Studying at the University of Verona

A.A. 2019/2020

Academic calendar

The academic calendar shows the deadlines and scheduled events that are relevant to students, teaching and technical-administrative staff of the University. Public holidays and University closures are also indicated. The academic year normally begins on 1 October each year and ends on 30 September of the following year.

Academic calendar

Course calendar

The Academic Calendar sets out the degree programme lecture and exam timetables, as well as the relevant university closure dates..

Definition of lesson periods
Period From To
LEZIONI 1° SEMESTRE 2°-3°-4°-5°6° ANNO Oct 1, 2019 Dec 20, 2019
LEZIONI 1° E 2° SEMESTRE (INSEGNAMENTI ANNUALI) Oct 1, 2019 May 29, 2020
LEZIONI 1° SEMESTRE 1° ANNO Oct 14, 2019 Dec 20, 2019
LEZIONI 2° SEMESTRE Feb 17, 2020 May 29, 2020
Exam sessions
Session From To
SESSIONE INVERNALE A.A. 2018/2019 E 1°SEMESTRE A.A. 2019/2020 Jan 7, 2020 Feb 14, 2020
SESSIONE ESTIVA A.A. 2019/2020 Jun 1, 2020 Jul 24, 2020
SESSIONE ESTIVA LAUREANDI Jun 1, 2020 Jul 3, 2020
SESSIONE AUTUNNALE A.A. 2019/2020 Sep 1, 2020 Sep 30, 2020
Degree sessions
Session From To
SESSIONE INVERNALE A.A.2018/2019 Mar 2, 2020 Mar 13, 2020
SESSIONE ESTIVA Jul 13, 2020 Jul 31, 2020
SESSIONE AUTUNNALE Oct 12, 2020 Oct 23, 2020
Holidays
Period From To
FESTIVITA' OGNISSANTI Nov 1, 2019 Nov 1, 2019
FESTIVITA' IMMACOLATA CONCEZIONE Dec 8, 2019 Dec 8, 2019
VACANZE DI NATALE Dec 24, 2019 Jan 6, 2020
VACANZE DI PASQUA Apr 10, 2020 Apr 15, 2020
FESTA DELLA LIBERAZIONE Apr 25, 2020 Apr 25, 2020
FESTIVITA' DEL LAVORO May 1, 2020 May 1, 2020
FESTIVITA' DEL SANTO PATRONO SAN ZENO May 21, 2020 May 21, 2020
FESTA DELLA REPUBBLICA Jun 2, 2020 Jun 2, 2020
Other Periods
Description Period From To
TIROCINIO 1° SEMESTRE ESCLUSI PERIODI DI VACANZA TIROCINIO 1° SEMESTRE ESCLUSI PERIODI DI VACANZA Oct 1, 2019 Feb 15, 2020
ATTIVITA' FACOLTATIVA O DI RECUPERO TIROCINIO ATTIVITA' FACOLTATIVA O DI RECUPERO TIROCINIO Oct 1, 2019 Sep 30, 2020
TIROCINIO 2° SEMESTRE ESCLUSI PERIODI DI VACANZA TIROCINIO 2° SEMESTRE ESCLUSI PERIODI DI VACANZA Feb 17, 2020 Jul 24, 2020

Exam calendar

Exam dates and rounds are managed by the relevant Medicine Teaching and Student Services Unit.
To view all the exam sessions available, please use the Exam dashboard on ESSE3.
If you forgot your login details or have problems logging in, please contact the relevant IT HelpDesk, or check the login details recovery web page.

Exam calendar

Should you have any doubts or questions, please check the Enrolment FAQs

Academic staff

A B C D F G I L M N P R S T V Z

Albanese Massimo

massimo.albanese@univr.it +39 045 812 4251/4024

Bazzoni Flavia

flavia.bazzoni@univr.it +39 045 802 7128

Bertini Giuseppe

giuseppe.bertini@univr.it 045-802-7682

Bertossi Dario

dario.bertossi@univr.it +39 045 812 4096

Boschi Federico

federico.boschi@univr.it +39 045 802 7816 - 7272 (lab.)

Busetto Giuseppe

giuseppe.busetto@univr.it +39 0458027290

Cane' Stefania

stefania.cane@univr.it +39 045 8126449

Cassatella Marco Antonio

marco.cassatella@univr.it 045 8027130

Chiamulera Cristiano

cristiano.chiamulera@univr.it +39 045 8027277

Corsi Fabio

fabio.corsi@univr.it 347 0076598

D'Agostino Antonio

antonio.dagostino@univr.it +39 045 812 4023

Dalla Preda Mila

mila.dallapreda@univr.it

Danese Elisa

elisa.danese@univr.it +39 045 812 6698

De Franceschi Lucia

lucia.defranceschi@univr.it 0458124918

De Leo Domenico

domenico.deleo@univr.it +39 045 812 4942

De Santis Daniele

daniele.desantis@univr.it +39 045 812 4251 - 4097

D'Onofrio Mirko

mirko.donofrio@univr.it +39 045 8124301

Fabene Paolo

paolo.fabene@univr.it 0458027267

Fabrizi Gian Maria

gianmaria.fabrizi@univr.it +39 0458124461

Faccioni Fiorenzo

fiorenzo.faccioni@ospedaleuniverona.it +39 045 812 4251 - 4868

Ferrari Francesca

francesca.ferrari@univr.it 045 8074872

Gerosa Roberto

roberto.gerosa@univr.it 0458124863

Girelli Massimo

massimo.girelli@univr.it +39 0458027106

Girolomoni Giampiero

giampiero.girolomoni@univr.it +39 045 812 2547

Gisondi Paolo

paolo.gisondi@univr.it +39 045 812 2547

Iacono Calogero

calogero.iacono@univr.it +39 045 812 4412

Lleo'Fernandez Maria Del Mar

maria.lleo@univr.it 045 8027194

Lombardo Giorgio

giorgio.lombardo@univr.it +39 045 812 4867

Luciano Umberto

umberto.luciano@univr.it +39 045 807 4251

Maffeis Claudio

claudio.maffeis@univr.it +39 045 812 7664

Majori Silvia

silvia.majori@univr.it +39 045 8027653

Malchiodi Luciano

luciano.malchiodi@univr.it +39 045 812 4855

Marchini Giorgio

giorgio.marchini@univr.it +39 045 812 6140

Marchioni Daniele

daniele.marchioni@univr.it +39 045 812 7669

Marchiori Mattia

mattia.marchiori@univr.it

Martignoni Guido

guido.martignoni@univr.it

Menegazzi Marta

marta.menegazzi@univr.it +39 045 802 7168

Mottes Monica

monica.mottes@univr.it +39 045 8027 184

Nicoli Aldini Nicolo

nicolo.nicolialdini@gmail.com 338 7363781

Nocini Pier Francesco

pierfrancesco.nocini@univr.it + 39 045 812 4251

Polati Enrico

enrico.polati@univr.it +39 045 812 7430 - 4311

Renna Dora

dora.renna@univr.it

Romanelli Maria

mariagrazia.romanelli@univr.it +39 045 802 7182

Ruggeri Mirella

mirella.ruggeri@univr.it 0458124953

Schweiger Vittorio

vittorio.schweiger@univr.it +39 045 812 4311

Scupoli Maria

mariateresa.scupoli@univr.it 045-8027405 045-8128425

Tinazzi Michele

michele.tinazzi@univr.it +39 045 8122601

Trevisiol Lorenzo

lorenzo.trevisiol@univr.it +39 045 812 4023

Verlato Giuseppe

giuseppe.verlato@univr.it 045 8027628

Zanolin Maria Elisabetta

elisabetta.zanolin@univr.it +39 045 802 7654

Zerman Nicoletta

nicoletta.zerman@univr.it + 39 045 812 4251 - 4857

Zotti Francesca

francesca.zotti@univr.it +39 045 812 6938

Study Plan

The Study Plan includes all modules, teaching and learning activities that each student will need to undertake during their time at the University. Please select your Study Plan based on your enrolment year.

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
10
A
(BIO/16)
8
A
(BIO/13)
7
A
(BIO/10)
6
A
(FIS/07)
7
A
(BIO/17)
13
A/B/C
(INF/01 ,MED/01 ,MED/02 ,M-PED/03 ,M-PSI/01)
7
B
(L-LIN/12)
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
7
A
(BIO/10)
9
A
(BIO/09)
13
B
(MED/04 ,MED/07 ,MED/42)
20
B/C/F
(- ,INF/01 ,MED/28 ,MED/43 ,MED/50)
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
7
B
(BIO/14)
14
B/C/F
(- ,BIO/12 ,MED/09 ,MED/30)
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
5
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
3
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
4
B
(MED/43)
4
B/F
(- ,MED/25 ,MED/26)
13
B/F
(- ,MED/18 ,MED/35 ,MED/41)
ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
7
B/F
(- ,MED/28 ,MED/38)
12
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
8
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
6
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
10
B/C/F
(- ,MED/28 ,MED/29 ,MED/31)
5
B/F
(- ,MED/28)

1° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
10
A
(BIO/16)
8
A
(BIO/13)
7
A
(BIO/10)
6
A
(FIS/07)
7
A
(BIO/17)
13
A/B/C
(INF/01 ,MED/01 ,MED/02 ,M-PED/03 ,M-PSI/01)
7
B
(L-LIN/12)

2° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
7
A
(BIO/10)
9
A
(BIO/09)
13
B
(MED/04 ,MED/07 ,MED/42)
20
B/C/F
(- ,INF/01 ,MED/28 ,MED/43 ,MED/50)

3° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
7
B
(BIO/14)
14
B/C/F
(- ,BIO/12 ,MED/09 ,MED/30)

4° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
5
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
3
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
4
B
(MED/43)
4
B/F
(- ,MED/25 ,MED/26)
13
B/F
(- ,MED/18 ,MED/35 ,MED/41)

5° Year

ModulesCreditsTAFSSD
12
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
7
B/F
(- ,MED/28 ,MED/38)
12
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
8
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
6
B/F
(- ,MED/28)
10
B/C/F
(- ,MED/28 ,MED/29 ,MED/31)
5
B/F
(- ,MED/28)

Legend | Type of training activity (TTA)

TAF (Type of Educational Activity) All courses and activities are classified into different types of educational activities, indicated by a letter.




SPlacements in companies, public or private institutions and professional associations

Teaching code

4S02656

Credits

9

Coordinatore

Flavia Bazzoni

The teaching is organized as follows:

Immunologia

Credits

3

Period

LEZIONI 2° SEMESTRE

Academic staff

Stefania Cane'

Patologia generale

Credits

6

Period

LEZIONI 2° SEMESTRE

Academic staff

Flavia Bazzoni

Learning outcomes

The basic aim of the course of General Pathology and Immunology are: (i) to acquire the conceptual and scientific tools to explain the causes and mechanisms of human disease and the role of the immune system; (ii) to examine molecular mechanisms responsible for cell and tissue damage and implicated in the host response to cell damage and in the repair of tissue injury. In addition, the course addresses pathophysiological mechanisms at the basis of alterations of the host main homeostatic systems, compensation responses induced by these alterations and their potential significance as mechanisms of diseases. Moreover, tumor eathiology, molecular mechanisms responsible of neoplastic transformation, development of primary tumors and metastasis, and the systemic consequences of tumor-related pathologies (paraneoplastic syndromes, chacexia) will be explored. Particular attention will be devoted to the acquisition of scientific terms used in pathology.


Program

------------------------
MM: IMMUNOLOGIA
------------------------
Organization of the immune system: 1. Anatomy of the immune syste: lymphoid organs in general (spleen, lymph nodes, Peyer patches, appendyx, bone marrow and thymus), lymphoid organs of the oral cavity (palatin, lingual and pharynx tonsils, district and intralingual lymph nodes, submucosal lymphatic cells, lymphatic tissue of salivary glands and of the gum) 2. Cytology of the immune system: lymphocytes, NK, dendritic cells. The lymphocytes classes: B and T lymphocytes and their subclasses. Antigens and antibodies. 3. Biochemistry of the immune system: molecules (Immunoglobulins, T cell receptor, MHC and costimulatory molecules). Physiology of the immune system: 1. Antigen processing and presentation. 2. The specific adaptive responses: cell mediated immune response and humoral. 3. Cyitokines and cell cooperation. 4. Defence against infections. 5. Defendive and offensive responses. 6. Active and passive immunoprophylaxis. 7. Immune tolerance. Pahology of the immune system: 1. Hypersensibility reactions. 2. Autoimmune diseases. 3. Immunodeficits. 4. Immunity and tumors. 5. Immuno-hematologya, blood groups. 6. Immunology of transplantation and HLA system. Immunology of the oral cavity: 1.Ecosistema e microbiologia del cavo orale. La placca batterica. Attivazione linfocitaria da parte di microrganismii a livello del cavo orale. 2. I meccanismi effettori umorali e le IgA secretorie. 3. Immunologia delle infezioni orali: carie, malattia parodontale, malattia pulpo-apicale, infezioni virali, micosi. Immunopathology of the oral cavity: 1. Systemic immune diseases and influences on the oro-pharynx; 2. The oral outcomes of hypersensibility and autoimmunity; 3. Consequences of the primary and secondary immune-deficiencies on the oral cavity, in particular HIV infections; 4. Immunology of dental transplantation.
------------------------
MM: PATOLOGIA GENERALE
------------------------
1. Introduction General concepts Homeostasis. Pathogenesis Etiology Glossary 2. Cellular pathology: basic mechanisms of cellular damage; biochemical lesion. Pathogenesis of hypoxia, ischemia and oxidative stress. Oxygen radical-induced pathologies. Pathogenesis of radiation damage. Biological causes of diseases: general concepts of pathogenesis of infectious diseases. Endotoxins and exotoxins: physical-chemical features, biological effects, molecular basis. Cellular death: necrosis. Serum markers of necrosis. Necrosis pathologist classification. 3. Introduction to the immune system: cellular composition and function. The hematopoietic system: blood cell composition; hematocrit; leukocyte formula. Functional and morphological features of leukocyte cell populations. The reticulo-endothelial system. Differentiation and maturation of the lymphoid and myeloid cell populations. Innate and acquired immune responses: general concepts. Inflammation: causes, cardinal signs, angiophlogosis and histoflogosis. The vascular response. Exudate: features and functions. The cellular response: leukocyte migration, rolling, activation, firm adhesion and diapedesis. Adhesion molecules: selectins, integrins, immunoglobulins. Chemotaxis and chemotactic factors. Leukocyte effector mechanisms (phagocytosis, killing and degradation of phagocytosed microbes) Defects of innate immune cells: LAD, CGD. Chemical mediators and regulators of inflammation. Coagulation; Complement; chinins, plasmin. Cellular proinflammatory mediators: (i) preformed; (ii) newly synthesized (fast); (iii) newly synthesized (slow). Cytokines: general concepts; cytokine families; physiological role; mechanisms of action. Chemokines: C, CC, CXC, CX3C. Proinflammatory cytokines: TNF alpha, IL-1, IL-6: producing cells, stimuli, biological role, local, systemic and pathologic effects. Autoinflammatory syndromes: definition, causes, therapeutic strategies. Inhibition of proinflammatory cytokines: IL-10 and IL-1ra. Anti-cytokine therapy in autoimmune diseases. Cytokine response in sepsis and physical exercise. Interferons: classes, producing cells, stimuli, biological and pathological role. Systemic effects of inflammation. Pathogenesis of septic shock. 4. Outcomes of acute inflammation. Chronic inflammation. Granuloma. Resolution: Regeneration and repair. Scarring 5. Genoma ed epigenoma. The "Histone code". Non-coding RNAs. Apoptosi: estrinsic and intrinsic pathway. 6. Mechanisms regulating cellular differentiation and proliferation: pathological changes. Metaplasia, dysplasia and neoplasia. Neoplasia (general concepts) Morphological, molecular, metabolic, genetic and functional features of the neoplastic cell. Cancer etiology and pathogenesis. Cancer natural history. Molecular bases of carcinogenesis: proto-oncogenes, oncogenes, tumor suppressor genes. Oncogenes classes: (i) growth factors (EGF); (ii) growth factor receptors (EGFR/ErbB, Her2 receptor/Neu); (III) signal transduction proteins (ras); (IV) nuclear transcription factors (myc); (V) chromatin-associate proteins; (VI) cell cycle control; (VII) microRNA; (VIII) pro and anti-apoptotic proteins (Bcl2). Tumor suppressor genes: Cyclins, retinoblastoma, p53: physiologic and pathologic role. The Knudson hypothesis. Viral carcinogenesis. Nomenclature. The TNM system. Benign and malignant hematologic neoplasia. Head and neck cancer. Metastasis: molecular basis of metastasis generation ad progression. Neoplastic cachexia and paraneoplastic syndromes. Tumor immunology.

Examination Methods

------------------------
MM: IMMUNOLOGIA
------------------------
oral
------------------------
MM: PATOLOGIA GENERALE
------------------------
Oral test.

Bibliografia

Reference texts
Author Title Publishing house Year ISBN Notes
Abul K. Abbas, Andrew H. Lichtman and Shiv Pillai Le basi dell' immunologia (Fisiopatologia del sistema immunitario) (Edizione 5) Edra LSWR S.p.A. 2014 978-88-214-4255-1
F. Mainiero - R. Misasi - M. Sorice Patologia Generale e Fisiopatologia generale Piccin 2019 978-88-299-2963-4
Abbas A.K et al. Immunologia Cellulare e Molecolare (Edizione 9) Elsevier 2018

Free choice courses

Modules not yet included

Career prospects


Module/Programme news

News for students

There you will find information, resources and services useful during your time at the University (Student’s exam record, your study plan on ESSE3, Distance Learning courses, university email account, office forms, administrative procedures, etc.). You can log into MyUnivr with your GIA login details.

Graduation


Gestione carriere


Further services

I servizi e le attività di orientamento sono pensati per fornire alle future matricole gli strumenti e le informazioni che consentano loro di compiere una scelta consapevole del corso di studi universitario.