Studying at the University of Verona

Here you can find information on the organisational aspects of the Programme, lecture timetables, learning activities and useful contact details for your time at the University, from enrolment to graduation.

A.A. 2016/2017

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
I SEMESTRE Oct 3, 2016 Jan 21, 2017
II SEMESTRE Feb 27, 2017 Jun 10, 2017
Exam sessions
Session From To
Lingue - SESSIONE INVERNALE Jan 23, 2017 Feb 25, 2017
Lingue - SESSIONE ESTIVA Jun 12, 2017 Jul 29, 2017
Lingue - SESSIONE AUTUNNALE Aug 21, 2017 Sep 23, 2017
Degree sessions
Session From To
Lingue - Sessione di laurea invernale Apr 3, 2017 Apr 8, 2017
Lingue - Sessione di laurea estiva Jul 10, 2017 Jul 15, 2017
Lingue - Sessione di laurea autunnale Dec 18, 2017 Dec 21, 2017
Lingue - sessione di laurea invernale Mar 23, 2018 Mar 29, 2018
Holidays
Period From To
FESTA DI OGNISSANTI Nov 1, 2016 Nov 1, 2016
FESTA DELL'IMMACOLATA CONCEZIONE Dec 8, 2016 Dec 8, 2016
Vacanze Natalizie Dec 23, 2016 Jan 7, 2017
Vacanze Pasquali Apr 14, 2017 Apr 18, 2017
Festa della Liberazione Apr 25, 2017 Apr 25, 2017
Festa dei Lavoratori May 1, 2017 May 1, 2017
FESTA DEL SANTO PATRONO SAN ZENO May 21, 2017 May 21, 2017
Festa della Repubblica Jun 2, 2017 Jun 2, 2017
Vacanze Estive Aug 14, 2017 Aug 19, 2017
Other Periods
Description Period From To
ANNUALE ANNUALE Oct 3, 2016 Jun 10, 2017

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Foreign Languages and Literatures Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G K L M N P R S T U V Z

Alber Birgit

birgit.alber@univr.it +39 045 802 8490

Artoni Daniele

daniele.artoni@univr.it +39 045802 8465

Battisti Chiara

chiara.battisti@univr.it +39 045802 8317

Beltrame Daniele

daniele.beltrame@univr.it

Benedettini Riccardo

riccardo.benedettini@univr.it +39 045 802 8413

Bertollo Sabrina

sabrina.bertollo@univr.it +39 045802 8753

Bezrucka Yvonne

yvonne.bezrucka@univr.it +39 045802 8580

Bonadonna Maria Francesca

mariafrancesca.bonadonna@univr.it +39 045802 8663

Bonfanti Angelo

angelo.bonfanti@univr.it 045 802 8292

Bullado Emanuela

emanuela.bullado@univr.it 045 8028049

Butturini Daniele

daniele.butturini@univr.it +39 045 8028882

Butturini Paolo

paolo.butturini@univr.it +39 0458028890 - 8406

Cagliero Roberto

roberto.cagliero@univr.it +39 045802 8694

Cantarini Sibilla

sibilla.cantarini@univr.it +39 045802 8199

Cappelletti Cristina

cristina.cappelletti@univr.it

Ceresa Marco

Foto,  August 29, 2018

Chiecchi Giuseppe

giuseppe.chiecchi@univr.it +39 045802 8117

Colombo Laura Maria

laura.colombo@univr.it + 39 045802 8322

Corrizzato Sara

sara.corrizzato@univr.it

De Beni Matteo

matteo.debeni@univr.it +39 045 802 8540

De Lotto Cinzia

cinzia.delotto@univr.it

Di Leo Donata

Facchinetti Roberta

roberta.facchinetti@univr.it +39 045802 8374

Fiorato Sidia

sidia.fiorato@univr.it +39 045802 8317

Franceschi Valeria

valeria.franceschi@univr.it +39 045802 8729

Frassi Paolo

paolo.frassi@univr.it +39 045802 8408

Gambin Felice

felice.gambin@univr.it +39 045802 8323

Genetti Stefano

stefano.genetti@univr.it +39 045802 8412

Gorris Rosanna

rosanna.gorris@univr.it +39 045802 8324

Kofler Peter Erwin

peter.kofler@univr.it +39 045802 8313

Larcati Arturo

arturo.larcati@univr.it + 39 045802 8311

Lorenzetti Maria Ivana

mariaivana.lorenzetti@univr.it +39 045802 8579

Miotti Renzo

renzo.miotti@univr.it +39 045802 8571

Natale Massimo

massimo.natale@univr.it 045 802 8117

Nicolini Matteo

matteo.nicolini@univr.it +39 045 8028893

Niu Chunye

chunye.niu@univr.it

Paolini Sara

sara.paolini@univr.it

Perazzolo Paola

paola.perazzolo@univr.it +39 045802 8412

Pes Annalisa

annalisa.pes@univr.it +39 045802 8318

Rabanus Stefan

stefan.rabanus@univr.it +39 045802 8490

Riolfo Gianluca

gianluca.riolfo@univr.it 0464/480337

Rossato Chiara

chiara.rossato@univr.it 045 802 8620

Salgaro Massimo

massimo.salgaro@univr.it +39 045802 8312

Salvi Luca

luca.salvi@univr.it +39 045802 8468

Savi Paola

paola.savi@univr.it 045-8028243

Schiffermuller Isolde

ischifferm@univr.it +39 045802 8478

Simeoni Francesca

francesca.simeoni@univr.it + 39 045 802 8160

Stanzani Sandro

sandro.stanzani@univr.it +39 0458028649

Sun Min

min.sun@univr.it

Tincani Chiara

chiara.tincani@univr.it +39 045 8028896

Ugolini Marta Maria

marta.ugolini@univr.it + 39 045 802 8126

Vigolo Vania

vania.vigolo@univr.it 045 802 8624

Zanfei Anna

anna.zanfei@univr.it +39 045802 8347

Zangrandi Alessandra

alessandra.zangrandi@univr.it 0458028115

Zinato Andrea

andrea.zinato@univr.it +39 045802 8339

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

CURRICULUM TIPO:
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1st foreign language
9
B
(L-LIN/04)
9
B
(L-LIN/21)
2nd foreign language
9
B
(L-OR/21)
9
B
(L-LIN/04)
9
B
(L-LIN/21)

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
1st foreign language
9
B
(L-LIN/04)
9
B
(L-LIN/21)
2nd foreign language
9
B
(L-OR/21)
9
B
(L-LIN/04)
9
B
(L-LIN/21)

3° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
3rd foreign Language (b1):
3
F
-
Stage
6
S
-
Modules Credits TAF SSD
Between the years: 1°- 2°- 3°

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S002919

Teacher

Anna Zanfei

Coordinatore

Anna Zanfei

Credits

9

Scientific Disciplinary Sector (SSD)

L-LIN/12 - LANGUAGE AND TRANSLATION - ENGLISH

Language

English en

Period

II SEMESTRE dal Feb 27, 2017 al Jun 10, 2017.

Learning outcomes

The course aims to provide an introduction to the study of the English language from a syntactic and semantic perspective and to apply that knowledge to semantic contexts and discourse analysis.

Program

Prerequisites:
English Language 1;
English C1 level (Computer-based test);
English Literature 1.

COURSE SYLLABUS

Syntax:
⦁Lexical/grammatical word classes and Phrase structures
⦁Clauses and Sentences (Simple and Complex): form and function relationships
⦁The Information structure of the English Sentence: Given and New Information

Lexical Semantics:

introduction to lexical meaning
⦁multiple meaning: homonymy, polysemy
⦁sense relations: synonyms, hyponyms, meronyms, antonyms
⦁semantic contexts: collocation, connotation


Introduction to Discourse Analysis

⦁grammatical cohesion: repetition, reference, substitution, ellipsis, conjunction
⦁lexical cohesion
⦁the analysis of discourse and the varieties of discourses


Bibliographical references (essentials):
Kuiper, Koenraad and W. Scott Allan (2014) "An Introduction to English Language: Word, Sound and Sentence" (3rd ed.), Oxford: Palgrave Macmillan. (chapter 7 and chapter 8)
Jeffries, Lesley (2006) Discovering Language. The Structure of Modern English, London, Palgrave (chapter 4, chapter 5, chapter 6, and chapter 7)
Further Bibliographical references for the slides
Baker, Carl Lee (2001) English Syntax, second edition, Cambridge (MA), The MIT Press (chapters relative to the topics of the syllabus)

Aarts, Bas (2001) English Syntax and Argumentation, 2nd edition, London, Palgrave Macmillan

Altri riferimenti:
Jef Verschueren, Jan-Ola Östman, Jan Blommaert, and Chris Bulcaen (eds.). Handbook of Pragmatics, Philadelphia, PA: John Benjamins.

Aarts, Bas (2001) English Syntax and Argumentation, 2nd edition, London, Palgrave Macmillan

OTHER REFERENCES
*Crystal, David (1995) The Cambridge Encyclopaedia of the English Language, Cambridge, Cambridge University Press (Ch. 8 - The Nature of the Lexicon: 117-123; Ch. 9 – The Sources of the Lexicon: 124-135; Ch. 11- The Structure of the Lexicon: 156-169)

OPTIONAL REFERENCE

Saeed, John I. (2003) Semantics, London, Blackwell

Additional bibliographic references will be indicated during the course.
Grammar Textbooks:

Biber, Douglas, Susan Conrad and Geoffrey Leech (2002) Longman Student Grammar of Spoken and Written English, London, Longman

Dictionaries:

- Collins Cobuild English Language Dictionary for Advanced Learners, 2nd Edition, Collins
- Merriam Webster English Dictionary
- Hoepli Advanced Learner’s Dictionary Inglese-Italiano/Italiano-Inglese (2008), Milano, Hoepli
-Grande Dizionario Inglese Hazon Garzanti, nuova edizione 2008, Milano, Garzanti
Assessment methods and criteria

Bibliografia

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
Kuiper, Koenraad and W. Scott, Allan An Introduction to English Language: Word, Sound and Sentence Palgrave Macmillan 2014 9780230208018
Jeffries, Lesley Discovering Language. The Structure of Modern English Palgrave 2006

Examination Methods

written exam with reference to the topics outlined in the syllabus
Prerequisites:
English Language 1;
English C1 level (Computer-based test);
English Literature 1.

Type D and Type F activities

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Student Guide

Attachments

Title Info File
pdf Vademecum normativo area Lingue e letterature straniere 1009 KB, 07/07/21 

Gestione carriere


Linguistic training CLA


Stage e tirocini

Nel piano didattico della laurea triennale in Lingue per il turismo e il commercio internazionale (L12) è previsto un periodo di stage obbligatorio (CFU 6) in organizzazioni imprenditoriali.

Le attività di stage sono finalizzate a far acquisire allo studente una conoscenza diretta in settori di particolare interesse per l’inserimento nel mondo del lavoro e per l’acquisizione di abilità professionali specifiche.
Le attività di stage sono svolte sotto la diretta responsabilità di un singolo docente presso studi professionali, enti della pubblica amministrazione, aziende accreditate dall’Ateneo veronese.
I crediti maturati in seguito ad attività di stage saranno attribuiti secondo quanto disposto nel dettaglio dal “Regolamento d’Ateneo per il riconoscimento dei crediti maturati negli stage universitari” vigente.
Tutte le informazioni in merito agli stage sono reperibili al link https://www.univr.it/it/i-nostri-servizi/stage-e-tirocini.
 

Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.