Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

A.A. 2019/2020

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
Sem 1A Sep 23, 2019 Oct 31, 2019
Sem 1B Nov 11, 2019 Jan 11, 2020
Sem 2A Feb 17, 2020 Mar 28, 2020
Sem 2B Apr 6, 2020 May 30, 2020
Exam sessions
Session From To
Sessione d'esame invernale Jan 13, 2020 Feb 15, 2020
Sessione d'esame estiva (gli esami sono sospesi durante la sessione di laurea) Jun 3, 2020 Jul 25, 2020
Sessione d'esame autunnale Aug 24, 2020 Sep 19, 2020
Degree sessions
Session From To
Sessione di laurea estiva Jul 6, 2020 Jul 11, 2020
Sessione di laurea autunnale 19-20 Nov 2, 2020 Nov 7, 2020
Holidays
Period From To
Festa di Ognissanti Nov 1, 2019 Nov 1, 2019
Sospensione delle lezioni Nov 2, 2019 Nov 2, 2019
Festa dell'Immacolata Dec 8, 2019 Dec 8, 2019
Vacanze di Natale Dec 23, 2019 Jan 6, 2020
Vacanze di Pasqua Apr 10, 2020 Apr 14, 2020
Festa della Liberazione Apr 25, 2020 Apr 25, 2020
Festa del Lavoro May 1, 2020 May 1, 2020
Sospensione delle lezioni May 2, 2020 May 2, 2020
Festa del Santo Patrono May 21, 2020 May 21, 2020
Sospensione delle lezioni May 22, 2020 May 23, 2020
Festa della Repubblica Jun 2, 2020 Jun 2, 2020
Vacanze estive Aug 10, 2020 Aug 15, 2020

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Culture and Civilisation Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D E F G H K L M P R S T U V Z

Arcangeli Alessandro

alessandro.arcangeli@univr.it +39 045802 8351

Barbierato Federico

federico.barbierato@univr.it 045 802 8351

Bassetti Massimiliano

massimiliano.bassetti@univr.it 045802 8376

Basso Patrizia

patrizia.basso@univr.it +39 045802 8638

Beghini Giulia

giulia.beghini_01@univr.it/ giuliabeg@libero.it /

Bigliazzi Silvia

silvia.bigliazzi@univr.it +39 045802 8477

Bognolo Anna

anna.bognolo@univr.it +39 045802 8327

Borghetti Vincenzo

vincenzo.borghetti@univr.it +39 045 802 8584

Brunetti Simona

simona.brunetti@univr.it +39 045802 8575

Buonopane Alfredo

alfredo.buonopane@univr.it +39 0458028120

Calabrese Evita

evita.calabrese@univr.it

Camurri Renato

renato.camurri@univr.it +39 045 802 8635

Ciancio Luca

luca.ciancio@univr.it +39 045802 8122

Concina Chiara Maria

chiara.concina@univr.it +39 045 802 8325

Cotticelli Paola

paola.cotticelli@univr.it +39 045802 8587

Dalla Valle Marco

marco.dallavalle@univr.it

Dal Pozzolo Enrico

enrico.dalpozzolo@univr.it +39 045802 8569

Danelon Fabio

fabio.danelon@univr.it 045/8028378

Demo Edoardo

edoardo.demo@univr.it 045 802 8782 (VR) 0444.393930 (VI)

De Paolis Paolo

paolo.depaolis@univr.it +39 045 802 8371

Dobreva Diana Sergeeva

dianasergeeva.dobreva@univr.it +39 045802 8392

El Matouni Fatima

fatima.elmatouni@univr.it

Ferrari Maria Luisa

marialuisa.ferrari@univr.it 045 802 8532

Ferrarini Edoardo

edoardo.ferrarini@univr.it +39 045802 8112

Formiga Federica

federica.formiga@univr.it 045802 8123

Franco Tiziana

tiziana.franco@univr.it +39 045802 8380

Genetti Stefano

stefano.genetti@univr.it +39 045802 8412

Giusfredi Federico

federico.giusfredi@univr.it +39 045802 8481

Guaraldo Olivia

olivia.guaraldo@univr.it +39 045802 8066

Hatzikiriakos Alexandros Maria

alexandrosmaria.hatzikiriakos@univr.it

Lupi Francesco

francesco.lupi@univr.it

Masotti Lucia

lucia.masotti@univr.it 0458028272

Mastrocinque Attilio

attilio.mastrocinque@univr.it +39 045802 8386

Melloni Chiara

chiara.melloni@univr.it +39 045802 8119

Migliavacca Mara Gioia

maragioia.migliavacca@univr.it +39 045802 8392

Minozzi Stefano

stefano.minozzi@univr.it +39 045 8028553

Molteni Monica

monica.molteni@univr.it 045 8028021

Pagliaroli Stefano

stefano.pagliaroli@univr.it +39 045 8028056

Paini Anna Maria

anna.paini@univr.it +39 045802 8129

Pasqualicchio Nicola

nicola.pasqualicchio@univr.it 0458028585

Pedrucci Giulia

giulia.pedrucci@univr.it

Pellegrini Paolo

paolo.pellegrini@univr.it +39 045 802 8559

Piovan Dino

dino.piovan@univr.it

Pisaniello Valerio

valerio.pisaniello@univr.it +39 045802 8481

Ponchia Simonetta

simonetta.ponchia@univr.it +39 045802 8365

Prandi Luisa

luisa.prandi@univr.it +39 045 802 8718

Raccanelli Renata

renata.raccanelli@univr.it 0458028366

Rima Matteo

matteo.rima@univr.it 0458028440

Romagnani Gian Paolo

gianpaolo.romagnani@univr.it +39 045802 8377

Rossi Mariaclara

mariaclara.rossi@univr.it 045 802 8380

Salgaro Silvino

silvino.salgaro@univr.it +39 045802 8272

Scandola Alberto

alberto.scandola@univr.it 045.8028586

Scattolin Paolo

paolo.scattolin@univr.it +39 045 802 8645

Stanzani Sandro

sandro.stanzani@univr.it +39 0458028649

Stavru Alessandro

alessandro.stavru@univr.it 045 8028143

Tani Stefano

stefano.tani@univr.it +39 045802 8110

Terraroli Valerio

valerio.terraroli@univr.it 0458028441

Trovato Sonia

sonia.trovato@univr.it

Ugolini Gherardo

gherardo.ugolini@univr.it +39 0458028665

Vannini Carlo

carlo.vannini@accademiabelleartiverona.it

Varanini Gian Maria

gianmaria.varanini@univr.it +39 045802 8178

Viola Corrado

corrado.viola@univr.it +39 045802 8194

Zangrandi Alessandra

alessandra.zangrandi@univr.it 0458028115

Zinato Andrea

andrea.zinato@univr.it +39 045802 8339

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

CURRICULUM TIPO:
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
A
(L-FIL-LET/10)
1 module to be chosen among the following
Foreign language B1 level
3
E
-
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
2 modules to be chosen among the following
1 module to be chosen among the following
6
B
(L-FIL-LET/05)
6
B
(L-FIL-LET/04)
2 modules to be chosen among the following
12
B
(L-ANT/02)
12
B
(L-ANT/03)
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
B
(L-FIL-LET/10)
1 module to be chosen among the following
1 module to be chosen among the following
6
C
(L-ANT/03)
Final exam
6
E
-

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
A
(L-FIL-LET/10)
1 module to be chosen among the following
Foreign language B1 level
3
E
-

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
2 modules to be chosen among the following
1 module to be chosen among the following
6
B
(L-FIL-LET/05)
6
B
(L-FIL-LET/04)
2 modules to be chosen among the following
12
B
(L-ANT/02)
12
B
(L-ANT/03)

3° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
B
(L-FIL-LET/10)
1 module to be chosen among the following
1 module to be chosen among the following
6
C
(L-ANT/03)
Final exam
6
E
-
Modules Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°
Further activities
3
F
-

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S01236

Coordinatore

Paola Cotticelli

Credits

6

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

L-LIN/01 - HISTORICAL AND GENERAL LINGUISTICS

Language

Italian

Period

Sem 1B dal Nov 11, 2019 al Jan 11, 2020.

Learning outcomes

The Historical Linguistics is dealing with a diachronic perspective of the study of the human language, i.e. with the language change through the time. This course consists in an introduction to the study of the Ancient Indo-European languages, their cultures, the history of their discovery, and the methodological approaches, the language change discussed on the different levels of analysis. The comparative method to reconstruct the mother tongue of this family, further the comparison and reconstruction of the phonological and morphological structure of the different Indo-European languages together with the illustration of the most important phonetic and laws, furthermore, of the of the word formation and derivation, finally a brief introduction to the Indo-European culture and realia are the main topics of the course.

Program

1. Illustration of the concept of a linguistic family, in particular the Indo-European one
2. Historical, comparative and reconstructive method in ‘800 and in '900
3. History of the discipline
4. Concepts and principles of linguistic change
5. Exemplification of the language changes and characteristics through the analysis on the different levels:
5a. phonetic
5b. morphological and syntactical
5c. of the lexicon of the individual Indo-European languages, with specific reference to Latin and Greek.
6. Illustration of Indo-European culture based on hereditary vocabulary, realia and the history of the discipline.

References:

Campanile, E. “Antichità indoeuropee”, in: Le lingue indoeuropee, Giacalone Ramat, A.-Ramat, P. (a cura di), Bologna 1994, pp. 19-43.
Lehmann W.P., La linguistica indoeuropea, Mulino
Villar, F., Gli indoeuropei e le origini dell’Europa, Mulino.
Watkins, C. “Il proto-indoeuropeo”, in: Le lingue indoeuropee, Giacalone Ramat, A.-Ramat, P. (a cura di), Bologna 1994, pp. 45-93.

In addition to the mandatory texts for the exam, the student can take advantage of the following in-depth texts that also apply to any oral exam to be requested after the written exam:
- scripts by the teacher,
- materials available on the platform
- exercises

Examination Methods

EXAMS

Due to the Coronavirus pandemic, and in accordance with the University of Verona guidelines, during ​the 2020 summer session the assessment modality will be modified as follows: online oral exam.

Oral examination, preceded by the presentation of a paper about a word etymology from a chosen language.
The objective of the exam is
- to verify the acquired knowledge of the topics of the course;
- to verify the ability to re-elaborate and deepen the material of the course.

The objective of the examination is to verify the level of achievement of the previously indicated educational objectives.
The exam consists in the preparation and presentation of a brief etymological research of a word chosen by the student.
The questions of the oral exam allow to apply the acquired knowledge on the historical and comparative method, on the reconstruction of the proto-language, on the phonetic laws that mark the phonetic change of the different languages, on the analysis of morphological nominal and verbal categories.
During the exercises some examples of research are presented etymological and exercise the phenomena of change, especially phonological.


The class is a preparation course for a better understanding to the Master class Comparative Grammar of the Indo-European languages.

Type D and Type F activities

Prima parte del primo semestre From 9/23/19 To 10/31/19
years Modules TAF Teacher
1° 2° 3° The origins of Christianity F Augusto Barbi (Coordinatore)
Semestrino 1A From 9/23/19 To 10/31/19
years Modules TAF Teacher
Fondamenti per introduzione allo studio del linguaggio F Federico Righi (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Lectures "Musiche/Culture/Civiltà" F Vincenzo Borghetti (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Laboratory of ancient greek F Dino Piovan (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Intercomprehension laboratory between the Romance languages F Alessandra Zangrandi (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Opera Workshop F Nicola Pasqualicchio (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Presente e futuro del pianeta. economia, sostenibilità e politiche F Gian Maria Varanini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° How to write your dissertation F Alessandro Arcangeli (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° History of Greek and Roman theatre (i) D Gherardo Ugolini (Coordinatore)
Seconda parte del primo semestre From 11/11/19 To 1/11/20
years Modules TAF Teacher
Roman History (p) D Attilio Mastrocinque
1° 2° 3° The origins of Christianity F Augusto Barbi (Coordinatore)
Semestrino 1B From 11/11/19 To 1/11/20
years Modules TAF Teacher
Fondamenti per introduzione allo studio del linguaggio F Federico Righi (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Lectures "Musiche/Culture/Civiltà" F Vincenzo Borghetti (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Il realismo politico e l’impossibile F Olivia Guaraldo (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Laboratory of ancient greek F Dino Piovan (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Intercomprehension laboratory between the Romance languages F Alessandra Zangrandi (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Opera Workshop F Nicola Pasqualicchio (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Read and interpret the physical phenomena on the IGM cartography F Silvino Salgaro (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Presente e futuro del pianeta. economia, sostenibilità e politiche F Gian Maria Varanini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° How to write your dissertation F Alessandro Arcangeli (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° The History of Contemporary Art (p) D Valerio Terraroli
1° 2° 3° History of Greek and Roman theatre (i) D Gherardo Ugolini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Un patrimonio urbano da ri-conoscere e ri-valutare: ville e palazzi storici di verona e circondario F Gian Maria Varanini (Coordinatore)
Semestrino 2A From 2/17/20 To 3/28/20
years Modules TAF Teacher
2° 3° Archaeology and History of Greek and Roman Art (i) D Patrizia Basso
1° 2° 3° Marchants of Culture. Editorial distribution and promotion F Federica Formiga (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Training course for final skills evaluation test F Paolo De Paolis (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Giornate fai di primavera (1 cfu) F Monica Molteni (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Il realismo politico e l’impossibile F Olivia Guaraldo (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Educational workshop on bibliotherapy F Marco Dalla Valle (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Laboratory of photo F Carlo Vannini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Laboratory of ancient greek F Dino Piovan (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Intercomprehension laboratory between the Romance languages F Alessandra Zangrandi (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Workshop on akkadian language F Simonetta Ponchia (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Language and culture of Ancient Anatolia and the Hittites F Federico Giusfredi (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° How to write your dissertation F Alessandro Arcangeli (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Contemporary History (p) D Renato Camurri
1° 2° 3° History of Medieval Art (i) D Tiziana Franco
Semestrino 2B From 4/6/20 To 5/30/20
years Modules TAF Teacher
1° 2° 3° Archaeology and History of Greek and Roman Art (p) D Diana Sergeeva Dobreva
1° 2° 3° Training course for final skills evaluation test F Paolo De Paolis (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Fai un giro in villa (1 cfu) F Monica Molteni (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Il realismo politico e l’impossibile F Olivia Guaraldo (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Educational workshop on bibliotherapy F Marco Dalla Valle (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Laboratory of ancient greek F Dino Piovan (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Intercomprehension laboratory between the Romance languages F Alessandra Zangrandi (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Language and culture of Ancient Anatolia and the Hittites F Federico Giusfredi (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Seminari di storia contemporanea F Renato Camurri (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Contemporary History (p) D Renato Camurri
1° 2° 3° History of Medieval Art (p) D Tiziana Franco
1° 2° 3° History of Modern Art (p) D Enrico Dal Pozzolo
1° 2° 3° Greek History (p) D Luisa Prandi
1° 2° 3° Medieval history (p) D Gian Maria Varanini
List of courses with unassigned period
years Modules TAF Teacher
1° 2° 3° Esercitazioni di metrica latina Fatima El Matouni (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Summer School internazionale in Studi danteschi Ravenna-Verona F Paolo Pellegrini (Coordinatore)
1° 2° 3° Univero’ 2019 F Tiziana Franco (Coordinatore)

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Student mentoring


Requisiti classi di abilitazione insegnamento

Requisiti necessari per accedere alle classi di abilitazione per l'insegnamento.
vedi allegato pdf

Inoltre, per informazioni sui 24 CFU nelle discipline antropo-psico-pedagogiche e nelle metodologie e tecnologie didattiche, si veda -> LINK 

Attachments

Title Info File
pdf Classi insegnamento con LM-14 216 KB, 14/07/21 

Gestione carriere


Linguistic training CLA


Graduation

List of theses and work experience proposals

theses proposals Research area
tesi di Glottologia, Storia comparata, Linguistica storica ENGLISH LANGUAGE - Grammar and Syntax – Grammatik und Syntax
tesi di Glottologia, Storia comparata, Linguistica storica GERMANIC LANGUAGE - Dialectology - Dialektologie
tesi di Glottologia, Storia comparata, Linguistica storica HUMANITIES & SOCIAL STUDIES - HUMANITIES & SOCIAL STUDIES
tesi di Glottologia, Storia comparata, Linguistica storica Indo-European languages & literatures - Indo-European languages & literatures
tesi di Glottologia, Storia comparata, Linguistica storica LINGUISTICS - LINGUISTICS
Stage Research area
Lavorare in archivio Various topics
L'iter del libro in biblioteca Various topics

Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.