paolo

paolo.frassi@univr.it +39 045802 8408

Gambin Felice

felice.gambin@univr.it +39 045802 8323

Genetti Stefano

stefano.genetti@univr.it +39 045802 8412

Gobbato Veronica

veronica.gobbato@univr.it

Gorris Rosanna

rosanna.gorris@univr.it +39 045802 8324

Hourani Martin Dunia

dunia.houranimartin@univr.it +39 045802 8105

Humbley Jean Louis

jeanlouis.humbley@univr.it +39 045 802 8105

Kofler Peter Erwin

peter.kofler@univr.it +39 045802 8313

Larcati Arturo

arturo.larcati@univr.it + 39 045802 8311

Lazzer Gian Paolo

gianpaolo.lazzer@univr.it

Lorenzetti Maria Ivana

mariaivana.lorenzetti@univr.it +39 045802 8579

Magnani Marco

marco.magnani@univr.it +39 045802 8405

Miotti Renzo

renzo.miotti@univr.it +39 045802 8571

Montemezzo Stefania

stefania.montemezzo@univr.it

Natale Massimo

massimo.natale@univr.it 045 802 8117

Nazzaro Lucia

lucia.nazzaro@univr.it 0458028406

Nicolini Matteo

matteo.nicolini@univr.it +39 045 8028893

Niu Chunye

chunye.niu@univr.it

Paolini Sara

sara.paolini@univr.it

Pes Annalisa

annalisa.pes@univr.it +39 045802 8318

Rabanus Stefan

stefan.rabanus@univr.it +39 045802 8490

Riolfo Gianluca

gianluca.riolfo@univr.it 0464/480337

Rossato Chiara

chiara.rossato@univr.it 045 802 8620

Salvi Luca

luca.salvi@univr.it +39 045802 8468

Savi Paola

paola.savi@univr.it 045-8028243

Savietto Valentina

valentina.savietto@univr.it

Schiffermuller Isolde

ischifferm@univr.it +39 045802 8478

Scrignoli Fabio Antonio

fabioantonio.scrignoli@univr.it

Simeoni Francesca

francesca.simeoni@univr.it + 39 045 802 8160

Stanzani Sandro

sandro.stanzani@univr.it +39 0458028649

Sun Min

min.sun@univr.it

Tallarico Giovanni Luca

giovanni.tallarico@univr.it +39 045 802 8663

Tincani Chiara

chiara.tincani@univr.it +39 045 8028896

Tomaselli Alessandra

alessandra.tomaselli@univr.it +39 045802 8315

Ugolini Marta Maria

marta.ugolini@univr.it + 39 045 802 8126

Viola Corrado

corrado.viola@univr.it +39 045802 8194

Zanfei Anna

anna.zanfei@univr.it +39 045802 8347

Zangrandi Alessandra

alessandra.zangrandi@univr.it 0458028115

Zinato Andrea

andrea.zinato@univr.it +39 045802 8339

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

CURRICULUM TIPO:
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1st foreign language
9
B
(L-LIN/04)
9
B
(L-LIN/21)
2nd foreign language
9
B
(L-OR/21)
9
B
(L-LIN/04)
9
B
(L-LIN/21)

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1st foreign language
9
B
(L-LIN/04)
9
B
(L-LIN/21)
2nd foreign language
9
B
(L-OR/21)
9
B
(L-LIN/04)
9
B
(L-LIN/21)
Modules Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S002910

Coordinatore

Lisanna Calvi

Credits

9

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

L-LIN/10 - ENGLISH LITERATURE

Language

English en

Period

Semester 1  dal Oct 2, 2017 al Jan 20, 2018.

Learning outcomes

The module aims at offering an overview of seventeenth- and eighteenth-century English literature and culture, as well as at presenting the students with the basics of textual and literary genre analysis.
On successful completion of the module, students will achieve a good knowledge of the cultural context in which the texts included in the programme were composed. They will be able to develop a coherent and detailed interpretation of the texts, apply key methods and concepts relevant to textual analysis, and provide a plausible critical interpretation in a register and style that serve the context and intention.

Program

Original sin(s) and fictional conversions. From Milton to Richardson.

The module will deal with a selection of poetic and narrative late seventeenth- and eighteenth-century texts on the basis of the changed (and changing) notions of sin and conversion, and their representation, looking at their various literary, religious, cultural, and political aspects. Different genres will be taken into account: from epic, to spiritual autobiography, to the novel.

The programme consists in three parts: 1. Primary texts, 2. References and 3. Handbook.
Language: lectures will be in English.
Please be advised: further details on required readings and general information on bibliographical material will be provided during classes.
Futher material will be available for download from the MOODLE e-repository.

BIBLIOGRAPHY

1. Primary texts
- J. Milton, Paradise Lost [Books I & IX], any English or parallel edition.
- J. Bunyan, Grace Abounding to the Chief of Sinners, any English edition.
- D. Defoe, Moll Flanders, (ed. by D. Blewett), Penguin, 2003.
- S. Richardson, Pamela, (ed. by M. Doody), Penguin, 2003.

2. References
- B. Lewalsky, “The Genres of Paradise Lost”, in The Cambridge Companion to John Milton, ed. by D. Danielson, CUP, 1999, pp. 113-129.
- D. Danielson, “The Fall and Milton’s Theodicity”, in The Cambridge Companion to John Milton, ed. by D. Danielson, CUP, 1999, pp. 144-159.
- R. Bell, “Metamorphoses of Spiritual Autobiography”, ELH, 44:1, 1977, pp. 108-126 (available on Jstor – see MOODLE for instructions).
- N. Rosenfeld, “The Tempter in Grace Abounding”, in The Human Satan in Seventeenth-Century English Literature, Ashgate, 2008, pp. 31-52.
- R.S. Beal, “Grace Abounding to the Chief of Sinners: John Bunyan’s Pauline Epistle”, Studies in English Literature, 1500-1900, 21:1, 1981, pp. 147-160 (available on Jstor – see MOODLE for instructions)
- I. Watt, The rise of the novel: studies in Defoe, Richardson and Fielding, Penguin, 1972, pp. 9-59 e 93-173.
- S.C. Conboy, “Fabric and Fabrication in Richardson’s Pamela”, ELH, 54:1, 1987, pp. 81-96 (available on Jstor – see MOODLE for instructions).
- L. Innocenti, “Introduzione”, in L’invenzione del vero. Forme dell’autenticazione nel romanzo inglese del ’700, a c. di L. Innocenti, Pacini, 2000, pp. 5-19.
- J. Clegg, “Defoe evidence and the eyewitness”, in L’invenzione del vero. Forme dell’autenticazione nel romanzo inglese del ’700, a c. di L. Innocenti, Pacini, 2000, pp. 21-77.

3. Handbook
As regards the literary and cultural context spanning from 1620 to 1830 (from the Revolution to Romanticism), students will refer to:
- A. Sanders, The Short Oxford History of English Literature, Oxford University Press, 2003 (third edition): from chapter 4. “Revolution and Restoration” to chapter 6. “The Literature of the Romantic Period”, included.

Bibliografia

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
Jeanne Clegg “Defoe evidence and the eyewitness”, in L’invenzione del vero. Forme dell’autenticazione nel romanzo inglese del ’700, a cura di Loretta Innocenti Pacini 2000 Testo secondario; pp. 21-77 / Secondary text, pp. 21-77
Sheila C. Conboy “Fabric and Fabrication in Richardson’s Pamela”, ELH, Vol. 54, n. 1 Articolo su rivista / Journal article 1987 Testo secondario; pp. 81-96; disponibile su Jstor – v. istruzioni in MOODLE / Secondary text; pp. 81-96; available on Jstor – see MOODLE for instructions
John Bunyan Grace Abounding to the Chief of Sinners Qualsiasi edizione inglese / Any English edition 1666 Testo primario / Primary text
Rebecca S. Beal “Grace Abounding to the Chief of Sinners: John Bunyan’s Pauline Epistle”, Studies in English Literature, 1500-1900, Vol. 21, n. 1 Articolo su rivista / Journal article 1981 Testo secondario; pp. 147-160; disponibile su Jstor – v. istruzioni in MOODLE / Secondary text; pp. 147-160; available on Jstor – see MOODLE for instructions
Loretta Innocenti “Introduzione”, in L’invenzione del vero. Forme dell'autenticazione nel romanzo inglese del ’700, a cura di Loretta Innocenti Pacini 2000 Testo secondario; pp. 5-19 / Secondary text; pp. 5-19
Robert Bell “Metamorphoses of Spiritual Autobiography”, ELH, Vol. 44, n. 1 Articolo su rivista / Journal article 1977 Testo secondario; pp. 108-126; disponibile su Jstor – v. istruzioni in MOODLE / Secondary text; pp. 108-126; available on Jstor – see MOODLE for instructions
Daniel Defoe Moll Flanders, ed. by David Blewett Penguin 2003 Testo primario / Primary text
Samuel Richardson Pamela, ed. by Margaret Doody Penguin 2003 Testo primario / Primary text
John Milton Paradise Lost Qualsiasi edizione inglese / Any English edition 1674 Testo primario; Libri I e IX / Primary text; Books I and IX
John Milton Paradiso Perduto, a cura di Roberto Sanesi Einaudi 1992 Testo primario, da affiancarsi alla lettura del testo in inglese
Barbara Lewalsky “The Genres of Paradise Lost”, in The Cambridge Companion to John Milton, ed. by Dennis Danielson Cambridge University Press 1999 Testo secondario; pp. 113-129 / Secondary text; pp. 113-129
Ian Watt The Rise of the Novel Penguin 1972 Testo secondario; pp. 9-59 e 93-173; Secondary text; pp. 9-59 and 73-193
Andrew Sanders The Short Oxford History of English Literature Oxford, Oxford University Press 1994 Manuale; terza edizione; cap. 4-6, inclusi / Handbook: third edition; ch. 4-6, included
Nancy Rosenfeld “The Tempter in Grace Abounding”, in The Human Satan in Seventeenth-Century English Literature Ashgate 2008 Testo secondario; pp. 31-52 / Secondary text; pp. 31-52

Examination Methods

The exam will consist in an oral discussion (in English) that will test the knowledge of the module’s topics (texts, authors, and genres) and the literary and cultural context (3. Handbook; main authors and movements from 1620 to 1830) as well as the use of an approriate vocabulary. Students may be required to read and comment on passages taken from primary texts (Bibliography: 1. Primary texts).
There will be no mid-term tests.

Type D and Type F activities

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Stage e tirocini

Nel piano didattico della laurea triennale in Lingue per il turismo e il commercio internazionale (L12) è previsto un periodo di stage obbligatorio (CFU 6) in organizzazioni imprenditoriali.

Le attività di stage sono finalizzate a far acquisire allo studente una conoscenza diretta in settori di particolare interesse per l’inserimento nel mondo del lavoro e per l’acquisizione di abilità professionali specifiche.
Le attività di stage sono svolte sotto la diretta responsabilità di un singolo docente presso studi professionali, enti della pubblica amministrazione, aziende accreditate dall’Ateneo veronese.
I crediti maturati in seguito ad attività di stage saranno attribuiti secondo quanto disposto nel dettaglio dal “Regolamento d’Ateneo per il riconoscimento dei crediti maturati negli stage universitari” vigente.
Tutte le informazioni in merito agli stage sono reperibili al link https://www.univr.it/it/i-nostri-servizi/stage-e-tirocini.
 

Saperi minimi

I saperi minimi (OFA) sono i requisiti richiesti per potersi iscrivere al successivo anno di corso. L'iscrizione al secondo anno è infatti subordinata ai risultati dell’accertamento degli OFA. Lo studente che non supera la verifica dei saperi minimi entro il 30 settembre viene iscritto al 1 anno in qualità di ripetente.

NOTA BENE
Il livello B2 (completo) di lingua italiana è obbligatorio solamente per gli studenti extra UE e per gli studenti che si sono diplomati in una Scuola Superiore la cui lingua di insegnamento sia diversa dall'italiano. Senza tale certificazione lo studente non può sostenere alcun esame.

Avvertenza per gli studenti provenienti da Paesi extra UE: il test di accertamento della conoscenza della lingua italiana sostenuto in fase di immatricolazione presso il CLA (Centro Linguistico di Ateneo), nella data indicata dal MIUR, non assolve i saperi minimi (OFA) di livello B2 completo della lingua italiana.


RECUPERO SAPERI MINIMI: calendario esercitazioni

In allegato sono pubblicati i calendari delle attività di recupero dei saperi minimi.

 

Attachments


Gestione carriere


Student Guide

Attachments

Title Info File
Doc_Univr_pdf Vademecum normativo area Lingue e letterature straniere 1006 KB, 24/09/21 

Linguistic training CLA


Assegnazione tutore

Lo studente può presentare domanda di assegnazione del tutore dell'elaborato finale una volta acquisiti almeno 135 CFU, con obbligo di aver superato gli esami di Lingua straniera 2, per entrambe le lingue di studio.
La presentazione della domanda verrà fatta tramite modulo da consegnare mediante servizio di Help desk.

Le prossime scadenze per l'inoltro della domanda sono:

- 27 gennaio 2022  - assegnazione utile per la sessione di laurea estiva (luglio 2022) o seguenti
- 20 aprile 2022  - assegnazione utile per la sessione di laurea autunnale (novembre 2022) o seguenti
- 26 settembre 2022 - assegnazione utile per la sessione di laurea invernale (marzo-aprile 2023) o seguenti

Per tutte le informazioni riguardanti la procedura di assegnazione tutore e per la compilazione della domanda si rimanda all'allegato "Norme relative alla procedura di assegnazione del tutore".

Si ricorda che la domanda di assegnazione tutore è VALIDA PER 1 ANNO al termine del quale è necessario presentare domanda di rinnovo o richiesta di nuova assegnazione

Attachments


Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.